Back to Switchem page
Switchem free download for Mac

Switchem Reviews

1.1.0
01 August 2017

Application switcher which uses groups of apps.

Dana-Sutton
14 October 2017

Most helpful

Okay, playing around with this, I create a new group and check the app. I want it to control. Then I want to choose the specific files to be opened. I hit "add file" which brings up a finder window. I select a file by highlighting it. Then, as instructed I click the "add file" button. Nothing happens. Well, okay, maybe the startup guide is a trifle inexact, so I go back to the finder window, highlight the file and hit Open. Now we're getting somewhere, the file shows up in the appropriate group-creating box. But not really. I'm told to select the onscreen position I want and then hit Apply. I do so, but all I get is a popup window saying "Selected window can't be detected. Please bring it front and press Done again." What the hell is this? I don't see any Done button to press.

At this point, thoroughly frustrated, I start thinking very hard about the possibility of trashing the program and moving on. Life's too short. What's said in the Getting Started part has to correspond to reality in an easily recognizable way. Instructions that are impossible to follow shouldn't be given in popup windows. The whole setup should be clear, simple, and intuitive. It isn't. It just makes me feel I'm being played for a chump. So the hell with it. I'm walking away. Mr. Developer, in the world of shareware the easiest thing in the world is to turn away customers. And the easiest way in the world to do that involves bad interface design, which is what I have just been describing. You may have a great product here, but I'll never know. And I have a hunch that I'm not the only potential purchaser who has had this experience and this same reaction.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.0

Read 8 Switchem User Reviews

Rate this app:

bdomercial
24 October 2017
I've just been using for about a week but, for me, this app is filling a gap left by Total Spaces (a great app which requires you to temporarily disable a Mac security feature - which isn't possible at work). A combination of Switchem, Spaces and Moom pretty much does that job without a lot of friction. I have tried a lot of window management tools but so far Switchem has been able to create roughly the experience that I had with Total Spaces without running afoul of our IT department.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
Dana-Sutton
14 October 2017
Okay, playing around with this, I create a new group and check the app. I want it to control. Then I want to choose the specific files to be opened. I hit "add file" which brings up a finder window. I select a file by highlighting it. Then, as instructed I click the "add file" button. Nothing happens. Well, okay, maybe the startup guide is a trifle inexact, so I go back to the finder window, highlight the file and hit Open. Now we're getting somewhere, the file shows up in the appropriate group-creating box. But not really. I'm told to select the onscreen position I want and then hit Apply. I do so, but all I get is a popup window saying "Selected window can't be detected. Please bring it front and press Done again." What the hell is this? I don't see any Done button to press.

At this point, thoroughly frustrated, I start thinking very hard about the possibility of trashing the program and moving on. Life's too short. What's said in the Getting Started part has to correspond to reality in an easily recognizable way. Instructions that are impossible to follow shouldn't be given in popup windows. The whole setup should be clear, simple, and intuitive. It isn't. It just makes me feel I'm being played for a chump. So the hell with it. I'm walking away. Mr. Developer, in the world of shareware the easiest thing in the world is to turn away customers. And the easiest way in the world to do that involves bad interface design, which is what I have just been describing. You may have a great product here, but I'll never know. And I have a hunch that I'm not the only potential purchaser who has had this experience and this same reaction.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.0
Ordenador
23 August 2017
I just started using Switchem the other day, but I'm finding it to be a helpful to controlling my Mac.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
lb3541
23 August 2017
Great idea! Extremely useful! A real time saving program that organizes work flow and helps accomplish work faster. The developer is very responsive. Looking forward to what this developer will come up with in the future.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.0
YHC
20 August 2017
1. If you launch Safari and Chrome by this app, both two will have two windows, respectively. 2. Can not arrange my sorts. This app is like a beta app. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
2 answer(s)
Fardini Media LLC
Fardini Media LLC
20 August 2017
Hello YHC and thank you for your comment.

We very much apologize that our application caused you a ton of pain, that as a result you put such negative rating. In most cases, all problems that a regular user encounters are a banal misunderstanding of the product or incorrect use.

Your comment with such a low rating is indecent and misleads other users. Apparently, the problem was caused by incorrect usage of the application, which can be solved quickly and easily, it was enough to write us for help first.

Switchem Team is always open to solve all kind of issues in milliseconds, so it's enough to contact us by email support@switchem.co to get a proper help. Could you please explain your problem in details because we do not understand one at all ?

Thank you in advance.

Best!
Switchem Team
Like (8)
YHC
YHC
20 August 2017
---
Your comment with such a low rating is indecent and misleads other users. Apparently, the problem was caused by incorrect usage of the application,
---

So Funny.
Like (4)
balabanskyy
01 July 2017
Excellent! Exactly what I need!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0
Lana R.
01 July 2017
Looks great!
Like
Version 1.0.0
What is a happy more Mission Control and SplitView ?
Like
Version 1.0.0
2 answer(s)
Switchem for Mac
Switchem for Mac
01 July 2017
Thank you for your question. The main idea of Switchem is automation of your workday routine:
✔ group your applications by types of activities. For example:

Group 1: "Social" -> Messages (MacOS default app), Goofy (Facebook Messenger), Tweetbot etc...
Group 2: "Work Messengers" -> Messages (MacOS default app), Skype, Slack etc...
Group 3: "Work Schedule" -> Cal, Mail, Reminders etc...
Group 4: "Design" -> Photoshop (2017 or later), Sketch etc...
Group 5: "Coding" -> Chrome, Safari, Atom etc...
and many other...

✔ save and restore workspaces (your favorite and personalized layouts of windows) in order to use them multiple times;
✔ switch between them instantly by a single click "⌥ Option" + "⇥ Tab". Note: No need to run and quit each app manually! Switchem can run and quit all of them automatically. Also, if one app is closed, Switchem will run it as well. To quit all the apps, simply click "⌥ Option" + "Q".

and many many many more...

Take a look at https://www.switchem.co/
You can read our article on Medium - https://medium.com/@switchem/workday-automation-how-to-increase-productivity-at-work-405abed714c9

Spaces (Mission Control) and SplitView provide only very basic functionality and they can't be compared with Switchem in any way.

Please note: Switchem 1.0.0 is an MVP version (it means, we just started), so all other amazing and innovative features will be added very soon. Stay tuned! Don't forget to subscribe and follow us on our social pages - https://twitter.com/switchemapp and https://www.facebook.com/switchemapp

Also if you should encounter any further trouble at all in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out using "support@switchem.co" or send a tweet to @switchemapp
Like (4)
Lana R.
Lana R.
01 July 2017
Thank you @switchem-for-mac. Very helpful! I'm using it right now.
Like (1)