Back to Opera page
Opera free download for Mac

Opera Reviews

64.0.3417.92
06 November 2019

High-performance Web browser.

badbadger
03 September 2019

Most helpful

This is a good browser. Based on Chromium, but has some of its own solutions and additional functions. This is currently, in my opinion, a very good alternative to Chrome. It's fast, it also has synchronization of passwords and bookmarks. Works fine on Mac. Of course, there is no such extensive testing system as Google Chrome and sometimes there are bugs in stable versions.
Like (1)
Version 63.0.3368.66

Read 572 Opera User Reviews

Rate this app:

badbadger
03 September 2019
This is a good browser. Based on Chromium, but has some of its own solutions and additional functions. This is currently, in my opinion, a very good alternative to Chrome. It's fast, it also has synchronization of passwords and bookmarks. Works fine on Mac. Of course, there is no such extensive testing system as Google Chrome and sometimes there are bugs in stable versions.
Like (1)
Version 63.0.3368.66
orsobou4
25 August 2019
What has got into the Opera browser in the past days? Earlier, I could select a word or a phrase and right-click to search with Google, but when I do so now, the browser suddenly crashes. It goes like this after I installed the most recent update. Does anyone out there know how come?
Like
Version 63.0.3368.43
3 answer(s)
kingjj
kingjj
26 August 2019
Hmmm... I updated via the in-browser automatic update, and after completion, no sites would load. I attempted to restart, and only got an "application cannot be opened" message.

I trashed that version, downloaded the update again from here, and manually installed. It now works perfectly (I'm using it to type this). But with that issue and your issue something is obviously wonky about this update. I guess I suggest reinstalling... Dunno, it worked for me.
Like
orsobou4
orsobou4
27 August 2019
Hi kingjj!
Sorry, but I have now downloaded and reinstalled the Opera software in the latest possible version, but it keeps crashing when I select a word or a phrase and then click on Search with Google. I surrender!
Like
kingjj
kingjj
28 August 2019
Sorry, it was merely a guess. My search bar is set to duckduckgo, but I switched to google and couldn't replicate the problem. The browser tried to update to today's version, and everything crashed and refused to restart again. Except this time, the link here didn't work, I had to download the installer from Opera's site. Is this going to keep happening with every update? I mean, sometimes they update three times a week...
Like
Version 63.0.3368.53
Crunchie
04 July 2019
My Opera browser would not update beyond Version 62.0.3331.18 and their website only shows the .18 version as of July 4th. But this newer version says .43 so I downloaded it and installed it and all seems fine.
Like
Version 62.0.3331.43
cubanpete
16 June 2019
After many many many years I am finally giving up on Opera. I started with Version 3 which was one of their first browsers. At that time Opera invented tabbed browsing and had other very innovative stuff going on. That was why I remained a dedicated fan. But no more once I found out Opera is now Chinese owned and there are security concerns. Quote: "Opera started off as a decent browser, developed in Norway. However, in 2016 it was sold to a Chinese consortium for $600 million – and a lot has changed. Opera’s privacy policy explains how your data is being collected and shared when you use Opera products:" This is my source and you can read about safe browsers here: https://restoreprivacy.com/secure-browser/ And it's quite ironic that the next guy thorpesimon1 in the comments here is complaining that he is bothered by Chinese language stuff in his Opera browser and an annoying pop-up that auto-translates his search result to Chinese. Go figure. Bye bye Opera, we had a lot of fun together but I'm moving on.
Like
Version 60.0.3255.160
1 answer(s)
kingjj
kingjj
05 July 2019
Well, your source makes a few king-sized leaps (from a "concerning" privacy policy--to proof-positive their vpn is a data vacuuming proxy server--their source? Reddit...)

Anyway, the concerning privacy policy is enough, no need to overplay the hand...

The rub? Opera is really nice... Hell. I was having trouble with Thunderbird on my Windows machine so I tried their e-mail client and IT'S really nice. their browser is quick, very light on RAM, and understands that a "search/copy/share" pop-up when you select text is something the user never thought they needed, but really, really appreciates now that they have it.
Like
thorpesimon1
24 May 2019
This is my goto, default, browser. Never had any problems. However, what's with all the Chinese language? I've altered the preferences to suite me, but the choice of search engines is limited to mostly Chinese companies. This, this explains why a lot of search results are rendered in Chinese, I suppose. And, please .., how do I get rid of that annoying pop-up window that auto-translates anything English into Chinese? The preferences need to actually work.
Lastly, what happened to the really cool built-in VPN?
Like
Version 60.0.3255.109
robtpatrick22
23 May 2019
With the reviews all wishing a preference, it is my turn to give an honest review, as I not only belong to the opera community, but Vivaldi, and Brave as well. This morning opera updated itself, and I watched. Not a problem, crash, or excessive use of memory. Like Cliqz, and Brave, opera has most of what you need already installed. When I first installed opera, it, by using, taught me the correct way to import bookmarks; under bookmarks I simply opened that, and the bookmarks were not only imported, but put in the toolbar as well. Next, I configured opera to my needs; having cerebral palsy, I found it had a "popup tool"so that, when I copy for example, I have a window, that gives me this option. Opera is conservative on memory; it loads quick, without hiccups or any crashes PERIOD. I saw a review stating the amount of memory used; it was completely conservative, and DID NOT HOG DOWN MY SYSTEM OR MEMORY. When you use a browser as a rule, third party apps or extensions will conflict; in my case being prudent was the issue.. Unlike Vivaldi, opera comes with little or no baggage; again, it comes with in most cases, with everything you need. Opera has been upgraded many times; each update has been like bread and butter or peanut butter and jelly; smooth simple, and fast. With the use of the built in VPN, you will notice a slight slowness, but it does not bother me. There is a lot this browser has; it DOES NOT have an interface of a lot of baggage. One last thing; when I receive an update; I always do a "clean install" to get rid of the gremlins. I could go on with praising this browser, and the China issue does not bother me, because I prudently learned what is installed and where!!
Like
Version 60.0.3255.109
kennedykn
19 May 2019
Worked Great!! Opera was installed even though I declined it when offered the opportunity to install it.
Like
Version 60.0.3255.95
1 answer(s)
cubanpete
cubanpete
17 June 2019
Wait a second. You declined the installation. But it was installed anyway.
And you find that great!? ?
Like
Aargl
09 April 2019
AFAICT, v60 is perfectly working. I like the (selectable) dark interface. What I still miss, though: - profiles (there's a workaround with Terminal or programming a shortcut, but why not making it as simple as Chromium? :-o — especially now that Vivaldi finally did it!) - customizable toolbar (you'd better not use too many extensions...)
Like
Version 60.0.3255.27
2 answer(s)
kingjj
kingjj
09 April 2019
"- customizable toolbar (you'd better not use too many extensions...)"

Right click the extension you want out of the toolbar --> Hide Extension

That said, the ability to customize the rest of it would be nice...
Like
Aargl
Aargl
10 April 2019
Yes that's my point, you can hide the icons for extensions you don't need access to, but no way to resize or move anything else.
Like
GianMarco-Tavazzani
18 February 2019
I dislike giving a bad rating but at least an angry comment is necessary, at least as 'warning' to the developer! I was using by time Opera Developer, happy to can contribute to its growth BUT suddenly the (nowadays for AL:L browsers!) NECESSARY synchronisation feature dropped. "Ok" I said "let us stop to HELP them and let us use the 'stable' version BUT now it doesn't work even on it!!! Besides this, every time I have (NECESSARILY!) to reinstall it, all my (many!) extensions goes lost and I have to make a painful reload of each of them! So I had to stop to use Opera as default browser to switch on Firefox Nightly and Vivaldi Snapshot.
Like (2)
Version 58.0.3135.65
kingjj
02 February 2019
*Sigh* After a month of using Opera as my primary browser, I REALLY would like to make it my everyday/everything browser replacing Waterfox. If for no other reason than one look at the activity monitor: After a couple days of running Opera, it's using 180mb of RAM. A couple of days running Waterfox, it's using 1.5gb... The rub? How does Opera make money?? No one seems to know for sure. although there are PLENTY of ugly rumors (mostly pertaining to it's initial purchaser, a Chinese "consortium" Golden Brick Capital Private Equity Fund, although Kunlun Tech Limited is it's current largest shareholder). They boast that they made 44.7 million last year, but give no indication how exactly that was done. Even their investor PowerPoint presentation only addresses monetization in the vaguest of terms. I'm bringing all this up because I really don't think whether or not a browser works well is the whole issue anymore. Hell, almost all browsers stem from one of two source codes, they all pretty much "work well." How exactly they work, and who they're working for is becoming more and more the issue. The person behind Waterfox makes it perfectly clear how he makes money, and that nothing is done with the data collected by the browser. Opera, despite it's technical perks (and some of those perks are quite large), gives no indication and makes no such claims. And unfortunately, that minus offsets the pluses.
Like (3)
Version 58.0.3135.53
3 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
10 April 2019
You're damn right. Also the integrated VPN is pure genius but if it implies that all your activity and passwords end up who knows where... :-/
I'm still relying too on Waterfox and Ungoogled Chromium (Marmaduke's build) — the best option I know for privacy, it doesn't even connect to Chrome services... ;-) (if you happen to use it, keep one of Marmaduke's other builds around, if you need to sync or access to Chrome webstore, etc.)
Like (2)
kingjj
kingjj
10 April 2019
Not surprisingly, the built-in VPN (which as you stated, is a VERY attractive feature) is the source of the ugliest of rumors.

It's also the source of one of it's more irritating bugs. In that, if the browser drops the VPN connection for whatever reason, it does nothing to reconnect, and states that you have no internet connection. Furthermore, restarting the VPN does nothing, you have to restart the entire browser for it to reconnect.

Anyway, Opera now comes packaged with a five minute video about how you're 'sticking it to the man' by using it. But, there's still no indication exactly who Opera's sticking it to...

That's what I want to see a five minute video about
Like (1)
zlazkow
zlazkow
28 April 2019
"how they make money?"...
Really? like every browser does - advertising, and collecting information for Google Mafia, which controls all browsers to some degree.
Like (1)
kingjj
05 January 2019
First, A little bit of background. Waterfox is my everyday/everything browser for a variety of reasons (like getting the tabs under the address bar where they belong). Occasionally, it has a problem with playing video, which would force me into using my back-up browser--Chrome--which I pretty much hate, except for it's video playing. In addition, I own a really old laptop which can't be updated beyond OS 10.6.8 and the only good browser still available for that OS is Opera 25. Which I used out of necessity until something weird happened; I ended up really liking it. So much so, that I installed the newest version on my OS 10.11 desktop and gave Chrome the big adios. It's fast, stable, comparatively light on memory, can run both it's own extensions and also most of Chrome's, is good with video (the detach feature is really nice). has a built-in speed dial, and a built-in, free VPN (!!!). I do have some caveats both big (you can't customize the toolbar, you can erase your browsing history, but no way to have it not saved to begin with) and small useless side bar, bookmarks all have to be one level down from the root) and super-big-time-major (no way to get tabs below address bar), so unfortunately, it's going to remain my #2. That said, it's pretty close, and I could easily see it being #1 for many.
Like (1)
Version 57.0.3098.110
4 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
06 March 2019
As for your old laptop, you might try Arctic Fox: I've tried it myself a few days ago on my 10.6 32 bit machine and was amazed of its speed — it's quite as fast as the last webkit running on it, but able to display all the websites that made other old browsers freeze! (and currently being updated, apparently)
I've got only two regrets: 1) that it was not available before, when I really used that machine ;-) 2) that it's not available for recent MacOS...
Like (2)
Aargl
Aargl
10 April 2019
My bad: Arctic Fox has actually a 64 bit version running perfectly on 10.11, with the obvious limitations that it doesn't receive security updates Firefox does, and it has its own variation of extensions (you can't install Firefox's) — amongst which uBlock Origin, Decentraleyes, MAFF and an excellent "Advanced Night Mode". It only lacks uMatrix for my taste.
Anyway, I don't think I'll ever use it as my main browser (except for my old 32 bit machine), but at least as a light MAFF writer/reader, may be, instead of keeping around the old FF52 ESR.
Like (1)
fiery12
fiery12
18 April 2019
Waterfox developer has plans to release version that supports macOS 10.6, but ArcticFox looks promising. Kudos to those developers that still support Snow Leopard.

@Aargl
Do you know if ArcticFox uses separate profile than Firefox?
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
18 April 2019
Yes, ArcticFox uses a separate profile — as does New Moon (aka Pale Moon for MacOS) or Basilisk (just look in App Support ;-) ).
I've installed every one of them for testing and I've loaded them all with my basic set of extensions and they work more or less nicely (ArcticFox is the best amongst Pale Moon variants, and also the more often updated)
I've not tried importing a Firefox profile, if that's what you have in mind, though that might work, coming from a similar version number (~27.x I suppose) — don't expect to import a FF52 profile, though.
When I switched to Waterfox, after the Quantum apocalypse, I did import my FF52 profile and it worked quite well as they were very close in versioning.
Though I still use Waterfox, I'd be surprised the developer will ever release a 10.6 version as he has a hard time following FF security issues (still no fix for the latest that's been fixed in FF one month ago!) Moreover he has announced that he will soon change its base code to FF68 — which will very likely break many old addons...
Like (1)
thorpesimon1
29 September 2018
No longer works with 10.4 Mojave. The free built-in VPN was a great idea while it lasted, but now, that too no longer works.
Like
Version 56.0.3051.31
1 answer(s)
Jayaii
Jayaii
15 December 2018
I've experienced no problem with Opera on Mojave. (I didn't realize that it had a VPN option! I just tried it and had no problem there either.)
Like
kolkataroy
22 September 2018
nice
Like (1)
Version 49.0.2725.64
tzsetzse
06 August 2018
I've used Opera for YEARS....On Windows AND MAC platforms. Nothing finer, faster or as easy to use!
Like (1)
Version 54.0.2952.64
prettyinkedLO
03 August 2018
a++
Like
Version 54.0.2952.64
Stevencee
27 July 2018
I have a love/hate with Opera. It runs fast, doesn't eat RAM quite as much as other browsers, and can stay open, used hours every day, for a week or more, without slowing down and freezing, crashing, or demanding a reboot. However, it is oddly not compatible with certain sites, many very common (major tv networks, where it won't play videos), (some merchant/financial sites), (my favorite radio station website won't show it's players), etc... Why it has so hard a time playing videos or streaming audio from major international sites bewilders me, and if they don't fix that soon, I'll have to move on to a different browser, as I hate having to open a second one, just to use a site here or there...
Like
Version 54.0.2952.64
Well there appears no way to specify a start or home page. It's the only browser that works this way. Bad form. Nor is there an easy way to establish a bookmarks bar—it doesn't utilize Safari's imported bookmarks bar. Which means you have to add them one at a time using drag and drop. You can, however, move bookmarks from the Imported Bookmarks folder to the Other Bookmarks item at the highest level. I found that I didn't want to move all my Safari bookmarks to the top level so this might actually be a good thing. So setting up Opera can involve some work, depending on the amount of customization you want.

One of it's best features is that you can turn on add blocking in the Privacy preferences. This enables web pages to load blazingly fast. So overall I have to give it a high rating for performance. One other thing, my latest download of Opera, version 53, has returned to a drag and drop installation instead of that automated mess it was using. This may have happened sooner because I haven't installed an Opera update in quite a while. Anyway, its a great improvement.
Like (1)
Version 53.0.2907.68
4 answer(s)
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
28 June 2018
There is a way to specify a start page (at least in the version I am using: 53)

Go to "Preferences" then "On startup" then "Open a specific page or set of pages" then "select pages"

Works for me.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
28 June 2018
@ Jpwgibson: Thanks. I don't know why I didn't see it before.
Like
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
29 June 2018
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc – you're welcome. I'm glad to help. Perhaps this option had been added after the last time you looked for it?
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
29 June 2018
@ Jpwgibson: That seems unlikely, though they may have changed the way they expressed the option, which caused me to misconstrue or overlook it.
Like
Nomdunecran
30 May 2018
J'ai perdu beaucoup de temps à comprendre pourquoi l'extension Dashlane ne fonctionnait plus sur Opera (sur Mac OS 10.11): par la faute de la mise à jour automatique d'Opera et de sa version 53 qui coupe la communication entre Dashlane et son plugin (via l’extension « Install Chrome Extensions »)! J'ai donc trouvé (difficilement) sur le Web comment désactiver cette mise à jour automatique : https://forums.opera.com/topic/14028/how-to-disable-auto-update-on-osx, puis rechargé la version 52 qui résout le problème. Je m'étonne qu'une mise à jour d'Opera soit incompatible avec une extension aussi importante et populaire que Dashlane. Je pense que je ne pourrai plus perdre autant de temps en cas de nouveau bug si gênant et que je changerai de navigateur
-------------------------------------------
I lost a lot of time understanding why Dashlane extension was no longer working on Opera (on Mac OS 10.11): due to the automatic update of Opera and its version 53 which cuts the communication between Dashlane and its plugin (via the extension "Install Chrome Extensions")! So I found (with difficulty) on the Web how to disable this automatic update: https://forums.opera.com/topic/14028/how-to-disable -auto-update-on-osx, then reloaded version 52 which solves the problem. I am surprised that an update of Opera is incompatible with an add-on as important and popular as Dashlane. I think I can not no more wasting so much time in case of new bug so annoying and I will change broswer.
Like
Version 53.0.2907.57
1 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
03 June 2018
There was nothing about how to disable it.
Like
Kakeam
11 May 2018
After this update, Opera is asking for access to, "Your confidential information stored in 'Opera Safe Storage' in your keychain." What's that? Why is this now appearing?
Like
Version 53.0.2907.37
3 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
24 May 2018
It did the same for me and will not connect to the internet.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
03 June 2018
I haven't checked with the developer, who apparently doesn't follow these threads, I it looks to me to be the place where Opera stores any passwords or other secure information. Other apps do the same. Since the file already exists, all Opera is asking is to access its own secure storage in Keychain.Nothing, I think, to be afraid of.
Like
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
03 June 2018
Little Snitch was blocking Opera from the internet because of a "Bad code signature"...I manually allowed it to go through but 1Pass extension is no longer working in Opera.
Was such a great browser...
Like
Jayaii
28 April 2018
I've used this version (52.0) for less than a day but am impressed by what I see so far. I especially appreciate the way it handles bookmarks. During installation, it imported my Safari bookmarks in a blink and organized them in a way that's far more useful. More experience with it will reveal any performance issues. I really enjoy the contemporary interface and choice of dark theme.
Like
Version 52.0.2871.99
zlazkow
17 March 2018
The file is 428 kb...!? Firefox is 50 mb. All others too. How can this be ? Is it really so lightweight ?
Like
Version 51.0.2830.62
3 answer(s)
apicard
apicard
22 March 2018
It's a network installer bro...
Like
zlazkow
zlazkow
22 March 2018
I see...Thanks!
Like
Aargl
Aargl
29 April 2018
Direct download of the latest version: http://www.opera.com/download/get/?partner=www&opsys=MacOS ;-)
Like
rocc0talbert
23 February 2018
Great browser, though sync is not functioning well.
Like
Version 51.0.2830.40
waterlicker
16 February 2018
I don't know the reason, but it works really slowly on every computer I use. So, I decided to come back to Chrome again.
Like
Version 51.0.2830.26
Lumac52
04 January 2018
Opera is unique in providing a full Chromium experience, complete with Chrome add-ons, while also allowing the use of 1Password, which doesn't work with Chromium (since straight Chromium is unsigned).
Like
Version 50.0.2762.45
Léoren
27 December 2017
Quite nice update! I enjoy very much the new fonction "suggest" in the new tab view. I don't like the new tab view in other navigators which are completely based on user browsing data. The Opera way of version 49 is a very nice middle ground for me!
Like
Version 49.0.2725.64
Mikeymike
21 December 2017
Deleted—never could figure out why the app hijacked all my email functions (in sharing, etc.); there didn’t appear to be a setting that turned this on or off in Opera, and resetting my launch services database didn’t solve the problem. After Opera deletion, all is back to normal. I also didn’t see anything special about the browser features compelling enough to have yet another broswer. Sticking to Safari/Tech Preview and Firefox.

I also don’t trust the VPN service. Since this whole company is now Chinese-owned, I *really* don't trust them as a VPN service. (FWIW, I used SurfEasy VPN, which is what the Opera app incorporated. It worked, but the hit on throughput speeds (VPN overhead) was devastating. After it changed ownership, I dropped it (paid version) and wiped it off my machine.
Like (1)
Version 49.0.2725.64
Aargl
11 November 2017
The new version can't display any page ("the page has crashed" on every site), here on 10.9.5. Hope they fix it soon! :-(
Like
Version 49.0.2725.34
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
16 November 2017
Cured in 49.0.2725.39! :-)
Like
Markus-Winter
20 September 2017
YAY! Only browser I found that can play Sky Go without installing Silverlight.
Like (1)
Version 47.0.2631.80
Ubba10
26 August 2017
Works fine since the last updates. A thing called OperaHelper ruins my Mac Pro (10.9.5) taking near 60% of CPU...! Opera is waiting in my trash for now..
Like (1)
Version 47.0.2631.55
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
14 September 2017
Just like every other Chromium based browser, Opera opens a number of "helpers" that allow multiprocessing (globally 1 process for each open tab, but I think also some of them just for the app itself).
With Chromium, you'll have "Chromium helper", Vivaldi "vivaldi helper" and so on.
With Firefox, if multiprocessing is active, I bet you'll have also those helpers populating Activity Monitor.
Hard to say why you have one that's peaking at 60%, I'm on 10.9.5 myself and have no issue...
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
20 September 2017
Safari does the same thing... a different process for each web page. Did it continue at 60% with no web pages open?
Like (1)
Cowicide
20 August 2017
Hmmm... Opera is no longer a drag n' drop app like Chrome, Firefox, etc. and has an "Opera Installer". I DO NOT LIKE THIS. Sorry, but I'm not comfortable with a shady Chinese company installing undocumented stuff on my Mac to run a web browser when it should be a simple drag n' drop install like it used to be before they were sold to the Chinese.

I don't trust this. What's up with the installer? What does it install and what do the components do?
Like
Version 47.0.2631.55
5 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
21 August 2017
Here's a link for direct DL:
http://www.opera.com/download/get/?partner=www&opsys=MacOS
or there, and then "Download the offline package" (written small): https://www.opera.com/computer
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
22 August 2017
Thank you very much, Aargl. That's much better. However, I still do wonder what's in that installer that comes up by default.
Like
WetNet
WetNet
15 September 2017
Cowicide < The main office is in Oslo, Norway. Opera has a "Satellite" office in China along with other countries including USA. So, this is far from a "shady Chinese company" as you claim. Just saying. . .
Like (1)
Cowicide
Cowicide
23 September 2017
WetNet, it's not just me that's unhappy with the untrustworthy Chinese company that now OWN Opera:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qihoo_360#Controversies

https://www.geek.com/apps/chinese-antivirus-cheats-offer-1-2-billion-to-buy-opera-software-1646891/

https://techcrunch.com/2016/02/25/opera-ceo-sale-to-chinese-consortium-wasnt-our-decision/



Like
WetNet
WetNet
20 October 2017
Cowicide < Have you actually read any of the articles you linked? While granted it is people who think like you who are unhappy with "shady Chinese Corporations" Opera had to go with "solid investors" to compete in the browser markets [being a listed company]. Acquisitions like these are bound to happen.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
19 August 2017
Still hate the automatic installer with it's hidden presets than you can overlook and forget to disable. Bad juju. It says to users that we hate you don't trust you to make informed choices about those presets. Even though I like the browser well enough, I have nothing but contempt for the developers who have nothing but contempt for me.
Like (1)
Version 47.0.2631.55
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
21 August 2017
See my above comment for direct DL. ;-)
Like
Aargl
17 August 2017
It was hard but I finally found one thing to criticize in Opera! ;-) The tool bar is not fully customizable: the only thing you can do is go to the extensions pane and make them visible or not. Something I don't get is why amongst all the Chromium based browsers is it the only one that can't use Chrome's extensions? Luckily it has its own "addon store" where you find most of the addons you need. On the good sides , it's the most compatible browser for anything related to video or audio players. The free unlimited VPN is working perfectly. The cherry on the cake would be to have multiple profiles, the way Chromium manages them! So, I find it nearly the perfect browser! — at least until Firefox becomes multiprocess, in november... ;-)
Like (1)
Version 47.0.2631.55
3 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
21 August 2017
Well, I must temper my above review about videos: I found 2 websites where Opera's playing videos crashes — Safari has no issue with those sites (without Flash).
Just in case a dev would pass this way, here they are:
http://sites.arte.tv/xenius/fr/video/xenius-514
and
http://www.studio-one.expert/studio-one-blog//technique-recording-stereo-drum-overheads?mc_cid=23f2c116ad&mc_eid=2467123e3c
I must say they don't behave correctly in any Chromium based browser I've tried.
Like
robert-patrick-1
robert-patrick-1
14 September 2017
As soon as you download Opera and set up your preferences go to the Opera add ons and download Download Chrome Extensions; this gives you the option to download Chrome and Opera extensions; I have used, installed and have found Opera stable. The opera add ons page has the extension Download Chrome extensions; I also DO NOT IMPORT BOOKMARKS; you have the sped dial which you organize your favorites.; on memory is the the most conservative in memory usage!!
Like
Aargl
Aargl
14 September 2017
Thanks for that nice tip! :-)
Like
r2-cwb
26 June 2017
Faster and better than chrome!
Like (1)
Version 45.0.2552.898
Maclover1-1
05 June 2017
For some reason I've used Chrome a lot past couple of years (peer-pressure?!) and I've now switched to Opera (that I did use quite a bit years ago). It is so much faster than all my other browsers, have no idea how they do it.. but this thing is way underrated.
Like (1)
Version 45.0.2552.888
Rjmorita
11 May 2017
Opera has come a long way. It's my main browser now.
Like (1)
Version 45.0.2552.635
Scion777
31 March 2017
It's been over a month without a security-update release - that's ridiculous.
Like
Version 43.0.2442.991
1 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
04 April 2017
sciz-moron. . .
Like (1)
wafflebarn
16 March 2017
My fav browser, simple and fast. I use it on my Mac and Phone. I also recommended it to people at work. Thanks for creating this browser.
Like (1)
Version 43.0.2442.991
Aargl
11 February 2017
A very underrated browser! Integrated VPN and ad blocker, Turbo mode, extensions... As an old Firefox user, I was able to recreate a familiar environment (at least the essentials) and it looks faster on many sites. I'm just starting to use it more and more, so maybe I'll discover things I don't like but my experience, until now, is promising. Note that with the integrated ad blocker, you can avoid extensions such as Ghostery or AdBlock Plus, that only probably adds speed.
Like (1)
Version 42.0.2393.137
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
11 February 2017
Well, I had some crashes on videos playing sites, meaning not only Youtube.
The funny thing is that after a long time (15 minutes?) from the last crash, Opera relaunched itself alone! :-o
So I would cut-off at least one star... ;-)
Like
Aargl
Aargl
16 February 2017
The crashes I had were apparently due to the option for detatching video players (in the prefs): I unchecked it and no more crash. :-)
Like (1)
Bento de Espinosa
22 January 2017
I tried very hard to like this browser, but coming from Firefox, it was impossible. Very limited customization. You can't delete or even edit default search engines. Wow! And command-click on a link opens it in a new background tab. (No, I don't want to use shift-command-click for a front tab.) Pity.
Like
Version 42.0.2393.94
ES.knight
28 December 2016
After trying out different browsers including Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Tor and Opera, I made a conclusion that Chrome stays the quickest and simpler one. Safari takes the second place as it requires time to get used to. I would give Opera the honest third place as it's convenient enough but a little bit slower than previous ones. So, in general, Opera is better alternative than Firefox at least. That's just my user opinion.
Like (1)
Version 42.0.2393.94
Lvdoc
25 November 2016
I haven't used it enough to rate it, but it seems okay so far. I liked Chromium until it stopped working well with Flash. Now it appears that I have to install Flash on my Mac regardless of what browser I use. So Chromium lost its usefulness to me. I gave Safari another try, but it keeps forgetting any number of settings. Firefox seems to slow my computer overall. I'll stick with Opera for awhile and see how it goes.
Like
Version 41.0.2353.46
Sgginc
25 October 2016
Finally broke down and ran the installer. WHAT A MESS!!!! Stay away like the plague!!!!
Like (1)
Version 40.0.2308.90
JBX
14 October 2016
v40.x Lighter, Faster and better than Safari 10 and or any version Google Chrome.
Like
Version 40.0.2308.62
TwisterMc
07 October 2016
Great browser with most of Chrome's features without Google's fingers in everything. It also has a built in ad blocker, native share sheet, and pop-out videos. All great little features.
Like (1)
Version 40.0.2308.62
pettifogger0712
24 September 2016
Full installer is available at ftp://ftp.opera.com/pub/opera-beta/40.0.2308.52/mac/Opera_beta_40.0.2308.52_Setup.dmg ;-)
Like
Version 40.0.2308.62
blobber
23 September 2016
Not really a review...The installer keep telling me that my mac is not connected to internet when it is. So, no way to try this out. bummer
Like
Version 40.0.2308.62
Julia-S
23 September 2016
Like this browser. Fast and simple enough. My alternative to Google Chrome.
Like
Version 40.0.2308.62
The-Equalizer
21 September 2016
Crashes everytime you touch the keyboard. Crashes while trying to load 95% of websites. Cannot use until updated / fixed. Other than that, this is my default browser.
Like
Version 40.0.2308.54
silvio-dante
20 September 2016
Private browsing? Opera browser was sold to a Chinese consortium. (The new build-in Ad-Blocker- and VPN-Service might be a useful tool for the Chinese government, actually)
Like (3)
Version 39.0.2256.71
2 answer(s)
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
24 September 2016
Whaaaaaat??????????
Like
silvio-dante
silvio-dante
24 September 2016
@Pettifogger0712:

Yeah, unfortunately!

"After a $1.2 billion deal fell through, Opera has sold most of itself to a Chinese consortium for $600 million. The buyers, led by search and security firm Qihoo 360, are purchasing Opera's browser business, its privacy and performance apps, its tech licensing and, most importantly, its name."

source: https://www.engadget.com/2016/07/18/opera-browser-sold-to-a-chinese-consortium-for-600-million/

Check out "Vivaldi" Browser, it's the unofficial successor of Opera, from the real Opera-Developers from Norway. It's great, I uninstalled Opera and installed Vivaldi instead. Give it a try.
Like (2)
Dan-Buchan
20 September 2016
This is the comment/rating I sent to the developers after clicking the "Rate Opera" link in the Preferences section: __________ Holy Hell. Buh-bye Safari. Hellooooo Opera. You guys (and gals) should do more to get the word out about this awesome browser. Maybe hire some hot fashion models (male and female) to run naked through Times Square wearing nothing but hats that say "Forget Trump. Make BROWSING Great Again...Go Opera!" Everything I hate about Safari (esp. how they keep removing useful features with each new version), Firefox, and (excuse me for a second while I go vomit) Chrome, you guys (and gals) have fixed. It's my new default browser. Thank you. Dan But seriously, give that naked model/Times Square idea some serious thought. That's a winner!
Like
Version 40.0.2308.54