Back to Usenetic page
Usenetic free download for Mac

Usenetic Reviews

1.3.3
22 December 2019

Usenet client with MegaSearch.

micmac-2
07 April 2019

Most helpful

Wow! I learned only today (!) there was a new Usenet newsreader on Mac!
It's more than 30 years I do Usenet and I used the FIRST EVER GRAPHIC NEWSREADER ON NeXT computer!!!
I was delighted with it but right now don't remember the name! (I'm sure it's in some forgotten folder somewhere in my brain…)
Then, years after, was Unison but right now it always finish to get stuck in some inferno!
So I'm delighted to know there is an alternative and post this even before trying it!!!!!
Because I'm sure it's THE thing!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.8

Read 20 Usenetic User Reviews

Rate this app:

Evanauten
08 March 2020
best usenet application for Mac. Easiest once your server is entered into preferences, couldn't add much that I am wishing to add to the app.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Michael-Vilain
27 June 2019
I purchased Usenetic a year ago and now they want 10Euros/year to use the search feature. That's not mentioned in the original purchase price, which is why I dropped a star . All in all, ~ $11/year for Usenet access isn't to bad. I'll probably drop my other news provider ($8/mo) given how useful MegaSearch is with Usenetic.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Xorox BV
Xorox BV
01 July 2019
It certainly was and still is mentioned very clearly on the order page.

This is what the order page clearly says:

"MegaSearch is included in your Usenetic order for a period of 1 year.
After this period you can optionally extend this Search service for €9.99 a year."
Like (1)
micmac-2
07 April 2019
Wow! I learned only today (!) there was a new Usenet newsreader on Mac!
It's more than 30 years I do Usenet and I used the FIRST EVER GRAPHIC NEWSREADER ON NeXT computer!!!
I was delighted with it but right now don't remember the name! (I'm sure it's in some forgotten folder somewhere in my brain…)
Then, years after, was Unison but right now it always finish to get stuck in some inferno!
So I'm delighted to know there is an alternative and post this even before trying it!!!!!
Because I'm sure it's THE thing!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.8
1 answer(s)
Hermie
Hermie
21 November 2019
I'm sorry, but Usenetic is NOT a complete regular Usenet client. Version 2 should become just that, according to an email exchange with the developer. Summer 2019 it was going to happen, but it didn't and became rather quiet. At the moment the only other alternative on Mac is Hogwasher, which can be got at https://www.asar.com/hogwasher.html MacUpdate please note, this new one line continuous scrolling window to reply in doesn't work very well. It's also impossible to give line feeds et cetera.
Like
Version 1.3.2
fronobulax
24 November 2018
Most awesome MAC binary news grabber I've ever seen! Don't have to keep a Windoze VM around to use newsleecher anymore...
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Xorox BV
Xorox BV
24 November 2018
Thanks for the comment :) Highly appreciated.
Like
Aynsley
31 October 2018
Ten minutes into the trial period of Usenetic I decided to purchase. It's that good. I've been using newsreaders for almost thirty years and currently vacillate between Unison and Hogwasher. The Usenetic interface is clean and efficient. What clinched my purchase was MegaSearch. My experience of global Usenet searches with other clients has been negative. Too many false hits including too many malicious fakes. Usenetic uses its own mammoth search database and claims ten years' retention, which I can well believe. Within seconds I'd found and downloaded ancient binaries that I thought lost forever. Astonishing. You pay for use of MegaSearch. One year is included in the Usenetic purchase price, and after that it's about ten euro per year. If you're a heavy Usenet user, Usenetic with MegaSearch is a no-brainer. The feature set is amazing. NZB implementation and compilation of files works like a charm, with plenty of visual feedback on progress. I only wish I'd found this software earlier.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Xorox BV
Xorox BV
08 November 2018
I appreciate the kind words, thank you.
Like
LeMerlot
01 September 2018
a smart, fast, nice new Usenet app :)
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
tiberian
21 May 2018
This is exactly what macOS has been needing for a long time - Unison was awesome but this is way way better in my opinion. Fantastic piece of software and it's really just getting started.
Like (2)
Version 0.95.1
neartheredrocks
16 March 2018
I wonder whether the developer stopped working on this application (and the database and/or search engine behind it). Since one or two months the search results are becoming more and more incomplete.
Like
Version 0.94.1
1 answer(s)
Xorox BV
Xorox BV
03 April 2018
A new version will be released this week.

For the MegaSearch feature we are using 4 different usenet providers to make sure we get the most completed news feed. If some posts are listed as incomplete then most properly the poster hasn't completed the post at his end. We can't do anything about that.

In case you are missing complete posts then please contact us directly or use our support forum so we can dig into it to find the reason. This forum is not the place to start such a discussion.

Thank you.
Like
John-A-Rankin
01 March 2018
As near to perfect as an app can be. Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 0.94.1
rsdanielson
14 January 2018
Been using Usenetic for about a year now. Takes a bit of getting used to since it is search-based, and not browse-based (as are the major alternatives). However, once I got used to performing a search as the basis for every action, I quickly began to appreciate the power of this application. Usenetic does everything a traditional browse-based Usenet application does (and extends simple browsing by allowing you to browse files in multiple newsgroups at the same time), and in addition, allows you to slice and dice the results you see by implementing powerful search filters (similar in power to Google search terms). In short, Usenetic is an outstanding newsgroup browser and a powerful tool for mac users who wish to access Usenet newsgroups.. Definitely worth trying out.
Like (1)
Version 0.94.1
Dedolone
30 December 2017
one of the most usable newsgroup reader and binary manager in osx world
Like (1)
Version 0.94.1
neartheredrocks
21 December 2017
This application will not be free once it gets out of its beta state (probably in January 2018). Unfortunately the developer is not telling us what the price will be.
Like (1)
Version 0.94.1
karl-22
07 November 2017
Great product just what i have been waiting for. A must download if you love usenet on a mac.
Like (1)
Version 0.92.3
kalispell
22 October 2017
Finally a decent newsreader for mac. The more I use it, the more I like it.
Like (1)
Version 0.92.2
zenfukid
04 September 2017
Absolutely the best binary news reader ever!
Like (1)
Version 0.91.4
neartheredrocks
26 August 2017
So far, so good - and absolutely fantastic!
Like (1)
Version 0.91.4
zenfukid
20 July 2017
Awesome! Best Usenet client ever.
Like (1)
Version 0.91.2
Dedo
25 June 2017
Great Software, very positive impression, speed, retention, ...interesting ideas, like autoreverse , reversed name.. very promising AAA+++
Like (1)
Version 0.90.7
Jacob Kampen
17 June 2017
This is a great tool to download and search/browse newsgroups.
My first thoughts were, wow newsleecher on the Mac.

It is blazing fast and the downloads I did were flawless.

Searching newsgroups is very easy with a lot of options.
The app also support NZB files extremely well.

Although the app is rather new and in beta, I did not experience any issues at all.

Great job and very promising.
Like (2)
Version 0.90.6
Xorox
12 June 2017
Usenetic version 0.90.5 is an early beta. Please leave your feedback about bugs or comments here or at our forum https://www.usenetic.com/forum Thank you.
Like
Version 0.90.5