Back to IINA page
IINA free download for Mac

IINA Reviews1.2.0

07 February 2021

Modern video player.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
orsobou4
orsobou4
Aug 16 2021
1.2.0
0.0
Aug 16 2021
0.0
Version: 1.2.0
Just recently, I found out about the IINA. When I play videos, it conceals the cursor all the time, which the VLC was unable to do, so this player is a welcome replacement for it, as long as it comes to playing videos. The VLC is still the best player for radio livestreams IMHO.
aleksjunttila
aleksjunttila
Jul 16 2021
1.2.0
5.0
Jul 16 2021
5.0
Version: 1.2.0
Unfortunately, this player has stopped being updated. In Big Sur, the player works very badly, constantly reports an error and quits. When you restart the player, it works, but many functions do not work correctly. And so it is constantly. It looks like the brilliant project IINA has passed its thriving and is now dying out. This is the case with all successful projects: development, thriving and extinction. This is because there are many envious, dark forces in the world that cannot calmly look at those who know how to do cool things.
chrisjimmy196
chrisjimmy196
May 12 2021
1.2.0
4.0
May 12 2021
4.0
Version: 1.2.0
I am sure, it's one of the most powerful media player projects ever.
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
May 11 2021
1.2.0
0.0
May 11 2021
0.0
Version: 1.2.0
I have used it for a long time without any problem. Today my antivirus tells me that it contains the Adload.gen virus. And the same goes for the different versions that I have tried again to download, including the latest beta. Does it really contain a virus or is it a false positive?
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Apr 13 2021
1.2.0
5.0
Apr 13 2021
5.0
Version: 1.2.0
Amazing! Best video player. Wonderful in every aspect. Thank you for this.
James-Igoe
James-Igoe
Jan 30 2021
1.1.2
5.0
Jan 30 2021
5.0
Version: 1.1.2
I'm a long time VLC user, and although it was great at one time, I'm finding IINA much better, and easier to use
Aldomiguel
Aldomiguel
Jan 11 2021
1.1.2
1.0
Jan 11 2021
1.0
Version: 1.1.2
Constantly freezes and I have to force quit. This happens multiple times a day. Super annoying
Aargl
Aargl
Dec 14 2020
1.1.2
4.0
Dec 14 2020
4.0
Version: 1.1.2
You can have different keybindings, great, but I can't figure out how to select them! The wiki says "You can choose the active configuration from the menu (?)" Does anybody know where is that menu? Or is it an oversight?
daveu
daveu
Nov 20 2020
1.1.2
5.0
Nov 20 2020
5.0
Version: 1.1.2
I had some poorly timed sound issues with an early release and angrily wrote this app off to stick with VLC. But as frustrations with VLC mounted—especially the inability to have more than one video open at a time, I checked back in to find that this app has come along beautifully. It's my new default and I highly recommend it. In fact, I'd happily pay a flat sum for it... just please no subscriptions, never ever do that to us dear super awesome developers, I beg you.
Robio
Robio
Jul 21 2020
1.0.7
5.0
Jul 21 2020
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
Years back I was in love with the abandoned NicePlayer, and I had a hard time finding a replacement player that did everything that very simple player did. IINA does, and it's just a great app besides. I tried at least a dozen player apps, and this one was the clear winner.
pantio
pantio
Jul 10 2020
1.0.7
5.0
Jul 10 2020
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
The best player for mac. There is only one remote control app for iphone. It would be perfect.
Selasley
Selasley
Jun 13 2020
1.0.7
5.0
Jun 13 2020
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
Nice, simple mpg player
Aargl
Aargl
Jun 12 2020
1.0.7
4.0
Jun 12 2020
4.0
Version: 1.0.7
This version gives me the opportunity to test it again, and to discover a great function: browsers integration. Works very well even on other sites than Youtube. Still doesn't play my TV streams, though (rtsp addresses make it crash), otherwise I'd probably use it instead of VLC.
misjase
misjase
May 16 2020
1.0.6
5.0
May 16 2020
5.0
Version: 1.0.6
Great app...! For whatever reason VLC (both v2 and v3) “developed” consistent poor sync issues between video and audio on my computers (OS 10.11 - 10.13). IINA proved a perfect successor, with some unique strengths of its own, although I so far keep VLC for DVD related needs.
metermarx
metermarx
Mar 6 2020
1.0.6
3.0
Mar 6 2020
3.0
Version: 1.0.6
Nice experience overall, but this player (resp. MPV) consumes remarkably more energy than VLC 3 in all scenarios I tried (I'm on macos 10.14.6). Not advisable if the battery life is important. Movist (paid) seems to be the most power-efficient. The interface of IINA is the cleanest. It's a pity you have to switch between players in different environments - but it seems to be the only way.
Talaatharb
Talaatharb
Feb 1 2020
1.0.6
3.0
Feb 1 2020
3.0
Version: 1.0.6
Nice interface. What I do not like: the list of videos is shown in the same window as the video running, thus hiding it partly. Big issue: version 1.0.6 has problems displaying some videos. Two examples: One is an old H264 MPEG4 AVC, 720x480, the other one H264 MPEG4 AVC 3840x2160: Video does not run smooth. Note: mpv v0.32 (downloaded) and v0.29.1 (installed from source via macports) show both vidos just fine. The same is true for VLC. @Devs: Can you please check
bob-185
bob-185
Jan 21 2020
1.0.6
5.0
Jan 21 2020
5.0
Version: 1.0.6
Very nice player. Does everything I want. I like the idea of seeing all the past videos by clicking on an icon. Very handy.
ocean442
ocean442
Nov 6 2019
1.0.4
5.0
Nov 6 2019
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
Now my nr 1 video player on macOS, goodbye VLC!
BuggyX
BuggyX
Sep 8 2019
1.0.4
4.0
Sep 8 2019
4.0
Version: 1.0.4
better than vlc , it is based mpv but does not give same performance for 4K video ,i can watch 4k videos only on mpv , choppy on iina and vlc
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
May 27 2019
1.0.4
0.0
May 27 2019
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
Wonderful program!! I want to leave a proper Review, so I'll wait until I have more to say. ?
Spudboy
Spudboy
May 19 2019
1.0.3
0.0
May 19 2019
0.0
Version: 1.0.3
Just using this for audio (still using Movist for video) and really enjoying the interface.
Kästchen der Ordnung
Kästchen der Ordnung
May 12 2019
1.0.3
5.0
May 12 2019
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Great Player. My Favorit. Very very powerfull settings.
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 31 2019
1.0.3
4.0
Mar 31 2019
4.0
Version: 1.0.3
I'm just discovering this surprisingly good player, indeed a nice replacement for VLC — which version 3 has not yet got rid of its important bugs... (more than one year after v3.0!) I'd say its a really nice mix between VLC and Movist: you can set in real time the delays for audio and subtitles (like Movist) while the interface is sober as VLC and it's free and open source. It has all it needs to become the best player and I would have given it 5 stars if it didn't fail reading subtitles in a .ts recorded tv stream. My other trials were perfect.
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
Jan 23 2019
1.0.1
0.0
Jan 23 2019
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Good so far; not enough use of it to really leave a review. It's handling of .dvdmedia files is a little rough (if you can access the DVD's menu, I can't figure it out) but it does play without a hiccup (VLC crashes constantly for me under Mojave, regardless of uninstall/reinstallation attempts) and can display CC/Subtitles (critical for me). I'll keep using and hope DVD menu support is forthcoming. (Or I find it)
Macinman
Macinman
Jan 3 2019
1.0.0
0.0
Jan 3 2019
0.0
Version: 1.0.0
Thought I would leave a few comments on my experience with IINA as a VLC replacement for me. First off, I've used VLC for quite a few years, however it's always felt a bit quirky and a bit unstable. Second: I do realize the VLC does other functions besides a player, however with this said, I've never personally used the app for other things then a media player, so my comparisons won't include those features. I started using IINA around the time VLC 3.0 was released due to playback issues I was having with VLC, such as the A-B loop not always working correctly in VLC, features like variable speed control in playback also doesn't work reliably in VLC 3x. Other things I've compared, are Videos with strange resolutions, now act jerky in VLC 3x. With the above listed, I have found IINA is quick to load video files, plays what I throw at it very smoothly, and without graphical glitches, the A-B loop is much more reliable. Videos with unusual resolutions don't jump around, or flicker. I also feel comparing the two, that IINA, has a better macOS native interface vs VLC, and a cleaner, more optimized and up-to-date UI. I have a few media players installed on my Macs, as none are perfect, and it helps to have more then one installed in case one might not work as expected, or another one has a feature, one might now have. My other Media players I have installed are: El Media Player (pro version) Blu-ray Player (Pro Version) from MacGo. As far as the Blu-ray player, it's a good solid player that gives commercial grade support for playing back commercial Blu-ray discs as you would in a hardware stand alone player. As far as the features people have commented on here regarding VLC being more then a media player when comparing IINA to a replacement. That i'm not going to disagree with as I know it's true. What I will say though, is for my own use, I have not used VLC for those functions, and probably never will. I have always used dedicated apps for Video conversion, and recording. ScreenFlow is my main recording app, and FF Works, or permute are my main conversion apps, I do own the Apple pro apps as well. With all the things I've listed above, here is what I feel a good verdict is: If you simply use VLC as a player, and nothing else. IINA is a great replacement. If you use the other features it offers, I can't really make a fair comparison here. I would recommend comparing VLC to a dedicated app that handles the functions desired for use. In the end, I think IINA is a very nice solid player all around. I've had no issues with it, and it has some nice bonus features like a command-line tool, that can be configured, and a browser plugin for both Firefox, and Chrome. Safari support was removed when Apple's plugin requirements changed.
forwardleaps
forwardleaps
Jan 1 2019
1.0.0
5.0
Jan 1 2019
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
After using VLC for a decade and experimenting with mplayer, movist and others. This is the one to get. It gets subtitles automatically for any video. Finally feel like living in the future.
anonymous-walrus-4353
anonymous-walrus-4353
Dec 31 2018
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 31 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
The is the only media player you really need. It plays literally anything. And it is based on mpv, which is actively developed.
Scion777
Scion777
Dec 31 2018
1.0.0
3.0
Dec 31 2018
3.0
Version: 1.0.0
It's a good player - about the same as that of MPlayerX 2.x. Absolutely NOT a replacement for VLC - VLC can convert video and stream video and ..... etc.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Dec 28 2018
1.0.0-rc
0.0
Dec 28 2018
0.0
Version: 1.0.0-rc
0.0.15.1 is the official release 1.0 as stated is just beta and available on gitHub BTW this new rc has some messed up settings with codecs as seem unable to reproduce files as previous beta did.. rolled back to beta 4
George6
George6
Dec 27 2018
1.0.0.Beta4
0.0
Dec 27 2018
0.0
Version: 1.0.0.Beta4
i have 1.0.0b4 from 09-2018 but the dev site has only 0.0.15 from 01-2018 and using brew you get 0.0.15.1 ? this is quite confusing....
Noraa
Noraa
Sep 12 2018
1.0.0.Beta4
4.5
Sep 12 2018
4.5
Version: 1.0.0.Beta4
This a great alternative to VLC, MPlayer and mpv. It is very lightweight and fast (something I find VLC NOT to be), and has no issues playing any video format I've thrown at it. I really like the interface, as it's simple but not overly so - by comparison, mpv (which IINA is a fork of) has an overly simplistic interface, where most commands are either hidden in the menus are behind keyboard shortcuts). As it is still in a beta stage, I have definitely experienced some weird bugs here and there - went through a strange period where videos would play audio but not video, issue has been fixed in the latest build - but overall it is quite stable.
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Aug 28 2018
0.0.15.1
5.0
Aug 28 2018
5.0
Version: 0.0.15.1
The fastest video player on Earth!
dmu
dmu
Aug 19 2018
0.0.15.1
0.5
Aug 19 2018
0.5
Version: 0.0.15.1
I tried this out because I wasn't loving VLC so much anymore. Overnight I decided I was ready to make it my default player. And then I went to drive-in movies so my wife could see something she was super excited about. My daughter would be watching her stuff in the back of the car on my laptop and all would be great and brilliant and everyone would be happy. Ten minutes into my daughter's movie, the sound when out. No explanation given. I tried everything. First the headphones cable connection (it's not Bluetooth), the audio source sound levels. Then a different movie file. Unplugging, and plugging the headphones back in. Restarting the computer. I tried everything... as my wife is missing her movie, and while my daughter is complaining and the lights are on in the car at a drive-in. Finally, having exhausted most options, I tried VLC. Worked perfectly. No problems. It was 100% IINA's problem. Not my system. Not my headphones, not my computer. IINA. It's still incapable of playing any audio. I have gone back through and tried every setting. The last thing to do is to trash the preferences, but I decided... why bother? No way am I going to commit to software that is this delicate. So fragile that it breaks on its own and requires a preference dump just to perform its basic function of "play." Sorry, can't live that way. VLC will have to do.
Bipou
Bipou
Aug 14 2018
0.0.15.1
3.0
Aug 14 2018
3.0
Version: 0.0.15.1
Version 1.0.0beta3 released in August 2018 working fine. Website is not updated.
Macfool
Macfool
Jul 4 2018
0.0.15.1
4.5
Jul 4 2018
4.5
Version: 0.0.15.1
v.1.0b2 is released. A few UI warts remain but overall the top of the heap in Mac players. Subjectively better audio quality than VLC, easier to use than FStream, Tiny impact on CPU so nothing heats up. Highly recommended!
dejavuwj
dejavuwj
Jun 23 2018
0.0.15.1
5.0
Jun 23 2018
5.0
Version: 0.0.15.1
Very good player~ better than vlc.
Acerbic
Acerbic
May 21 2018
0.0.15.1
4.5
May 21 2018
4.5
Version: 0.0.15.1
Please add Audio Normalization (Volume Limiter).
Very good replacement for VLC and Movist!
fravig61
fravig61
May 16 2018
0.0.15.1
4.0
May 16 2018
4.0
Version: 0.0.15.1
Very good, but when AirPlay?
Acerbic
Acerbic
Mar 26 2018
0.0.15
4.5
Mar 26 2018
4.5
Version: 0.0.15
Great lightweight, beautiful, fantastic player! Highly recommended!
HansMueller4641
HansMueller4641
Mar 11 2018
0.0.15
4.5
Mar 11 2018
4.5
Version: 0.0.15
finally a Mac-native replacement for VLC - thanks!
siamak01
siamak01
Feb 13 2018
0.0.15
5.0
Feb 13 2018
5.0
Version: 0.0.15
This is fantastic player. It satisfies most of my needs. at very age of its development. Kudos to developer team. Highly recommended.
ma-jur7
ma-jur7
Jan 15 2018
0.0.15
5.0
Jan 15 2018
5.0
Version: 0.0.15
New MPlayerX; easy to CPU, nice interface, power settings!
skiabox
skiabox
Jan 13 2018
0.0.14.1
5.0
Jan 13 2018
5.0
Version: 0.0.14.1
Great lightweight player!
Corecode
Corecode
Jan 1 2018
0.0.14.1
5.0
Jan 1 2018
5.0
Version: 0.0.14.1
1/3 the CPU usage of VLC
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
Oct 17 2017
0.0.14
0.0
Oct 17 2017
0.0
Version: 0.0.14
I did NOT have crashes before. Now with version 0.0.14 I get the crashes this version was supposed to fix. Doh!
evilinstone
evilinstone
Oct 17 2017
0.0.14
4.5
Oct 17 2017
4.5
Version: 0.0.14
Very good replacement for VLC and MPlayer. Thanks!
JBX
JBX
Jun 5 2017
0.0.10
2.5
Jun 5 2017
2.5
Version: 0.0.10
Audio always seems flat (even with set EQ). Video is good and nice UI.
Ervins Strauhmanis
Ervins Strauhmanis
May 3 2017
0.0.5
5.0
May 3 2017
5.0
Version: 0.0.5
Previously Derekcurrie mentioned that he would advise against using an alpha development stage software. I do agree that such software is meant for advanced users and that any great developer (and this project certainly has distinguished devs behind it), would not mark it as such for no reason. As far as my personal experience with IINA goes - I switched to the app from the mpv a while ago and use it as my main and only video player on a daily basis without as much as a hiccup, ever. And without knowing what does IINA really stand for, based on my pleasure of using the player I would render the abbreviation IINA as an "Incredible movable picture Illuminating and Narrating Apparatus". All the best to the devs!
kieran-mm
kieran-mm
Feb 22 2017
0.0.5
5.0
Feb 22 2017
5.0
Version: 0.0.5
Finally!
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Feb 21 2017
0.0.5
0.0
Feb 21 2017
0.0
Version: 0.0.5
Why do we need this when we already have mpv?