Back to Pixelmator Pro page
Pixelmator Pro free download for Mac

Pixelmator Pro Reviews1.6.5

17 July 2020

Beautiful and powerful image editor.

5
DragonMaster
02 March 2020
Version: 1.5.5

Most helpful

Really good. Improvements in interface a major improvement. Still take a look at Luminar 4 and Affinity Photo and Designer as possible significant challenges.
(2)

How would you rate Pixelmator Pro app?

Read 20 Pixelmator Pro User Reviews

zlazkow
19 July 2020
Version: 1.6.5
No, it's not free, it's only a free trial. For me GraphicConverter is the superior multi-tasking tool, for most users and even photographers, graphic editors(not artists)...etc.
(0)
5
DragonMaster
02 March 2020
Version: 1.5.5
Really good. Improvements in interface a major improvement. Still take a look at Luminar 4 and Affinity Photo and Designer as possible significant challenges.
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
Sigsgaard
28 February 2020
Version: 1.5.5
The ML functions are fantastic. As a complete amateur photoeditor I am very impressed by how easy it is to make a mediocre photo look good in Pixelmator Pro. I own all of Pixelmators apps on MacOS and iOS/iPadOS, and I am very impressed by all of them.
(0)
4
baxsur
01 January 2020
Version: 1.5.5
Many clever and innovative features.
(0)
5
Bento de Espinosa
09 December 2019
Version: 1.4
I was looking for a Photoshop replacement, and from all the apps I tested Pixelmator Pro is the one that does not let me miss Photoshop much. It does not have all things that Photoshop has, but it does have all the important things one needs for creating images for websites or Facebook. Some things are even better than Photoshop. As a plus, while other apps are a bit ugly, Pixelmator Pro is very elegant. Thank you for this!
(1)
Mikael-B
29 October 2019
Version: 1.4
Currently Pixelmator Pro is cheaper than Pixelmator in MAS. A review suggested the latter is to be abandoned by the developer.
(1)
5
gorya
19 June 2019
Version: 1.3.4

(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Applotse
22 January 2019
Version: 1.2.4
Best selection tool ever! Fantastic photo editing capabilities.
(1)
4.5
Stephen-Fry
09 December 2018
Version: 1.2.4
Very good Photoshop alternative. The GUI needs some time to get used to though.
(0)
5
Shooters
31 December 2017
Version: 1.0.5
Super image editor. Easy to use.
(2)
4
VanRijn63
27 December 2017
Version: 1.0.5
I'm very impressed with this software. I've paid thousands of dollars to Adobe over the years and can't stomach their monthly subscription. The last version of Creative Suite I bought won't run on my new MacBook , so I'll be using Pixelmator Pro from now on. Sure, there are some niggles, but this is a very promising 1.0 release. It already does pretty much everything I need it to do and at 60 dollars it's great value for money.
(7)
4.5
DonkeyKong
16 December 2017
Version: 1.0.5
The big question : What image editor to buy/use. IMO there are only two outstanding image editors: Affinity Photo and Pixelmator Pro. I tried about any other image editor and those are out of bounds for me for several reasons. So, which to choose. It is pretty simple. If you need a PhotoShop alternative, then by all means go for Affinity Photo. It is on par on features and plugin support. But keep in mind you are facing a steep learning curve. Ones mastered, it is the uber image app ! If you need a very good and fast image editor doing the basics, you can choose Pixelmator Pro. You learn to use it in minutes and you never get lost.
(3)
Tim27
16 December 2017
Version: 1.0.5
If you are a user of Affinity Photo there is no reason to buy Pixelmator Pro. AP is $10 cheaper and does a lot more for the money. If you are a user of Pixelmator, Pro is only a little better. But, as others have said, it has its issues right now. I appreciate what the Pixelmator team is trying to do with this app, but it's just not there yet.
(2)
Show comments (2)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
12 December 2017
Version: 1.0.4
In my opinion it's a bit early to release a High Sierra only app. It would be nice to know what features require the new OS. Just my 2 cents.
(1)
Show comments (3)
3
Melis
03 December 2017
Version: 1.0.3
Pixelmator Pro uses the GPU and GPU memory to speed up things which is great and delivers fast responding editing. And thats where it goes wrong if you run out of GPU memory, it is prone for crashing the system completely. It works fine for small files but ones you are going to edit larger files (RAW or any other format) the problems rises. Lock ups, crashes, sometime the complete OS becomes unresponsive, automatically login out of your account without any notice, loss of work, … Is this a bug or feature in Pixelmator Pro? FYI: Affinity Photo also uses the GPU but for some reason it never crashes on my system.
(0)
Frankeed
02 December 2017
Version: 1.0.2
Note that you must be running High Sierra and have a computer with a Metal compatible graphics card.
(3)
Show comment (1)
4
Macmaria
01 December 2017
Version: 1.0.2
As a long time user of Pixelmator, I think the Pro version is a step forward. I love the new interface and the new selection feature (much faster and easy to use). Not 5 stars yet, since the NEW features (comparing with the old app) are not many. I'm very curious where this app will be in 1-2 years.
(0)
3.5
OsloX
01 December 2017
Version: 1.0.2
After playing with Pixelmator Pro for two days, I can honestly say it is not a big improvement compared to Pixelmator. Don't get me wrong Pixelmator Pro is good. Still, it's not necessarily better than Pixelmator and worth “upgrading”. Hear me out: For example the new UI works against the user all the time. To keep the UI simple, many things are kept well hidden. For example sharing a saved an user preset needs the knowledge to drag it out of Pixcelmator Pro window. Struggling with the UI is also to be blamed on the icons. Icons are too small and sadly colored greyish and thin lined. I have good eyes, still I have to watch very closely what the icons represents. Yes, if you wait 2 seconds the names are shown. This feels funky and not very nice imo. It is very counterproductive for sure. I urge the coders to make this again colorful icons like Pixelmator or at least more bright/outstanding from the black background. That would be a big improvement. Some icons have a small triangle in the bottom right corner. Clicking on that tiny triangle is troublesome at times. The mouse pointer needs to be firmly onto the small pixel sized triangle to see the menu with additional tools. It is really frustrating to handle. Maybe a right click on the whole icon would work much better. And that is the main problem with Pixelmator Pro, everything needs to be explorer with trial and error to find out if it works (or not). Another thing I don't like is the Original button. Good idea but it doesn't work nicely when you are using a trackpad. You need to click and hold the button which is more difficult to do with a trackpad. This is purely useful when you are using a (magic)mouse. Of course, ones you get customized with all features and the new UI, things will smooth out a bit. Still, a good UI should be easy and intuitive to use not by exploration. Certainly not the strongest part of Pixelmator Pro. The big deal with this new version is having everything packed into one window. This may seem clean to work with but again it can be counterproductive too. For example you cannot compare and work two or more images on one screen. With Pixelmator you can open several images and display them at the same time. I really miss this in Pixelmator Pro! Maybe a feature like Affinity Photo to put them side-by-side could help. Sizable left and right panes cover the image at times and can be distracting to say the least, even if they are semitransparent. Yes, floating windows can also clutter up screen estate, but at least you can move them around. But I do understand some users may dislike this way of working and prefer one window. As I already pointed out, Pixelmator Pro isn't better than Pixelmator. This also applies to all available tools. There aren't much new tool s to be found. it is mostly the same stuff. My conclusion: Pixelmator Pro isn't .. well .. Pro. If I think 'Pro' regarding image editing, I think PhotoShop-a-like apps like Affinity Photo. The latter supports way more professional tools, extended layering possibilities, scalable history overview and PS plugins. For sure Pixelmator Pro is a good buy when you do not own Pixelmator yet. It does fit the bill for simple image editing, that’s it. If you already own Pixelmator, I am not sure $59,99 is worth it.
(6)
Show comments (4)
2
Betamagic
30 November 2017
Version: 1.0.1
I tested the trial a bit with some Nikon D800 RAW files. Opening of these files was really slow. The editing tools for RAW files are very limited compared to Adobe Lightroom. It's also not possible to use gradient selections and a lot of other features without first converting the RAW file to the proprietary bitmap format of Pixelmator. Almost all tools I saw in the Pro version are already part of the regular Pixelmator version, including the same limitations. They are only presented in nicer one window view.

So I get the feeling this new app is extremely overhyped and not really a replacement for Adobe Lightroom or Adobe Photoshop. And that's really pity, because I don't like Adobe subscription model and how they mess up app installations on the Mac. I would like to believe Pixelmator Pro is a competent professional editor, but that's unfortunately totally not the case in my opinion.
(5)
3
Cjbolland
30 November 2017
Version: 1.0.1
I love Pixelmator. So I bought Pixelmator Pro immediately. :)
Today I worked with it for a couple hours and my feeling is it is not really better.
I mean, beside everything now happens in one window, most tools are also found in Pixelmator.
That said, one tool that is new is the copy tool which is great to retouch things with more control.

Although the devs claim everything is faster with Metal2, I don't see any huge boosts on my MBPr 2017. In fact, some things are now slower (some effects are). If I am not mistaken, Pixelmator also uses Metal2.

Not sure if the current version justifies $60. IMO If you have Pixelmator, I think you could settle with that for now.

Anyhow, I am still glad I bought it and updates will be free in the coming years. Hopefully it will improve regarding new tools and features set.
(5)