Back to Pixelmator Pro page
Pixelmator Pro free download for Mac

Pixelmator Pro Reviews

1.5.5
31 December 2019

Beautiful and powerful image editor.

Bento de Espinosa
09 December 2019

Most helpful

I was looking for a Photoshop replacement, and from all the apps I tested Pixelmator Pro is the one that does not let me miss Photoshop much. It does not have all things that Photoshop has, but it does have all the important things one needs for creating images for websites or Facebook. Some things are even better than Photoshop. As a plus, while other apps are a bit ugly, Pixelmator Pro is very elegant. Thank you for this!
Like (1)
Version 1.4

Read 17 Pixelmator Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

baxsur
01 January 2020
Many clever and innovative features.
Like
Version 1.5.5
Bento de Espinosa
09 December 2019
I was looking for a Photoshop replacement, and from all the apps I tested Pixelmator Pro is the one that does not let me miss Photoshop much. It does not have all things that Photoshop has, but it does have all the important things one needs for creating images for websites or Facebook. Some things are even better than Photoshop. As a plus, while other apps are a bit ugly, Pixelmator Pro is very elegant. Thank you for this!
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Mikael-B
29 October 2019
Currently Pixelmator Pro is cheaper than Pixelmator in MAS. A review suggested the latter is to be abandoned by the developer.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
gorya
19 June 2019

Like
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
17 October 2019
A small correction regarding OsloX's comment concerning Affinity Photo supporting Photoshop plugins. This is not true; at least not in my case. I recently tried out Affinity Photo, and NONE of my Photoshop plugins worked fully -- if at all -- with Affinity Photo. Furthermore, Serif has publicly stated on their forum that they have not fully implemented the Adobe plugin API in Affinity Photo, which would explain why many Photoshop-compatible plugins do not work with it. Because of this deal-breaking factor -- and due to other reasons -- I chose to upgrade from Photoshop CS6 to Photoshop CC 2019, instead of choosing Affinity Photo.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Applotse
22 January 2019
Best selection tool ever! Fantastic photo editing capabilities.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
Stephen-Fry
09 December 2018
Very good Photoshop alternative. The GUI needs some time to get used to though.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Shooters
31 December 2017
Super image editor. Easy to use.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
VanRijn63
27 December 2017
I'm very impressed with this software. I've paid thousands of dollars to Adobe over the years and can't stomach their monthly subscription. The last version of Creative Suite I bought won't run on my new MacBook , so I'll be using Pixelmator Pro from now on. Sure, there are some niggles, but this is a very promising 1.0 release. It already does pretty much everything I need it to do and at 60 dollars it's great value for money.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.5
DonkeyKong
16 December 2017
The big question : What image editor to buy/use. IMO there are only two outstanding image editors: Affinity Photo and Pixelmator Pro. I tried about any other image editor and those are out of bounds for me for several reasons. So, which to choose. It is pretty simple. If you need a PhotoShop alternative, then by all means go for Affinity Photo. It is on par on features and plugin support. But keep in mind you are facing a steep learning curve. Ones mastered, it is the uber image app ! If you need a very good and fast image editor doing the basics, you can choose Pixelmator Pro. You learn to use it in minutes and you never get lost.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.5
Tim27
16 December 2017
If you are a user of Affinity Photo there is no reason to buy Pixelmator Pro. AP is $10 cheaper and does a lot more for the money. If you are a user of Pixelmator, Pro is only a little better. But, as others have said, it has its issues right now. I appreciate what the Pixelmator team is trying to do with this app, but it's just not there yet.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
2 answer(s)
Castle-Rose
Castle-Rose
06 January 2018
If you combine Affinity Photo with Affinity Designer, Affinity is hands down the winner.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
02 June 2018
That was then. This is now. With the latest versionPixelmator Pro has expanded beyond a RAW image editor to include editing features for the web. Which means it's more like Photoshop than ever. This is certainly a niche use and if you don't adapt images for the web. Affinity Photo may still be the best choice. Be that as it may, it is still far cheaper than Photoshop or Lightroom, unless you get the Photo package from Adobe, which is only $10 a month for both Photoshop and Lightroom. Affinity Photo may still the best choice if you don't, as I do, have a lot of images already adapted in Lightroom. For technical reasons Affinity Photo cannot read Lightroom metadata and thus preserve edits you've made in Lightroom.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
12 December 2017
In my opinion it's a bit early to release a High Sierra only app. It would be nice to know what features require the new OS. Just my 2 cents.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
3 answer(s)
Molamola
Molamola
16 December 2017
Well, they probably used the new Metal2 Api - which gives them better access to the GPU. In this case - it's all features/the whole app... but sure, it's little bit early to only support High Sierra.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
17 December 2017
@ Molamola: That's a good explanation. Perhaps it's not possible to support Metal2 and any earlier graphics engine simultaneously.. It's just like Apple to shut out earlier technologies, forcing an either/or choice on users. There's a lot os that in High Sierra. In this case they forced the developers of Pixelmator to choose as well. The question remains, what does Pixelmator gain in using Metal2—if it does.
Like
Castle-Rose
Castle-Rose
06 January 2018
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc — It's simply not true that using Metal2 eliminated the simultaneous use of earlier graphics engines. Only supporting the buggy MacOS HighSierra is inexcuasible.
Like
Melis
03 December 2017
Pixelmator Pro uses the GPU and GPU memory to speed up things which is great and delivers fast responding editing. And thats where it goes wrong if you run out of GPU memory, it is prone for crashing the system completely. It works fine for small files but ones you are going to edit larger files (RAW or any other format) the problems rises. Lock ups, crashes, sometime the complete OS becomes unresponsive, automatically login out of your account without any notice, loss of work, … Is this a bug or feature in Pixelmator Pro? FYI: Affinity Photo also uses the GPU but for some reason it never crashes on my system.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Frankeed
02 December 2017
Note that you must be running High Sierra and have a computer with a Metal compatible graphics card.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
02 February 2018
I'd love to try the app, but no luck, my old iMac is not supported. A pity, jumping ship from LR, I was expecting another alternative.
Like
Macmaria
01 December 2017
As a long time user of Pixelmator, I think the Pro version is a step forward. I love the new interface and the new selection feature (much faster and easy to use). Not 5 stars yet, since the NEW features (comparing with the old app) are not many. I'm very curious where this app will be in 1-2 years.
Like
Version 1.0.2
OsloX
01 December 2017
After playing with Pixelmator Pro for two days, I can honestly say it is not a big improvement compared to Pixelmator. Don't get me wrong Pixelmator Pro is good. Still, it's not necessarily better than Pixelmator and worth “upgrading”. Hear me out: For example the new UI works against the user all the time. To keep the UI simple, many things are kept well hidden. For example sharing a saved an user preset needs the knowledge to drag it out of Pixcelmator Pro window. Struggling with the UI is also to be blamed on the icons. Icons are too small and sadly colored greyish and thin lined. I have good eyes, still I have to watch very closely what the icons represents. Yes, if you wait 2 seconds the names are shown. This feels funky and not very nice imo. It is very counterproductive for sure. I urge the coders to make this again colorful icons like Pixelmator or at least more bright/outstanding from the black background. That would be a big improvement. Some icons have a small triangle in the bottom right corner. Clicking on that tiny triangle is troublesome at times. The mouse pointer needs to be firmly onto the small pixel sized triangle to see the menu with additional tools. It is really frustrating to handle. Maybe a right click on the whole icon would work much better. And that is the main problem with Pixelmator Pro, everything needs to be explorer with trial and error to find out if it works (or not). Another thing I don't like is the Original button. Good idea but it doesn't work nicely when you are using a trackpad. You need to click and hold the button which is more difficult to do with a trackpad. This is purely useful when you are using a (magic)mouse. Of course, ones you get customized with all features and the new UI, things will smooth out a bit. Still, a good UI should be easy and intuitive to use not by exploration. Certainly not the strongest part of Pixelmator Pro. The big deal with this new version is having everything packed into one window. This may seem clean to work with but again it can be counterproductive too. For example you cannot compare and work two or more images on one screen. With Pixelmator you can open several images and display them at the same time. I really miss this in Pixelmator Pro! Maybe a feature like Affinity Photo to put them side-by-side could help. Sizable left and right panes cover the image at times and can be distracting to say the least, even if they are semitransparent. Yes, floating windows can also clutter up screen estate, but at least you can move them around. But I do understand some users may dislike this way of working and prefer one window. As I already pointed out, Pixelmator Pro isn't better than Pixelmator. This also applies to all available tools. There aren't much new tool s to be found. it is mostly the same stuff. My conclusion: Pixelmator Pro isn't .. well .. Pro. If I think 'Pro' regarding image editing, I think PhotoShop-a-like apps like Affinity Photo. The latter supports way more professional tools, extended layering possibilities, scalable history overview and PS plugins. For sure Pixelmator Pro is a good buy when you do not own Pixelmator yet. It does fit the bill for simple image editing, that’s it. If you already own Pixelmator, I am not sure $59,99 is worth it.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.2
4 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
02 December 2017
yah it is a bit underwhelming...
Like
OsloX
OsloX
02 December 2017
Edit: It now seems to be possible to click on the tool icons to reveal the extra tool menus.
Like
leoofborg
leoofborg
03 December 2017
Thank you for the review. Glad I didn't take the bait. (this time)
Like
DonkeyKong
DonkeyKong
16 December 2017
You made some good points. But the latest versions are much more stable now. You should try it again and maybe re-review your notes. :)
Like
Betamagic
30 November 2017
I tested the trial a bit with some Nikon D800 RAW files. Opening of these files was really slow. The editing tools for RAW files are very limited compared to Adobe Lightroom. It's also not possible to use gradient selections and a lot of other features without first converting the RAW file to the proprietary bitmap format of Pixelmator. Almost all tools I saw in the Pro version are already part of the regular Pixelmator version, including the same limitations. They are only presented in nicer one window view.

So I get the feeling this new app is extremely overhyped and not really a replacement for Adobe Lightroom or Adobe Photoshop. And that's really pity, because I don't like Adobe subscription model and how they mess up app installations on the Mac. I would like to believe Pixelmator Pro is a competent professional editor, but that's unfortunately totally not the case in my opinion.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.1
Cjbolland
30 November 2017
I love Pixelmator. So I bought Pixelmator Pro immediately. :)
Today I worked with it for a couple hours and my feeling is it is not really better.
I mean, beside everything now happens in one window, most tools are also found in Pixelmator.
That said, one tool that is new is the copy tool which is great to retouch things with more control.

Although the devs claim everything is faster with Metal2, I don't see any huge boosts on my MBPr 2017. In fact, some things are now slower (some effects are). If I am not mistaken, Pixelmator also uses Metal2.

Not sure if the current version justifies $60. IMO If you have Pixelmator, I think you could settle with that for now.

Anyhow, I am still glad I bought it and updates will be free in the coming years. Hopefully it will improve regarding new tools and features set.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.1