Back to StopAd page
StopAd free download for Mac

StopAd Reviews1.9.550.1

06 June 2018

Block ads on web browsers.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
packagingwiz
packagingwiz
Jun 28 2018
1.9.550.1
0.0
Jun 28 2018
0.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
Like most Mac Users, I will NEVER BUY an App that has a Monthly or Annual Subscription Rate. If you can come up with a Good / Great App @ a fair 1 time purchase rate for right to use…..than Done. Most will buy. Suggestion…You may want to do the Math….Good Luck!
tx517
tx517
Jun 24 2018
1.9.550.1
0.0
Jun 24 2018
0.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
I have not tested the app, but one key question has appeared: given the high price, why would one buy this tool instead of the free and excellent Ghostery and AdGuard (I'm using both, after removing the various AdBlok apps that let numerous ads in)? Ghostery not only blocks ads, but also trackers...
vangulickc
vangulickc
Jun 22 2018
1.9.550.1
5.0
Jun 22 2018
5.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
Um, despite my comment below, I purchased this software. During trial I made the mistake of observing in preferences that Safari is the only browser choice, but the trial meanwhile was actually blocking ads for all browsers it can affect. That meant, as I unknowingly described below with precision, that Firefox ads are blocked after trial only if one buys a subscription. Well! When I actually gave it a chance, it worked so effectively that I bought the subscription...
rayj
rayj
Jun 16 2018
1.9.550.1
5.0
Jun 16 2018
5.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
I don't understand the last two comments - did you actually switch it on? I have no problem with StopAd. It's extremely effective and has one enormous benefit over all other adblockers I've used - I no longer get messages flashing up on web sites telling me I must whitelist their pages or, even worse, not allowing me to see the page at all because I'm using an adblocker. Currently I'm on the free version which seems to do all I need. And unlike vangulickc below I was given the option to choose my browser when the pro trial period finished.
i-utube-it
i-utube-it
Jun 16 2018
1.9.550.1
1.0
Jun 16 2018
1.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
Does StopAd Free or Pro really works on macOS? See for yourself https://youtu.be/7dhwN4gYOFY
hwgray
hwgray
Jun 15 2018
1.9.550.1
0.5
Jun 15 2018
0.5
Version: 1.9.550.1
Maybe it's due to my own lack of skill in installing the app or something, but StopAd has yet to stop anything at all on any site whatsoever: "Since June 12, 2018, 0 Ads blocked, 0 Trackers blocked, 0 Threats blocked."
vangulickc
vangulickc
Jun 15 2018
1.9.550.1
5.0
Jun 15 2018
5.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
The free (also trial) version of this software says it will work with only "one browser at a time." This is (intentionally, I think) misleading. The trial version will actually work with only one browser, and that browser is Safari. You pay for the pro version to test it in Firefox, Chrome, etc. I use Firefox, and have no real assurance in the rigid testing that the way it behaves in Safari (which I never touch) will be the same in Firefox—or even, after the misleading come-on, whether it will work in Firefox at all. This bodes poorly for user-friendliness. Too many variables, so little time!
lb3541
lb3541
Jun 15 2018
1.9.550.1
0.0
Jun 15 2018
0.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
Will this stop Facebook tracking cookies?
empierrelouis
empierrelouis
Jun 14 2018
1.9.550.1
1.0
Jun 14 2018
1.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
I took the Pro trial, but had to uninstall it right away because it didn't work. While I was on my Safari home page, which is https://www.cnet.com, there were 5 large blue ADT banners on my screen. As of today , June 13, 2018, none of those ad blocker apps can compete with the one I am actually using. Sorry StopAd Pro or Free, you both failed the test.
theo-langstrumpf
theo-langstrumpf
Jun 13 2018
1.9.550.1
5.0
Jun 13 2018
5.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
I recently installed StopAd on my Mac. I read about this adblock on the Reddit. I decided to try and did not make a mistake in choosing. Great adblocker
Add-2-cups
Add-2-cups
Jun 11 2018
1.9.550.1
0.0
Jun 11 2018
0.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
... more So this is an annual subscription price? No thank you. What happens if I do not wish to pay for the following year? App will stop working?
bessiesmith
bessiesmith
Jun 11 2018
1.9.550.1
0.0
Jun 11 2018
0.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
Please enlighten me with pertinent details, because I have no recollection of purchasing this product.
Lloyd-Pentecost
Lloyd-Pentecost
Jun 10 2018
1.9.550.1
0.0
Jun 10 2018
0.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
How do I activate my purchase? StopAd says this morning that my trial period is over. I entered the activation key (the only thing I received in email that looks like one) and then have to log in and the response is “your email or password invalid” Well my address is correct so I select “forgot my password”. I get a reset pasword screen that says “Please enter email and we will send, etc.” I enter my address and it says “user with such email not found” This is interesting because I receive email FROM MACUPDATE about StopAd at this address. Since I happen to receive an email this morning asking me what I think about my purchase. I go to “write an in-depth review ” and find I can only click on the star rating on the previous screen, and I can’t tell you what i think, becaue I can’t Log on. So I try to “Sign Up” and that screen only allows you to do so with Facebook because it says “Account already exists” I don’t trust Facebook any more, but it appears that it is my only choice. At this point I have so many screens open and I’ve reset several passwords I’ve lost track of the path here, but somehow I have logged into my account. You might be able to imagine how far beyond upset I am at this point, but I doubt it. I still don't have my purchase. Any assistance you can provide will be greatly appreiated.
Darren-Blackley
Darren-Blackley
Jun 10 2018
1.9.550.1
3.0
Jun 10 2018
3.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
Product needs polishing. Product needs to check for incompatibilities when installing. The product doesn't play nice with Antivirus and security products due to it's design and implementation. The product does what it is supposed to do most of the time - is it worth the cost - Not in my opinion until it is polished and i paid for the pro version. Support is Ok but takes time.
Pcbogert
Pcbogert
Jun 9 2018
1.9.550.1
5.0
Jun 9 2018
5.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
I've been using the trial mode for the last few days and have been pretty impressed. No problem using it with my VPN, either. It should be noted - and this is stated in the info on the purchase - that this is a subscription. It is normally $2.75 per month based on an annual plan and is for one computer only. Nice program, but not cheap.
Steve-From-Pottstown
Steve-From-Pottstown
Jun 7 2018
1.9.550.1
0.0
Jun 7 2018
0.0
Version: 1.9.550.1
what about sites that see ad blocker and will not run until turned blocker(superblocker in my case) OFF
zagkris
zagkris
May 31 2018
1.8.521.1
0.0
May 31 2018
0.0
Version: 1.8.521.1
Hello, MacUpdate community! It's Kris from StopAd team. I am here to answer your questions and listen to your thoughts and ideas about StopAd. Find out more about our ad blocker here https://stopad.io/blog/stopad-ad-blocker-for-mac or just ask me.
Bryan
Bryan
May 30 2018
1.8.521.1
0.0
May 30 2018
0.0
Version: 1.8.521.1
So far this is the best ad-blocker I've used on a Mac. It is easy to start using with no confusing set-up or browser add-ons required. The app gets right to work and I put it to the test on some news sites. It was blissful to be able to read articles without auto-playing videos and pop-ups in my way, and it claims to have blocked about 100 ads and 200 trackers in the first 15 minutes of use! I believe that claim since when I turned off the blocking and reloaded the pages there were plenty of ads. The app has extra features for "Privacy" and "Web" protection. It would be nice if the app provided some insight into what these features are actually doing as they would be an unexpected bonus if I had confidence it was providing benefits. The web assistant is convenient but does have some kinks when I turned it on and off during testing. However, it worked just fine when I left it on. I would be happy to recommend this to anyone who uses their Mac primarily for personal web browsing. Power-users beware as it uses an average of about 12% CPU (according to App Tamer) when it is enabled. Although, for the web-surfer, it is worth the CPU power to watch YouTube with no ads and browse Facebook with no tracking and finally have some peace of mind! Pros: Options to turn on/off blocking of Search, YouTube, or Facebook ads (sometimes you want those things). No need for browser extensions for it to work. Blocks tracking as well as ads on YouTube and Spotify. Cons: Uses a good chunk of CPU when enabled. Requires an account. Only option is subscription pricing.