Back to Mac Cleaner page
Mac Cleaner free download for Mac

Mac Cleaner Reviews3.0.1

24 July 2020

Powerful system optimizer.

MacParc
29 April 2020
Version: 2.0.0

Most helpful

Yet another so-called system optimizer - none of them is worth the money and if you're lucky your Mac isn't compromised after the installation of the "tool".
(2)

How would you rate Mac Cleaner app?

Read 8 Mac Cleaner User Reviews

1
ShotBlocker
24 July 2020
Version: 3.0.1
This is not a review per se, it is a discussion of the class of software to which this program belongs. As a public service to the MacUpdate community, I've found as many of these "cleaner" apps on this website as I could and listed them them below. (I did a search for 'cleaner'.) If MacUpdate will let me, I intend to post this every time a new or updated version of one of these things shows up on this site. There are 36 in the list, and it seems like new entries in the 'Mac cleaner' market space pop up every day, metastasizing like a cancer. Unfortunately, more is not better. They are all of dubious value. Many have no reviews at all. Many have what look to be essentially fake 5-star reviews with no useful commentary. Many -- probably the most accurate and honest -- have negative reviews, by users who have been burned by them. Most of the developers' descriptions boast about what a great job they do, but the truth is, there are no good, comprehensive, head-to-head reviews of these programs by impartial 3rd parties. True experts in macOS maintenance advise against using any of them, because in general they serve little useful purpose and they can easily do more harm than good. Macs simply do not need "cleaning." (See for example: https://www.thesafemac.com/the-myth-of-the-dirty-mac/) Some of these programs are notorious for being little more than malware. The user is well-advised to read any program documentation and make a RELIABLE BACKUP before attempting any changes. If I have missed any programs that should be on the list, please leave a comment and let me know. I will rate all these programs with one star, probably one more than they deserve. And I would appreciate comments. If you disagree, please speak up. But if all you can come up with is 5 stars and a sentence or two saying that program X is great and I don't know what I'm talking about, please save your breath. No one here will take you seriously. And I apologize for the almost unreadable formatting, a severe limitation of MacUpdate itself, which compresses maximum text into minimum space, leaving no whitespace for readability. :: BEGIN LIST: : Aooro : App Cleaner & Uninstaller : AutoTrash : AweCleaner : CleanGeeker : Clean Me : Cleaner One Pro : CleanMyMac X : Combo Cleaner : Disk Aid : Disk Cleaner : Disk Cleaner Pro : Disk Health : DiskKeeper Advanced Cleaner : DiskKeeper Cleaner - Modern : DiskKeeper Pro : Disk Xray : Doctor Disk Cleaner : HD Cleaner : MacBooster : Mac Cleaner : MacClean : MacClean360 : MacCleaner Pro : MacCleanse : MacEnizer : Mojave Cleaner : PowerMyMac : Pro Disk Cleaner : Quick Cleaner : Sensei : Stellar SpeedUpMac : TrashMe 3 : Washing Machine : WeCleanse : Wise Mac Care :: END LIST : :: The only system maintenance tool I recommend is TinkerTool System, a true bargain priced at only $14 for a single license. TinkerTool System is a an exceptional piece of quality engineering, safe when used properly, and superbly documented, with in-depth tutorials for every option. As for the rest, listed above, it is safe to say that nobody who really knows what they're doing with Macs and macOS will touch them. Don't get sucked in by a pretty interface. You may very well regret it. -SB
(0)
1
marilyncharron
13 July 2020
Version: 3.0.0
I paid for it and got nothing. They won't return my messages.
(0)
Stoob
30 June 2020
Version: 3.0.0
Description: "Free all-in-one system optimizer." Price: $24.95
(0)
Show comment (1)
MacParc
29 April 2020
Version: 2.0.0
Yet another so-called system optimizer - none of them is worth the money and if you're lucky your Mac isn't compromised after the installation of the "tool".
(2)
5
HammerSmith
15 June 2017
Version: 1.0
I previewed the large files > 100MB after scanning and I deleted them. The Mac seems to be a little faster.
(0)
AndyWesley
14 June 2017
Version: 1.0
Great. I find it can help me scan out the unneeded mail attachments. Moreover, it is FREE.
(1)
Show comment (1)
Virtualruffy
13 June 2017
Version: 1.0
Can't take it seriously when the name is idiotic. Sounds like baby talk gibberish. People will think you're having a stroke saying its name.
(4)
Show comments (2)
Mousee
13 June 2017
Version: 1.0
Free trial, but not free after 30 days according to the developer site.
(2)
Show comment (1)