Back to Unite page
Unite free download for Mac

Unite Reviews

2.1
29 May 2019

Turn websites into full-featured apps.

Mikail
09 December 2017

Most helpful

It kind of works with some of my websites, but most of them just show the front page but none of the menu options or java script buttons do not work, so pretty much a waste of money and time which is pretty disappointing to just feel like I've just thrown money away, Should have been a demo to try out in the offer, could not find one and simply trusted the MacUpdate site to be selling a product that works which has always been the case up to this product.
Like (2)
Version 1.0

Read 11 Unite User Reviews

Rate this app:

Maru88
22 May 2019
I have been using Unite 2 for several months now and cannot imagine having to work without it. Therefore, I am somewhat surprised by the low rating this app receives, because for me it has been nothing less than a time-saving and productivity beast. Sure, it is not a full-fletched browser with plugin support (not sure why this is a dealbreaker, as I believe it was never meant to work as a browser replacement in the first place anyway), but it allows me to quickly launch and switch between web-apps for which no desktop app has been designed. And to the best of my ability for testing performance, it is worth noting that I notice a clear performance improvement. When running often-used (heavy) web-apps as separate Unite apps next to my general multi-tab browsing in Safari or Chrome they remain stable and fast, (suprisingly, some websites run smoother and consume less RAM in Unite 2 than in Safari or Chome). I still have to figure out how to use user scripts, but I cannot find any documentation for this. Would be great if the developer provides some more documentation for this, preferably with some examples. Also, I cannot get the bookmarks bar to work (the bar remains empty when adding bookmarks, perhaps I do something wrong), but besides, it would be great to enter multiple tabbed websites when creating the app to have it always open multiple taps at startup. Anyway, great work! Best, Maru
Like
Version 2.0
usmaak
02 January 2019
I really want to like this app. It's a great idea. It is functional, but it is missing the ability to use extensions. I don't use a browser without being able to install a few key extensions like an ad blocker and Roboform. The apps that I created are all light on resources, but without extensions, I have no use for it.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
BZG Inc.
BZG Inc.
13 January 2019
Hi Usmaak,

Indeed extensions would be optimal but as we use a custom backend with Unite it may potentially require creating a whole new extension ecosystem. We are working on supporting Safari extensions but haven't figured out yet. If extensions are a must-have, we'd recommend checking out Coherence Pro if you haven't already.

Thanks
Like (2)
YHC
31 December 2018
I really hate this developer! Coherence, Coherence Pro, Unite? The developer did the similar things/apps, and earned three times the money. Maybe the developer will make Unite Pro, and earn money once again. Yuck!
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
BZG Inc.
BZG Inc.
13 January 2019
Hi there,

This is a pretty unfair comment, as there are major differences between these three applications (and if there weren't, not one would buy them).

Unite uses a custom web kit browser that allows for backend features like notifications, status bar apps, customization features, etc. and costs $9.99

Coherence uses Chrome as a backend, which since is not our backend, means we are missing a number of the Unite type features. However, since it is Chrome it supports virtually all web experiences, and extensions.

The currently updated and feature-full Coherence release is called Coherence Pro, and retails for $9.99. We decided to offer a cheaper version with the basic functionality for $4.99, that doesn't include things like extensions and tabbed apps.

Certainly it is unfair to say these do the same things, and while some choose to purchase multiple, many pick one and stick with that, and they are on parallel development cycles.
Like (2)
Scgf
27 September 2018
Still not remembering window size in Mojave. Fluid.app, Coherence, every other app I use remembers the window size. I've been looking for updates now that Mojave is officially released.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Mikail
09 December 2017
It kind of works with some of my websites, but most of them just show the front page but none of the menu options or java script buttons do not work, so pretty much a waste of money and time which is pretty disappointing to just feel like I've just thrown money away, Should have been a demo to try out in the offer, could not find one and simply trusted the MacUpdate site to be selling a product that works which has always been the case up to this product.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
bambi4908
09 December 2017
Is there a trial version? This sounds interesting, but I'm not sure what it can actually do. Trial version would let me see... but there's so much crappy software out there, I can't afford to buy it all.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
BZG Inc.
BZG Inc.
10 December 2017
Hey there.

There is a trial version, which can be accessed by clicking the trial version or visiting our website, bzgapps.com
Like
mjmehring_1
09 December 2017
yuck - do not like
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Robio
Robio
11 June 2018
What is the point of "writing" a "review" like this. You went to the trouble of typing, couldn't you be bothered to take a few more seconds to write something useful, helpful, or actually say anything about the software?
Like (3)
lb3541
08 December 2017
Could not find any informational help with this app and had problems getting it to function immediately after installing and buying it. It now works as advertised and for what it does, I am well pleased.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
BZG Inc.
BZG Inc.
08 December 2017
Hey there,

If you ever do need help, contact us at bzgapps.com/support. Glad you are enjoying the app!
Like
usmaak
06 December 2017
What are the chances that support for plugins will be added for this? An ad blocker would be particularly useful. I use ad blocking software on all browsers and ads appearing on app windows is annoying.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
BZG Inc.
BZG Inc.
06 December 2017
We are very interested in the possibility of adding plugins and it is something we are heavily looking into. Can't guarantee it, but if it is something that is reasonably possible to add it will be there in the future.
Like
usmaak
usmaak
19 May 2018
Any word on this? I just took a look and still no ad blocking. One of the most painful things about using the internet now is ads. They're everywhere and they're intrusive. Being able to use AdBlocker in this would be huge!
Like
Smayer97
05 December 2017
What is the difference between Unite and Coherence, made by the same company? They appear to do the same thing.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
05 December 2017
Great question! Coherence uses a Chrome interface and can use up to 100+ MB of memory whereas Unite uses Webkit (Safari) and uses around 20 MB. Unite can also make a menu bar (status bar) item for getting quick glances, a feature I used for a company calendar that I need to reference but not interact with that much. The apps do similar things, but Unite does a lot more with a lot less (memory).
Like
mui68k
04 December 2017
I just recently tried this and my initial comments after having used and somehow purchased it, is that there are some things that could be done better. Not sure if it's intentional that the sizes of the windows of the apps that are created with Unite can't be saved and always opens zoomed upwards to fill the screen size. I created a Facebook Messenger Unite app that should save the window size but certainly didn't. Also, the example with Facebook Messenger has a different issue that shows because often the Unite app window is entirely blank as if nothing is there, not even the Messenger URL. The app title when this happens is DefaultApp which is not "Facebook Messenger" like I called the Unite app. There's a slight animation failure after creating Unite app from the Unite window. I don't know what the animation actually is supposed to be. It appears as if Unite wants to send the Unite app directly to the Dock with a fancy animation, that perhaps glows. It doesn't give a good impression of an animation that is supposed to be smooth. It -could- be intentional, but I doubt it. All in all I should have tried the trial before shooting off my monies for this app. I would have had 3 tries to create an Unite app and that would probably have shown the defects of this application. It's a great app though - I bet that through its function I can have many great and fun hours with it. When it's updated I'll also look forward to spending more time with it.
Like (1)
Version 1.0