Back to VisualRoute page
VisualRoute free download for Mac

VisualRoute Reviews

14.0j
12 February 2011

Ping, TraceRoute, and Whois tool.

26cab40
01 March 2010

Most helpful

$50 !!! $50 !!! Dream on kids...
Like (7)
Version 14.0b

Read 20 VisualRoute User Reviews

Rate this app:

pettifogger0712
14 April 2014
Version 14.0l was released on November 30th 2011 (FYI)
Like
Version 14.0j
alas!
13 February 2011
Seems to work OK although I'm far from a technical sophisticate; I just want a basic overview of how my internet connections function but $50 for it IS rather a kick in the nuts. I might pay 15-$20 for it but $50? No way in Hell!
Like (4)
Version 14.0i
26cab40
01 March 2010
$50 !!! $50 !!! Dream on kids...
Like (7)
Version 14.0b
Jamesp
19 December 2006
This program is painful. Not only is it a Java app, making it slow and in some cases ugly, the user interface is designed for a 4-year-old instead of a network professional. The important statistics are hard to get to or in many cases, completely unavailable. If you're looking for a program help find network problems and show you real network information to help you resolve problems, don't buy this. If you're looking for a program that will show a pretty picture of a map, a guess as to where IPs are located, and just barely scratch the surface of a network, this may be for you.
Like (4)
Version 11b
Peanut-Butter
17 March 2006
slow...feels like a java app. With 4-5 tabs open it really slows down, and when it gets slow it crashes. I have now crashed a fresh install about 10 times. When I use it I have to be mindful of not going to quickly, as the app will become overwhelmed and confused. It's pricey, but if it was rock solid, with a zippy interface, it would be worth it.
Like (1)
Version 10.0i
Reverb
10 November 2005
As others have mentioned, there are many free alternatives that have the same basic features. But VisualRoute might be a good product for those who find Mac OS X's Network Utility to be overly technical. That isn't to say VisualRoute is easier to use -- it's just difficult in other ways. On several occasions, I found the interface confusing or poorly implemented. For example, after running a traceroute, it wouldn't let me view the entire contents of the "Analysis" pane. VisualRoute feels more like a clunky Windows app than an elegant Mac app. The Preference menu isn't even in the proper place. On the plus side, the geo mapping feature is neat. With an interface overhaul and a steeply discounted price, this could be a very nice tool. Until then, I'll stick with freebies like Network Utility and WhatRoute (which also has a mapping feature).
Like
Version 10.0c
Anonymous
09 August 2005
Why not just use the network utility that comes with os x?
Like
Version 9.3g
2 answer(s)
Peanut-Butter
Peanut-Butter
17 March 2006
Visual Route does at least one very useful thing that network utility does not.... plotting traceroutes and saving data. this is very useful for watching a certain router over a period of time, rather than just seeing if something can be pinged.
Like (1)
Version 10.0i
MisterE
MisterE
13 May 2010
Peanut Butter's comment is the only reason I can think not to but $50. No thanks. Surely there is a solution to do this for free.
Like
Version 14.0c
Anonymous
28 July 2005
this app is nice, and presents a comprehensive listing of data. Admittedly it appears simple at first, but having a wealth of data at your finger tips is quite a time saver. I would say it's painfully overpriced still :\
Like
Version 9.3f
Anonymous
11 July 2005
LOL $50 now! This dev must be out of his mind!
Like (1)
Version 9.3e
Anonymous
13 May 2005
Am I missing something? $40? Apple provides the 'Network Utility' in your Utilities folder that does all this. Why am I going to pay $40 for this?
Like (1)
Version 9.3c
Anonymous
03 May 2005
interface makes you believe to work on a PC.
Like (1)
Version 9.3b
Anonymous
30 November 2004
40 bucks for this app?!? Come on, guys... There are freewares, working better. Not to mention, NetBarrier, an excellent Firewall for the same price, it can do that too. VisualRoute may be OK for a freeware, no more.
Like (2)
Version 2005
Anonymous
11 June 2004
This is not 8.0f, but is the earlier 8.0e release, which is still troublesome. This application works great under WindowsXP Pro and Home, but fails to work equally well under Mac OS X 10.3.3 or 10.3.4. Too bad they can't get it right for the Mac.
Like
Version 8.0f
Anonymous
15 November 2003
Wouldn't ever waste my money on this product again. Previous experience was several months' paid use, then an updated version that wouldn't work. Next thing I know, this company is asking for *more money to upgrade* the product to a version that works with the then-current Mac OS (10.2?) Burnt way too much money for only a coupla months' use of the product. The one letter from their tech support people offered a support phone call, but I had no time to troubleshoot a product that had worked correctly in its first iteration. Highway robbery at its best!
Like
Version 8.0a
Anonymous
14 November 2003
WhatRoute works very well & it's free, as well as the built in feature of OS X. Another free utility out there is iFoundU which surprizingly also shows graphically where the orginating server is located on the globe. Another cool app is IP Monitor for Java X 2.0.2 which has some good features as well. Check out these 3 free utilites before dropping $40 for something that does basically what some free App do. My 2¢'s.
Like
Version 8.0a
Anonymous
21 June 2003
>>VisualRoute allows you to perform TraceRoutes, Ping, and Whois commands with a visual interface instead of using the Terminal.
Like
Version 7.2a
Anonymous
20 June 2003
WhatRoute is a network utility program that does all these things and more. Best of all, it's FREE.
Like
Version 7.2a
Anonymous
17 February 2003
Pay for something mac os x comes with? WTF?!?!?! Mac os X already comes with a network utility program that does all these things and more. Don't waste your 40 bucks!
Like
Version 7.1c
Rafael
21 December 2002
$40 to "visualize" what you can do with Apple's Network Utility. I'm still going to play with it before posting a review, but the price seems a tad steep unless I were seriously hunting down those attempting to ping flood me or those attempting port scans, etc.
Like
Version 7.0g
michaeld
16 September 2002
Don't bother with this latest version. Each lookup fails, resulting in a "failure to create socket" error message. Application still gives a crash error message upon quit, a problem that has existed through several versions. Awaiting tech help. Previous version worked fine.
Like
Version 6.1a