Back to Smooze page
Smooze free download for Mac

Smooze Reviews

1.7.7
14 September 2019

Smooth scrolling and mouse enhancements.

markicadro
05 November 2017

Most helpful

I've been struggling with the mac scrolling for a while now and was looking for something that will give me more flexibility with my mouse use. Rocker gestures is another great add on that I've used a lot in Windows. Awesome price too!
Like (4)
Version 1.5.3

Read 23 Smooze User Reviews

Rate this app:

Wasky
29 May 2019
I'm using Smooze only for smooth scrolling. I was testing other apps for smooth scrolling and I think Smooze's implementation of the feature is the best of all I've tested.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.0
M-Smith
11 April 2019
I recently switched to a trackball and was surprised to find I would be missing out of a lot of the features I use on a mouse and trackpad but Smooze fixes that. I tried several different apps but Smooze was by far the best. Today, I emailed support about a question and quickly received a helpful response.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.7
fleur2metaline-1
01 February 2019
Grab'n drag function doesn't run with Wacom tablet and stylus
Like
Version 1.6.7
1 answer(s)
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
02 February 2019
Hey,
This is actually a bug in the wacom drivers that was addressed to them a few times in the past: http://forum.wacom.eu/viewtopic.php?p=3529#p3529

You can try switching between the buttons as a workaround.
Like (2)
OSX-FTW!
12 November 2018
Yeah, I purchased this within minutes of testing it out. I bought a keyboard/mouse combo off Amazon, generic. And, it's better than either the MS or Logi stuff I've had. Except for no way to assign buttons. Most solutions either are buggy or way overpriced. Smooze does everything I need and solves a bunch of problems. Worth every cent, 5 stars!
Like (2)
Version 1.6.7
csaborio
16 August 2018
The way it makes scrolling is worth the price alone (bu-bye Logitech driver that needs to remind me every day of an update!). But the true icing is how you can configure shortcuts with gestures, I am using in Visual Studio Code and saves me so much time!! http://bit.ly/2MOexfr
Like (3)
Version 1.6.6
Picatinny
01 June 2018
This is a nicely designed application with a great feature set at a fair price. It's easy on system resources and does exactly what I was looking for: making a microsoft bluetooth mouse useable in terms of scrolling and button assignments. I seldom rate applications, but this one definitely deserves it.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.4
lflier
03 March 2018
I'm trying Smooze out now on a Hackintosh system with High Sierra 10.13.3 and an older Logitech Revolution MX running the latest version of Logetch's control center.

Control Center was fine in El Capitan, but it's disappointing in High Sierra with respect to the smoothness of scrolling. Some applications are fine (Safari, Chrome, Firefox) while others (Notes, Finder Windows, and Bear) are choppy.

After downloading Smooze, I was able to smooth the scrolling out across all applications by turning acceleration off in the Logitech Control Center and controlling t from Smooze. I'll keep testing for a few more days, but right now, I'm a buyer.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.0
allanowlin
23 February 2018
great tool. thank you
Like (3)
Version 1.5.9
lachlan-4
01 January 2018
Smooze is a truly exceptional app because it fixes the issues that happen with Sierra and third party mice and trackballs. When I installed Sierra, the scroll wheel on my Logitech Trackman Wheel stopped behaving normally. Logitech were quite useless in solving this even though they promote their latest software as fixing the Sierra issues. Smooze came to the rescue for a paltry $5. It is a beautifully thought out app and it works to smooth out all the issues that Sierra introduced to third party controllers. The GUI is intuitive and easy to operate. But the really great thing about this app is that Segev, (the man who made it) is easily contacted and he responds immediately with intelligent and helpful information. This is an app you can use knowing you are not alone. I run a small recording studio and this app has saved my ability to use my favorite trackball which of course has saved my studio. Thank you, Segev, You are the man.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.7
markicadro
05 November 2017
I've been struggling with the mac scrolling for a while now and was looking for something that will give me more flexibility with my mouse use. Rocker gestures is another great add on that I've used a lot in Windows. Awesome price too!
Like (4)
Version 1.5.3
Dana-Sutton
23 October 2017
At first I really really liked this, it smoothed out the scroll ring on my Kensington Expert Mouse much better than SmartScroll. In fact I was filling out the information for my purchase when I noticed that whenever Smooze is running the letter a on my keyboard doesn't work (I haven't checked to see if other keys are also disabled,, a is a deal-killer all by itself). Obviously I need the the letter a, right? Mr. Developer, if you can either revise this program or tell me how to switch off whatever feature is causing this strange thing to happen, I'll gladly buy Smooze and in all probability I'll give it five stars. But first you have to give me back my alphabet.
Like
Version 1.5.0
4 answer(s)
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
24 October 2017
Hey Dana,

This is the first time this bug is reported.
I'm guessing that there's a conflict with one of the other apps that are running. Shoot me an email from Smooze menubar "About" section so we can resolve this.
Like (1)
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
24 October 2017
Also, check that Under "Grab Scroll" the key A isn't selected with the toggle "Disable A action" turned on. (This will result the same behavior you're describing.)
Like
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
02 December 2017
Hey Dana,

I haven't heard from you since reporting this issue.
If I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks
Like (1)
drwebmail
drwebmail
09 November 2018
Don't you think you should change your rating?
Like (1)
Dougster
05 October 2017
How do I assign left mouse button for grab scrolling? Right button, set as default, is no good to me.
Also, I see the message in Smooze telling me another mouse driver is running, but I don't know what this refers to, as I have no other mouse software installed.

Like
Version 1.4.2
5 answer(s)
Dougster
Dougster
05 October 2017
OK to now disregard my comment about 'another mouse driver running', but left mouse button would be nice for grab feature, please!
Like
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
05 October 2017
Hey Dougster,

Due to the fact that the Left Key is used for double clicking and for dragging (files for example) assigning Grab to it will result a lot of OS conflicts.
Like
Dougster
Dougster
06 October 2017
Hi Segev,
Thanks for your reply. I thought you'd tell me something like that! However, in Firefox I use an add-on called ScrollAnywhere, and this allows me to use the left mouse button to scroll up and down pages, so I thought it might be possible that your application, Smooze, could do the same.
Like
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
02 December 2017
Sorry, Segev, I should have replied a long time ago. Busy (and rude). I tried your suggestion, it worked just fine, I've been a happy Smooze user ever since. Five stars for sure.

I should perhaps mention that I use Smooze for a very particular purpose. In general, I think the Kensington Expert Mouse (actually a trackball) is the best pointing device available. But its worst feature is its very rough scroll ring action. I find that Smooze fixes this problem very satisfactorily.
Like (1)
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
21 December 2017
Thanks Dana-Sutton for the kind words. For some reason your last comment found it self in another thread and not in the one you started. I'd appreciate it if you could update \ edit your one star rating with your current thoughts.
Like
anonymous-bird-3164
23 September 2017
nice app at a decent price! smoothscroll is still better / smoother.... i'd replace it with smooze if the disable cursor acceleration would actually work (it's totally different then steelseries exactmouse or cursorsense)...
Like
Version 1.4.0
1 answer(s)
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
24 September 2017
Hey Lukas,

Smoothness wise, It all comes down to the animation settings. If you've found something that feels like a bug please send me an email and I'd be happy to assist you.

Regarding the cursor acceleration, other tools that change the cursor speed and acceleration also monitor these changes to make the right speed adjustments after those are set in the OS, something I didn't want to do due to intensive CPU cycles.

Changing the Cursor speed in Sierra Settings overrides the acceleration setting in Smooze.

As long as you set the acceleration last there shouldn't be a problem.
Like
HJRBR
28 July 2017
Is there any version to download for 10.11 El Capitan?
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
Segev Sherry
Segev Sherry
24 September 2017
No, Sorry!
Like
George6
23 July 2017
hmm what is this with the smooth scroll? my scrolling is smooth without installing any tools. the devs website is not that informative... could anybody elaborate?
Like
Version 1.2.4
3 answer(s)
david-149
david-149
30 July 2017
What mouse do you use? Are you using the vendor proprietary app? Some mouse apps, like Logitech Options, have a smooth scrolling feature built-in.
Like
George6
George6
10 August 2017
ohhkayyy... i use the apple magic mouse. is this for 3rd party mouses with scroll wheel that don't scroll nicely on the mac? oh well...
Like
david-149
david-149
10 August 2017
Yes, Smooze is for 3rd party mouses. macOS is designed to work nice with Magic Mouse scroll, but not with 3rd party mouse and their scroll wheel ticks.
Like (1)
david-149
20 June 2017
I've been a user of SmoothScroll for the past year (as a paid customer). After my subscription has expired, I've decided to not pay again. Although it works very fine, nothing justifies the price asked by the dev (maybe 5 dollars annually, maybe). So I've decided to try Smooze. Very polished UI and everything just works fine. The scroll smoothing mechanism is really good, no annoying or weird behavior, it just smooths the right way. You have to try and find by yourself. As for the price asked by the dev, I don't think I have anything else to say. It speaks for itself (also it's a one-time purchase, not a subscription).
Like (1)
Version 1.1.97
macus
31 May 2017
Latest version at web site is 1.1.60. Still remains excellent.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.50
macus
26 May 2017
Love this app which works far better than Smart Scroll and SmoothScroll. It was originally not working for me with Logitech Options installed. As I needed this software to use both my Logitech keyboard and mouse, this presented a real problem. Wrote to the developer and within an hour he contacted me with a new version which has solved all the issues. Clearly a five star application. I would also note that the default settings seem to be spot on.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.50
Dan-D
23 May 2017
Nice little Software! Using just the smooth scroll function, which is worth the price.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.47
TinaLLL8
12 May 2017
I used SmoothScroll in the past (Never payed the ridiculous price) and I can guarantee that Smooze wins in every category. Better scrolling, better price, more features etc'. The smooth scrolling is absolutely amazing here and gives you a totally different experience than what you're used to. Another thing that I'd like to mention is that the developer is super responsive. I sent him a bug and a feature request and both of them were released IN THE SAME DAY. Don't hesitate to try it
Like (1)
Version 1.1.25
ondras007
08 April 2017
Best app for smooth scrolling on the market right now! Do the more thing than other apps for amazing price.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.50
DaveFrost
24 March 2017
I just messed around with it for a while and I love it! The amount of features & price is amazing compared to what other similar software are charging. Kudos for that!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.36
Awado
06 March 2017
A developer, who rates his own app with five stars? No go!
Like
Version 1.0.21
3 answer(s)
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
06 March 2017
The developer did this by accident. They asked for that rating to be removed and now it has been. Cheers!
Like (5)
Awado
Awado
11 March 2017
@BryanatMU: Thanks for the clarification. This keeps the quality of MU up.
Like (3)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
05 May 2017
Except for all the reviews posted by MU employees, which only serves to undermine their credibility and impartiality.

That would be like Tim Cook rating apps in MAS.
Like