Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to ActiveDock page
ActiveDock free download for Mac

ActiveDock Reviews2.97

08 July 2021

Application launcher and alternative, customizable dock.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ben-marko
ben-marko
Jan 13 2021
2.69
3.0
Jan 13 2021
3.0
Version: 2.69
Really love the features, but this is horribly broken under Big Sur. Trying to move the ActiveDock around using the preferences (left, middle, right, etc.) makes the icons disappear (they are replaced by black dots). Trying to use the fill option makes the ActiveDock stretch to where it will fill up a random amount of screen space. Sometimes it's half the screen, sometimes it's just a huge block that blocks a chunk of the screen. This isn't Big Sur ready, but on Catalina it works great.
CaptainFantastic
CaptainFantastic
Oct 6 2020
2.53
2.0
Oct 6 2020
2.0
Version: 2.53
This app is a good effort, but doesn't act like the native Macos dock at all, and many popular applications (like 1Password) don't work with it. The developer releases updates frequently, so hopefully it will quickly improve, but right now it's really unusable for me since it's incompatible with several applications I use frequently.
Tim27
Tim27
Jul 9 2020
2.1
4.0
Jul 9 2020
4.0
Version: 2.1
I like this app. It could use a few more features. For example, when right-clicking on an icon I'd like to see the option to do a Get Info on it. Maybe even an option to change the app/item icon in ActiveDock from whatever image is in your clipboard. Judging by how the new Catalina app icons look, this might be a feature used more than any other LOL. I was a long time user of DragThing, and some of the features in that app would be welcome here, as it is no longer being updated. Things like assigning sounds, colors, more appearances styles, hot corners. Most importantly for me, the option to "bring all app windows to the front when switching". This is something I really miss from OS9. I know there are a couple other apps that do it, but it's another app you have to have installed and running. It would be nice to have it rolled into ActiveDock.
keith-15
keith-15
Feb 6 2020
1.54
4.0
Feb 6 2020
4.0
Version: 1.54
Got my favourite dock back.
om-prakashh-singh
om-prakashh-singh
Feb 1 2020
1.54
0.0
Feb 1 2020
0.0
Version: 1.54
There must be some mechanism to control space between the Icons on dock. Currently, space between the icons is large due to which less icon are accommodated for same size of icons. Otherwise everything is good.
Hanan
Hanan
Dec 28 2019
1.53
5.0
Dec 28 2019
5.0
Version: 1.53
I'm using ActiveDock to replace DragThing that will not be updated for Catalina. I set up ActiveDock before switching with very good results. Setting up the "group folders" was easy, and they replaced the dock items in DragThing. Had some slight problem installing the app, but the author was very responsive and helpful, in fact, great.
Harry Flashman
Harry Flashman
Dec 20 2019
1.53
1.0
Dec 20 2019
1.0
Version: 1.53
I think this is worse than the original Apple dock from 2001. It's that bad with all the bugs and spinning ball.
rubinjosh
rubinjosh
Oct 8 2019
1.18
4.0
Oct 8 2019
4.0
Version: 1.18
This app works great, the customizations are great and customer service is excellent. My initial install of the product did not work exactly as expected. I submitted a request on for support on Macplus software and received extremely timely responses until the issue was resolved. The only change I would make is to allow the option to create custom windows management options.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Sep 8 2019
1.1.3
5.0
Sep 8 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.3
Reviewed this app when it first came out about a year ago...it was 5 stars then...can I make it 10 stars now?
James
James
Jul 6 2019
1.1.22
3.0
Jul 6 2019
3.0
Version: 1.1.22
Got and paid for this primarily because I was having issue seeing what apps were active as the indicator was often hard to see with my desktop backgrounds. It worked great for that but unfortunately it lacked a lot and still does lack a lot of the Apple Dock functionality. Additionally the developer has moved on to another similar product for multiple docks. So I have finally given up on it and gone back to the Apple Dock.
ccitrish
ccitrish
May 29 2019
1.1.21
4.5
May 29 2019
4.5
Version: 1.1.21
This app is so much better than the old Dock! My computer desk top is actually a piece of art - 3D makes apps so easy to find now, I love that I can change things around (colors, sizes, display, etc) too! Well worth the money!
kevin-brunet
kevin-brunet
Jan 12 2019
1.1.10
3.5
Jan 12 2019
3.5
Version: 1.1.10
Salut les amis est-ce que cette application est compatible avec macos mojave
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Jan 9 2019
1.1.10
0.0
Jan 9 2019
0.0
Version: 1.1.10
Currently, I think the biggest drawback of this app is the fact that you cannot customize the start menu. Otherwise, it's a great app.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Oct 8 2018
1.1.8
5.0
Oct 8 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.8
This little app gives you a fine alternative to Apple’s Dock. Disable Apple’s dock and create your own simple, elegant, and personalized dock in very short order! This is the beat app of its type I have seen. Updated regularly to improve its function and appearance. This is an OMG Great little app!
sergerrant
sergerrant
Sep 24 2018
1.1.7
1.5
Sep 24 2018
1.5
Version: 1.1.7
App indicator icon won't even adapt when dock is used on the side, and it is not retina.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Jul 6 2018
1.1.5
5.0
Jul 6 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.5
Lot of features and only small CPU consumption, if configured accordingly – like it, bought it.
Reinier
Reinier
May 7 2018
1.07
5.0
May 7 2018
5.0
Version: 1.07
ActiveDock is a unique app and replacement for macOS dock. The concept is to show only the active apps and have the dock fully customisable. It has the looks and feelings of macOS and adds the missing options which can be found in other OS. The concept is well implemented and accompanied bij great support. Questions are always answered very fast and adequate. More options are promised to be added in future versions and suggestions for features are always Kindly considered. Well deserved 5 star app!
Youssef SALAMA-
Youssef SALAMA-
Mar 27 2018
91
5.0
Mar 27 2018
5.0
Version: 91
ActiveDock ma permet de donner une autre vie à mon ancien MacBook. J'ai testé ActiveDock sur mon Macbook Pro (de-2012) avec High Sierra... En général l'installation de l'application ActiveDock est facile et très rapide. Aussi il est très compatible avec la dernière version de Mac OSX. Durant mon test de l'application je n'ai jamais observé ni de ralentissement de mon CPU ni de lourdement de ma RAM. L'interface d'ActiveDock est très attirante avec un menu simple et facile avec plusieurs outils pour améliorer l'arrangement de vos icons. Depuis ce test...j'utilise ActiveDock comme ma première Dock à la place de Dock d'Apple. Je recommande vivement chaque utilisateur de Mac OSx d'installer Active Dock ...et je donne 5 étoiles à cette application.
hwgray
hwgray
Mar 26 2018
91
0.0
Mar 26 2018
0.0
Version: 91
Windows-style "Start" button for launching applications.?<har! har!>