Back to Virex 6 Virus Definitions page
Virex 6 Virus Definitions free download for Mac

Virex 6 Virus Definitions Reviews

10/1/07
05 October 2007

Virus defs for Virex 6.2.

Anonymous
01 May 2001

Most helpful

Works! Flawlessly! Need I say more?
Like
Version 5/1

Read 36 Virex 6 Virus Definitions User Reviews

Rate this app:

bb553
11 May 2012
McAfee Virex Version 6 Virus Update (for Virex 6.0 and Virex 6.1) File Name: Virus Definitions 2004-09-01 Version: E4161 DAT Version: 4385 Engine Version: 4161 Released: September 1, 2004 Released as downloadable StuffIt archives: vx040901.hqx vx040901.upd Containing the Update file (3.7 MB) and a "Virus Update Read Me" file (29 KB - dated September 1, 2004) -- McAfee Virex Version 6.2 Virus Update (for Virex 6.2) Virus Update Release: August 1, 2007 File Name: Virus Definitions 2007-10-01 Version: E4240 DAT Version: 5078 Engine Version: 4.2.40 Released as downloadable StuffIt archives: vx070901.hqx vx070901.upd Containing the Update file (4 MB) and a "Virus Update Read Me" file (28 KB - dated October 1, 2007) McAfee Note: IMPORTANT: Due to licensing issues, Virex 6.2 does not contain the SpeedScan or Snapshot functionality that existed in Virex 6.0 or Virex 6.1 -- This information is for confirming what the most recent / final Virex 6 virus updates issued were for Classic Mac OS 8.6 - Mac OS 9.2.2 users and/or for anyone running Mac OS 9.2.2 under the PowerPC Classic Virtual Environment, on older machines - including in pre-school, kindergarten, public school, college, and university educational facilities - where one is most likely to encounter Apple PowerPC G1 (601, 603, 603e), G2 (604 - 604e), G3 (PPC750), and G4 (7400, 7410, 7450, 7445, 7455, 7447, 7457, 7448) CPU Macintoshes.
Like
Version 10/1/07
Tom44
22 May 2006
Will this check my OS X Panther volume for OS X viruses?
Like
Version 5/01/06
Anonymous
05 May 2005
We use this to scan customer's drives for MS macro viruses and whatnot. On my own OS X system, I have the Virex 6.1 Control Panel installed in Classic but turned OFF so that DropScan works for quick attachment checking. So far have not really had a need for v7.x and thus avoid all the problems with that line (ie. mailboxes being deleted, etc.)
Like
Version 04/01/05
Anonymous
13 March 2005
Loads under 6.1 when speed scan is turned off. about 4.5K files/min. running on 9.22 under Classic mode within 10.2.8
Like
Version 02/01/05
Anonymous
30 December 2004
The second to the last time I called tech support ( to upgrade from 5 to 6, or something, I got the office in Utah... that was a bout 4 years ago. The last time I called I got someone who, unfortunately , had much difficulty with English (don't we all sometimes). And then, to my chagrin, they actually advised me to call Symantec!!! (True)
Like
Version 01/01/05
Anonymous
10 December 2004
I use 6.1 on 9.1 (classic avant la lettre) and sometimes eUpdate doesn't work but I can simply download the file from the site and Apply Update. Haven't been able to use SpeedScan for a while, as noted in the Readme (not supported in 6.2 files under 6.1)
Like
Version 12/01/04
Hurricanefl
10 December 2004
This works fine with Virex 6.1. It appears to be just a typo. I just installed it and tested it on my G3 M/T 500 Mhz OS 9.1 System.
Like
Version 12/01/04
Anonymous
11 November 2004
After reading notes here and elsewhere on the web and not finding an answer I called McAfee at 1-866-622-3911. I told the rep that answered that apparantly Virex 6.1 was no longer updating virus definitions and that I needed Virex 6.2 and asked how to get it. The rep informed me that the product is no longer supported and that I should "contact apple.com about that concern". When I questioned her answer she simply repeated the same answer struggling to pronounce each word in English.
Like
Version 11/01/04
9 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 November 2004
It seems that we Mac users have now been left high and dry with anti-virus protection. As a Virex 6.1 user on OS 9.1, my protection software appears to have lost its integrity, and attempts to upgrade to Virex 6.2 have been frustrating. The only dealer here in the UK that appeared to show 6.2 on its web site, cancelled my order after being informed by its supplier that 6.2 was now "obsolete". Can other users confirm that 6.2 definitions *really* will work safely with Virex 6.1 despite the 'read-me' warning? If not, where do we turn to for reliable anti-virus software? I am amazed that MacAfee, Network Associates or whoever (and this, of course, is the problem) can dump such a large number of its supporters - and fail to appreciate the high regard in which Virex has hitherto been held.
Like
Version 11/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 November 2004
Mac users have not been left high and dry, I'm running OS X 10.3.6 and using Virex 7.2. You are running an obsolete Mac OS, get used to that cold, hard, indisputable fact. Therefore you have been left behind. OS X 10.0 was released four years ago, that is a lifetime in the computer world. And the OS you are running was released long before that.
Like
Version 11/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 November 2004
Virex 6.2 isn't 'obsolete', nor OS 9.1! 6.2 definitions are available, but the software's hard to come by.
Like
Version 11/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 November 2004
Sure, go right ahead and live in a fantasy world. Classic Mac OS is most certainly obsolete, there is no rational or factual way to deny it. No one develops any softwares for it anymore except for a few pathetic individuals... Wake up and smell the coffee, that is, after you reboot your Mac because it crashed again for the third time today. Or find an old Amiga system on Ebay and use that, be sure to drive your Pinto to the post office when you pick it up. For the record, I have *very* little "disposable income", but I find a way to stay somewhat current with the hardware and software advances (running Panther on a G3 iBook) and I have been using Apple computers since 1978.
Like
Version 11/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 November 2004
A rather tiresome slanging match; this is not the place for it. This web site accommodates both OS X and Classic software updates, and the Mac community should be able to do likewise.
Like
Version 11/01/04
Karloz
Karloz
18 November 2004
i apologise to all user whit news mac can run osx, but remember outside of litte country of usa much many users continue using your old macs (only in usa the macs are cheapers or equal to pcs, in latinamerica macs its very expensive equal to 3 pcs) and the users continuing whit yours old macs whit os 9 and all soft classic if you kill os9 you kill this mac users you make new pc users
Like
Version 11/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 December 2004
I would direct McAfee to this page: http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=72725 Seems like they should still support you to me...
Like
Version 12/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 December 2004
typical....it's all about the money, not the customer... apple and virex are hit with same stick...extract as much as possible who don't know how to get it elsewhere. fycj them!
Like
Version 12/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 December 2004
The second to the last time I called tech support ( to upgrade from 5 to 6, or something, I got the office in Utah... that ws bout 4 years ago. The last time I called I got someone who, unfortunately , had much difficulty with English (don't we all sometimes). And then, to my chagrin, they actually advised me to call Symantec!!! (True)
Like
Version 01/01/05
02 November 2004
Previous reviews seem to say that Virex stops updating older versions without warning. Correct? I have OS 9 and Virex 6.1, and I received the 9/1/04 update, via "update" in Virex Preferences ok, per usual. Since then, all I get when I try to update is a message that I have the latest definitions. It is now 11/1/04, so I doubt that. Have I been quietly dumped?
Like
Version 10/01/04
Stewart Gooderman
14 October 2004
I have Virex 6.1 on OS 9.2.2. When I tried to eUpdate just now, Virex said my virus definitions were current at 9/1/04, so I downloaded the 10/01/04 defs via MacUpdate and applied them. Worked perfectly. However, when I tried to diagnose my drive, I got an alert that I had to uncheck SpeedScan in Virex's preference since it is no longer supported. I did this an the diagnosis proceeded perfectly, possibly even faster than before!
Like
Version 10/01/04
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 October 2004
Same thing here, except I didn't disable it yet. I am still trying to track down the 6.1 version. Anyone?
Like
Version 10/01/04
Anonymous
04 August 2004
Has anyone else noticed that it says in the readme that this update is for Virex 6.2 only? I have version 5.9.1.
Like
Version 08/01/04
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 September 2004
Yes! What do we Virex 6.0 users do now?
Like
Version 08/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 October 2004
or 6.1
Like
Version 10/01/04
Anonymous
26 June 2004
Hmmm... no update for the 6.x versions? Are they cutting off yet another segment of the market? As 7.x does not run under anything less than OS X, and many people are not ready for or do not need X, guess we may have to look elsewhere. Forced migration. Ya gotta love it. Or lose customers.
Like
Version 05/01/04
3 answer(s)
Bruce Wisz
Bruce Wisz
06 August 2004
Works ok under OS 9 and with Virex 6.1.
Like
Version 08/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 October 2004
Yes, but my original comment was BEFORE they released the Aug. 1, 2004 update. And as we are now entering October with no update since 8/1/04, the trend seems to be for new 6.x updates every few months? Perhaps they are just being more truthful about the version number. In other words, NOT changing the date/version of the 6.x update if there are no new definitions. *shrug*
Like
Version 09/01/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 October 2004
I have Virex 6.1 and eUpdate has worked every month always. I have found nowhere to get the version 6.2 update though. Anybody know where to d/l link?
Like
Version 10/01/04
Anonymous
14 January 2004
Don't know why but I am having problems accessing the Virex definitions download. Yesterday (when it was labled 01/12/03) it quit before the transfer was complete. Today (01/12/04) I can't get it to transfer anything.
Like
Version 01/12/04
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 January 2004
did as you suggested and the stupid app says i have not enough room on my HD for the install of the virus definitions update... i have 36 gigbytes available on my HD.
Like
Version 01/12/04
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 March 2004
My Virex 6 stops after scanning the first file. If I use Dropscan it goes right through everything I drop into it, but does this find viruses?
Like
Version 03/01/04
marcelo
03 January 2004
easer findin prograns for my mac, i am a new user off this sytem typing from brasil
Like
Version 12/01/03
Anonymous
02 December 2003
am I right in saying that no recorded virus's on OSX.....(yet) ?
Like
Version 12/01/03
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
yes there's no viruses or trojans for mac os x
Like
Version 12/01/03
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 May 2004
http://www.macworld.co.uk/news/top_news_item.cfm?NewsID=8664
Like
Version 05/01/04
Anonymous
04 October 2003
I'm with the rest of you Mac-ers! Virex is the absolute best for any Mac!
Like
Version 10/01/03
Anonymous
03 October 2003
Attention Hint/Tip User-- pinhead since 1984: No, I am running a current version on two-- count'em two Macs-- and neither successfully upgrades.
Like
Version 10/01/03
Anonymous
02 October 2003
Obviously you have not upgraded to at least version 6.x which includes an "e-update" feature which downloads and applys the definitions which are most current from their server with literally the touch of a button...Isaac Asimov you are not...Virex is the best for Mac
Like
Version 10/01/03
Anonymous
01 October 2003
Mozilla's browser can seek out alternate themes and install them directly into the browser while running. During which century might Virex pick up the ability to successfully seek out and install virus updates?
Like
Version 10/01/03
Anonymous
12 August 2003
Norton is the best to CRASH the system. Virex is great and updates are free.
Like
Version 8/01/03
Anonymous
15 July 2003
Yes, get Norton and pay for updates forever! At least my updates for Virex are free.
Like
Version 7/01/03
Anonymous
02 July 2003
Just give up and use Norton Antivirus, it works and no extra steps
Like
Version 7/01/03
Marsha Woods
10 June 2003
I'm trying to find out what a virus is. House Call says I have one in my restore file and it can't access it so I'm trying to find out what to do.
Like
Version 6/01/03
Anonymous
01 May 2003
Has anyone ever found a virus on OSX at all? besides some old worm or something from an old volume...
Like
Version 4/30/03
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 November 2003
As far as I know there are no reported virus for Mac OS X.
Like
Version 11/01/03
Anonymous
02 April 2003
Automatic update thru .Mac? NOPE. What do I pay those guys for?
Like
Version 4/1/03
Rrind
16 January 2003
I am unable to delete the virus infected file from the system since virus name worm32 can you please advice how to remove the infected files from the system Regards KM samceer
Like
Version 1/10/03
Anonymous
03 December 2002
rrrrrrrrr
Like
Version 12/1/02
Sanit-Bkk
03 December 2002
Very good virus definitions
Like
Version 12/1/02
Anonymous
01 November 2002
NO automatic update, NO installer package, but some file that opens Virex - without updating the virus defs. This is not what I'd call a professional job...
Like
Version 11/1/02
Majarch
06 April 2002
I like Virex very much, when the definitions are available for download. The link is broken, however, for the April def's, and when I asked for support from McAfee, they pointed me to their Windows files! Very bad!
Like
Version 4/1/02
Anonymous
03 April 2002
This link goes to a message that says link out of date. Virex usually is great, sure would like to download the new definitions
Like
Version 4/1/02
Cromero
03 February 2002
this is the best software to virus killer
Like
Version 2/1/02
Anonymous
18 October 2001
This downloads the October 1 update, not the November one.
Like
Version 11/1
Hugh
09 September 2001
Excellent protection program that works consistenty with monthly updates available.
Like
Version 9/1
01 July 2001
Absolutely the best anti-virus protection there is.
Like
Version 7/1
Anonymous
01 May 2001
Works! Flawlessly! Need I say more?
Like
Version 5/1