Back to iGetter page
iGetter free download for Mac

iGetter Reviews2.9.7

26 November 2019

Download manager and accelerator.

How would you rate iGetter?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Morlo
Morlo
Sep 24 2017
2.9.5
4.5
Sep 24 2017
4.5
Version: 2.9.5
wow.. i've used Transmit 5 and Yummy FTP but iGetter is ten times faster becasue it supports accelerated downloads. Its incredible the devs haven't updated this app with a modern UI (it is absolutely horrible and unintuitive).. but it does the job better than the most modern FTP solutions.. i spent 30 minutes just trying to figure out how to work with FTP (you use ftp://(address) ) in the site manager in the preferences.
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
Nov 6 2016
2.9.5
5.0
Nov 6 2016
5.0
Version: 2.9.5
... still the best... no doubt! p.s. you can use it also free.... with all features... only have to wait 10 seconds... :-) but it's worth to buy this little gem ... dev's are really nice and responsive!
fiery12
fiery12
Jun 12 2016
2.9.4
5.0
Jun 12 2016
5.0
Version: 2.9.4
I compared iGetter 2.9.4 with Folx 5.0 and since I posted a review on the Folx page, I think that the results may be interesting for the iGetter users as well.

I downloaded 5 times with each app, iTunes12.4.1.dmg from the Apple servers (alternating Folx and iGetter, both with two threads). The result is:

1. iGetter is faster than Folx with a difference of avg. 48 sec. I measured the elapsed time with a chronograph app, because Folx has no Elapsed time value (except by extracting dates in the the Log).
2. iGetter speed is stable and Elapsed+Estimate times are correct. Folx speed varies so much that I can't see any usable speed/estimate time value. Folx downloading stalls and fluctuates constantly.
3. iGetter shows a lot more information about the finished downloads (including referrer web page, avg.speed, elapsed time, finished date). Folx shows only file name and size.
4. All iGetter functions can be tried in the unregistered version for unlimited period. Folx Pro features (i.e. more than two threads, speed control, scheduling) have no trial.

You may compare both apps for yourself, but iGetter seems more mature than Folx (comparing the features that exist in both apps).
mckmck
mckmck
Jan 6 2016
2.9.4
0.0
Jan 6 2016
0.0
Version: 2.9.4
really ridiculous to propose an update which still graphics on ancient os x
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
Jan 6 2016
2.9.4
5.0
Jan 6 2016
5.0
Version: 2.9.4
Simply wonderful. That's all I have to say. When certain downloads fail or are very slow in other download managers or web browser I turn to iGetter. It works first time, every time. I also like the verbal notification when the download completes. I've owned iGetter since November of 2001 using versions through 1.9.5 and versions through 2.9.4. That's over 14 years!
Panocha
Panocha
Nov 17 2014
2.9.3
0.0
Nov 17 2014
0.0
Version: 2.9.3
I thought I would try it again since there was an update, but it still has major problems. It doesn't work with Chrome. You have to click the plugin every time to allow it, and it destroys files and your ability to download from sites that regulate their downloads, (like uploaded.net & rapidgator), and there doesn't seem to be any way to exclude it from these domains, so you simply lose the ability to download from them anymore. I removed it and may try again some day if these issues are addressed.
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
May 26 2014
2.9.2
4.5
May 26 2014
4.5
Version: 2.9.2
I discovered iGetter about a week ago. Were it not for some glowing recommendations I'd heard, I never would have tried it. Why? Because it looks like a throwback to OS 10.0. Those garish coloured buttons have cheap developer written all over them! However, this is definitely one of those few instances when looks are deceiving. What I like about iGetter is that it downloads everything from everywhere without causing strange errors. I really don't have to think about it too much. What I don't like about it (aside from its look) is that it doesn't download different file types to different locations. Of course you can select download locations, but it's nice when apps do this automatically (well, it's nice when it works). I'm also not sold on the $25 price tag. Maybe if it was a bit more feature rich - a bit more modern with tagging capabilities, say - I'd pay that. $10 would be fair.
trungpt
trungpt
Jun 25 2013
2.9.2
5.0
Jun 25 2013
5.0
Version: 2.9.2
A great download manager. In fact, registration is optional, nag screen to remind you to buy.
Fishscale
Fishscale
Jun 22 2013
2.9.2
0.0
Jun 22 2013
0.0
Version: 2.9.2
I must admit, I never expected this one time category king to see another update so gave up on it ages ago. If developments keeps up I might just dust off that old license, which works so thank you dev for not making fools of us all by updating and then charging for the "new" version of iGetter. Hopefully these updates become more frequent and I find a need for the app again as this was always the most reliable DL manager for OS X imo.
Recoba
Recoba
May 8 2013
2.9.1
5.0
May 8 2013
5.0
Version: 2.9.1
Best Download Manager that Mac Ever Had! really great App! Its Fast Enough sample and easy! dont have crash!(maybe sometimes) anyway its better than another download managers i really recommend give it a try! anyway , developer can do a upgrade to version 3 with new design!
Fabro
Fabro
Oct 23 2012
2.9.1
4.0
Oct 23 2012
4.0
Version: 2.9.1
Good DL manager but still no support for the most recent versions of Google Chrome (it's my main browser) ... and Chrome v22 has been released some two months ago. Please don't tell me that Chrome developers broke the plugin, they dropped Carbon support because those API are old and will be soon deprecated even by Apple, they were mostly intended for the Mac OS 9 to Mac OS X API transition, all recent apps use Cocoa.
Endorphinity
Endorphinity
Aug 9 2012
2.9
0.0
Aug 9 2012
0.0
Version: 2.9
Still not working with Chrome v.22, the same "Could not load iGetter plugin" yellow warning bar.
jordanwar
jordanwar
Aug 9 2012
2.9
4.5
Aug 9 2012
4.5
Version: 2.9
Quick downloads Never crashed
trungpt
trungpt
Oct 14 2011
2.8.8
5.0
Oct 14 2011
5.0
Version: 2.8.8
Wow, look at the release notes. In love with this download manager.
Wile-E-
Wile-E-
Jul 26 2011
2.8.7
0.0
Jul 26 2011
0.0
Version: 2.8.7
iGetter support states "Current iGetter version should work fine on Lion. However, v2.8.7 is not compatible with Safari 5.1 and Firefox 5". Since Safari 5.1 is part of Lion this means that it does not work yet. Presenta offers a silly workaround which includes turning off the features that I suspect most users took advantage of to make iGetter useful. Here is a link to the Presenta Bulletin Board regarding Lion: http://www.igetter.net/forums/showthread.php3?threadid=1363
Thyx
Thyx
Jun 22 2011
2.8.7
4.0
Jun 22 2011
4.0
Version: 2.8.7
Does what I want, i.e. 'only' downloading for Safari and other browsers. By the way, if anyone's wondering about the not really stellar overall rating of 3.5 stars: the 1-star ratings are on page start on page 3 or 4, back in 2005. iGetter never got to v.3, so it's all accumulated since I-don't-know-how-early.
LizBo
LizBo
Jun 6 2011
2.8.7
0.0
Jun 6 2011
0.0
Version: 2.8.7
Rapidshare login stopped working. Reverted to version 2.8.5 where it continue to work.
Sala7575
Sala7575
May 15 2011
2.8.5
5.0
May 15 2011
5.0
Version: 2.8.5
정말 좋네요..
hous
hous
Mar 20 2011
2.8.5
5.0
Mar 20 2011
5.0
Version: 2.8.5
simply it works with FSC
trungpt
trungpt
Jan 14 2011
2.8.5
5.0
Jan 14 2011
5.0
Version: 2.8.5
Love this app. It fulfills my needs for a download manager. Integrated well with Firefox, that's enough.
Krabbe
Krabbe
Sep 15 2010
2.8
0.0
Sep 15 2010
0.0
Version: 2.8
I like this app very much. But recently I got aware of a problem with iGetter: sometimes it makes troubles with the permissions of downloaded files, namely apps and installers. So if you encounter problems like quitting installers or apps refusing to launch (those recently loaded with iGetter), give Safari a try for those troublesome files.
Thevzitor
Thevzitor
Apr 9 2010
2.8
0.0
Apr 9 2010
0.0
Version: 2.8
I've been using iGetter since the beginning. Excellent downloader. Just a small request: integration with Chrome. Sometimes works (the copy link feature), sometimes not... Please. Thanks !
An-onymous
An-onymous
Sep 12 2009
2.7.5
0.0
Sep 12 2009
0.0
Version: 2.7.5
I have already reviewed iG (under the name "Anonymous", strangely taken meanwhile by another user) and I could say how much I like it. To me the only important thing still missing in iG is the possibility to change the default cookie source. Until now, Safari is the only default "option" and does not address well the cookies for iG. So, I have to modify each download to replace the cooky source from Safari to Camino. I guess that it should not be very difficult to allow choosing another default browser. PLEASE RECTIFY !
Meego
Meego
Aug 31 2009
2.7.5
4.3
Aug 31 2009
4.3
Version: 2.7.5
With Snow Leopard, iGetter fails to capture downloads on Safari. It works fine on Firefox though. And Presenta's website has been down for 2 days already... weird and a little upsetting for a customer
Fishscale
Fishscale
Aug 31 2009
2.7.5
0.0
Aug 31 2009
0.0
Version: 2.7.5
Anybody find igetter popping up in your browser contextual menu, specifically Safari? I can't get it to work. [with Snow Leopard.] The app runs but when I try to have it in my contextual items so I can select links, control (right) click them to "download selection." No more prompt. I want to know if these is just me or others experiencing the same?
Guest
Guest
Jun 19 2009
2.7.5
5.0
Jun 19 2009
5.0
Version: 2.7.5
There is a way to have Rapidshare's PW and ID automatically entered in iGetter. Just use the download manager and enter the following links http://*.rapidshare.com/ http://.rapidshare.com/ http://.rapidshare.com/files/ I found the support team very efficient and friendly albeit (understandably) a bit slow. iGetter Forum is also FULL of interesting tricks that make this app the perfect download manager (except its documentation which is useful for starting but soon limited vis-a-vis the power of this app.).
Guest
Guest
Mar 24 2009
2.7.5
5.0
Mar 24 2009
5.0
Version: 2.7.5
Nice app. Does a great job at batch downloading. Also enables restricting its share of the bandwith so that it works in the background without impeeding parallel browsing. Also enables loading lists of urls to download. Excellent also at resuming interrupted downloads. There are four isues, though : - Poor documentation (eg for importing download lists). Some nice features are certainly missed by lack of a relevant documentation. - When downloading several files from a server like Rapidshare, one has to type the site's password and ID for each file. This is because the the url changes at each file before the site's address is mentionned (eg. "http://123456789/rapdishare.com/... "), the everchanging 123456789 code preventing iGetter to recognize that the same site is concerned. It would be EASY to let users fix a default Pw and ID without having to retype them for each one of a series of files downloaded from the same site. When this is offered, I buy iGetter. - The demo version launches iGetter at Startup. Making the downloads in standby seable by anybody present et start up. Dos anybody know how to de-activate this nuisance (Apparently the usual system tools cannot). - iGetter still fails with some servers which are allergic to download managers. This is so even though only one file and only one segment are downloaded at the same time. iGetter should improve its capacity to remain undetected as a download manager.
Gumm
Gumm
May 20 2008
2.7.5
0.0
May 20 2008
0.0
Version: 2.7.5
Does anybody know if iGetter works with iCab?
Cscarney
Cscarney
Mar 9 2008
2.7
5.0
Mar 9 2008
5.0
Version: 2.7
Now that the Leopard-compatible version is out, iGetter does what it claims to do very well. It manages downloads, and accelerates download speeds by opening multiple connections. For me, iGetter's killer feature is "mirror sharing." It will automatically share mirror information with other users, saving you the hassle of having to manually enter mirror information for every download. Good job, Presenta!
Binarypackrat
Binarypackrat
Feb 12 2008
2.6.1
5.0
Feb 12 2008
5.0
Version: 2.6.1
I have to say after what Speed download did to its costumers today, I will defiantly be coming back to igetter.
schmelding
schmelding
Sep 23 2007
2.6.1
0.0
Sep 23 2007
0.0
Version: 2.6.1
The contextual menu item made my install of the latest Safari beta 3 not able to right-click. I removed the "iGetterIMBundle" from the InputManagers folder and I got my right-click back. Tiger 10.4/Intel.
Binarypackrat
Binarypackrat
Apr 20 2007
2.6
5.0
Apr 20 2007
5.0
Version: 2.6
Works Great with Rapid share.com. UNBELIVEABLE SPEEDS! Downloads automatically from all available servers!! I will be buying this!!!!
Foulger
Foulger
Apr 20 2007
2.6
0.0
Apr 20 2007
0.0
Version: 2.6
For me, on a Mac Pro 2.6 Quad with 4Gb RAM, this usually excellent piece of software quits when a download starts. Don't know why - I only know it does.
Dekular
Dekular
Apr 6 2007
2.5
0.0
Apr 6 2007
0.0
Version: 2.5
This is a good peace of software. It downloads at full speed, doesn't need many ressources and is quite easy to use. I would give a rating of 5 if someone will tell me how to proceed "bulk downloading" - I do not know what how to start a queue of, for example, 40 links that I copy into iGetter at once. Sometimes it gets the CPU up to 40%.
Meego
Meego
Nov 22 2006
2.5
4.3
Nov 22 2006
4.3
Version: 2.5
I have been using iGetter for the last two years. Worked very well - not perfectly - but very well. The only disappointment comes from a few occasions where it would not manage to connect and launch download but this only occurred with websites i know are problematic with most download managers. Ultimately very rare.
Aric
Aric
Jun 21 2006
2.5
0.0
Jun 21 2006
0.0
Version: 2.5
I love this app! everytime I click on a download, I instantly get an up and running file at around 2.5 times faster than when I try and download the file with Safari. Very fast download speeds (IMO)
Kioshi
Kioshi
Feb 26 2006
2.4
0.0
Feb 26 2006
0.0
Version: 2.4
I love this program. Suffers from odd behaviour with those stupid encrypted URL. But I've never had a problem with speed or the contextual menu in Safari (in normal links, of course, not the encoded ones).
Mgmu
Mgmu
Feb 1 2006
2.4
0.0
Feb 1 2006
0.0
Version: 2.4
A major disappointment. Downloads from many sites are painfully slow with this program. It keeps going into 'waiting...connecting' mode when the same file downloads smoothly with Safari. I wish the developer could remedy this. After much testing I can only give it one star.
Guest
Guest
Oct 7 2005
2.4
1.0
Oct 7 2005
1.0
Version: 2.4
Must be nice to just not have contextual menus. When I try to use them, Safari 2.0.1 crashes everytime. Disabled or not, this should not happen for $25. Oh, and an uninstall of iGetter seems to fix the problem nicely : |
Guest
Guest
Aug 19 2005
2.4
1.0
Aug 19 2005
1.0
Version: 2.4
Doesn't pick up quite a lot of files and suffers from clunky behavior.
Guest
Guest
Aug 6 2005
2.3
1.0
Aug 6 2005
1.0
Version: 2.3
For those using iGetter that are suffering from no contextual menus in Safari, the problem lies with the iGetter Input Manager and the iGetter contextual menu plugin. If you remove/disable both of these items, you can still use iGetter (without being able to add stuff via the contextual menu) and retain the full functionality of Safari's contextual menus. Otherwise this is a great app. Hope this problem gets resolved soon.
Mudflap
Mudflap
Jun 19 2005
2.3
4.3
Jun 19 2005
4.3
Version: 2.3
I love iGetter, but ever since Tiger I can't get right-click contextual menus to work with Safari anymore at all. So unfortunately, I can't use it until this is fixed.
Guest
Guest
May 23 2005
2.3
1.0
May 23 2005
1.0
Version: 2.3
"Optimized for Mac OS X 10.4 "Tiger" and Safari v2.0" What a load of BS! I have Safari 2.0 (412) and every time I right-click on a link, I get "Safari[9390] *** -[BrowserWebView _safari_webView:contextMenuItemsForElement:defaultMenuItems:]: selector not recognized [self = 0x13acab0]" in the console and no menu. Uninstall iGetter, and guess what, the contextual menu works again.
Guest
Guest
Apr 24 2005
2.2
1.0
Apr 24 2005
1.0
Version: 2.2
Crashes Safari 10.3.9 and I don't see a fix yet. I killed the program and Safari rocks again. Getting broadband satellite installed -- I don't need the product any more either.
Guest
Guest
Apr 22 2005
2.2
1.0
Apr 22 2005
1.0
Version: 2.2
Disastrous software. Crashes repeatedly on Mac OS X 10.3.9. Renders Safari completely unusable, and is a nightmare to remove. Can't believe they let applications like this out. Do not install this program; definitely bad news.
Guest
Guest
Mar 10 2005
2.2
1.0
Mar 10 2005
1.0
Version: 2.2
Excellent software, been using it since I first got my Mac. 5 stars all around. It's a vital utility when you need an alternative to the browser's download manager.
Guest
Guest
Mar 9 2005
2.2
1.0
Mar 9 2005
1.0
Version: 2.2
iGetter deserves 5 stars! It changed my life and I'm so happy now! No, no!! This software sucks, it turned my teeth black, crashed my computer 100 times and caused my house to burn down!! Buy Speed Download, it is so WONDERFUL!!! It is 100x faster, prevented my wife from miscarriage, and even washes my dishes without spotting if you integrate it into your dishwasher's controls. The reality here is that 90% of these 5 star and 1 star reviews are written by the developers and from people connected to the developers. The goal is simply to manipulate the overall ratings of these products so they sell, sell, sell and so users who might consider trying the competors product are scared off. Let the truth be known; lies, lies and damned lies all! I recommend the author provide this program as an API and sell it to Maytag so our dishes will come out cleaner, faster, and spotless. If this technology had been available to Voyager's crew, Captain Janeway could have gotten the crew home in 6 months insyead of 7 years.
Guest
Guest
Jan 24 2005
2.1
0.0
Jan 24 2005
0.0
Version: 2.1
I found this programme very useful. Even if you have big files to download, it quickly does its work: Very fast! You can change the features in the preferences menu easily. Older version was only integrated with internet explorer but this new version is also going good with Safari. You can download all files in a page with one click. It is very good for downloading a lot of files in one time. The most important new feature in iGetter is languages. Older version was in English but this new version also includes many different languages. It has even the Turkish! Great job! But when you open the preferences menu and change something about browser integration, you cannot close it unless you quit all opened browsers.
Guest
Guest
Dec 27 2004
2.1
1.0
Dec 27 2004
1.0
Version: 2.1
Jonathan, iGetter changes the Internet Config settings only when you turn on the "Integrate with Internet browsers" Tools menu function (it's switched off by default). There is a lot of information about the subject in the iGetter Help, ReadMe and the iGetter FAQ's page. In short, iGetter sets the File Helper settings of Internet Config to configure integration with Internet Explorer browser. This change doesn't affect other browsers. All of the changes will be restored to their default state if you just turn off the "Integrate with Internet browsers" Tools menu function. A little advise for users that run iGetter for the first time. Please, take 5 min. to read the "Getting started" and Managing downloads" pages of the iGetter Help. If some problem arises refer to Help, search for this problem in the iGetter Forums and at last don't hesitate to contact us. Happy holidays, iGetter Support
Guest
Guest
Dec 23 2004
2.1
1.0
Dec 23 2004
1.0
Version: 2.1
Completely messed up my internet settings!!!!!!! What is this??!!!