Back to Dyrii Journal page
Dyrii Journal free download for Mac

Dyrii Journal Reviews1.19

22 January 2019

Diary for your memories (was Dyrii).

4.5
Gazman
09 July 2017
Version: 1.04

Most helpful

Early days yet, but this app is already showing a lot of promise. To me, and for my usage, this has the most functional Mac app of all the diary apps I own. Too many of the others (Including a popular one which was quite expensive) feel more like iPad apps that have been ported to the Mac. For my other diary apps I used to do my actual writing in a 3rd party app such as ByWord and then cut and paste it into the app - with Dyrii I do my writing in the app itself, it's actually a pleasure to write in. I've already bought a yearly subscription of $10 a year to help support the future development of this app. The free version will give you a good feel for what this app is about.
(1)

How would you rate Dyrii Journal app?

Read 7 Dyrii Journal User Reviews

1
Scott-C-H-
29 April 2020
Version: 1.19
I happened to have found out that Dyrii became an abandonware by accident. I've predicted it would eventually become an abandonware, not just for Dyrii, but also for all similar apps for that matter. I was 100% right. I will repeat it: Say NO to "everything bucket" apps like this one. (Evernote, Day One, Paprika Recipe Manager, and all similar apps are "everything bucket" apps.) The vast majority of developers, especially indie devs, are not going to be around for a long time. They always hype to sell; they don't think enough about developing a sustainable business model, they struggle, their fund runs out, and they abandon. It's always been the same, and it will always be the same. So, stick to a workflow that doesn't depend on a specific app, and you will save a lot of grief and double-work in the future. You are welcome.
(1)
3
bdikkat
16 February 2020
Version: 1.19
This app seems to work still, but as far as I can tell development has ended. Emails to the developer go unanswered. The website's "support" link goes to a dead zendesk account. It's a shame - this was a good alternative to the outrageously bad Day One with its outages and customers' data appearing on the apps of other accounts.
(1)
5
szeoli-1
13 January 2018
Version: 1.14
I've tried out several of the diary/journal apps and I find that I like Dyrii best of the ones that use markdown formatting. It works well and has a really great feature called "Afterthoughts." These are additions to an entry that look somewhat like text messages. This is an interesting way to highlight your later reactions to your entry, or updates.
(0)
5
ibalek01
15 July 2017
Version: 1.05.3
We have added import from DayOne v2 and Dayone Classic to the app. We are now evaluating import from viJournal but not sure how many users might even be interested. Ping me or comment on our community site post, if you are interested in this feature.
https://community.dyrii.com/i60-migrating-from-vijournal
(1)
4.5
Gazman
09 July 2017
Version: 1.04
Early days yet, but this app is already showing a lot of promise. To me, and for my usage, this has the most functional Mac app of all the diary apps I own. Too many of the others (Including a popular one which was quite expensive) feel more like iPad apps that have been ported to the Mac. For my other diary apps I used to do my actual writing in a 3rd party app such as ByWord and then cut and paste it into the app - with Dyrii I do my writing in the app itself, it's actually a pleasure to write in. I've already bought a yearly subscription of $10 a year to help support the future development of this app. The free version will give you a good feel for what this app is about.
(1)
Jimw
06 July 2017
Version: 1.04
The free version is a limited feature version. The full version is a subscription priced at $10./year. They claim to offer a purchase price without subscription but I could not find any information on it regarding pricing. Even the subscription pricing is buried in the iTunes/Mac App site, but not listed on their website. That makes me suspicious of the App. Why do they try to hide the cost?.
(0)
Show comments (4)
5
ibalek01
01 July 2017
Version: 1.03
v1 used to crash but it is fixed now.
(0)