Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Keyboard Maestro page
Keyboard Maestro free download for Mac

Keyboard Maestro Reviews

15 March 2021

Hot-key tasking solution.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
bobembry
bobembry
Mar 15 2021
9.2
5.0
Mar 15 2021
5.0
Version: 9.2
Major time saver. Relieves lots of the irritation that goes along with doing the same routine stuff over and over and over and over and over ...
agd212
agd212
Feb 7 2021
9.2
5.0
Feb 7 2021
5.0
Version: 9.2
I’ve used Keyboard Maestro v.9.2 for about a month. I found it has a very intuitive user interface, and I was able to easily set various keys (I used the Function; F1, F2, etc. keys) on my Mac to launch/make active apps, insert dates, signatures and some other text strings I commonly have to type – like my email address. There are many pre-made actions you can select from that can be enabled in a variety of ways. One of the most useful features I use in Keyboard Maestro is the Clipboard History – it allows you to copy numerous pieces of content from one source (e.g. I often have to copy several segments of text or numbers from a web page), then paste them in sequence into another document rather than copy > paste each item separately. This feature alone has saved me at least an hour in my first month of use. I find that actions execute immediately on my old 2013 MacBook Pro. There is a large user support community, and the developer has responded to my email queries promptly. I look forward to enabling many more of the features in KM as I find the need.
christine-34
christine-34
Nov 18 2020
9.0.6
1.0
Nov 18 2020
1.0
Version: 9.0.6
I reached out to Peter, but haven't heard back since I posted my questions. Also he made it a point also to let me know he does not provide phone help nor did he bother to offer help in any other way. Wrote him over 2 weeks ago and never heard back other than to say he can't help if I am working with a 3rd party software I need to use KM for....um thanks?
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Nov 17 2020
9.0.6
0.0
Nov 17 2020
0.0
Version: 9.0.6
Latest version as of 11/17/2020 is 9.1 available on their website.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Nov 17 2020
9.0.6
0.0
Nov 17 2020
0.0
Version: 9.0.6
Latest version as of 11/17/2929 is 9.1 available on their website.
railpass
railpass
Jul 2 2020
9.0.5
5.0
Jul 2 2020
5.0
Version: 9.0.5
Finally made the jump from Quickeys, in order to move to Catalina. Oh man, I should have made this change a LONG time ago. Does everything Quickeys does, and more. Transition was not too bad. Small learning curve, but not as bad as I expected.
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 26 2019
9.0.3
0.0
Nov 26 2019
0.0
Version: 9.0.3
I just want to share a nice shortcut trick that I've been using for years: let's call it "the magic key"... ;-) Amongst the hundreds of shortcuts I'm using, there's one that I'm pretty proud of, I program the F5 key in any application to do the most important thing in that app, or the one that I use most. Refreshing a page in any browser, marking an email as read in any mail app (or an article in my RSS reader), displaying/hiding a menu bar in some apps, etc. I applied the same idea with any app with a drawer or a sidebar: F14 for toggling it. I hope some of you like the idea — and of course Keyboard Maestro is a wonder for that purpose! :-)
MichelH8564
MichelH8564
Oct 11 2019
9.0.3
5.0
Oct 11 2019
5.0
Version: 9.0.3
An absolute must to replace Quickeys. Even getting better and better at each update.
MichelH8564
MichelH8564
Oct 11 2019
9.0.3
5.0
Oct 11 2019
5.0
Version: 9.0.3
An absolute must to replace Quickeys.
russfam-1
russfam-1
Aug 14 2019
9.0
0.0
Aug 14 2019
0.0
Version: 9.0
The support i received from Peter was first class. I had a thorough explanation of a problem i posed in a very friendly manner. Peter's explanation was very easy for me to follow. It is great to see such support for a very powerful piece of software.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Aug 14 2019
9.0
5.0
Aug 14 2019
5.0
Version: 9.0
I upgraded with closed eyes! The reason is that I had engineered a macro that could make me see even through my shut eyes! Don’t believe it?! Well, I might have exaggerated a bit but Keyboard Maestro is so powerful that it’s not difficult to imagine it working such miracles! Software engineering at its best for whatever complexity you throw at it. Can’t recommend it enough. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Dana_Nau
Dana_Nau
Aug 13 2019
9.0
5.0
Aug 13 2019
5.0
Version: 9.0
I've been using Keyboard Maestro since Version 5, and at this point I have about 400 macros. A few of them are pretty complicated, but most of them provide keystrokes for simple things that I do very frequently. I don't know how I could live without it.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Aug 13 2019
9.0
5.0
Aug 13 2019
5.0
Version: 9.0
This has been the most amazing program and best investment I've ever made in my Mac. And now dark mode! My eyes thank you.
modi34
modi34
Jul 17 2019
8.2.4
2.5
Jul 17 2019
2.5
Version: 8.2.4
Ive been using this extension for 4 years. I always felt that I do not use it to its full potential and that it is my fault somehow. But the truth is the ux of this extension is hideous here is an example that brought me finally here https://i.imgur.com/jS54V56.png (script on screen does not work) I want to execute custom shell script with text input but there is no way to know how to get that text input. After 30 min of trying everything I could find or remember I started googling... https://wiki.keyboardmaestro.com/action/Execute_a_Shell_Script?s[]=kmvar&s[]=input documentation is written by aliens for aliens and ofcourse does not solve my problem. I want to say that this app saved me a lot of time over the years but the truth is it created more problems than it solved. :(
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Aug 19 2018
8.2.4
5.0
Aug 19 2018
5.0
Version: 8.2.4
Keyboard Maestro is an UNBELIEVABLY helpful software since years for me. It is updated again and again and worth every penny! I have been able to automate even highly complex workflows, and so Keyboard Maestro has been saving me a lot of time for years now. Besides, there is a user forum which is perfectly maintained and always offers inspiring solutions. Keyboard Maestro is undoubtedly one of the most significant additions for everyone who works professionally with their Mac.
Levelbest
Levelbest
Aug 16 2018
8.2.4
5.0
Aug 16 2018
5.0
Version: 8.2.4
KeyboardMaestro is maybe the one app that I could not do without. We all have our preferences about software we like, but KeyboardMaestro just works, works well, and is advanced and complex and at the same time, is very approachable. I have dabbled in AppleScript and love it - hate it. I love what it does, but I hate trying to understand it’s logic. Javascript s also very useful and easier on my brain to understand than AppleScript. I mention this here because the reasons I sometimes am drawn to seeking a solution for something is because I want my mac to behave in a way that I want it to behave and not so much because I think like a programmer. KeyboardMaestro fits the bill. It can do so many things - including run all your applescripts. It is a virtual Swiss Army knife for doing just about anything you want on a Mac. Only it is better. With a Swiss Army knife you don't get a locking blade and, it’s a bit light weight for real day to day utility in a pocket knife. Not so with KeyboardMaestro. It takes a little understanding to figure out a solution at times, but the forums on KeyboardMaestro have always weighed-in quickly with solutions to my questions. Sometimes an app wont open as I think it should with certain conditions or windows ready when I open it. Keyboard Maestro can read an apps menus so with a one key macro I can tell my apps to open as I want them, resize windows, and so much more. I can highly recommend this app. In case anyone hasn’t taken the plunge, it is a great app for doing any sort of customization to your mac.
ray-brooks
ray-brooks
Jun 10 2018
8.2.1
5.0
Jun 10 2018
5.0
Version: 8.2.1
very useful tool
Tomjwright
Tomjwright
May 14 2018
8.2.1
5.0
May 14 2018
5.0
Version: 8.2.1
I have been a long time user of DragThing. When it recently became apparent that the developer has no intention of upgrading that program to a 64-bit version (and Apple announced that the next MacOS will not support 32-bit applications), I started looking for a replacement for DragThing. Keyboard Maestro is a little more challenging to set up, but after some trial and error and consulting the User Manual, I have managed to get KM to function to my satisfaction and duplicate the essential performance of DT. For the last several days, I have disabled DragThing and have been using Keyboard Maestro exclusively as my application/file/folder launcher. I give it a solid five star rating.
Cheops
Cheops
Mar 23 2018
8.2
5.0
Mar 23 2018
5.0
Version: 8.2
I don't usually gush about an application, but KM is one great utility. Frequently updated and new features added, it makes my Mac experience so much more efficient and enjoyable. Keep up the great work, Mr. Lewis!
bobembry
bobembry
Mar 22 2018
8.2
5.0
Mar 22 2018
5.0
Version: 8.2
Makes life so much easier
Haevuus
Haevuus
Feb 6 2018
8.0.5
0.0
Feb 6 2018
0.0
Version: 8.0.5
This is one of those times I want to weigh in and just speak generally to a developer: Thank you, Peter, for one of the most relevant, powerful, well-maintained and absolutely useful tools I have ever experienced on the Mac (and I go back to itty-bitty B&W Mac screens.) Frankly, as an app I have gotten stunning mileage out of, this one reigns supreme.
kengler412
kengler412
Oct 5 2017
8.0.3
5.0
Oct 5 2017
5.0
Version: 8.0.3
The only thing more awesome than KM is their support. I emailed a bug report, and Peter replied quickly and had the bug fixed in a couple of days.
Billearl
Billearl
Sep 29 2017
8.0.1
0.0
Sep 29 2017
0.0
Version: 8.0.1
You might want to change that to 8.0.2, as of today.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Sep 23 2017
8.0
0.0
Sep 23 2017
0.0
Version: 8.0
The current version is 8.0.1
iamdavid
iamdavid
Sep 20 2017
8.0
3.0
Sep 20 2017
3.0
Version: 8.0
Have been using 7.3.1 and upgraded to 8.0 today, but it won't run in 10.12.6. Every time I try to start a macro I get an error message.... so I went back to the old version. It is a great program - I hope this can get sorted.
Bluestar
Bluestar
Mar 26 2017
7.3.1
5.0
Mar 26 2017
5.0
Version: 7.3.1
I've been looking for a replacement for Quickeys for several years now (also TextExpander or something rolled into one like those two). They have not been keeping up with MAC OSX releases. Quickeys started crashing more and more under Sierra. And now, I found Keyboard Maestro! Awesome piece of software! Does everything Quickeys and TextExpander do rolled into one and more! Kudos to the devs! R-E-S-P-E-C-T!
MacDev
MacDev
Sep 3 2016
7.0.1
5.0
Sep 3 2016
5.0
Version: 7.0.1
KM is an amazing piece of software. I was using TextExpander, but ditched it with its FORCED SUBSCRIPTION MODEL (and, if I went along, I would have to store my snippets "in their cloud" un-encyrpted). No thanks.

I then went to aText, which is excellent and from my perspective even better than TextExpander. Ye,t aText was crashing on me and the developer did not respond to any emails (abandonware?) . The last version of aText was LAST NOVEMBER (2015), nearly a year ago.

I had already been using KM for lots of other automation so I decided to move my snippets over as needed. KM gives you so much control over your macros it's amazing. IF-THEN-ELSE logic and easy date math.

Possibly the best part of this product is that the developer RESPONDS TO EMAILS! He is also updating this already-excellent program all the time.

And, there is no FORCED SUBSCRIPTION!

I'll keep buying upgrades to this program whenever they are available. I already have over 50 macros (initially I wasn't sure how I would use KM, but that period quickly ended as I found more and more things to automate).

Excellent Program!!!!
--------------

Current version (09-03-2016) is 7.2.1. Not sure why the version here is out of date.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Aug 29 2016
7.0.1
0.0
Aug 29 2016
0.0
Version: 7.0.1
The latest version of Keyboard Maestro is 7.2.1. Not sure why the version shown here is still from November of last year.
Eromer
Eromer
Aug 1 2016
7.0.1
5.0
Aug 1 2016
5.0
Version: 7.0.1
I'm a longtime QuicKeys user, but when I upgraded my OS to El Capitan, QuicKeys was buggy, so I decided to give Keyboard Maestro a try. Wow. Does everything QuicKeys does and more, relatively easy to use, works very smoothly, great support. I migrated my 100+ shortcuts from QuicKeys (by hand, unfortunately but understandably) and added more. It makes several of my apps easier to use. Great productivity tool.
R1234j
R1234j
May 26 2016
7.0.1
5.0
May 26 2016
5.0
Version: 7.0.1
Years ago, I'd been a devoted user of QuickKeys, until it went under, leaving me without a good alternative until I discovered Keyboard Maestro - which I now like much better than QK! I'm in no way a power user, but Keyboard Maestro is so easy and intuive that I use it every day for screenwriting, word processing, video editing and all around time-saving for receptive tasks. It would feel like working with chisel on stone without it and Peter's amazingly speedy, caring and consistently excellent support make this a truly wonderful piece of software. Highly recommended!
smayer97
smayer97
May 9 2016
7.0.1
0.0
May 9 2016
0.0
Version: 7.0.1
v7.1.1 is available on owner site
Whit-g
Whit-g
May 3 2016
7.0.1
5.0
May 3 2016
5.0
Version: 7.0.1
SO MUCH AWESOME. I was just reading through the long, detailed list of improvements with v.7.1 and wondering if I had bothered to leave an MU review for this app, which I've been using for several years now. I've been through at least three different macro systems since 1995 - I rely on them heavily in my work - and while the now defunct iKey was a strong option (apparently now it's yKey and back in action? Strange representation on the web), I don't think anything has compared with the intuitiveness, and perhaps with the power, of Keyboard Maestro. It just works beautifully and reliably, and it can do just about anything I can throw at it. Great work, guys.
david-nastase
david-nastase
Jan 6 2016
7.0.1
5.0
Jan 6 2016
5.0
Version: 7.0.1
Perfect for botting games :)
Lhutz
Lhutz
Dec 27 2015
7.0.1
5.0
Dec 27 2015
5.0
Version: 7.0.1
Insanely useful application. I use it for inserting text snippets, window management, remapping keyboard shortcuts, adding keyboard shortcuts to e.g. browser extensions that don't support keyboard shortcuts, running scheduled tasks, fixing small annoyances in various apps that would otherwise not be fixable, running various AppleScripts, clipboard management & text cleanup, automating a ton of things... just to name a few. As a novice, you can already do a bunch of handy things, but once you get a little deeper into Keyboard Maestro, it just becomes absolutely mind blowing what you can do with it.
psroy
psroy
Nov 30 2015
7.0.1
5.0
Nov 30 2015
5.0
Version: 7.0.1
Amazing software. The best app for mac-based automation. The combination of power and flexibility offered by this software is unparalleled. Anytime you think: "I wish I could automate this feature of app X" or "I want apps X, Y and Z to work in conjunction when one action happens," this is the app that can make it happen. Highly recommended!
Guest
Guest
Oct 13 2015
7.0
0.0
Oct 13 2015
0.0
Version: 7.0
Keyboard Maestro changes the way you think about using every other application on your mac. Instead of thinking "I wish I had an app that could do X" or "I wish this app had X feature", KM empowers non-programmers to build a solution themselves. I have created entire projects that would otherwise have been useless without programming skills. Almost literally anything I have thought of that I wanted my mac to do, I have been able to create in Keyboard Maestro. The support also comes directly from Peter, the (*very patient*) developer, with the help of a very active support forum. I likely can't say anything else than what has already been said by other reviewers... if it's not clear, I love Keyboard Maestro!!
awestwood
awestwood
Oct 13 2015
7.0
5.0
Oct 13 2015
5.0
Version: 7.0
This is a very, very good macro creator - much better than others I've tried. There are a few tricks to learn, such as to use keystrokes wherever possible, uses pauses to adjust the speed, use 'pause until' to halt macros at selected points for debugging, and create a simple 'cancel all macros' keyboard shortcut (I use 'alt-esc' for this purpose as the default multiple key press is too tedious and difficult to remember). But I have been very surprised at just how useful this app can be - I bought it for a specific purpose, but now find I have a dozen standard macros I keep loaded and active all the time. Highly recommended.
Malby
Malby
Aug 5 2015
7.0
5.0
Aug 5 2015
5.0
Version: 7.0
Utterly amazing software. This is what Apple's Automator should be! And yet Apple has all those programmers! But Keyboard Maestro is so much more powerful and flexible than the scope of Automator. Why don't computer operating systems do this straight out of the box? After all, they are about automation. And all those clock cycles going to waste.

Keyboard Maestro is the first shareware purchase for any serious Mac user. It's power is extraordinary. And Version 7 is a worthwhile update. My only connection to the developer is that I also happen to live in Australia. On the other side though. ;)
Mikenesmith
Mikenesmith
Jul 24 2015
7.0
3.0
Jul 24 2015
3.0
Version: 7.0
A good application, but overpriced for what it does. Most of the features here can be run with ALFRED for free (or even far less than KM for its paid powerpack), and that app has a community creating new options for it all the time. (And no, I don't work for Alfred, don't know anybody there, don't get any $$$ from its makers, etc.) With KM's upgrade price more than ALFRED costs, well, I won't be upgrading.
Jerry-T
Jerry-T
Jul 23 2015
7.0
5.0
Jul 23 2015
5.0
Version: 7.0
came from the windows world with autohotkey. This is much easier than ahk! the v7 has the tap (twice, three times, four times) trigger, which is wonderful and genius!
Quasimodo
Quasimodo
Jul 23 2015
7.0
5.0
Jul 23 2015
5.0
Version: 7.0
Excellent app. I not only dropped Typinator for KM, but I am moving a lot of what I used to use QuicKeys for over to it, now that QK is falling behind the times. KM, on the contrary, is improving all the time.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Jul 22 2015
7.0
5.0
Jul 22 2015
5.0
Version: 7.0
I've been using KM since version 1 and have watched the application grow from simple basic macros to being able to create complex multiple action macros that can be activated in multiple ways. I launch macros on my iPhone on my home computer using the Keyboard Maestro app. Keyboard Maestro and 1Password are the first two applications I install on my computer. I highly recommend this application to anyone that repeats opening the same applications or documents daily. Once you create up a few simple macros you will learn how awesome this application really is. The developer Peter is awesome and customer service is the best. __I Love this application__
alex1529
alex1529
May 3 2015
6.4.8
5.0
May 3 2015
5.0
Version: 6.4.8
awesome app
Fvdg
Fvdg
Jan 14 2015
6.4.8
2.0
Jan 14 2015
2.0
Version: 6.4.8
This latest update makes my shortcuts stop! I have F12 as Forward delete, it is enabled and always worked. After this latest update it does no longer...
bikerbob38
bikerbob38
Oct 19 2014
6.4.7
3.0
Oct 19 2014
3.0
Version: 6.4.7
Not so much a review as a comment: $36 is a pretty steep price for a clipboard manager!
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Oct 3 2014
6.4.7
0.0
Oct 3 2014
0.0
Version: 6.4.7
What's the idle CPU usage percentage?
Full Score
Full Score
Sep 22 2014
6.4.7
5.0
Sep 22 2014
5.0
Version: 6.4.7
Excellent program. I have been using v 6.4.7 for the last 4 weeks. How is it that MacUpdate is only now listing it? My only gripe is its interaction with 1Password 4 which needs to be open and NOT hidden for KM to work. Does anyone have any ideas to work around this Apple-created "bug"?
anonymous-heron-1411
anonymous-heron-1411
Sep 13 2014
6.4.5
5.0
Sep 13 2014
5.0
Version: 6.4.5
If you're considering it, don't worry, you'll like it.
itabmedia
itabmedia
Sep 12 2014
6.4.5
5.0
Sep 12 2014
5.0
Version: 6.4.5
Keyboard Maestro will save you tons of time on a daily basis. There are hundreds of ways you can use this to speed up menial tasks. Currently just started using this for a few everyday tasks such as renaming files, changing window sizes and placements, as well as resizing images. It has replaced three apps on my Mac that I had for specific tasks. I also have it setup to launch all of my workflows and Applescripts with different hotkeys. To be honest, I had a bit of difficulty setting some things up because I'm new to this type stuff. So I emailed the dev about my issues. Within the day he responded to me, posting solutions, and trying to help me better understand the app itself. He has been a huge help to me. After only using the app for a few hours I upgraded the trial to the full version. The time this app saves you on a daily basis pays for itself very quickly.
george-roukas
george-roukas
Aug 17 2014
6.4.5
5.0
Aug 17 2014
5.0
Version: 6.4.5
I can't say how happy I am to have finally found KM! I switched from windows to mac a couple of years ago and have had an every-shortening list of things I missed on windows. One big item to tick off is a good macro recorder--and Keyboard Maestro is more than I ever had on windows. I LOVE this app--so easy to record and replay simple keyboard macros but it also has lots of functionality to automate many other tasks. So far I haven't found any bugs, either. A great piece of software.