Back to DiskTracker page
DiskTracker free download for Mac

DiskTracker Reviews2.4.7

28 October 2013

Catalogs files on your disks.

Derekcurrie
29 October 2018
Version: 2.4.7

Most helpful

Abandonware. It's impossible to buy it, despite it being available for download. It still runs fine on macOS 10.14 Mojave! But it won't run on 10.15 because the app is 32-bit.

For transition to a 64-bit disc cataloguing application:
1) EXPORT your DiskTracker catalogues to text.
2) IMPORT the resulting DiskTracker .dtc.txt file into your intended 64-bit disc cataloguing program.
3) VERIFY the resulting catalogue is accurate and properly formatted. If it's not, try importing it into another cataloguing program.

Experimentation:
It's possible that a database program may more accurately import the .dtc.txt file, then let you export it again into a format that works for your intended 64-bit disc cataloguing program. OR a text editor may be able to reformat your database to be compatible with your intended disc cataloguing program. Be sure to use the correct extension used by the cataloguing program on the reformatted file before attempting to open it. If the reformatted catalogue is still not compatible with the intended cataloguing program, you'll quickly find out.

Thus far, my own experiments have NOT resulted in successful export/import into a new program. I'll keep trying. If others have succeeded, please post!
(1)

How would you rate DiskTracker app?

Read 42 DiskTracker User Reviews

5
dominiqueg
28 February 2019
Version: 2.4.7
still useful after all these years
(2)
Derekcurrie
29 October 2018
Version: 2.4.7
Abandonware. It's impossible to buy it, despite it being available for download. It still runs fine on macOS 10.14 Mojave! But it won't run on 10.15 because the app is 32-bit.

For transition to a 64-bit disc cataloguing application:
1) EXPORT your DiskTracker catalogues to text.
2) IMPORT the resulting DiskTracker .dtc.txt file into your intended 64-bit disc cataloguing program.
3) VERIFY the resulting catalogue is accurate and properly formatted. If it's not, try importing it into another cataloguing program.

Experimentation:
It's possible that a database program may more accurately import the .dtc.txt file, then let you export it again into a format that works for your intended 64-bit disc cataloguing program. OR a text editor may be able to reformat your database to be compatible with your intended disc cataloguing program. Be sure to use the correct extension used by the cataloguing program on the reformatted file before attempting to open it. If the reformatted catalogue is still not compatible with the intended cataloguing program, you'll quickly find out.

Thus far, my own experiments have NOT resulted in successful export/import into a new program. I'll keep trying. If others have succeeded, please post!
(1)
Show comment (1)
5
Barry5p
24 December 2016
Version: 2.4.7
Simply the best and it is FAST.
(0)
Derekcurrie
22 November 2016
Version: 2.4.7
DiskTracker is still going strong on macOS 10.12 Sierra! No update required.
(0)
Franko
28 October 2013
Version: 2.4.7
So with this new update i realized, aside DT being my fave cataloguing app, that it and GraphicConverter are the 2 oldest running apps on my Mac. I'd add IRCle but it's pretty much a 3/4 dead fish swimming in cIRCles.
(1)
5
Gary30
13 September 2013
Version: 2.4.6
Acquired as part of the BYOB bundle offer found at Squidoodotcom for $5.95. I have long felt that five to ten bucks seems about right for this kind of app. Basically, it indexes the files on a volume and creates a catalog that can be browsed as though the Finder were being used. Can export a list as a tab or comma delimited text file with headers. Initial indexing is fast. Updates are very fast. Catalog files are reasonable in size. For my media volume which is 300+ GB with I get a 16 MB catalog file that took about 5 minutes to build.
(1)
4.5
Bigboysdad
25 May 2011
Version: 2.4.4b4
I've recently put this to use by recovering in seconds, a 4 year old piece of email data long gone from my laptop. My employer has unsuccessfully been trying to recover this same piece of data from its its expensive and convoluted windoze based backup system for over 2 months. Last year I "upgraded" and imported my DT data to CD Finder but whilst CD Finder is regularly maintained and excellently supported, I still found myself coming back to DT as it eschews eye candy and focuses on just finding that all important file - it basically works the same as the excellent app Find Any File. I'm grateful the developers are continuing maintaining it and hope they continue to do so.
(2)
Tozzo
10 May 2011
Version: 2.4.4b3
This version works as expected in Tiger.
(0)
5
Olivier-herrbach
09 May 2011
Version: 2.4.4b3
ABOUT WHAT I SAID ABOUT THIS SOFTWARE, and what I just wrote to the developer : "Dear "Portents, Llc" (Developer), I deeply apologize for what I said on MacUpdate (PPC Application). It's alright, your software is an Universal one (I'll remove what's not Intel). I'll correct it on MacUpdate.com (IT'S DONE NOW). With my kind regards, Olivier Herrbach PS : I CAN'T (not possible here) to give 5 to third and fourth. WHY ?
(0)
1
Tozzo
16 April 2011
Version: 2.4.4b2
This version just launches then quits for me...
(0)
Show comments (6)
4
Darth-Brooks
17 November 2010
Version: 2.4.3
DiskTracker 2.4.1 and earlier allowed the names of cataloged disks to be edited but versions 2.4.2 and 2.4.3 do not. Why would anyone want to change the name of a cataloged volume? It doesn't happen very often but occasionally the original disk name is wrong or contains a misspelling. Also, DiskTracker 2.4.2 and 2.4.3 crash repeatedly when trying to drag a cataloged disk from one catalog window to another under Mac OS X 10.4.11 PPC. DiskTracker 2.4.1 handled the drag and drop with ease. I've cataloged thousands of volumes with DiskTracker since 1998 and hope the dev addresses these two issues.
(1)
4
Bigboysdad
11 September 2010
Version: 2.4.2
Just a quick nod to this application in the event that anyone might be looking for a disk cataloger. I have been using this application for years, have tried some newer alternative products and see no reason to change. If all you want to do is scan DMGs or DVDs as I do, search for old offsite archived files on your Mac and identify where those archived files are stored, this is all you need. Just gets on and does its thing predictably, effectively and reliably. Uses an effective and simple Finder like interface for searching files manually and its standalone search facility is as simple or complex as you want it to be and is as fast as any alternative product out there. If you are looking for a disk cataloger want more than this, try the more expensive CDFinder. If not, buy this application - its the lack of 100s of features and pretty GUI that makes it less bloated and as a result, simpler, faster and more effective.
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
Itty
07 July 2010
Version: 2.4.2b6
Ah, new screenshot. [much better] The developer seems to be too honest for the software industry. Most developers would call this an update, not a beta. I can find no bugs using this in my workflow. Mind, you, I have never used the disk labeling system, Sharpies have always worked fine for me. I tried it on an old G4 Flat screen iMac running Tiger, and an even older iBook G3 running Tiger, and a recent top-of-the-line MacBookPro 64Bit SnowLeopard, and didn't run into a glitch. DiskTRacker runs as reliable as always. Which is critical with any database app. It still reads my old databases from the 90's, OS8, days. Very happy to see this is fully supported, best-in-class.
(0)
5
Itty
22 June 2010
Version: 2.4.2b4
Still the best for finding stuff on disk archives. Been using it for ages. Since the days of the micro-floppy. [yeah, I'm that old]. Please ignore the screenshot. I think it's from the OS 7 days. Maybe a SnowLeopard shot would be a good idea? It works fine on Snow Leopard on Intel Macs and still works fine on old G3 and G4 Macs running Tiger, as well. The competition cannot make that claim. If you have a lot of archived DVD's, CD's, DVD Ram, MO's, Hard Disks, and, yes, Floppies, then you need this app. Tried all the others, DiskCatalogMaker, CDFinder, etc.. But they all try to add too many features that slow the app down. If you need to catalog your media [image,video,graphics, etc] then use a dedicated media cataloger. I use Toast for it's Disk Spanning feature, making archive disks and sets that are individually Finder-Readable. I use DiskTracker to catalog all my disks and can quickly find any file going back to the early '90's. DiskTracker is dedicated to finding files in Finder-Like fashion, on all your off-line disks. It has the most powerful search engine of the bunch and that is by far the most important feature. Without a good find function, what's the point?
(0)
Franko
04 November 2009
Version: 2.4.1b2
DT might be in the running with IRCle for the longest Beta ;) Despite this DT remains an app I cannot do without. Yes its look is aged but, like an old VW Beetle, you'll still take care of it for its great strengths and capabilities carried out with aplomb.
(1)
Donnadonna
18 April 2009
Version: 2.4
When the "Scan into archives" feature is enabled for "Stuffit/Zip", DiskTracker shortens the names of all Stuffit archives and their contents to 31 characters or less a la OS 9. When the feature is turned off it successfully records the long names of Stuffit archives but of course not any of their content. When applying Finder labels to disks in the catalog, some icons become labeled with a color as expected, then DiskTracker oddly asks for 1 of the cataloged CD-Rs to be inserted (for what purpose I have no idea since they are read only) and when I elect to "Skip" DiskTracker then fails to label -any- of the remaining items that were selected.
(1)
Phaleron
26 March 2008
Version: 2.4b9
BLUESTAR I think you missed the point. Yes, it takes only a few seconds to launch Disk Tracker, but more often than not you don't launch it every time you slip a CD in the caddy. So, when you suddenly need to look up your database for that file, in that CD, which you have not yet inventoried, you need to first find all the uncatalogued CDs, import them into Disk Tracker, and then begin to look for that item. This is why it is a very useful feature, and one that Disk Tracker had once decided to be important enough to design into the software.
(1)
5
Bluestar
01 February 2008
Version: 2.4b7
I've been using this great little app for a number of years now and find it indispensable for cataloging my backup disks. Used to be CDs and now DVDs. Also catalog my off-line hard drives with it that I use for backup such as Firewire drives. Very stable program as well. Highly recommended. -- Note to PHALARON (another reviewer below) It takes a only few second to launch this app to scan disks. You let me know if you come across a computer that I don't have to start up to do my computing please.
(1)
5
Itty
04 January 2008
Version: 2.4b6
I've been using this app for over a decade and I find it indispensable. Now, with Zip archive content cataloging, it is even more useful. Much more powerful than the freebie that ships with Toast. I use this a lot more often than Spotlight to find files on my Mac. For a beta I have found it to be remarkably stable. Looking forward to upgrading when the final version ships.
(1)
1
Phaleron
13 October 2007
Version: 2.4b4
The best thing about DiskTracker was the ability to automatically catalogue inserted volumes through the Finder, without the need for launching the app. Unfortunately, this OS9 feature was never replicated in the OSX version, and moreover, the utility became a true deadware. Even with a new version in the works (?), I would not trust a developer that remembers once every few years to develop this once-great and powerful app. I am still looking for a utility that can archive volumes without it being launched. If anyone knows of one, let me know.
(1)
1
Corpsecorps
17 May 2007
Version: 2.3.3
_ Holy crap! I haven't looked at this since 2004, at which time it had a really bad OS 9 UI. It's STILL the same, but with a few more years gone, the UI is now absolutely HORRIBLE! The fonts STILL aren't antialiased. The prefs are divided into multiple separate dialogs which must be brought up individually. Window resizing isn't even live. It's not a UB, in fact, it's barely OS X. It's pathetic even for carbon. Prefs refer to outdated features. Everything is clunky. It was almost usable back when i had a PowerPC 7200 but this is just GHASTLY! Never has entered the 21st century. .
(2)
Show comment (1)
Silversleeves
14 May 2007
Version: 2.3.3
I'm back to it too. I hope at some point the same developer/s make a Folder Tracker. I think it would fill a gap. Great app. Nice to see it's kept up.
(1)
Maxruehl
11 April 2007
Version: 2.3.3
Does anyone else have a problem with their database file becoming irretrievably corrupted? Why would this be happening? It would be great to be able to have a user defined auto-save backup, just in case the original gets corrupted.
(0)
5
Davidlaska
05 April 2006
Version: 2.3.3
I could keep track of floppies and even cd,s with some markups and labels but then came DVD,s plus I now accumulated more stuff in the computer and bigger drives. I lost control when I forgot where I began when I was at the end. I played with disktracker for years for other than its intent. cataloging and then speedy searches for duplicates, or for super fast searches when I had a PC disc to look for. They can have 5000 things in folder and the mac slows down when a action is taken. But now I have to use it for what it does or get two 500 gig external drives. It never has done any thing bad like data got deleted somehow or such.
(1)
Anonymous
24 January 2006
Version: 2.3.3
I've been using this program since OS9 and found it to be a valuable asset. It does what it says and is easy to use. I find the search field not as accurate as it should be but it's a rare occasion when I can't find something. My biggest complaint about this program though is the look and the development. This program has looked the same since it's OS9 days even the fonts are the same. It would be nice to spice up the GUI and move some items around. As far as development, updates don't come very often and when they do there is not much that changes. Great program, very useful, but like to see more development.
(0)
Show comment (1)
3.75
Boomboom
02 December 2005
Version: 2.3.2
I too have come back to this app after years (....OS9 days!) cos, basically, I have a million more disks now than then - so many, in fact, that I lost the ability to find/use them. This app does exactly what I need. It's just that there's GOT to be a prettier way!!?!?
(0)
Show comment (1)
4.5
Anonymous
03 September 2005
Version: 2.3.2
It may not be pretty to look at, but its got it where it counts. My eyes aren't perfect, but on a good 20" LCD at 1600x1200 I have no problem reading it. I have a mere 1.3million files in 217 volumes and it makes searching them a breeze. Its too bad Spotlight took away any useful search capabilities in 10.4...I find it easier to index with disktracker and search there!
(0)
3.75
Anonymous
26 August 2005
Version: 2.3.2
I have to agree with the recent comments. I just started up DiskTracker after a long while of not using it, to try and locate some files that I thought were moved off my hard disk. Now that I've upgraded to Tiger, the antiquated DiskTracker UI comes as a shock. The current OS X default font is nowhere to be found. I changed the default font to something nicer than the system default, but DiskTracker only lets it display in bold in its window disk listings. I can't de-uglify this thing! It is also jarring to enter a search application that doesn't use Spotlight. I'd love to be able to use Spotlight content indexing on unmounted volumes. DiskTracker is really useful. I hope they once again make it usable.
(0)
4
Anonymous
21 August 2005
Version: 2.3.2
I have used this for years as many of the reviewers have. I have one comment to make and this is what most users have complained about after reading the reviews and that is the interface. Unfortunately, and I must agree, the interface does indeed look out of date. It is unfortunate that it takes some fiddling around in the preferences to select a font. I would prefer if things were setup already. It would be great if there were a interface like iTunes. This is my one and only complaint - the UI. It needs much improving. With that said I would like to commend the developer for fixing some of the bug issues in a timely manner and for creating what is otherwise a very good disk cataloguer.
(0)
4.25
Murraylock
04 March 2005
Version: 2.3.1
I've been using DiskTracker for a number of years and currently have 1,000 CDs and over 500 DVDs of my graphic files all in one archive. Disktracker works briliantly and gives the results of a search instantly. This is a program my graphic design business can't do without. I don't the problem of the font being too small that some reviewers have mentioned.
(0)
Anonymous
24 October 2004
Version: 2.3.1b4
AARGH!! DiskTracker's age-old font antialiasing problem lives on! Make the fonts small enough to fit in lots of collumns of data, and it becomes unreadable at high res.
(0)
3.25
Anonymous
24 October 2004
Version: 2.3.1b4
This has always been a bit quirky and annoying, but it's tough finding a decent disk catalog app so i thought i'd give it another try. DiskTracker is definitely looking worse for wear.
(0)
4
iMacThere4iAm
23 October 2004
Version: 2.3.1b4
Since I upgraded to DT X there doesn't seem to be the ability to auto-scan CDs as they are inserted. Has this been lost in Carbonisation or have I done something wrong. I now give this 3 stars for features instead of 5 stars because that was the whole point of the thing.
(0)
Show comment (1)
Anonymous
15 April 2004
Version: 2.3.1b4
Since I discovered CDFinder some good years ago, I've tried other software of the same nature. None proved as powerful as CDF. I highly reccommend it.
(0)
Anonymous
15 April 2004
Version: 2.3.1b3
New Version is out, as 2.3.1b3 is expired...
(0)
5
Anonymous
17 December 2003
Version: 2.3.1b2
I have been using DT for over a year and it has been a real timesaver when I need to find a file among over 575 CD's containing data that are currently cataloged. It has never given me any problems. I've tried others that perform similar functions but DT is the best. I would be lost without it.
(0)
4.75
Davidlaska
17 December 2003
Version: 2.3.1b2
with so many files theses days, only disktracker (my simular app. but I don,t know) can cateloge all the files fast and you can sort them with the find or duplicate with many options. Other applications that don,t catologe but use other ways to orginize never make it through my volumes and giveup.
(0)
4.25
Anonymous
17 December 2003
Version: 2.3.1b2
I am really surprised at some of these comments. I have used this product forever and find it of great value to me. It accomplishes what I ask of it, and it has served me well. I have close to 300,000 files tracked by it and am really impressed. I do not notice a slow copy speed in it. Also, it has been updated regularly and without charge. The updates have always been stable on my computer. For me, IMHO it is very functional program and I appreciate it. Thanks to the developer.
(0)
2.75
Anonymous
28 August 2003
Version: 2.3
Over the time i've been subscribed to MacAddict i've used this app for short periods until my nerves couldn't take it and then abandoned it. Then tried it later when new versions have appeared. Same effect with 2.3. While it has continued to advance and many bugs have been fixed, it has always seemed awkward and in some ways unsophisticated. Somehow the entire interface and structure has never seemed all that intuitive. There's nothing particularly bad about it and i'm sure many people would find it great, i'm always on the lookout for something better. ---------- A current sampling of oddities: - Use of the USB Disk Drive icon for 'Locked removable media" - Reports some CD's as containing 1.2 GB of data - Portions of catalog data in sometimes changes from antialiased to blobby black type when folders or disks are expanded and closed. The entire window's type is affected when Prefs are brought up while it's showing. - Window resizing is not live. (Doesn't cause a redraw so it doesn't fix the blobby type problem either) - When Date columns are made skinny, data is truncated instead of being compacted to shorter forms, and only whether the time is presented is available as a pref. - Scrolling isn't live. - Added desktop folders are sometimes catalogued as CD-ROM's - Mousewheel scrolling is jerky and sluggish. - Scans a disk slowly compared to some other software. - Hand cursor comes up over column heads even just for clicking to sort. Two clicks are required to initiate the sort when changing columns. - Search result windows ignore font size prefs and use a teeny font size. $30 is too much for this beast. It feels very OS 9-ish and clunky.
(0)
Show comments (3)
4.25
Anonymous
30 May 2003
Version: 2.3
This application helped me sort through the mess of burned data cd's which had been accumulating in my desk. It has never crashed on me ever.
(0)
Anonymous
12 May 2003
Version: 2.3
Too bad it can't handle MP3 data, as some other tools do...
(0)
4.25
bcwinters
15 March 2003
Version: 2.3b2
I'm surprised there are no reviews of this here, so here goes. I have been using DiskTracker to list & search all the CDs I've burned since I got my first CD burner four years ago. It has served me well from OSes 8.6 through Jaguar. While Carbonization has not treated it perfectly (some ugly fonts; some "not quite cocoa" buttons), the core disk database has proven to be infallible. And it has never crashed on me. Ever. A must-have utility for anyone who uses removable media.
(0)