Back to Combo Cleaner page
Combo Cleaner free download for Mac

Combo Cleaner Reviews1.3.5

08 July 2020

Antivirus and system optimizer.

mberdine
28 January 2020
Version: 1.2.11

Most helpful

They advertised that their software could remove an annoying popup on my newly-installed Catalina Mac. Every couple of minutes I got a popup telling me I possibly had a virus and said "navlibx" was the culprit, which Combo Clean said their software could fix. In short, it did nothing of the sort. When querying Combo Clean customer service, after multiple attempts to sort this out. I was told it was not a virus but remnants of Norton software on my computer. So, I needed to remove Norton from my computer - since it has not been updated to work with Catalina on Macs. I did so . . . and problem solved, no thanks to Combo Clean, which couldn't find the Norton remnants on my computer. False advertising.
(1)

How would you rate Combo Cleaner app?

Read 21 Combo Cleaner User Reviews

Flavum
08 July 2020
Version: 1.3.5
All the 5-star reviews are fake. I don't give my money to deceptive, shady developers.
(0)
2
aberd
20 June 2020
Version: 1.3.1
crashes all the time - very annoying; uses a lot of resources (especially battery according to apple)
(0)
1
mattics
15 June 2020
Version: 1.3.1
Avoid. Do not even think about purchasing this concussion of a software. Fails to remove adware, and frequently crashes. Do Not Buy.
(0)
1
kelseycalabro1
15 June 2020
Version: 1.3.1
I *NEVER* review anything. Ever. And this is not a review of Combo Cleaner software itself because, I have no idea the efficacy of how it might work for other types of viruses but, I was told it was fix the search marquis virus and after many attempts and troubleshooting, it did not. Please do not buy into this software. So many other systems that work MUCH better. My biggest complaint is their customer support. No phone line, just email and their return policy is satisfaction guaranteed within 30 days. I emailed within twelve hours for a refund and outlined my issues and five days later am STILL fighting them for my $60 back. Do. NOT. Buy. This. Program. They're liars and scammers and hide behind their lack of a phone line so they can keep people's money.
(0)
5
royalvampireblood
04 April 2020
Version: 1.3.1
Great!! Removed malware from my computer!!!! Saved the day! This application is legit and it only took 15 mins to process.
(0)
5
jokersmine2
30 March 2020
Version: 1.3.1
I had a pleasant experience using Combo Cleaner. Search Pulse and MaacClean was taking over - changing my search engine to yahoo with the domain search pulse. Anyway, I got the premium and after an hour of it searching, it got rid of the nine viruses within seconds and restarted and boom! Back to my google search! Thank you!
(1)
1
thevanillaextract
27 March 2020
Version: 1.3.1
Combo Cleaner could not remove or even detect the Microsoft AutoUpdate Mac virus. It did take my $60 though.
(0)
5
fholzkopf
26 March 2020
Version: 1.3.1
Really helped me - I had the trouble that my chrome browser was "managed an organization". Also a strange search engine was enabled that would always run over the redirect "http://search1901451-a.akamaihd.net/" - I chatted to google, but they were only able to help on windows, not mac -.- calling mac support did not work / help -> decided to try it on my own, following a couple of steps explained on howtoremove.com, did not work either, then installed combocleaner, did the virus scan - it found the problem and another security issue, bought the licence for about 50€, activated it and it was done in 2 mins (short shutdown and reboot) - I spent a couple of hours here and had a really bad feeling using chrome, was definitely worth it - high recommendation!
(0)
4
truegrit44
24 March 2020
Version: 1.3.1
It worked! I needed to rid my Chrome browser's default search engine of Akamaihd. Clean My Mac didn't work. I tried following the exhaustive steps provided on websites to remove it myself to no avail. In desperation I purchased the Combo Cleaner Premier. First time running the scan it found it and cleaned it out. Thank God.
(0)
4
cjreftech
15 March 2020
Version: 1.3.1
Had the Bing redirect virus - I was stupid and down loaded an open version of Flash. Most versions of Flash are virus ridden and though I found a clean version. All attempts to delete all the files was next to impossible. Tried everything, even Norton was unable to find it. So not left with to many options. Norton was worthless so after hours of research - Combo Cleaner was the next try. Norton already took care of many issues, but Combo cleaner found 30 more viruses/issues Norton missed. So I did well. Not all software can find everything, hopefully I'll be good for now. 4 stars - a bit pricey for 5 stars.
(0)
5
giliomazliah
23 February 2020
Version: 1.3.1
I had a virus that attacked my web browser (chrome and safari), I tried lots of different types of antivirus to remove it and couldn't, when I contacted combocleaner's customer service they immediately asked for more details on the case and after a few days added a software update that finally resolved Remove the problem and remove the virus, 100% recommend downloading and upgrading the premium to those who have a virus that they can't get rid of (there are other things in the software too, like removing large files that don't need memory, etc.).
(0)
mberdine
28 January 2020
Version: 1.2.11
They advertised that their software could remove an annoying popup on my newly-installed Catalina Mac. Every couple of minutes I got a popup telling me I possibly had a virus and said "navlibx" was the culprit, which Combo Clean said their software could fix. In short, it did nothing of the sort. When querying Combo Clean customer service, after multiple attempts to sort this out. I was told it was not a virus but remnants of Norton software on my computer. So, I needed to remove Norton from my computer - since it has not been updated to work with Catalina on Macs. I did so . . . and problem solved, no thanks to Combo Clean, which couldn't find the Norton remnants on my computer. False advertising.
(1)
Show comment (1)
duboisdirk
16 October 2019
Version: 1.2.11
I had the same experience as Ishapira today. Had almost bought the software Combo Cleaner, but was not allowed bij my bank to subscribe the creditcard amount...
(0)
lshapira
03 October 2019
Version: 1.2.11
Combo cleaner is a scam. took almost 24 hrs to scan to find 11 possible infected sights. To clean the sight you need to upgrade to premium which is 49.95. As you can see from other reviews the amount they charge is different. Don't know why but my bank declined the charges from this co. and froze my account until I called them to see why my account was frozen (they thought the charges seemed suspicious). My thought is that the bank must of had a lot of complaints from this co.
(0)
1
CharlesG3969
23 March 2019
Version: 1.1.8
Too Costly, 80 dollars a year. Nope
(0)
Dr-Sparks
10 February 2019
Version: 1.1.8
https://sensorstechforum.com/remove-basesystem-dmg-virus/

This article claims that a well-known "problem" is a very dangerous virus, and that Combo Cleaner is your saviour. Everywhere else I could find basesystem.dmg discussed it is considered harmless and probably part of macOS normal behaviour when using Time Machine?
(0)
0.5
jimka-issy
13 November 2018
Version: 1.1.8
Combo Cleaner is a dishonest product. I downloaded the free version and ran it. It ran for 2 days, slowing my system down significantly, and identified 24 potential virus threats. When I clicked on the link to list the threats, it informed me that I must upgrade to the premium version to view the threats. Additionally, the run included a search for duplicate files. But Combo Cleaner just identified lots of duplicate files in my git repositories. This seems to be a useless and naive search.
(1)
1
Reboot
07 October 2018
Version: 1.1.8
Had the weknow.ac problem in Safari. homepage stuck at weknow.ac search page. Malwarebytes found nothing wrong. Ran this and all it found was worthless caches and inert apps not affecting anything. It also saw its competitor Malwarebytes as a threat to be deleted. How do I get my money back.
(1)
1.5
orsobou4
18 December 2016
Version: 1.0.5
This is not real freeware. It will cost you $29.99 for a year as soon as you want it to clean up what it has just found while scanning.
(14)
Show comments (2)
5
tomas-24
18 December 2016
Version: 1.0.4
A lot of useful disk cleaning tools accompanied by a powerful antivirus.
(0)
Show comments (2)
anonymous-thrush-1121
16 December 2016
Version: 1.0.4
Malware or viruses
https://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/www.combocleaner.com
(1)
Show comments (5)