Back to Combo Cleaner page
Combo Cleaner free download for Mac

Combo Cleaner Reviews1.3.5

08 July 2020

Antivirus and system optimizer.

How would you rate Combo Cleaner?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
younghyuck
younghyuck
Mar 30 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Mar 30 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
Other than the well-noted functions in detecting and removing the Mac of various malware, they have a very good GUI. If you can afford it (the cost is at the higher-end) it is certainly worth it. I personally had some glitch in memory usage of Mac, so had to withdraw from the usage, in which process they have been most helpful despite the lockdown situation where many businesses have been hit with tardiness.
shawntsuda
shawntsuda
Mar 8 2021
1.3.5
0.0
Mar 8 2021
0.0
Version: 1.3.5
I just got one of those extremely annoying search browser hijackers that take you to Yahoo! for every search. I tried a number of techniques from the internet that didn't work, then downloaded Malwarebytes because it seemed to be universally recommended, which failed to remove the malware. So I tried combo cleaner, which got it on the first try.
scottguiher844
scottguiher844
Feb 22 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 22 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
Tried norton, mcafee and nothing worked. searchmarquis was attached to my Chrome browser. Tried following forum instructions and deleted files from launch agents, application support but in the end I decided to go for the premium of this app and it did it.
jessicaalvi844
jessicaalvi844
Feb 21 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 21 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
Accidentally installed a bunch of crap when trying to install ms office. Installed combo cleaner, scanned and restarted and everything was back to the way it was!
jameskalvin844
jameskalvin844
Feb 18 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 18 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
Was getting apple security breach pop-ups every 10 minutes, scanned my computer and removed everything. Asks for paying for a premium, a bit pricey but still worth it.
franksattler844
franksattler844
Feb 14 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 14 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
I found this app, and it saves me from a new clean install.
rayrichard
rayrichard
Feb 14 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 14 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
My Chrome was attacked by searchbaron. I was recommended Combo Cleaner and it did the job! Uses quite a bit of resources when scanning but other than that works good.
ameliajs
ameliajs
Feb 13 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 13 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
Great customer service. After hours of trying to remove safe finder, installed Combo Cleaner, still had problems after the scan, their representative then connected to my computer and there is no safe finder now.
leahschmella
leahschmella
Feb 13 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 13 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
I downloaded some player update when watching movies online, next thing I now my Safari was opening cybersearch website instead of duckduckgo. After trying to remove files manually with no luck I successfully removed this hijacker with Combo cleaner.
ramonglennr
ramonglennr
Feb 12 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 12 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
Mac was infected with something that opened my Safari and displayed McAfee expired pop-ups. Scanned with combo cleaner - it showed several files marked as adware - removed them and the problem is gone.
amirulshawon40
amirulshawon40
Feb 11 2021
1.3.5
5.0
Feb 11 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.5
1.Found this app when searching for how to remove bing from my browsers. In less than one hour and a restart my computer was back to Google.
leevasneem
leevasneem
Feb 7 2021
1.3.5
1.0
Feb 7 2021
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
It’s absolutely a scam, please do NOT buy this. There is literally no way you can cancel subscription and no contact number or live help chat. And when u email, the response is given by a bot and it’s irritating as all hell. I’m emailed 2 days before my renewal to cancel my subscription but they charged me and only then did they reply and even then it was the bot. Now I’m trying to get a refund but all the did was cancel my subscription. Horrible scam!! Do not and I repeat do NOT buy this
disneydork317
disneydork317
Jan 29 2021
1.3.5
1.0
Jan 29 2021
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
I paid the $50 subscription free, hoping the refund policy would be true and I’d be able to get my money back, but no. It did help remove the virus from my laptop, so at least it did something, but after emailing multiple times, a bot is clearly the one writing messages and it doesn’t even say anything relevant to what I’m requesting. I should have found it suspicious as soon as they charged me for a 6-month subscription and didn’t even have a customer service phone number. I had to call my bank and get a new card in order to avoid getting charged the subscription renewal fee every 6 months. This “cleaner” is clearly just a scam and a lousy attempt at one, too.
irishkaylibee
irishkaylibee
Jan 17 2021
1.3.5
0.0
Jan 17 2021
0.0
Version: 1.3.5
it did absolutely nothing and now i’m out $50. don’t do it
juliencu
juliencu
Dec 30 2020
1.3.5
1.0
Dec 30 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
Would give it 0 stars if I could. DO NOT BUY THIS!! YOU CANNOT UNSUBSCRIBE FROM IT AND IT WILL CONTINUE TO CHARGE YOU EVERY 6 MONTHS EVEN AFTER YOU HAVE UNINSTALLED IT. Plus it ate all my app data once without me asking it to and I lost over 8 years worth of custom photoshop brushes. This program is ass. Don't get it, I'm still trying to find a way to stop it from literally over-drafting my credit card in a pandemic where everyone I know including myself is unemployed and running very low on cash. This application LITERALLY ROBS YOU.
I WANT MY MONEY BACK
I WANT MY MONEY BACK
Dec 19 2020
1.3.5
1.0
Dec 19 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
1) do not buy this product under any circumstances. the fact that they sell a 6-month subscription instead of monthly ones and is super expensive should warn you enough they are trying to make money on a useless product 2) they removed all my reviews for some reason, but I got my money back after lots of back and forth and making a PayPal resolution centre claim. So it's possible.
albertrat-1
albertrat-1
Nov 11 2020
1.3.5
1.0
Nov 11 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
I've been looking for a free malware remover to deal with this abode pop up problem on my mac, googled the problem and that brought me to a plug for Combo Cleaner....sound familiar but when I searched to malware remover Combo Cleaner never even made the list. I decided toread the reveiws, I'm suspitious of what I read andit looks to me that Combo Cleaner is a very poor product at thevery best and scam decent people out of their money, I see some 5 star rave reveiws around March & April 2020, These seem to be fake and put up here by the owners of this terrible product, Please don't fall for this money grabbing scam, there should be an internet policing entity to keep the internet free of scammers but we know it is unsafe and it's buyer beware out here...I did not buy this garbage ...thanks to the great reveiws of them that care for others ..my thanks ...Al...
vincejr79
vincejr79
Sep 22 2020
1.3.5
1.0
Sep 22 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
Horrible. Not worth it. Plenty of better options out there.
nactusrimo
nactusrimo
Sep 14 2020
1.3.5
1.0
Sep 14 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
I forgot to mention its US $50 for every 6 months
nactusrimo
nactusrimo
Sep 14 2020
1.3.5
1.0
Sep 14 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
They charged me US $50 without any notice. what the fuck ! Its equivalent to $68.74 AUD. This is so annoying. I dont even use the software It is just installed on my computer. fuckkkk
jsiehas
jsiehas
Aug 18 2020
1.3.5
1.0
Aug 18 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.5
A JOKE. I accidentally installed a fake flash player into my Macbook which resulted to a highjack software installing into my mac. Anyways, I tried to delete the files and I installed combo cleaner and paid 50 dollars (because it won't let you delete the files unless you pay) and It did nothing. literally nothing. It detects a few files and acts like it deletes the bad files but the virus keeps coming back each time. DOWNLOAD MALWAREBYTES. trust me on this one, it literally detected all of the files (and there was more than 10 bad files) and deletes them for you for FREEEEE. you wont regret it I promise. dont waste your money on this application. Also, I tried canceling my subscription and it took forever to get my money back. I had to keep arguing with them over email until they finally refunded my money. Just download Malwarebytes.
Flavum
Flavum
Jul 8 2020
1.3.5
0.0
Jul 8 2020
0.0
Version: 1.3.5
All the 5-star reviews are fake. I don't give my money to deceptive, shady developers.
aberd
aberd
Jun 20 2020
1.3.1
2.0
Jun 20 2020
2.0
Version: 1.3.1
crashes all the time - very annoying; uses a lot of resources (especially battery according to apple)
mattics
mattics
Jun 15 2020
1.3.1
1.0
Jun 15 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.1
Avoid. Do not even think about purchasing this concussion of a software. Fails to remove adware, and frequently crashes. Do Not Buy.
kelseycalabro1
kelseycalabro1
Jun 15 2020
1.3.1
1.0
Jun 15 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.1
I *NEVER* review anything. Ever. And this is not a review of Combo Cleaner software itself because, I have no idea the efficacy of how it might work for other types of viruses but, I was told it was fix the search marquis virus and after many attempts and troubleshooting, it did not. Please do not buy into this software. So many other systems that work MUCH better. My biggest complaint is their customer support. No phone line, just email and their return policy is satisfaction guaranteed within 30 days. I emailed within twelve hours for a refund and outlined my issues and five days later am STILL fighting them for my $60 back. Do. NOT. Buy. This. Program. They're liars and scammers and hide behind their lack of a phone line so they can keep people's money.
royalvampireblood
royalvampireblood
Apr 4 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Apr 4 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
Great!! Removed malware from my computer!!!! Saved the day! This application is legit and it only took 15 mins to process.
jokersmine2
jokersmine2
Mar 30 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Mar 30 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
I had a pleasant experience using Combo Cleaner. Search Pulse and MaacClean was taking over - changing my search engine to yahoo with the domain search pulse. Anyway, I got the premium and after an hour of it searching, it got rid of the nine viruses within seconds and restarted and boom! Back to my google search! Thank you!
thevanillaextract
thevanillaextract
Mar 27 2020
1.3.1
1.0
Mar 27 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.1
Combo Cleaner could not remove or even detect the Microsoft AutoUpdate Mac virus. It did take my $60 though.
fholzkopf
fholzkopf
Mar 26 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Mar 26 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
Really helped me - I had the trouble that my chrome browser was "managed an organization". Also a strange search engine was enabled that would always run over the redirect "http://search1901451-a.akamaihd.net/" - I chatted to google, but they were only able to help on windows, not mac -.- calling mac support did not work / help -> decided to try it on my own, following a couple of steps explained on howtoremove.com, did not work either, then installed combocleaner, did the virus scan - it found the problem and another security issue, bought the licence for about 50€, activated it and it was done in 2 mins (short shutdown and reboot) - I spent a couple of hours here and had a really bad feeling using chrome, was definitely worth it - high recommendation!
truegrit44
truegrit44
Mar 24 2020
1.3.1
4.0
Mar 24 2020
4.0
Version: 1.3.1
It worked! I needed to rid my Chrome browser's default search engine of Akamaihd. Clean My Mac didn't work. I tried following the exhaustive steps provided on websites to remove it myself to no avail. In desperation I purchased the Combo Cleaner Premier. First time running the scan it found it and cleaned it out. Thank God.
cjreftech
cjreftech
Mar 15 2020
1.3.1
4.0
Mar 15 2020
4.0
Version: 1.3.1
Had the Bing redirect virus - I was stupid and down loaded an open version of Flash. Most versions of Flash are virus ridden and though I found a clean version. All attempts to delete all the files was next to impossible. Tried everything, even Norton was unable to find it. So not left with to many options. Norton was worthless so after hours of research - Combo Cleaner was the next try. Norton already took care of many issues, but Combo cleaner found 30 more viruses/issues Norton missed. So I did well. Not all software can find everything, hopefully I'll be good for now. 4 stars - a bit pricey for 5 stars.
giliomazliah
giliomazliah
Feb 23 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Feb 23 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
I had a virus that attacked my web browser (chrome and safari), I tried lots of different types of antivirus to remove it and couldn't, when I contacted combocleaner's customer service they immediately asked for more details on the case and after a few days added a software update that finally resolved Remove the problem and remove the virus, 100% recommend downloading and upgrading the premium to those who have a virus that they can't get rid of (there are other things in the software too, like removing large files that don't need memory, etc.).
duboisdirk
duboisdirk
Oct 16 2019
1.2.11
0.0
Oct 16 2019
0.0
Version: 1.2.11
I had the same experience as Ishapira today. Had almost bought the software Combo Cleaner, but was not allowed bij my bank to subscribe the creditcard amount...
lshapira
lshapira
Oct 3 2019
1.2.11
0.0
Oct 3 2019
0.0
Version: 1.2.11
Combo cleaner is a scam. took almost 24 hrs to scan to find 11 possible infected sights. To clean the sight you need to upgrade to premium which is 49.95. As you can see from other reviews the amount they charge is different. Don't know why but my bank declined the charges from this co. and froze my account until I called them to see why my account was frozen (they thought the charges seemed suspicious). My thought is that the bank must of had a lot of complaints from this co.
CharlesG3969
CharlesG3969
Mar 23 2019
1.1.8
1.0
Mar 23 2019
1.0
Version: 1.1.8
Too Costly, 80 dollars a year. Nope
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
Feb 10 2019
1.1.8
0.0
Feb 10 2019
0.0
Version: 1.1.8
https://sensorstechforum.com/remove-basesystem-dmg-virus/

This article claims that a well-known "problem" is a very dangerous virus, and that Combo Cleaner is your saviour. Everywhere else I could find basesystem.dmg discussed it is considered harmless and probably part of macOS normal behaviour when using Time Machine?
jimka-issy
jimka-issy
Nov 13 2018
1.1.8
0.5
Nov 13 2018
0.5
Version: 1.1.8
Combo Cleaner is a dishonest product. I downloaded the free version and ran it. It ran for 2 days, slowing my system down significantly, and identified 24 potential virus threats. When I clicked on the link to list the threats, it informed me that I must upgrade to the premium version to view the threats. Additionally, the run included a search for duplicate files. But Combo Cleaner just identified lots of duplicate files in my git repositories. This seems to be a useless and naive search.
Reboot
Reboot
Oct 7 2018
1.1.8
1.0
Oct 7 2018
1.0
Version: 1.1.8
Had the weknow.ac problem in Safari. homepage stuck at weknow.ac search page. Malwarebytes found nothing wrong. Ran this and all it found was worthless caches and inert apps not affecting anything. It also saw its competitor Malwarebytes as a threat to be deleted. How do I get my money back.
orsobou4
orsobou4
Dec 18 2016
1.0.5
1.5
Dec 18 2016
1.5
Version: 1.0.5
This is not real freeware. It will cost you $29.99 for a year as soon as you want it to clean up what it has just found while scanning.
tomas-24
tomas-24
Dec 18 2016
1.0.4
5.0
Dec 18 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
A lot of useful disk cleaning tools accompanied by a powerful antivirus.
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Dec 16 2016
1.0.4
0.0
Dec 16 2016
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
Malware or viruses
https://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/www.combocleaner.com