Back to IINA page
IINA free download for Mac

IINA Reviews

1.0.4
27 May 2019

Modern video player.

tehabe
31 December 2018

Most helpful

The is the only media player you really need. It plays literally anything. And it is based on mpv, which is actively developed.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0

Read 34 IINA User Reviews

Rate this app:

BuggyX
08 September 2019
better than vlc , it is based mpv but does not give same performance for 4K video ,i can watch 4k videos only on mpv , choppy on iina and vlc
Like
Version 1.0.4
Annie-Walker
27 May 2019
Wonderful program!! I want to leave a proper Review, so I'll wait until I have more to say. ?
Like
Version 1.0.4
Spudboy
19 May 2019
Just using this for audio (still using Movist for video) and really enjoying the interface.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Great Player. My Favorit. Very very powerfull settings.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Aargl
31 March 2019
I'm just discovering this surprisingly good player, indeed a nice replacement for VLC — which version 3 has not yet got rid of its important bugs... (more than one year after v3.0!) I'd say its a really nice mix between VLC and Movist: you can set in real time the delays for audio and subtitles (like Movist) while the interface is sober as VLC and it's free and open source. It has all it needs to become the best player and I would have given it 5 stars if it didn't fail reading subtitles in a .ts recorded tv stream. My other trials were perfect.
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
03 April 2019
After a few more trials, some limitations of IINA appear.
- It wasn't able to work out my real-time tv streams.
- there's no advanced settings like in VLC for fine cropping (for example, cropping a few lines on the top) — I only know of VLC that can do this!
etc.
So ok, it's a nice player in many cases, it was even able to read a file that VLC doesn't, but in the end, it's the same old story: you've got to have a bunch of players around and if one doesn't work in a particular case, try another one.
Like (1)
Zoidbert
23 January 2019
Good so far; not enough use of it to really leave a review. It's handling of .dvdmedia files is a little rough (if you can access the DVD's menu, I can't figure it out) but it does play without a hiccup (VLC crashes constantly for me under Mojave, regardless of uninstall/reinstallation attempts) and can display CC/Subtitles (critical for me). I'll keep using and hope DVD menu support is forthcoming. (Or I find it)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Macinman
03 January 2019
Thought I would leave a few comments on my experience with IINA as a VLC replacement for me. First off, I've used VLC for quite a few years, however it's always felt a bit quirky and a bit unstable. Second: I do realize the VLC does other functions besides a player, however with this said, I've never personally used the app for other things then a media player, so my comparisons won't include those features. I started using IINA around the time VLC 3.0 was released due to playback issues I was having with VLC, such as the A-B loop not always working correctly in VLC, features like variable speed control in playback also doesn't work reliably in VLC 3x. Other things I've compared, are Videos with strange resolutions, now act jerky in VLC 3x. With the above listed, I have found IINA is quick to load video files, plays what I throw at it very smoothly, and without graphical glitches, the A-B loop is much more reliable. Videos with unusual resolutions don't jump around, or flicker. I also feel comparing the two, that IINA, has a better macOS native interface vs VLC, and a cleaner, more optimized and up-to-date UI. I have a few media players installed on my Macs, as none are perfect, and it helps to have more then one installed in case one might not work as expected, or another one has a feature, one might now have. My other Media players I have installed are: El Media Player (pro version) Blu-ray Player (Pro Version) from MacGo. As far as the Blu-ray player, it's a good solid player that gives commercial grade support for playing back commercial Blu-ray discs as you would in a hardware stand alone player. As far as the features people have commented on here regarding VLC being more then a media player when comparing IINA to a replacement. That i'm not going to disagree with as I know it's true. What I will say though, is for my own use, I have not used VLC for those functions, and probably never will. I have always used dedicated apps for Video conversion, and recording. ScreenFlow is my main recording app, and FF Works, or permute are my main conversion apps, I do own the Apple pro apps as well. With all the things I've listed above, here is what I feel a good verdict is: If you simply use VLC as a player, and nothing else. IINA is a great replacement. If you use the other features it offers, I can't really make a fair comparison here. I would recommend comparing VLC to a dedicated app that handles the functions desired for use. In the end, I think IINA is a very nice solid player all around. I've had no issues with it, and it has some nice bonus features like a command-line tool, that can be configured, and a browser plugin for both Firefox, and Chrome. Safari support was removed when Apple's plugin requirements changed.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
HarukaMa
HarukaMa
14 January 2019
Safari support is now bundled within the app as a Safari App Extension. You can enable it inside preferences of Safari directly.
Like (1)
forwardleaps
01 January 2019
After using VLC for a decade and experimenting with mplayer, movist and others. This is the one to get. It gets subtitles automatically for any video. Finally feel like living in the future.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.0
tehabe
31 December 2018
The is the only media player you really need. It plays literally anything. And it is based on mpv, which is actively developed.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0
Scion777
31 December 2018
It's a good player - about the same as that of MPlayerX 2.x. Absolutely NOT a replacement for VLC - VLC can convert video and stream video and ..... etc.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0
Helmo-Hass
28 December 2018
0.0.15.1 is the official release 1.0 as stated is just beta and available on gitHub BTW this new rc has some messed up settings with codecs as seem unable to reproduce files as previous beta did.. rolled back to beta 4
Like
Version 1.0.0-rc
1 answer(s)
George6
George6
29 December 2018
tx, and the beta releases can be found here:
https://github.com/lhc70000/iina/releases
Like
George6
27 December 2018
i have 1.0.0b4 from 09-2018 but the dev site has only 0.0.15 from 01-2018 and using brew you get 0.0.15.1 ? this is quite confusing....
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.Beta4
Noraa
12 September 2018
This a great alternative to VLC, MPlayer and mpv. It is very lightweight and fast (something I find VLC NOT to be), and has no issues playing any video format I've thrown at it. I really like the interface, as it's simple but not overly so - by comparison, mpv (which IINA is a fork of) has an overly simplistic interface, where most commands are either hidden in the menus are behind keyboard shortcuts). As it is still in a beta stage, I have definitely experienced some weird bugs here and there - went through a strange period where videos would play audio but not video, issue has been fixed in the latest build - but overall it is quite stable.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0.Beta4
JohnF1664
28 August 2018
The fastest video player on Earth!
Like (2)
Version 0.0.15.1
dmu
19 August 2018
I tried this out because I wasn't loving VLC so much anymore. Overnight I decided I was ready to make it my default player. And then I went to drive-in movies so my wife could see something she was super excited about. My daughter would be watching her stuff in the back of the car on my laptop and all would be great and brilliant and everyone would be happy. Ten minutes into my daughter's movie, the sound when out. No explanation given. I tried everything. First the headphones cable connection (it's not Bluetooth), the audio source sound levels. Then a different movie file. Unplugging, and plugging the headphones back in. Restarting the computer. I tried everything... as my wife is missing her movie, and while my daughter is complaining and the lights are on in the car at a drive-in. Finally, having exhausted most options, I tried VLC. Worked perfectly. No problems. It was 100% IINA's problem. Not my system. Not my headphones, not my computer. IINA. It's still incapable of playing any audio. I have gone back through and tried every setting. The last thing to do is to trash the preferences, but I decided... why bother? No way am I going to commit to software that is this delicate. So fragile that it breaks on its own and requires a preference dump just to perform its basic function of "play." Sorry, can't live that way. VLC will have to do.
Like
Version 0.0.15.1
2 answer(s)
kyiw
kyiw
20 August 2018
Did you file a bug report with the deveoper?
https://github.com/lhc70000/iina/issues
Like (4)
Noraa
Noraa
12 September 2018
You realize this is beta software, right? Betas have bugs, lots of bugs. Best thing to do is to report said bugs to the developer - not just complain about them on MU.
Like (1)
Bipou
14 August 2018
Version 1.0.0beta3 released in August 2018 working fine. Website is not updated.
Like (1)
Version 0.0.15.1
Macfool
04 July 2018
v.1.0b2 is released. A few UI warts remain but overall the top of the heap in Mac players. Subjectively better audio quality than VLC, easier to use than FStream, Tiny impact on CPU so nothing heats up. Highly recommended!
Like (2)
Version 0.0.15.1
1 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
02 January 2019
"better audio quality" how? VLC gives much more control over audio and video
Like
dejavuwj
23 June 2018
Very good player~ better than vlc.
Like (1)
Version 0.0.15.1
Acerbic
21 May 2018
Please add Audio Normalization (Volume Limiter).
Very good replacement for VLC and Movist!
Like
Version 0.0.15.1
fravig61
16 May 2018
Very good, but when AirPlay?
Like (1)
Version 0.0.15.1
Acerbic
26 March 2018
Great lightweight, beautiful, fantastic player! Highly recommended!
Like (2)
Version 0.0.15
HansMueller4641
11 March 2018
finally a Mac-native replacement for VLC - thanks!
Like (3)
Version 0.0.15
siamak01
13 February 2018
This is fantastic player. It satisfies most of my needs. at very age of its development. Kudos to developer team. Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 0.0.15
ma-jur7
15 January 2018
New MPlayerX; easy to CPU, nice interface, power settings!
Like (3)
Version 0.0.15
skiabox
13 January 2018
Great lightweight player!
Like (2)
Version 0.0.14.1
Corecode
01 January 2018
1/3 the CPU usage of VLC
Like (3)
Version 0.0.14.1
Markus-Winter
17 October 2017
I did NOT have crashes before. Now with version 0.0.14 I get the crashes this version was supposed to fix. Doh!
Like
Version 0.0.14
evilinstone
17 October 2017
Very good replacement for VLC and MPlayer. Thanks!
Like (4)
Version 0.0.14
2 answer(s)
George6
George6
08 June 2018
I agree, after years of using VLC i replaced the buggy VLC 3 with IINA and after some days i feel home already. It even has a VLC shortcuts preset and works perfectly!
Like
Scion777
Scion777
31 December 2018
It's not a replacement at all for VLC - you may prefer the 'player' portion of IINA over that of VLC, but that's all IINA is - a player. VLC can do all sorts of things - like converting audio-only files, video files, capture streaming video and stream video . . .
Like
JBX
05 June 2017
Audio always seems flat (even with set EQ). Video is good and nice UI.
Like
Version 0.0.10
Previously Derekcurrie mentioned that he would advise against using an alpha development stage software. I do agree that such software is meant for advanced users and that any great developer (and this project certainly has distinguished devs behind it), would not mark it as such for no reason. As far as my personal experience with IINA goes - I switched to the app from the mpv a while ago and use it as my main and only video player on a daily basis without as much as a hiccup, ever. And without knowing what does IINA really stand for, based on my pleasure of using the player I would render the abbreviation IINA as an "Incredible movable picture Illuminating and Narrating Apparatus". All the best to the devs!
Like (2)
Version 0.0.5
kieran-mm
22 February 2017
Finally!
Like (1)
Version 0.0.5
wickedsp1d3r
21 February 2017
Why do we need this when we already have mpv?
Like
Version 0.0.5
1 answer(s)
Ythara
Ythara
21 February 2017
It's basically a full GUI for mpv, which means you can use menus, panels and buttons to change settings. It make using mpv easier, that's why we need this.
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
10 January 2017
ALPHAWARE! Do NOT install this software unless you're willing to crash your computer as an alpha-tester. Test Results: The player, when it works, plays video very well over a LAN. This is UNlike Apple's QuickTime Player, which is in a state of rot. HOWEVER: When the video is PAUSED there is a catastrophic HARD LOCKUP of the Mac. This should not even be possible with macOS 12. The lockup resulted, in my case, with severe volume database damage that required repair. Conclusion: NOT Ready For Prime Time. It's ALPHAWARE. Don't install it. Don't run it. (I never give star reviews of alpha or betaware).
Like (1)
Version 0.0.1
Mindplay
10 January 2017
Finally!
Like
Version 0.0.1
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
01 February 2017
Wow - we must be looking at entirely different githubs!
Because the one I’m seeing says IINA has 533 commits, 6 releases, 15 contributors and 4.4K stars. https://github.com/lhc70000/iina

Are you aware that a star only means someone found it interesting? It is NOT a rating of any sort. Hell, even I find it interesting (though I’m not gonna star it).

Lifehacker doesn’t agree with your rating, saying it’s not yet ready for .prime time:
"IINA is a video player still in early development that is looking to give VLC a run for its money. It still has a ways to go before it’s a real competitor to VLC."

That doesn’t sound to me like it deserves 5 stars at this time.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
01 February 2017
FYI, a REVIEW is an opinion of something based on experience with it. What you left was a one word COMMENT, not a review. A word that has nothing to do with the app’s performance and is no help to others in determining whether the app is worth trying. Nor does it explain how you reached the decision to rate it 5 stars.


And yes, I’m aware there’s one github. Evidently you don’t understand sarcasm.
I’ve never heard of mvp repo, so I Googled it, and the link I posted popped up. And now, after further searching, I’ve still seen no other github page with the numbers you posted (not that it matters).

Of course I also went to the app’s homepage (also hosted on github). https://lhc70000.github.io/iina/

Perhaps one day this app will be worthy of the highest rating, but certainly not at this embryonic stage of its development!
Like