Back to SQLGrinder page
SQLGrinder free download for Mac

SQLGrinder Reviews

2.0.8
07 March 2008

SQL database utility.

barefeettom
05 May 2008

Most helpful

Here's a detailed comparison of SQLGrinder with alternative SQLite GUI programs: http://www.tandb.com.au/sqlite/compare/ Overall SQLGrinder stacks up reasonably well. The GUI is very nice. The biggest problem is probably the inability to show the actual SQL of the schema (SQLGrinder rewrites it in the output, see the "Edit/view SQL of selected table, view" entry in the comparison site above).
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8

Read 16 SQLGrinder User Reviews

Rate this app:

anonymous-deer-2515
28 April 2014
SQLGrinder is gone. The sqlgrinder.com URL redirects to "parked-at-GoDaddy" page. For years, SQLGrinder was a nice app to have ... until the updates stopped. Then I've used RazorSQL. RazorSQL is capable; however, the Java UI is somewhat busy and not-so-intuitive. So moving on again, I've found Valentina as a good solution for MySQL, PostgreSQL & SQLite. Had SQLGrinder evolved with continued support, I would have been happy to stay with SQLGrinder.
Like
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
anonymous-deer-2515
anonymous-deer-2515
04 August 2014
The sqlgrinder.com URL is live at this moment. However, the most recent blog post (April 29, 2010) http://sqlgrinder.com/blog/ has an "EOL" (End Of Life) statement regarding SQL Grinder due to the absence of the Java-Cocoa since OS X 10.6.
Like
Luismurbina
07 February 2013
This application seems to have been abandoned by the developers.
Like
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
Before-Dawn-Solutions
Before-Dawn-Solutions
26 February 2013
Not abandoned in dormant period. Unfortunately the app as it currently stands requires JDBC which Apple removed. We are in the process of updating it, but it is taking longer (much longer) than expected. It is coming, just much slower than expected.
Like
N-Silva
01 September 2009
The app immediately dies after launch on Snow Leopard. I hope it gets fixed soon-it's been a really useful tool for me working with PostgreSQL.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
5 answer(s)
.
.
16 September 2009
Seconded! (I'll be upgrading to Snow Leopard shortly, now it looks like I'll have to hold off.)
Like
Version 2.0.8
Tim-Newton
Tim-Newton
09 October 2009
I've been able to get it to launch in Snow Leopard by setting the option to open in Rosetta (Get Info on the app), but the connections popup menu doesn't work so you can't connect to any database. Can't wait for an update too!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
Tim-Newton
Tim-Newton
09 October 2009
Here's a link to the issue on the app's support board Does not look promising that a Snow Leopard version will be coming.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Tim-Newton
Tim-Newton
09 October 2009
http://www.advenio.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1241
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
.
.
11 October 2009
Thanks for that. I notice he's still actively updating the weblog, but it's all about MacGourmet.
Like
Version 2.0.8
barefeettom
05 May 2008
Here's a detailed comparison of SQLGrinder with alternative SQLite GUI programs: http://www.tandb.com.au/sqlite/compare/ Overall SQLGrinder stacks up reasonably well. The GUI is very nice. The biggest problem is probably the inability to show the actual SQL of the schema (SQLGrinder rewrites it in the output, see the "Edit/view SQL of selected table, view" entry in the comparison site above).
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
barefeettom
09 March 2008
SQLGrinder looks quite promising, being a real Cocoa app (not one of those ugly Java apps). The syntax coloring seems to understand context more than most other SQL editors and the data browsing abilities seem good. However, I can't connect to my SQLite databases. I finally managed to load a working SQLite JDBC driver and connect to my database but I get an error whenever I try to execute some SQL "SQLite only supports type_forward_only cursors". That stops me testing any further.
Like
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
Mdupuis282
Mdupuis282
15 March 2008
This is really best and issue sent to support, but there is additional information here: http://www.sqlgrinder.com/blog/2007/04/sqlgrinder-and-sqlite.html. I use SQLGrinder and SQLite a lot, so this information should help.
Like
Version 2.0.8
T-Newton
21 January 2008
Vers. 2.0.6 won't start up at all on my iMac 2007, Leopard. Had to use Time Machine to restore version 2.0.5. Here's the error from CONSOLE: Reason: Incompatible library version: SQLGrinder requires version 1.0.0 or later, but OmniBase provides version 0.0.0 Exited abnormally: Trace/BPT trap
Like
Version 2.0.6
3 answer(s)
Mdupuis282
Mdupuis282
21 January 2008
Please report this to support rather than posting problems here, as I don't monitor this all the time. I'm not sure where that error is coming from as 2.0.6 has been tested on multiple Leopard installs that I have... and that seems to be Omni related, so there must be some kind of conflict there.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Mdupuis282
Mdupuis282
21 January 2008
If anyone else sees this issue, downloading a fresh copy should resolve the problem mentioned.
Like
Version 2.0.6
T-Newton
T-Newton
29 January 2008
That fixed it alright. SQLGrinder is editor of choice.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Tijej
17 April 2007
I'm quite surprised with the bad reviews for this software. Honestly, I've tried all the GUI apps to handle my mySQL database. This one is fast, reliable and nice. What more do you want ? A bit expensive though if you (as I) only need mySQL connectivity. But all in all a very nice program.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Macintoshkernel
26 April 2006
SEAN W, I think you confusedthis app with eSuite4X or YourSQL. I cound not disagree with you more. I've tested all the top mac MySQL Clients, and this app has the best GUI and layout. First off, the icons are nice and sharp looking, the other apps out there for mac, have some of the worst Icons I have ever seen, some are just blurry and non-dentifiable meshes of pixels. To be honest all but one of the MySQL gui apps on the Mac suck. I honestly must say that SQLGrinder has been fast in my production tests, connectivity is smooth and it has not crashed on me yet. I can only speak for me but this is the best of breed mac MySQL Client. nuff said.
Like
Version 2.0b12
Sean W
28 November 2005
This genre of application is poorly represented on the Macintosh platform and consists mainly of Java applications or over priced Carbon apps. SQLGrinder may be a Cocoa application but other than that there's not a lot to say that's positive and it can only be described as a mediocre effort at best. The application does have a relatively decent spec but it's unintuitive to use and features an interface that looks like neither OSX nor Windows thanks to the cheap stock icons. Couple all of this with the glacial speed at which the developer seems to work (it was supposed to be ready in August but that comment was removed in late July from the developers blog) and it doesn't make a compelling buy, certainly not with a $50 price tag.
Like
Version 2.0b7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 November 2005
I'd just like to point out an inaccuracy in your review. Personal opinions on usability, icons, and development speed expectations aside, all of which we can agree to disagree on, (there's a free demo, so each person is free to try it and judge for themselves) the claim that SQLGrinder 2 was supposed to be released in August is false. The post referred to, I'm guessing, is this one: http://www.michaeldupuis.com/TheSoftwareUnderground/2005/08/sqlgrinder-2-beta-1-now-available.html, which wasn't removed, it just didn't get republished correctly when the blog moved domains. It clearly states and has always stated, "How long will the beta period last? Well, it will last as long as it needs to." I'd also like to point out that during the entire beta period, SQLGrinder 2 usage as been unrestricted, and has not required a registration. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.0b7
Anonymous
26 October 2005
SQLGrinder absolutely sucks. It disconnects constantly and as a result is vastly more inconvenient to use than PHPmyAdmin. My advice? Stay away. Bad software, bad!
Like
Version 2.0b6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 October 2005
SQLGrinder is currently in beta, so it's still not without problems; that's what beta releases are for. However, disconnection problems are usually server side issues so I don't think it's the application itself that has this problem, and I don't believe we've received a bug report from "anonymous" reporting this issue. To that end, beta 6 does do more checking to deal with disconnections on the server side now, so the application will deal with server disconnects gracefully.
Like
Version 2.0b6
Anonymous
15 August 2005
I've been a registered user of SQL Grinder since 2003 and use it often to connect to MySQL, Sybase, DB2 (AS400) and Oracle databases. I like the new version so far - it has some minor issues, but it's a beta...
Like
Version 2.0b1
anonymous-heron-1577
15 August 2005
2.0b1 crashes immediately upon launch under Mac OS X 10.4.2.
Like
Version 2.0b1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Problems like this, especially with beta releases, are best addressed by sending email to our support email address, so that action can be taken on them immediately. Thanks
Like
Version 2.0b1
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Just to update, removing your old preferences file should solve this problem.
Like
Version 2.0b1
T-Newton
30 December 2004
I found this program simpler to use than either Aqua Datastudion (which had problems with queries returning > 1000 records) or SQL4X Manager. I did use SQL4X manager for their link to MS's MS SQL driver (SQLGrinder's link pointed me to the wrong place) and followed SQL4X's instructions for installing the driver for all users and SQLGrinder recognized it immediately. The syntax highlighting isn't perfected yet, but that's fine. Files are saved with UNIX (lf) line endings. There is no Mac (crlf) option. BBEdit can fix that. The SQL Query Library feature could use a little refinement. Haven't figured out what "Snapshot" does. Program works better (for me) than any of the others I've found that are compatible with MS SQL Server.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Anonymous
19 October 2004
Also note that YourSQL only works with MySQL databases, and DataWerkz only with MySQL and PostgreSQL. SQLGrinder works with any database that you have a JDBC driver for, Oracle, Sybase, OpenBase, FrontBase, MySQL, PostgreSQL, etc.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Anonymous
19 October 2004
For alternatives also see www.mludi.net/YourSQL/ and DataWerkz by www.uwerkz.com!
Like
Version 1.2.7
Dave Dash
06 April 2003
browsing is very simple. The downside is this program runs out of VM fast, and has a very bland interface. No special features are included except minimal syntax highlighting. Aqua Datastudio is a more featured free alternative.
Like
Version 1.2.5