Back to Mactracker page
Mactracker free download for Mac

Mactracker Reviews

7.8.2
04 September 2019

Database of all Mac models; lists specs and more.

Capitan
19 November 2008

Most helpful

Great value. Thank you for your hard work to collect all the informations. We love you all.
Like (14)
Version 5.0.5

Read 175 Mactracker User Reviews

Rate this app:

Weaztek
03 November 2019
Thank you so much for this! I have a history of all my macs and iPads on here with benchmarks in the notes. I love this app!
Like
Version 7.8.2
Mykl.biz
20 August 2019
Steady, reliable and always up to date for many more years than I can remember. Thank you!
Like
Version 7.8.1
iMacWare
23 July 2019
It's nice to have a reference for your Mac!
Like
Version 7.8
Atalantia
26 January 2019
The app is not clever at all. After update, the smart categories are gone. Also the update is alway the whole program. They seem not to be able to divide the program into data resource and program resource.
Like
Version 7.7.7
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
26 June 2019
I would give it five stars, but you're right, it would be a nice move to separate the app and the data, also because, when you look inside the Resources folder, you see that much of the weight is due to images of the machines! That alone could be an optional download.
I've just tried removing them and the compressed app drops down to 20Mb!
Like
droscar
01 November 2018
Simply the best. Essential for working on older Macs.
Like (2)
Version 7.7.5
Aw21
02 September 2018
Version 7.7.5 does no longer work me: I can't add a 2018 MacBook Pro. It doesn't show up in the my Models list, but when I search for it, it is there but after a restart it's gone again.
Like
Version 7.7.5
shellyroddy758
13 February 2018
Used it on Sierra
Like
Version 7.7.2
peterbreis
01 January 2018
Absolutely indispensable reference for anyone buying or upgrading a Mac. If only Apple wasn’t so all over the place with model identifiers, configuration and software requirements.
Like (4)
Version 7.7
Fra
25 October 2017
I would be glad if I could update just the database on the snow leo version !
Like (1)
Version 7.7
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
25 October 2017
The developer picked a good time to upgrade the app to 64 bit given Apple's pending removal of 32 bit support in the next version of OS X. For anyone having trouble launching Mactracker, check you system compatibility. And just check your system generally. I've been using Mactracker for a very long time and never had such a problem. A isue like that can be the canary in the coal mine, indicating serious issues you may not have noticed before now. That said, I fine Mactracker to be invaluable in my Mac tech support business.
Like (1)
Version 7.7
hmfwic47
24 October 2017
I looked at the bottom of the macOS software list and it only lists macOS 10.12 Sierra, not High Sierra.
Like
Version 7.7
Lesoth0
25 July 2017
v7.65 is buggy as hell, unlike v7.64. App just bounces and bounces (in v7.65) on all my MacPros and doesn't actually launch. He dropped the ball with this release. Please please fix.
Like
Version 7.6.5
Orlando-a
17 January 2017
This Mactracker helped me a lot while I was searching for a new Macbook. The app gives comprehensive information concerning all Mac computers range. Moreover you can get help with software questions and details. Very good!
Like (2)
Version 7.6.3
anonymous-heron-1527
08 November 2015
Heads up: if you replace the App Store version with the standalone version (and presumably vice versa) you lose your list of My Models. For both versions, the list is saved in a plist XML file called mactracker.db but in different locations: App Store: ~/Library/Containers/com.mactrackerapp.Mactracker/Data/Library/Application\ Support/com.mactrackerapp.Mactracker/mactracker.db Standalone: ~/Library/Application\ Support/com.mactrackerapp.Mactracker/mactracker.db To restore the list, quit the app, copy the old file to the new location, and reopen the app. Phew!
Like (4)
Version 7.5
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
26 April 2016
Here's a better way, works regardless of app version and does not require digging into Library folders. . You can export the My Models section, as a backup and reimport to another Mac or after an clean OS upgrade/reinstall. Select 'My Models' in the left sidebar. In the right pane, multi select ALL of the items you want exported. then File/Export My Model.

Remember, only highlighted items are included in the export, so if you want the entire My Models list, highlight them all. The exported file is a true XML file with XML extension, not a .db extension. It can be read in any XML, plist or text editor (like TextWrangler, BBEdit, PList Pro, etc).

On a new Mac you can simply import using File/Import My Models.
Like (3)
Annie-Walker
03 November 2015
Ian: I wish I knew more about you and what it takes to keep your research current. I can only imagine it to be a daunting task. Do you have a profile up anywhere? Thanks for all the time, work, research and love you have brought to this undertaking from the start. I have always admired your efforts on our behalf; the Mac Community at large owes you a huge debt. Be well, safe, and may others be convicted to donate to your extraordinary efforts on our behalf. Annie (You know me by another Nic)
Like (7)
Version 7.5
aljaruun
05 September 2015
I love this app and have been using it for years. I have two wishes for this app's continued development: 1. Keep up the good work 2. Change the app icon!
Like (2)
Version 7.4.6
MisterE
16 November 2014
Updated a long time ago http://www.mactracker.ca/downloads/Mactracker_7.4.zip
Like
Version 7.3.4
Kennett
13 October 2014
Mactracker 7.3.4 Leopard (10.5.8) is available at the developer's website.
Like
Version 7.3.4
CZap
07 August 2014
Wow!
Like
Version 7.3.3
Paulo-Futura
07 August 2014
Briliant
Like
Version 7.3.3
Morgan-Alex
10 May 2014
Superb database! Great for comparing systems. Thanks for keeping this free.
Like
Version 7.3.2
Mac5
10 May 2014
An Invaluable piece of reference software for all Mac users around the globe.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
Huevox
09 May 2014
As always, it is a great application!
Like
Version 7.3.2
Albabe
28 March 2014
GREAT little client!!!
Like (1)
Version 7.3.1
Kennett
04 January 2014
Mactracker 7.2.2 Leopard (10.5.8) is available at the developer's website.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.3
Mdewakanton
03 January 2014
7.2.2 won't open on 10.6.8. Tried both the version downloaded from here and the one from the dev's site. From the crashlog: Dyld Error Message: Library not loaded: /usr/lib/libc++.1.dylib Referenced from: /Applications/Mactracker.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/rbframework.dylib Reason: image not found
Like
Version 7.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mdewakanton
Mdewakanton
04 January 2014
Fixed in 7.2.3. Thanks!
Like
Scoops98
19 November 2013
I use Mactracker all the time. I love the easy access to such a vast amount of information! Keep it up!
Like (2)
Version 7.2.1
hmfwic47
19 November 2013
The Apple Store's app does not yet have this update.
Like (2)
Version 7.2.1
Albabe
09 August 2013
Fantastic ap! Informative and fun! I have a small suggestion: It'd be nice to be able to sort "My Models" Chronologically or even Random.
Like (1)
Version 7.1.5
Afcgbbob
30 July 2013
I will be short. One have one question. Is there any way to make an updater for MT that just updates the database of MT so that PPC users can stay up to date. I have used MT as far back as I can remember and it would be helpful to be able to stay up to date with just a database updater of just the latest Macs and other peripherals. I use it when (if when) I (if) plan to buy a new Mac.
Like (3)
Version 7.1.5
Afcgbbob
05 July 2013
I have used MT since its' inception way back in the classic days. If you try to do a search for this type of genre your list would be very short if at all. The database it has on the Mac is so extensive that it is more of a time capsule. When I worked at CompUSA as the lead Mac seller and some Tech work, I used MT to look up specs. get the RAM type for it, type of ports it has and down it to the model if I was on the phone with a customer. I used it to look at the latest models that were being produced at home but with the authors decided to break away from PPCs I cannot see the latest models. That is why I am requesting if there is any way to just write an update modular that only would update the database and nothing else. I am still not sure what mandated you going from a universal binary to Intel only? There is nothing I can say that is on the negative side although I do find it ironic that from what I read in the comments, there seems to be some bugs that never happened in the PPC version. Since it was released, MT has never had any problems on various Macs I have run it on. I find it ironic that the Intel version is a bit on the buggy side. If you have a PPC make sure you at least have the last version for your Mac. The Leopard version is at the top. End of Line...
Like (1)
Version 7.1.5
iPoopStore
03 July 2013
Thank you. The best there is of it's kind. And free too. Best wishes,
Like (1)
Version 7.1.5
lukasthesurfer
06 June 2013
Very nice, thank you.
Like (1)
Version 7.1.3
Harrybo
12 April 2013
Great useful app.
Like
Version 7.1.2
Antoine24
09 March 2013
Toutes les configurations Toutes les mémoires de masse Toutes les RAM Un must
Like (1)
Version 7.1.1
sonytel
08 March 2013
Nice!
Like
Version 7.1.1
Gambo
04 March 2013
@RC Not only for fun. When you want to buy parts for your old Mac, be sure MT is a good friend.
Like (1)
Version 7.1.1
ЯС
04 March 2013
Excellent Apple HW database. Just for fun to look into deep history, for those, who have an Apple business it's a good helper.
Like (2)
Version 7.1.1
Jgavs
27 February 2013
I appreciate the developer restoring 10.68 compatibility. I have started downloading to my Macs and it works fine again. Thankyou
Like (1)
Version 7.1
DemandExcellence
23 February 2013
App start, shows icon in the dock, then does nothing else. Have to execute a force quit to terminate. Am using Mactracker version 7.1 on OX 10.6.8 which Apple says is up to date.
Like (1)
Version 7.1
3 answer(s)
ososX
ososX
27 February 2013
I am having the same problem on 10.8.2, this application used to be rock solid.
Like
Low-Flyer
Low-Flyer
04 March 2013
Downrating this app to half a star because of a momentary problem, while it has an overall rating of 4.5 stars as a result of 110 reviews, makes no sense. I experienced the same problem on OS 10.6.8, but am confident that the next version will remedy this problem.
Like (2)
ososX
ososX
05 March 2013
Ho LowFly, you are right, its unfair to give 1/2 for this application. I only said that I have the same problem, but I certainly think that this application worth 5 starts.
Like
Landino190244
07 January 2013
Is a "must have" specially for very "olders" Mac user (like me… My firsy Mac is an SE Motorola 68000). Maybe the junger user dont' appreciate Mactracker ad he deserver.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
Penguirl
12 December 2012
Thank you Developer for restoring Snow Leopard support! :-)
Like (3)
Version 7.0.1
2 answer(s)
David-Losada-Soler
David-Losada-Soler
12 December 2012
My thanks too.
Like
Bidule
Bidule
23 February 2013
But not 10.6.5, too bad.
Like
Holypoly
11 December 2012
Version 7.0.1 has been released. And - it will open in Snow Leopard too (as I can confirm).
Like (3)
Version 7.0
3 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
11 December 2012
Thanks! We'll update our listing. :-)
Like (2)
Mdewakanton
Mdewakanton
11 December 2012
FYI, updating from within the application only seems to work fine: I got the warning that the new 7.0.1 version needed 10.6.8, but 7.0 was downloaded and couldn't open it in SL. I downloaded then from here and it opens. BTW, thanks to the developer for making it available again for SL!
Like
Krabbe
Krabbe
11 December 2012
Many thanks to the developers for restoring Snow Leopard compatibilty! I bought + tried 10.7 and 10.8 but still 10.6 is best for me.
Like (4)
BobK1
03 December 2012
To MacUpdate: MacUpdate Desktop lists the requirement as OS "10.5.4 Intel". The Developer & the MacUpdate web page both list the requirement as "10.7 Intel". You may wish to update the MacUpdate Desktop to match.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
03 December 2012
Thanks for bringing this to our attention Bobk1. We're looking into it and the issue should be resolved soon :)
Like
Penguirl
03 December 2012
I appreciate the developer's effort in periodically updating Mactracker but I don't understand why what is basically a database would need Lion or Cougar to operate? There are a lot of people, myself included, who chose not to "upgrade" from SL because of radical changes in the OS, I cannot imagine that it would be terribly difficult to keep Mactracker compatible with SL.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
Swissmacpit
03 December 2012
help! please provide a link to the older version (10.6.8 compatible!) please! the program is great, simply the best, but please give us back Leopard / SnowLeopard compatibility!
Like (3)
Version 7.0
4 answer(s)
Tubo
Tubo
03 December 2012
The very trusted (german) IT and security magazine c't lists it in their own database, pointing to http://www.heise.de/download/suche-50000105000/?T=Mactracker and from this search results back to http://www.mactracker.ca/downloads/Mactracker_6.0.2.zip
Like
Tubo
Tubo
03 December 2012
Simpler yet: http://www.mactracker.ca/downloads/ delivers a directory with Mactracker402.sit 13-Apr-2011 07:20 8.4M Mactracker407.dmg 04-Oct-2010 12:54 10M MactrackerSetup.exe 04-Oct-2010 12:54 13M Mactracker_5.0.9.zip 04-Oct-2010 12:51 22M Mactracker_5.3.zip 02-Dec-2010 22:15 26M Mactracker_6.0.1.zip 10-May-2011 06:49 28M Mactracker_6.0.2.zip 05-Jun-2011 14:03 28M Mactracker_6.0.zip 12-Apr-2011 20:44 28M Mactracker_6.1.zip 10-Aug-2011 19:56 28M Mactracker_6.2.zip 15-Nov-2011 11:21 28M Mactracker_6.3.zip 26-Jan-2012 06:56 29M Mactracker_6.4.zip 25-Mar-2012 17:29 29M Mactracker_6.5.1.zip 10-Aug-2012 07:14 27M Mactracker_6.5.zip 17-Jul-2012 06:59 27M Mactracker_7.0.zip 01-Dec-2012 23:49 30M
Like
Swissmacpit
Swissmacpit
03 December 2012
ok, thanks, but I found a way (already described earlier) to open the latest database with SnowLeopard - download the latest version 7 - locate it , and ctrl-click + view content - ctrl-click to "Contents/Info.plist" and open_with PropertyListEditor - modify "min.sys.vers." to 10.6.8 - save , quit , close all windows - douplicate the MacTracker.app - trash the MacTracker.app and keep the MacTracker COPY.app - now you should be able to start the M_T_COPY.app - you can even change back it's name (when app is closed) enjoy!
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
03 December 2012
Thanks all for the heads up on this, I've added 6.51 (the last version for 10.5 & 10.6) as an alternate download, and a link to all past versions in the Related Links section.
Like
Jgavs
03 December 2012
I have nine currently working macs and none will probably go beyond 10.68. I have quite a few retired macs in the basement going back twenty years, most still work. The software seems to be leaving people who do more than play games and do word processing behind. Have always used Mactracker to track my different computers. I am disappointed in only 10.7 plus being supported.
Like (5)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Jgavs
Jgavs
27 February 2013
I appreciate the developer restoring 10.68 compatibility. Have started to download to my Macs and it works perfectly. Now I need to rescore Mactracker.
Like
Tubo
02 December 2012
Sad that you no further support 10.6.8
Like (1)
Version 7.0
Libertyforall1776
02 December 2012
Great reference, but misses the fact that 2011 MBPs are capable of running 1600 MHz ram for a ~3% speed boost, as published in OWC's blog. It is true, I am running this ram now! http://blog.macsales.com/14262-boost-2011-mbp-performance-with-1600mhz-ram
Like
Version 7.0
Chrischram
02 December 2012
Too bad it's no longer compatible with Snow Leopard. Time marches on. (The irony here is that some of the Macs I track go back as far as Tiger.)
Like (3)
Version 7.0
6 answer(s)
Hartz
Hartz
02 December 2012
I totally agree with you: wonderful program but since I don't have time to waste on my Mac Pro with an iOS system software, I have work to do so I stick with Snow Leopard and MT's older version.
Like (2)
yofresh
yofresh
02 December 2012
change the plist from 10.7 to 10.6.8 and it works, btw the imacs are missing. excellent software but the decision to make it 10.7 or better is questionable. 10.7 or better means 10.6.8 for me ;-)
Like (5)
Ward
Ward
02 December 2012
With encouragement from Yofresh, I did a Show Package Contents on the new MacTracker app, opened the Info.plist with Property List Editor (or TextWrangler), and changed the MinimumSystemVersion value from "10.7" to "10.6.8". I poked around in MacTracker, and it seems to be happy.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
03 December 2012
I suppose the assumption is that if you use Snow Leopard or other older version of OS X, you don't need to track newer computers and the iDevices that are compatible only with them. Likewise, if you have an older Mac, an older version of MacTracker is probably sufficient. The fact is that MacTracker has always had OS version limited editions. Though not easy to find (I had to read through the FAQ to find it), you can get them from the MacTracker web site archive, http://www.mactracker.ca/archive.html.
Like
raugust
raugust
03 December 2012
I agree with the folks below. Please restore Snow Leopard Compatibility. MacOS 10.6.8 meets my needs where 10.7+ doesn't. This is one reason I use MacTracker! Note to B. Jefferson Le Blanc: The newest iDevices are perfectly compatible with Snow Leopard, and the just-released iTunes 11 is Snow-Leopard compatible as well.
Like (2)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
03 December 2012
@ raugust: Your iDevices will work with Snow Leopard as long as you don't need to use any iWork 8.x apps, iCloud or any of the iOS 6 apps that work with iCloud and OS X 10.8 only. In other words, they work - with limitations. If you don't mind those limitations, that's fine. If you do, your SOL. Still, if MacTracker is so easily hacked to work with Snow Leopard, one can't help wondering why the developer implemented the limitation. The question is not answered (yet) on the author's FAQ or blog pages.
Like (1)