Back to macOS Catalina page
macOS Catalina free download for Mac

macOS Catalina Reviews

10.15.4
26 March 2020

An Operating System Made by Apple.

xcoxco
24 February 2020

Most helpful

Must give Apple one-star, having been a professional Mac user since 1985. Why? Because Apple dumbed down Mail in Catalina. Users no longer can control and organize the column view for viewing messages. The canned view is far (far) too limited, and sometimes altogether irrelevant. For example, if you archive IMAP messages to disk, you can see the FROM, SUBJECT, and DATE fields only. But not the TO field. Why on earth might one want to see the TO field? Because I store all emails I have both received AND sent. Over 100,000 of them. In viewing a list of emails I sent previously I can now only see the FROM field, thanks to Apple's wisdom. But the messages are all from me. I want to see to whom the message was sent to ... the TO field. A key feature that has been part of Mail from when OSX was born is now gone. Otherwise I have been fine with Catalina, apart from the added security complexity.
Like (4)
Version 10.15.3

Read 13 macOS Catalina User Reviews

Rate this app:

tcbgunworks
27 March 2020
catalina 10.15.4 is horrible. Mac Book pro bar on side does not work now except for power, lost mouse (USB), lose ethernet, lost backup drive USB the only thing that now works is power. tried 3 different bars no help.
Like
Version 10.15.4
Septic Monkey
27 March 2020
The Death of MacOS. Apple has killed the user experience completely. Things used to be fun, straight-forward and easy to use, but no more. The company lost sight of itself after deciding to make and produce operating systems and products that appeal to hard core users only. Mac OS has become Microsoft circa mid-1990s. One error message after another, its own apps that no longer work, incompatibility with all external devices/communications. I am no longer in control of my own computer. I cannot make my own decisions. Why should people have to trawl through blogs for hours trying to figure out how something works? The only apps that seem to work well are Microsoft made-for-Mac these days, of which, I currently use about 4 each day. I'm already thinking of my next laptop purchase and it's not looking good for Apple.
Like
Version 10.15.4
Mac5
26 March 2020
It seems to me that each new OS, and minor updates that Apples releases are more complex, and less intuitive than the one before. Way too much garbage that I have little or no use for on a daily basis. Ive been a Mac user since 1984, and well remember the old OS, like OS 7. Since OS X, we have seen some great stuff, but of recent times the OS seems loaded with junk, and changes that are supposed to be wonderful.. and useful. Not so.. The present day junk has slowed my iMac to almost a crawl.. even with an i7 processor, 48GB of RAM, and a SSD drive. It's stuff I don't need, and most certainly don't want, and have zero use for. The new security is making decisions for me, and I often spend a great deal of my time trying to get my head around it. How about a nice stripped own, and fast user friendly OS for all Mac users.
Like (1)
Version 10.15.4
1 answer(s)
Septic Monkey
Septic Monkey
27 March 2020
Absolutely correct ! Good points -- well made.
Like
Version 10.15.4
Bremen
26 March 2020
Another triage, another intrusion into user domains and an absolutely horrible update. As Apple "knows what is best for me", their privacy protection crusader rabbit measures are stifling.
Like
Version 10.15.4
xcoxco
24 February 2020
Must give Apple one-star, having been a professional Mac user since 1985. Why? Because Apple dumbed down Mail in Catalina. Users no longer can control and organize the column view for viewing messages. The canned view is far (far) too limited, and sometimes altogether irrelevant. For example, if you archive IMAP messages to disk, you can see the FROM, SUBJECT, and DATE fields only. But not the TO field. Why on earth might one want to see the TO field? Because I store all emails I have both received AND sent. Over 100,000 of them. In viewing a list of emails I sent previously I can now only see the FROM field, thanks to Apple's wisdom. But the messages are all from me. I want to see to whom the message was sent to ... the TO field. A key feature that has been part of Mail from when OSX was born is now gone. Otherwise I have been fine with Catalina, apart from the added security complexity.
Like (4)
Version 10.15.3
1 answer(s)
baxsur
baxsur
26 March 2020
Let me understand this, you're giving an entire OS 1 star because your disappointment in Mail ?
Like
Version 10.15.4
rtlb
11 December 2019
Direct download macOS Catalina 10.15.2 Combo Update https://support.apple.com/kb/DL2028?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US
Like
Version 10.15.2
rtlb
11 December 2019
Standalone installer for the Catalina 10.15.2 update https://support.apple.com/kb/DL2025?locale=en_US
Like
Version 10.15.2
1 answer(s)
nobody2011
nobody2011
11 December 2019
thanx
Like
Version 10.15.2
nobody2011
30 October 2019
direct download -> MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 (update 4,9 GB) https://updates.cdn-apple.com/2019/macos/041-83633-20191029-733f5df7-e13c-4218-9876-7e962c32c5bb/macOSUpd10.15.1.dmg
Like (1)
Version 10.15.1
kofz
30 October 2019
Dear Apple, can we just stop mentioning Emojis in release notes? If you would be as thorough with documenting other changes of your operating system, that would be incredibly helpful - like e.g. removing important functionality from the music app which has been in iTunes for ages (column view etc). In addition, providing a release date for your OS would be tremendously helpful to the developer community. Next: Mail.app deleting email messages. Has this been addressed in the 10.15.1 release? Your changelog doesn't even mention Mail.app so I am really worried. https://mjtsai.com/blog/2019/10/11/mail-data-loss-in-macos-10-15/ Sorry guys, but you really need to do better in various areas if you want customers to take you seriously and keep throwing bizarre amounts of money at you, for the overpriced products you currently have on the market, like your laptops with keyboards that are no fun to work with to put it lightly.
Like (3)
Version 10.15.1
Knapster
29 October 2019
Mojave was like the Snow Leopard of releases. This reminds me of Lion. Upgrading in a pain as you need to check whether you have crucial 32 bit apps or not since this release kills 32 bit support. Lots of uninstalling. Then once 'upgraded' you have a link to a folder of legacy files. I still have no idea why it does that or what I should do with them. Of course iTunes is gone, but it effectively lives in Music and Finder. The implementation is counter intuitive. There's no finder to files drag and drop support. It's just syncing dumped into a finder window. Music syncing is even worse. I find syncing high bitrate files near impossible. Music will only sync them via a playlist. When it does sync music to the device, a little circle (like app updating) rotates. I didn't see it at first and had no idea if anything was happening. There's no plus sign when dragging files to the device either. When you look at what music is on your device, the experience is horrible. You click on it and you see your music on the device in a single window. No playlists, just files. Try scrolling and it jerks and stops. I'm supposed to manage my music with this? Truly it looks unfinished. Please get round to making it user friendly. Jesus. Personally I don't feel anything has been gained here (compared to iTunes). The taste and attention to detail I used to expect isn't there. You split sync duties and suddenly sync makes no sense. Splitting out Podcasts and TV does (mostly). Indeed, the only reason to currently upgrade is Podcasts, which seems decent (although you can't add your own files). Likewise you can't choose where Podcast files are located. Ditto the same with TV. I haven't seen much benefit in using the TV app. Overall system performance seems worse than Mojave. There is frequent beachballing and pauses when typing text. Sometimes apps will lock up or refuse to quit. I'm not quite sure what to make of it. The accessibility features don't interest me. Security could be a draw I suppose. The OS is increasingly locked down. Crucial system files live on their own locked partition you can't touch. You have to give some apps explicit permission for disk access, but the downside is more user input. Graphics (via metal) feels fast though, so that's something. However, it all feels like something is missing. Not a compelling upgrade except for anyone else than Apple.
Like (2)
Version 10.15.0
Marcossi
26 October 2019
I don't have any complaints.
Like
Version 10.15.0
jrcw
25 October 2019
This is not a first "stable" release. For a supplemental update to be issue days after the initial release indicates some serious quality control issues Apple needs to address.
Like
Version 10.15.0
Rogjack
25 October 2019
Full of bugs, wait.
Like
Version 10.15.0