Back to eqMac page
eqMac free download for Mac

eqMac Reviews1.3.0

11 October 2021

Free Audio Equalizer for macOS.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
dogusatasoy
dogusatasoy
Sep 9 2021
1.2.0
0.0
Sep 9 2021
0.0
Version: 1.2.0
I've used it several times, and please read what I wrote carefully; this app is already sold to some other company/individual and they've converted it to a free and paid member**** structure. Without being a good application and work as expected, they're looking to sell it somehow. Please but please do yourself a favour and go to app store and buy "speaker amp". It is flowless. This one is not, it will lock your chrome browser after a few mins. You'll go crazy to understand what is happening with all of your chrome tabs... Don't do it to yourself.
afandinorazmia
afandinorazmia
Jul 20 2021
1.1.0
0.0
Jul 20 2021
0.0
Version: 1.1.0
Its a terrible piece of junk. Always made the sound mute and need to restart my Mac to make it work. The app wont even let u switch to Airpods. What a garbage app.
Chrisst150
Chrisst150
Jul 14 2021
1.1.0
0.0
Jul 14 2021
0.0
Version: 1.1.0
For a startup app not bad. Stability needs to improve. I would support the developer and buy a reliable version 'cause I was always looking for a systemequalizer, but I dont like subscription models, at least its way to high.
simonvolt52
simonvolt52
May 31 2021
0.3.7
0.0
May 31 2021
0.0
Version: 0.3.7
Worst piece of crap, ever. Countless problems. Now i can't get rid of it, it's still showing as a sound input/output in the System Preferences. even after using the uninstaller (as crappy as the plugin). No wonder there are sites dedicated to help you remove/delete it but many users can't never get rid of it. To the developer : if you don't know what you're doing just get out of the game, you're just causing problems. I don't care if it's free... viruses are also free. Worst piece of crap, ever.
milesofkilometers
milesofkilometers
Apr 22 2021
0.3.7
1.0
Apr 22 2021
1.0
Version: 0.3.7
I actually liked it for the 1 day it worked! I use an audio interface to feed into my studio monitors and wanted a lightweight, simple background EQ to bump the bass a little bit when listening to music since my speakers are so flat. Unfortunately, eqMac crashes everytime I try to change the output from system speakers to anything else. Sort of renders it useless unless you are EQing your MacBook Pro's speakers, which is sort of like spraying fabreeze over dogsh*t.
syrinx6772
syrinx6772
Apr 22 2021
0.3.7
0.0
Apr 22 2021
0.0
Version: 0.3.7
1 star. Uninstalled it within 5 minutes. The interface was so sticky and laggy - at least 1.5 seconds after click to respond. The sliders would snap to next notch, no sliding for fine tuning. Actually made my expensive studio monitors and tube preamp sound bad. Running Catalina on a new iMac with an i7 and tons of RAM. There should be no reason for anything to be laggy. Back to Boom3D.
jccljc03
jccljc03
Feb 19 2021
0.3.7
1.0
Feb 19 2021
1.0
Version: 0.3.7
incompatible with macOs 11.2 Big Sur. Interrupts videos to race from begin to end in under 1 sec regardless of length of video. Recovery with help of Apple Support including uninstall. Later reinstalled & same thing. Uninstalled again & followed by safe restart. Videos work normally again
madbadger85
madbadger85
Feb 19 2021
0.3.7
5.0
Feb 19 2021
5.0
Version: 0.3.7
WOW......this is exactly what my iMac needed!!!! the music sounds out of this world now, especially through my headphones.....I'm running 10.14.6 no problems at all, can create presets easily.....thank you....great app
ricardohphotography
ricardohphotography
Jan 18 2021
0.1.1
2.0
Jan 18 2021
2.0
Version: 0.1.1
I had to remove the eqMac from my computer because it was slowing down my computer a lot and the audio from youtube was behaving very weird, had a lot of problems with this app.
elydoug
elydoug
Jan 7 2021
0.1.1
2.0
Jan 7 2021
2.0
Version: 0.1.1
It sounds very good initially. But then when we switch users on Mac (OS 10.15.7 Catalina) the sound disappears. When I switch back to the user that downloaded it, the sound is very low and scratchy. When I quit the program, eqMac, the sound returns. I have done 2 remove and install. The same problem. It works well and switches users for a short period but then it fails.
guerillaconcs
guerillaconcs
Jan 7 2021
0.1.1
1.0
Jan 7 2021
1.0
Version: 0.1.1
Could not open the app after install. Mac OS Catalina 10.15.7
bafun007
bafun007
Jan 4 2021
0.1.1
2.0
Jan 4 2021
2.0
Version: 0.1.1
Was excited that there was another way to control my HDMI monitor volume with my Mac. However, I am getting audio encoding problem where I hear noises while playing youtube.
milesofkilometers
milesofkilometers
Nov 4 2020
0.1.1
1.0
Nov 4 2020
1.0
Version: 0.1.1
Really enjoyed this EQ for its snazzy interface and simplicity, however, after updating my Mac to 10.15.7 it caused eqMac to crash if attempting to route audio out of my audio interface. Huge issue as now it can only run out of my computers built-in speakers. Looked for place to contact support on their website, but there's nothing there so will likely move on to another solution (but will probably keep the software to return to later in case the bug is fixed.) 2 Stars because it was kickass before it stopped working.
gcwales
gcwales
Sep 21 2020
0.1.1
5.0
Sep 21 2020
5.0
Version: 0.1.1
Does the job well. Use your scroll wheel to control faders and knobs. Why Apple doesn't provide a system wide EQ who knows?
Ron18
Ron18
Sep 6 2020
0.1.1
4.0
Sep 6 2020
4.0
Version: 0.1.1
It GREATLY enhances the sound quality of my iMac speakers, as well as the remote sound system attached to the iMac. It's a GREAT little app. Thank you!
dabass2424
dabass2424
Sep 5 2020
0.1.1
3.0
Sep 5 2020
3.0
Version: 0.1.1
Works good when it works. However crashes quite often and struggled for weeks trying find out why my MAC would not play videos. Turns out this app was causing my MAC to not be able to play videos. Going to have to delete it, not worth the headaches
Araby
Araby
Jul 26 2020
0.1.1
1.0
Jul 26 2020
1.0
Version: 0.1.1
So far, it simply does not work. I've tried every way I know of to get it to work, but no luck yet. I'm going to try uninstalling and then reinstall, but so far, all it has done is totally shut off the sound on my 16-inch MacBook Pro. I have MacOS Catalina vs. 10.15.6 (I'm a very experienced Mac user.)
Atalantia
Atalantia
Jul 16 2020
0.1.1
1.0
Jul 16 2020
1.0
Version: 0.1.1
Crashing all the time. The interface only shows up when there is an internet connection. I don't like that at all and I give only two stars instead of 4 because of that. Spyware?
flibertjo
flibertjo
Jun 30 2020
0.1.1
1.0
Jun 30 2020
1.0
Version: 0.1.1
Doesn't work at all on my MacBookPro with MacOS Catalina v10.15.5. Tried reinstalling it, but no luck. Restarted my Mac as well several times. Sometimes I see a black square with an eggtimer letting me wait for a long time without doing anything and other time after restart it tells me driver load failed. First time in the 7 years I use MacBook that an app failed to function.
Clint007
Clint007
May 26 2020
0.1.1
0.0
May 26 2020
0.0
Version: 0.1.1
This is perfect for my need! I search for years for an equalizer for my iMac. Because I have bad ear with ages. Also three different pair of headsets but the sound quality of those are different on each one (One is to bassy, the other one highs are poor quality etc... So with this qualizer it balance the hearing bettween them.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
May 1 2020
2.2
3.0
May 1 2020
3.0
Version: 2.2
When you need to deinstall this — I used Appcleaner — remember to remove the driver from the "/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL" folder. I'm not installing this again.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Apr 17 2020
2.2
3.0
Apr 17 2020
3.0
Version: 2.2
I only installed this to increase the level of browser audio. It works great for that. However the controls are really odd and unresponsive. With some difficulty I can set the levels I want, but I needed to boost the EQ aas well to get something useful. The EQ itself really sounds bad when adding gain to middle or treble. I own multiple professional EQs (audio production) and this sounds so bad in comparison it's ridiculous. There wont' be any improved audio with this software. Still useful as a booster, though it crashed mutiple times for me. I do appreciate the effort. The software can certainly be improved into something truly useful.
austindland
austindland
Dec 12 2019
2.2
5.0
Dec 12 2019
5.0
Version: 2.2
Does what it's supposed to do. I've had no problems others described with saving presets, etc.
Thuring
Thuring
May 21 2019
2.2
5.0
May 21 2019
5.0
Version: 2.2
This is a nice simple app that improves my sound and increases the volume ( I use external speakers). Works with Mojave 10.14.5. Easy to use ...
rtheone
rtheone
Apr 13 2019
2.2
0.0
Apr 13 2019
0.0
Version: 2.2
Sorry if I sound a bit conspiratory, but is there a risk this software could be used for snooping?
douglasmark
douglasmark
Mar 13 2019
2.2
5.0
Mar 13 2019
5.0
Version: 2.2
Impressive! Terrific sound. Look in the menu bar on first install or you’ll miss it; I wish that the interface displayed a window from the dock because my menu bar is so full. It’s also curious that “Show Default Presets” isn’t checked by default, and that the default presets aren’t available in 31-band mode. Nevertheless, the app functions superbly.
vince-everett
vince-everett
Nov 5 2018
2.2
4.0
Nov 5 2018
4.0
Version: 2.2
Such a promising app. Even though the UI isn't as visually pleasing as something like Boom, the functionality in its simplicity was excellent. Unfortunately, there's an issue where this app crashes (waking up from sleep, changing outputs) for some of us and my Mid-2010 iMac running High Sierra had this. Apparently the developer is working on the next version and hasn't had the time to fix the issue. I went back to Boom 2 but will definitely be on the lookout for eqMac 3.
Lee B.
Lee B.
Sep 21 2018
2.2
5.0
Sep 21 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2
Finally perfect sound from my built-in speakers in High Sierra 10.13.6. Tested with a otherwise too silent and dull-sounding live streaming in Google Chrome. Thank you Bitgapp!
reece22
reece22
Oct 14 2017
1.0
5.0
Oct 14 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0
this is a great application. i have been using it for a few months now and totally recommend it. there is a few bugs like when you save your preset it will crash when you try and changed one of the dials. it doesnt save when you turn off your computer and it slightly lags a bit when dialing up a tone. other than that, it works great and had no other issues with it.