Back to iGetter page
iGetter free download for Mac

iGetter Reviews

2.9.7
26 November 2019

Download manager and accelerator.

Morlo
24 September 2017

Most helpful

wow.. i've used Transmit 5 and Yummy FTP but iGetter is ten times faster becasue it supports accelerated downloads. Its incredible the devs haven't updated this app with a modern UI (it is absolutely horrible and unintuitive).. but it does the job better than the most modern FTP solutions.. i spent 30 minutes just trying to figure out how to work with FTP (you use ftp://(address) ) in the site manager in the preferences.
Like (3)
Version 2.9.5

Read 75 iGetter User Reviews

Rate this app:

Morlo
24 September 2017
wow.. i've used Transmit 5 and Yummy FTP but iGetter is ten times faster becasue it supports accelerated downloads. Its incredible the devs haven't updated this app with a modern UI (it is absolutely horrible and unintuitive).. but it does the job better than the most modern FTP solutions.. i spent 30 minutes just trying to figure out how to work with FTP (you use ftp://(address) ) in the site manager in the preferences.
Like (3)
Version 2.9.5
Madmacmad
06 November 2016
... still the best... no doubt! p.s. you can use it also free.... with all features... only have to wait 10 seconds... :-) but it's worth to buy this little gem ... dev's are really nice and responsive!
Like (1)
Version 2.9.5
fiery12
12 June 2016
I compared iGetter 2.9.4 with Folx 5.0 and since I posted a review on the Folx page, I think that the results may be interesting for the iGetter users as well.

I downloaded 5 times with each app, iTunes12.4.1.dmg from the Apple servers (alternating Folx and iGetter, both with two threads). The result is:

1. iGetter is faster than Folx with a difference of avg. 48 sec. I measured the elapsed time with a chronograph app, because Folx has no Elapsed time value (except by extracting dates in the the Log).
2. iGetter speed is stable and Elapsed+Estimate times are correct. Folx speed varies so much that I can't see any usable speed/estimate time value. Folx downloading stalls and fluctuates constantly.
3. iGetter shows a lot more information about the finished downloads (including referrer web page, avg.speed, elapsed time, finished date). Folx shows only file name and size.
4. All iGetter functions can be tried in the unregistered version for unlimited period. Folx Pro features (i.e. more than two threads, speed control, scheduling) have no trial.

You may compare both apps for yourself, but iGetter seems more mature than Folx (comparing the features that exist in both apps).
Like (3)
Version 2.9.4
mckmck
06 January 2016
really ridiculous to propose an update which still graphics on ancient os x
Like (1)
Version 2.9.4
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
07 January 2016
You mean the folder icon? I was a bit surprised to see that too, but it's easy to delete, so no major harm. :)
Like (1)
paulsrandall
06 January 2016
Simply wonderful. That's all I have to say. When certain downloads fail or are very slow in other download managers or web browser I turn to iGetter. It works first time, every time. I also like the verbal notification when the download completes. I've owned iGetter since November of 2001 using versions through 1.9.5 and versions through 2.9.4. That's over 14 years!
Like (3)
Version 2.9.4
Panocha
17 November 2014
I thought I would try it again since there was an update, but it still has major problems. It doesn't work with Chrome. You have to click the plugin every time to allow it, and it destroys files and your ability to download from sites that regulate their downloads, (like uploaded.net & rapidgator), and there doesn't seem to be any way to exclude it from these domains, so you simply lose the ability to download from them anymore. I removed it and may try again some day if these issues are addressed.
Like
Version 2.9.3
1 answer(s)
Presenta
Presenta
19 November 2014
To avoid per site prompts in Chrome, you can allow iGetter plugin for any site. See this:
http://www.igetter.net/forums/showthread.php3?threadid=1531

By design browser plugins handle predefined file types in all sites without exceptions. You can specify which file types you want iGetter to handle at iGetter preferences, Integration panel.

However, Firefox provides complete control over each download. See this:
http://www.igetter.net/forums/showthread.php3?threadid=1545
Like (3)
Mrtomato
26 May 2014
I discovered iGetter about a week ago. Were it not for some glowing recommendations I'd heard, I never would have tried it. Why? Because it looks like a throwback to OS 10.0. Those garish coloured buttons have cheap developer written all over them! However, this is definitely one of those few instances when looks are deceiving. What I like about iGetter is that it downloads everything from everywhere without causing strange errors. I really don't have to think about it too much. What I don't like about it (aside from its look) is that it doesn't download different file types to different locations. Of course you can select download locations, but it's nice when apps do this automatically (well, it's nice when it works). I'm also not sold on the $25 price tag. Maybe if it was a bit more feature rich - a bit more modern with tagging capabilities, say - I'd pay that. $10 would be fair.
Like
Version 2.9.2
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 November 2014
It works fine without registering it. What it excels at is being able to download every file linked on a webpage without having to cue each one.
Like (1)
trungpt
25 June 2013
A great download manager. In fact, registration is optional, nag screen to remind you to buy.
Like (2)
Version 2.9.2
1 answer(s)
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
18 July 2014
Wait till you try to Uninstall It as I did with appcleaner. It rendered Firefox unusable when trying to save files even after uninstalling the igetter firefox extensions so I had to reinstall Igetter on my mac just to use Firefox again.
Like
Fishscale
22 June 2013
I must admit, I never expected this one time category king to see another update so gave up on it ages ago. If developments keeps up I might just dust off that old license, which works so thank you dev for not making fools of us all by updating and then charging for the "new" version of iGetter. Hopefully these updates become more frequent and I find a need for the app again as this was always the most reliable DL manager for OS X imo.
Like (2)
Version 2.9.2
Recoba
08 May 2013
Best Download Manager that Mac Ever Had! really great App! Its Fast Enough sample and easy! dont have crash!(maybe sometimes) anyway its better than another download managers i really recommend give it a try! anyway , developer can do a upgrade to version 3 with new design!
Like (1)
Version 2.9.1
Fabro
23 October 2012
Good DL manager but still no support for the most recent versions of Google Chrome (it's my main browser) ... and Chrome v22 has been released some two months ago. Please don't tell me that Chrome developers broke the plugin, they dropped Carbon support because those API are old and will be soon deprecated even by Apple, they were mostly intended for the Mac OS 9 to Mac OS X API transition, all recent apps use Cocoa.
Like
Version 2.9.1
2 answer(s)
Presenta
Presenta
24 October 2012
iGetter v2.9.1 adds support for Chrome v22.0.1226.0 and up. See release notes above. You have either used an older version of iGetter or for some reason your Chrome components are not updated properly. You can type in Chrome "about:plugins" and then "about:extensions" (without quotes) to check what versions of iGetter components are in use. If you still have issues, please, contact us with info about your iGetter, Chrome and OS X versions here: http://www.igetter.net/contactus.html
Like (1)
Fabro
Fabro
24 October 2012
Sorry, I didn't notice the new version and was still using v2.9.0. Everything works fine now with Chrome 23.0.1271.40 beta.
Like
Endorphinity
09 August 2012
Still not working with Chrome v.22, the same "Could not load iGetter plugin" yellow warning bar.
Like
Version 2.9
3 answer(s)
Presenta Ltd.
Presenta Ltd.
09 August 2012
Current stable version of Chrome is 21.0.1180.75 (from 08/08/12). Most probably you're using a dev/canary build of Chrome/Chromium. Type "about:extensions" (without quotes) and also "about:plugins" in Chrome's address bar and check iGetter extension/plugin versions. If you've ever installed iGetter extension for Chrome manually, you need to update it from the following link: http://www.igetter.net/iGetterExtension.crx Make sure that you only start iGetter v2.9. In other words you need to delete all older versions of iGetter from your machine, so Mac OS X can't accidentally find and start some older version (by a browser's command, etc.).
Like
Endorphinity
Endorphinity
09 August 2012
Third line of the "What's new" section for v.2.9 states: "Optimized for Firefox v14 and Chrome v22 browsers" I specified the version in my comment, so — not "most probably", but exactly. I never installed the extension manually, only via iGetter prefs.
Like
Presenta Ltd.
Presenta Ltd.
10 August 2012
The last build of Chrome that we tested before releasing iGetter v2.9 is 22.0.1204.0, which worked fine. However, we now found that Chrome's developers intentionally with the last revisions of M22 have broken again our plugin. Problem starts from Chrome revision 149642. This means that from Chrome v22.0.1226.0, iGetter v2.9 plugin will not work. We will create a plugin that complies to Google's whim and will include it in the next iGetter release. Note that our plugin is not made specifically for Chrome, all Mac browsers use it without any problem. You can find more info here: http://www.igetter.net/forums/showthread.php3?threadid=1438
Like
jordanwar
09 August 2012
Quick downloads Never crashed
Like (1)
Version 2.9
trungpt
14 October 2011
Wow, look at the release notes. In love with this download manager.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.8
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
02 November 2011
In Principle, I agree, but it's not like they've been extremely fast to adapt to Lion or Firefox 5+. 3 months can be quite long. Anyway, I'll be ready to pay soon.
Like (1)
Wile-E-
26 July 2011
iGetter support states "Current iGetter version should work fine on Lion. However, v2.8.7 is not compatible with Safari 5.1 and Firefox 5". Since Safari 5.1 is part of Lion this means that it does not work yet. Presenta offers a silly workaround which includes turning off the features that I suspect most users took advantage of to make iGetter useful. Here is a link to the Presenta Bulletin Board regarding Lion: http://www.igetter.net/forums/showthread.php3?threadid=1363
Like (1)
Version 2.8.7
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
22 September 2011
Well, now on Lion, still same version same problems. And I wondered when 3.0 would come out…
Like
Thyx
22 June 2011
Does what I want, i.e. 'only' downloading for Safari and other browsers. By the way, if anyone's wondering about the not really stellar overall rating of 3.5 stars: the 1-star ratings are on page start on page 3 or 4, back in 2005. iGetter never got to v.3, so it's all accumulated since I-don't-know-how-early.
Like
Version 2.8.7
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
22 June 2011
2.0 August 16, 2004
Like
LizBo
06 June 2011
Rapidshare login stopped working. Reverted to version 2.8.5 where it continue to work.
Like
Version 2.8.7
Sala7575
15 May 2011
정말 좋네요..
Like
Version 2.8.5
hous
20 March 2011
simply it works with FSC
Like (1)
Version 2.8.5
trungpt
14 January 2011
Love this app. It fulfills my needs for a download manager. Integrated well with Firefox, that's enough.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.5
Thevzitor
09 April 2010
I've been using iGetter since the beginning. Excellent downloader. Just a small request: integration with Chrome. Sometimes works (the copy link feature), sometimes not... Please. Thanks !
Like (3)
Version 2.8
An-onymous
12 September 2009
I have already reviewed iG (under the name "Anonymous", strangely taken meanwhile by another user) and I could say how much I like it. To me the only important thing still missing in iG is the possibility to change the default cookie source. Until now, Safari is the only default "option" and does not address well the cookies for iG. So, I have to modify each download to replace the cooky source from Safari to Camino. I guess that it should not be very difficult to allow choosing another default browser. PLEASE RECTIFY !
Like
Version 2.7.5
Meego
31 August 2009
With Snow Leopard, iGetter fails to capture downloads on Safari. It works fine on Firefox though. And Presenta's website has been down for 2 days already... weird and a little upsetting for a customer
Like (1)
Version 2.7.5
Fishscale
31 August 2009
Anybody find igetter popping up in your browser contextual menu, specifically Safari? I can't get it to work. [with Snow Leopard.] The app runs but when I try to have it in my contextual items so I can select links, control (right) click them to "download selection." No more prompt. I want to know if these is just me or others experiencing the same?
Like (1)
Version 2.7.5
2 answer(s)
Presenta
Presenta
04 December 2009
iGetter v2.7.5 integrates with Safari in 32-bit mode only ("Get Info" on the Safari icon -> "Open in 32-bit mode" checkbox). The new version 2.8 adds support for Safari in 64-bit mode as well.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
Fishscale
Fishscale
05 December 2009
Yes I know about 32 bit mode but decided I liked speed download better as it covered the 64 bit dilemma extra fast. I am glad to see the new version finally come out and fix the issue so maybe I will slowly assimilate igetter to take over speed download. This was a post made in august ;).
Like (1)
Version 2.8
Anonymous
19 June 2009
There is a way to have Rapidshare's PW and ID automatically entered in iGetter. Just use the download manager and enter the following links http://*.rapidshare.com/ http://.rapidshare.com/ http://.rapidshare.com/files/ I found the support team very efficient and friendly albeit (understandably) a bit slow. iGetter Forum is also FULL of interesting tricks that make this app the perfect download manager (except its documentation which is useful for starting but soon limited vis-a-vis the power of this app.).
Like (2)
Version 2.7.5
Anonymous
24 March 2009
Nice app. Does a great job at batch downloading. Also enables restricting its share of the bandwith so that it works in the background without impeeding parallel browsing. Also enables loading lists of urls to download. Excellent also at resuming interrupted downloads. There are four isues, though : - Poor documentation (eg for importing download lists). Some nice features are certainly missed by lack of a relevant documentation. - When downloading several files from a server like Rapidshare, one has to type the site's password and ID for each file. This is because the the url changes at each file before the site's address is mentionned (eg. "http://123456789/rapdishare.com/... "), the everchanging 123456789 code preventing iGetter to recognize that the same site is concerned. It would be EASY to let users fix a default Pw and ID without having to retype them for each one of a series of files downloaded from the same site. When this is offered, I buy iGetter. - The demo version launches iGetter at Startup. Making the downloads in standby seable by anybody present et start up. Dos anybody know how to de-activate this nuisance (Apparently the usual system tools cannot). - iGetter still fails with some servers which are allergic to download managers. This is so even though only one file and only one segment are downloaded at the same time. iGetter should improve its capacity to remain undetected as a download manager.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.5
Gumm
20 May 2008
Does anybody know if iGetter works with iCab?
Like
Version 2.7.5
Cscarney
09 March 2008
Now that the Leopard-compatible version is out, iGetter does what it claims to do very well. It manages downloads, and accelerates download speeds by opening multiple connections. For me, iGetter's killer feature is "mirror sharing." It will automatically share mirror information with other users, saving you the hassle of having to manually enter mirror information for every download. Good job, Presenta!
Like (2)
Version 2.7
Binarypackrat
12 February 2008
I have to say after what Speed download did to its costumers today, I will defiantly be coming back to igetter.
Like (4)
Version 2.6.1
3 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
13 February 2008
I second that. Here's what I posted on the SD page: My copy of Speed Download updated itself to version 5 without my permission, now it won't accept my old license code. I received a second license code from the recent MacHeist bundle, so I tried that. Nope. This is NOT cool.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1
Jeremyy
Jeremyy
14 February 2008
iGetter should offer like $15 or less for MacHeist buyers to upgrade to their current 2.6 and free upgrade to 3.x series. I bet this will grab a lot of new users.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1
Rpphoto
Rpphoto
06 March 2008
Me too, I'm coming back to iGetter due to the super-sleazy behavior by the Speed Download people. I refuse to continue support for a company like that. iGetter is polished, Mac-like and nice to use, I don't know why I ever stopped using it... .
Like (1)
Version 2.7
schmelding
23 September 2007
The contextual menu item made my install of the latest Safari beta 3 not able to right-click. I removed the "iGetterIMBundle" from the InputManagers folder and I got my right-click back. Tiger 10.4/Intel.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Binarypackrat
20 April 2007
Works Great with Rapid share.com. UNBELIVEABLE SPEEDS! Downloads automatically from all available servers!! I will be buying this!!!!
Like
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 March 2009
Hi, How could you avoid having to retype the PW and ID for each file ? regards. A.
Like
Version 2.7.5
Foulger
20 April 2007
For me, on a Mac Pro 2.6 Quad with 4Gb RAM, this usually excellent piece of software quits when a download starts. Don't know why - I only know it does.
Like
Version 2.6
Dekular
06 April 2007
This is a good peace of software. It downloads at full speed, doesn't need many ressources and is quite easy to use. I would give a rating of 5 if someone will tell me how to proceed "bulk downloading" - I do not know what how to start a queue of, for example, 40 links that I copy into iGetter at once. Sometimes it gets the CPU up to 40%.
Like
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
Laraine
Laraine
21 July 2008
Wow! You must have unbelievably fast Broadband to even WANT to download 40 files all at once. :-)
Like
Version 2.7.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 March 2009
It is easy althoughill documented in iGetter. Make a list of urls in any Text app, jumping to the next line for each url. Save it .txt format but with type .lst format. In the "File" menu, select "Import URLs list" and choose your file. All the urls will be added to iGetter download list. If all the files are in the same page, you can also select "download all with iGetter" in the contextual save menu. A list of files is then displayed from which you can select only the files that you want t o download from the page.
Like
Version 2.7.5
Meego
22 November 2006
I have been using iGetter for the last two years. Worked very well - not perfectly - but very well. The only disappointment comes from a few occasions where it would not manage to connect and launch download but this only occurred with websites i know are problematic with most download managers. Ultimately very rare.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Aric
21 June 2006
I love this app! everytime I click on a download, I instantly get an up and running file at around 2.5 times faster than when I try and download the file with Safari. Very fast download speeds (IMO)
Like
Version 2.5
Kioshi
26 February 2006
I love this program. Suffers from odd behaviour with those stupid encrypted URL. But I've never had a problem with speed or the contextual menu in Safari (in normal links, of course, not the encoded ones).
Like
Version 2.4
Mgmu
01 February 2006
A major disappointment. Downloads from many sites are painfully slow with this program. It keeps going into 'waiting...connecting' mode when the same file downloads smoothly with Safari. I wish the developer could remedy this. After much testing I can only give it one star.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
07 October 2005
Must be nice to just not have contextual menus. When I try to use them, Safari 2.0.1 crashes everytime. Disabled or not, this should not happen for $25. Oh, and an uninstall of iGetter seems to fix the problem nicely : |
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
19 August 2005
Doesn't pick up quite a lot of files and suffers from clunky behavior.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
06 August 2005
For those using iGetter that are suffering from no contextual menus in Safari, the problem lies with the iGetter Input Manager and the iGetter contextual menu plugin. If you remove/disable both of these items, you can still use iGetter (without being able to add stuff via the contextual menu) and retain the full functionality of Safari's contextual menus. Otherwise this is a great app. Hope this problem gets resolved soon.
Like
Version 2.3
Mudflap
19 June 2005
I love iGetter, but ever since Tiger I can't get right-click contextual menus to work with Safari anymore at all. So unfortunately, I can't use it until this is fixed.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 July 2005
Seems as tho PithHelmet and iGetter don't like each other. Safari contextual menus don't work if you have iGetter contextual menus activated, so make sure that's turned off if you use both apps. I hope this is fixes, because I really miss iGetter's Download All feature.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
23 May 2005
"Optimized for Mac OS X 10.4 "Tiger" and Safari v2.0" What a load of BS! I have Safari 2.0 (412) and every time I right-click on a link, I get "Safari[9390] *** -[BrowserWebView _safari_webView:contextMenuItemsForElement:defaultMenuItems:]: selector not recognized [self = 0x13acab0]" in the console and no menu. Uninstall iGetter, and guess what, the contextual menu works again.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
24 April 2005
Crashes Safari 10.3.9 and I don't see a fix yet. I killed the program and Safari rocks again. Getting broadband satellite installed -- I don't need the product any more either.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 April 2005
Sure you do. I have an insanely fast Comcast connection, but if I'm downloading a bunch of porn, er, I mean, music videos, it's nice to queue them up with iGetter. Also, if you're downloading a HUGE file, you can have it search for mirrors and it will download multiple chunks from each server. Very nice. Very fast.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Disastrous software. Crashes repeatedly on Mac OS X 10.3.9. Renders Safari completely unusable, and is a nightmare to remove. Can't believe they let applications like this out. Do not install this program; definitely bad news.
Like
Version 2.2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
iGetter is great-been using it for years. Yes, there are now some issues with iGetter, Safari and 10.3.9, but the author will fix those soon, I'm sure. I'm uninstalling iGetter for the time being, but as soon as a fix is released, it's going right back in my applications folder.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 April 2005
Yeah, but developers have access to updates before the general audience. It should have been tested and a patch issued before 10.3.9 was released.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 April 2005
A developer only has access to pre-release updates if they're a Select ($500/annually) or Premier ($3500/annually) member of the ADC. Kinda pricey for small-time developers.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
10 March 2005
Excellent software, been using it since I first got my Mac. 5 stars all around. It's a vital utility when you need an alternative to the browser's download manager.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
09 March 2005
iGetter deserves 5 stars! It changed my life and I'm so happy now! No, no!! This software sucks, it turned my teeth black, crashed my computer 100 times and caused my house to burn down!! Buy Speed Download, it is so WONDERFUL!!! It is 100x faster, prevented my wife from miscarriage, and even washes my dishes without spotting if you integrate it into your dishwasher's controls. The reality here is that 90% of these 5 star and 1 star reviews are written by the developers and from people connected to the developers. The goal is simply to manipulate the overall ratings of these products so they sell, sell, sell and so users who might consider trying the competors product are scared off. Let the truth be known; lies, lies and damned lies all! I recommend the author provide this program as an API and sell it to Maytag so our dishes will come out cleaner, faster, and spotless. If this technology had been available to Voyager's crew, Captain Janeway could have gotten the crew home in 6 months insyead of 7 years.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
15 March 2005
I totally agree and I still feel sad about the excellent shareware developers of all kind. Speed Download etc in this list too. Same tricks, disgruntled lifeless people couldn't crack the application or hates for no meaningful reason makes these sites unusable. I consider removing macupdate and versiontracker from my bookmarks and use Apple's download site until they implement a system to STOP these lifeless people bad mouthing, lying about months if not years of hard work. Its not just software, its about being a human people. Get a life, really.
Like
Version 2.2
berkaydincer
24 January 2005
I found this programme very useful. Even if you have big files to download, it quickly does its work: Very fast! You can change the features in the preferences menu easily. Older version was only integrated with internet explorer but this new version is also going good with Safari. You can download all files in a page with one click. It is very good for downloading a lot of files in one time. The most important new feature in iGetter is languages. Older version was in English but this new version also includes many different languages. It has even the Turkish! Great job! But when you open the preferences menu and change something about browser integration, you cannot close it unless you quit all opened browsers.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
27 December 2004
Jonathan, iGetter changes the Internet Config settings only when you turn on the "Integrate with Internet browsers" Tools menu function (it's switched off by default). There is a lot of information about the subject in the iGetter Help, ReadMe and the iGetter FAQ's page. In short, iGetter sets the File Helper settings of Internet Config to configure integration with Internet Explorer browser. This change doesn't affect other browsers. All of the changes will be restored to their default state if you just turn off the "Integrate with Internet browsers" Tools menu function. A little advise for users that run iGetter for the first time. Please, take 5 min. to read the "Getting started" and Managing downloads" pages of the iGetter Help. If some problem arises refer to Help, search for this problem in the iGetter Forums and at last don't hesitate to contact us. Happy holidays, iGetter Support
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
23 December 2004
Completely messed up my internet settings!!!!!!! What is this??!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Anonymous
24 November 2004
downloaded it added the url for the huge download i had and it started downloading at top speed. what else can i ask for. thanks! btw. i downloaded SpeedDowload first, but didn't work for me. :(
Like
Version 2.0.2