Back to Luminar AI page
Luminar AI free download for Mac

Luminar AI Reviews

11 August 2021

Powerful, adaptive, configurable image editing.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
mehrshah344
mehrshah344
Aug 27 2021
1.4.1
0.0
Aug 27 2021
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
This website offers a wide range of information to its viewers. Thank you for providing us with this important information. Additionally, keep up the excellent work.
Sam-A-Oregon
Sam-A-Oregon
Aug 11 2021
1.4.1
0.0
Aug 11 2021
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
It appears that Skylum software’s business model is to come out with “totally new products” as opposed to upgrades to the next version. In this way they charge full retail for each “totally new product.” I shelled out for version 4, I won’t for version 5, excuse me, version AI, and whatever they may call each successive “totally new product.” Congratulations. Skylum software came out with something more onerous than the “subscription” business model. Beware and be wary.
lozstew2006
lozstew2006
Jul 15 2021
1.2.0
0.0
Jul 15 2021
0.0
Version: 1.2.0
If it says $99.00, then how do you pay for this if you can't just click the green download button underneath? please explain
ggrobi
ggrobi
Jun 25 2021
1.2.0
0.0
Jun 25 2021
0.0
Version: 1.2.0
Worked straight out of the box. for the mid-2012 MacBook Pro. Great bit of software too bad Apple didn't just allow an automatic upgrade. Many thanks to the people who put in the time and work. P.S. good video as well
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
May 27 2021
1.2.0
3.0
May 27 2021
3.0
Version: 1.2.0
This version is v1.2 of Luminar Ai. Version 2 has been out for months. There is a new update out today May 27 for it. Pretty interesting application.
bellkatherine496
bellkatherine496
May 18 2021
1.2.0
5.0
May 18 2021
5.0
Version: 1.2.0
Great app, it's exactly what I need!
HarperHunt
HarperHunt
May 17 2021
1.2.0
4.0
May 17 2021
4.0
Version: 1.2.0
I liked the quick editing capabilities and AI filters that allow you to quickly adjust images, but one problem with the workflow is that when I plug in the camera's XDSD card, the images cannot be opened by Luminar directly from the SD card. I need to transfer photos from my SD card to my hard drive in order to edit them with Luminar. Hope they fix it soon.
Zx81
Zx81
May 13 2021
1.2.0
2.0
May 13 2021
2.0
Version: 1.2.0
I wonder how much these fake "5 stars-3 words" reviews cost...
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Apr 29 2021
4.3.3
3.0
Apr 29 2021
3.0
Version: 4.3.3
Check around the web, you can get this 'old' version 4 for around $30. The new Ai update has been out for months, stick with this version. Ai is good if you do instagram.
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Apr 10 2021
4.3.3
3.0
Apr 10 2021
3.0
Version: 4.3.3
Luminar Ai has been out since late 2020 now. Its April 2021 now. Go to Skylum's website and thoroughly check out the differences in Ai version and this version 4. There are big differences, some of which you will not like. Looks are now templates, be sure to import from v4 (3 won't work) as you install Ai. They will reside in the 'legacy' folder and you will not see a hierachy therein nor there icons, just a loooong list of yours and import presets. You also CANNOT import your library here. You will have to start from scratch again.....ugh. You however will most likely like the Ai introduced in this new version, its quite amazing. Sticking with LR myself for library purposes and Ai AND 4 for as plugins.
baracksherva
baracksherva
Mar 20 2021
4.3.2
0.0
Mar 20 2021
0.0
Version: 4.3.2
I don't thing anything
tsedilkin
tsedilkin
Feb 11 2021
4.3.2
5.0
Feb 11 2021
5.0
Version: 4.3.2
Very well application! Thanks!
rauliataswin
rauliataswin
Jan 31 2021
4.3.2
5.0
Jan 31 2021
5.0
Version: 4.3.2
Very good
ajmalkarimm
ajmalkarimm
Jan 30 2021
4.3.2
5.0
Jan 30 2021
5.0
Version: 4.3.2
Crazy app I love it.
Weaztek
Weaztek
Jan 27 2021
4.3.2
4.0
Jan 27 2021
4.0
Version: 4.3.2
It has potential, but has several shortcomings as well. I like Luminar 4 for its ability to go through major image overhauls fairly quickly. Sky swap is the biggest & best feature. The ability to browse through LUTs is also very nice. One bug I recently noticed in the Portrait mode is that if you use the Slim Face or Enlarge Eyes sliders it "blurs" the eyes considerably. It's easy to see the difference when you toggle with the preview button. It's too bad because those are sort of nice features for portrait retouching. As it stands the sliders are unusable if you care about eye sharpness in your portraits.
daveyarddave
daveyarddave
Jan 27 2021
4.3.2
2.0
Jan 27 2021
2.0
Version: 4.3.2
Like the product, hate the company. The new Luminar AI is really just an upgrade of Luminar 4, but no upgrade pricing available because they say AI is a new product - not an upgrade. I paid $79 last year for Luminar 4 and now they want another $79 for the NEW Luminar. Then when you go to buy it the default is actually $99...it's set for TWO licenses and unless you investigate and check that obscure one license box they grab an extra $20 for a license you may not need. And don't get me started on the daily spam, or the DAM they promised 3 years ago. It's a shame because I like it, but I'm done with this company and moving on to Pixelmator Pro (I'll live without the sky replacement)
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
Jan 27 2021
4.3.2
0.0
Jan 27 2021
0.0
Version: 4.3.2
Luminar AI or Luminar. The latest version with the latest update in AI is really buggy.
skruse73
skruse73
Dec 26 2020
4.3.0
4.0
Dec 26 2020
4.0
Version: 4.3.0
Sehr übersichtliche und leicht zu verstehende App. Hatte ich mir für meinen MacPro 5,1 geholt. Funktioniert wunderbar und für mich reicht die Free Version aus.
fedostar96
fedostar96
Dec 22 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Dec 22 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
its application a very NICE!
josepaez648
josepaez648
Dec 9 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Dec 9 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
Excellent super.
josephsamuel00000
josephsamuel00000
Nov 14 2020
4.3.0
0.0
Nov 14 2020
0.0
Version: 4.3.0
im thinking luminar it they best app for macbook solusion evrything
ch1327916
ch1327916
Nov 12 2020
4.3.0
3.0
Nov 12 2020
3.0
Version: 4.3.0
I think this is an amazing post and it is useful and learned. In this manner, I might want to thank you for the undertakings that you have made recorded as a hard copy this article. All the substance is completely very much explored. Much appreciated
astalavistane
astalavistane
Nov 11 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Nov 11 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
SUPER!!!!GOOOD!!!!
esedele
esedele
Oct 22 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Oct 22 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
very good program
alltruesolution
alltruesolution
Oct 8 2020
4.3.0
0.0
Oct 8 2020
0.0
Version: 4.3.0
It looks good but have not used it yet.
mrtada19911988
mrtada19911988
Oct 4 2020
4.3.0
0.0
Oct 4 2020
0.0
Version: 4.3.0
Thanks
griffinparmalee11
griffinparmalee11
Sep 24 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Sep 24 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
Man! I love this little app. I was able to bypass my fan problems since I upgraded my hard drive to SSD. Great work and a job well done!
11eunji0426
11eunji0426
Sep 22 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Sep 22 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
cool
jamstone1348
jamstone1348
Sep 20 2020
4.3.0
2.0
Sep 20 2020
2.0
Version: 4.3.0
The Banktivity program has preformed well in the past but recently has stopped downloading the Australian share prices stating that the company they are now using has not included the Australian stock market. They should be putting more emphasis of this issue as Australian partons are not particularly happy with the progress in resolving this problem.
juanjorobledo
juanjorobledo
Sep 17 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Sep 17 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!
lawranceratnayake
lawranceratnayake
Sep 9 2020
4.3.0
5.0
Sep 9 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
simple and easy, yet effective
rachelkudrow1234
rachelkudrow1234
Aug 24 2020
4.2.0
0.0
Aug 24 2020
0.0
Version: 4.2.0
this VPN is really amazing as it's come in budget and its runs over 3000 server when i traveled this helps me a lot i can watch anything anytime without any disturbance it also gives me a good speed. when i started using VPN. i gathered lots of information about it this may help you <a href="https://topvpnprovider.blogspot.com/">bestvpnproviders</a>
reyjef
reyjef
Aug 22 2020
4.2.0
1.0
Aug 22 2020
1.0
Version: 4.2.0
sucks because i can download it and open file but how the hell do i get it to run and this is the same shit im having with my canon printer or any update files i can download and open them but how do i make them run and be there so i can use them automatically or use them at all cause i constantly get bombed with upgrade this and that and i download and open but they are not running or im doing something wrong
minkovmiloslav
minkovmiloslav
Aug 1 2020
4.2.0
5.0
Aug 1 2020
5.0
Version: 4.2.0
amazing app
oliverqwine
oliverqwine
Jun 30 2020
4.2.0
5.0
Jun 30 2020
5.0
Version: 4.2.0
Goood!
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Nov 21 2019
3.1.4
5.0
Nov 21 2019
5.0
Version: 3.1.4
Let me introduce you to Luminar 4. It is so far superior to Luminar 3 that it is starling. Here's a prime example…Luminar 3 would periodically become unstable or even crash when Batch Processing too many pieces (Over 60). Luminar 4 was just able to resize and run the AI filter simultaneously on 280 pieces with no effort at all! The process was very quick and I was able to run Quark at the same time along with Mail and Safari being active in the background with no hesitation or complaint. If you currently have Luminar 3 when you install 4 it will appropriate the Luminar 3 Library, Folders etc with no disruption or alteration. All of 3's functions remain undisturbed. You will not have to reinstall the brushes into 4 as the brushes in 3 are immediately available to you. DO NOT buy from the App Store because it will be sandboxed which will decrease the flexibility and eventually cause a host of other problems. Finally the Support people are simply amazing.
baxsur
baxsur
Nov 21 2019
3.1.4
4.0
Nov 21 2019
4.0
Version: 3.1.4
Great update with cleaner UI.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 14 2019
3.1.2
0.0
Aug 14 2019
0.0
Version: 3.1.2
Removed, out-of-date.
Frankeed
Frankeed
Aug 5 2019
3.1.2
2.0
Aug 5 2019
2.0
Version: 3.1.2
When they rolled out Luminar 3 around the beginning of the year, it was slow and buggy. The last couple of updates to 3.1.2 seem to have solved some of these problems, but they've made no progress on their promises from 2018 that Luminar 3 would support DAM (digital asset management) and allow users to add metadata to images, which is fundamental if you want to be able to find them again. So, I was surprised to get an e-mail with a time-limited offer to pre-order Luminar 4. They haven't even delivered on the promises made before the previous version and they're rolling out a new version. It sounds like a company in over its head saying, "We know we promised metadata entry, but that's boring. Look! We have a new program where you can replace the sky in your photos! All you have to do is pay us $50." This kind of behaviour sets off alarms because it's often followed by announcements such as, "We know we promised to implement DAM and metadata entry, but it was harder than we thought, so we've decided to focus our efforts on making Luminar 4 the best software ever. All you need to do is pay us $50 and you can join us on this exciting journey." If you haven't bought it, I'd advise hanging on to your money until they figure out what they're doing.
poeaaron24
poeaaron24
Jun 24 2019
3.1.1
5.0
Jun 24 2019
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
This software is sooooo easy to use. I love the fact that you have all the presets to choose from instead of having to experiment with a bunch of different and seemingly unrelated sliders. It takes only a few minutes to enhance a photo as opposed to other photo editing software which you almost have to have a PhD to know how to use.
Minerva-in-love
Minerva-in-love
Jun 21 2019
3.1.1
5.0
Jun 21 2019
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Fast, easy to use. Works with all the RAW formats I use
JohnieIsASuperman
JohnieIsASuperman
Jun 21 2019
3.1.1
5.0
Jun 21 2019
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
I would recommend all Skylum products because they pay attention to detail. Their products allow you to transform images into fantastic works of art in a very short time. You do not need to be a professional photo editor to get great looks with Skylum leading the way.
Reuben-007
Reuben-007
Jun 21 2019
3.1.1
5.0
Jun 21 2019
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Great software. It is very functional and intuitive, and no monthly subscription fees!
Willy-Software-Addict
Willy-Software-Addict
Jun 20 2019
3.1.1
5.0
Jun 20 2019
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Easy to use, great results, even if you only use the presets. Catalogue function also very easy to handle, even if you have large amounts of pictures. Recommended for everybody, who doesn't want to spend his time with reworking pictures but going out and take some....
RobertS5698
RobertS5698
Jun 20 2019
3.1.1
5.0
Jun 20 2019
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
The software is doing exactly what was promised and it is getting better with each upgrade. Easy and fun to use; several easy ways to do creative artistry without a lot of difficulty.
Alina-(Skylum-Team)
Alina-(Skylum-Team)
Jun 20 2019
3.1.1
0.0
Jun 20 2019
0.0
Version: 3.1.1
New Luminar 3.1.1 update brings usability and speed improvements. With this update, you can expect improved launch times, better reliability and more to make your workflow easier and more reliable. Mac users can update to version 3.1.1 by choosing Luminar 3 in the top menu bar, and then clicking “Check for updates.”
foolishservant
foolishservant
Jun 11 2019
3.1.1
4.5
Jun 11 2019
4.5
Version: 3.1.1
Can't explain all the whining here but I'm new and BLOWN AWAY!!! Just lacks skewing, unless I haven't figured that out and lens correction. Even without it, I'll avoid the Adobe subscription. Thank you for a fabulous product!!!
Zx81
Zx81
Mar 17 2019
3.0.2
2.0
Mar 17 2019
2.0
Version: 3.0.2
I reverted to Luminar 2018 to edit my images and it can do some interesting things ; Luminar 3 is slow, buggy. Skylum should not have tried to be a replacement for LR.
lcarter879
lcarter879
Mar 6 2019
3.0.2
0.0
Mar 6 2019
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
I've been using Luminar since Nov. 2018 and have truly enjoyed the app. Luminar is truly an editing tool geared towards all level of photographers. A library panel to organize your images, convenient workspaces that provide recommend tools for your photography, and of course the Luminar Looks provide one-click tools to give you a great starting point on your editing. The latest update has brought some improvements to Luminar. Performance speed has improved, a new backup created each time you open Luminar, improved RAW support, and (my favorite) Aurora HDR integration. The support team at Skylum is always there to answer any questions you might have about the program, they also offer great Webinars and tutorials on the companies YouTube Channel to help you learn Luminar and enhance your photography and photo editing skills. Luminar is a great editing tool for the price. You an download the program for a 30 day trial and see how you like the program.
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
Feb 3 2019
3.0.1
2.0
Feb 3 2019
2.0
Version: 3.0.1
Such shame. I have liked using Luminar since it came out. However, my experience with them has been dreadfully soured by their treatment of their customers since they base Skylum. I bought v2018 based on the expectation of the DAM component, which had been promised for early 2018. They did manage to ease the pain a little by not charging again for v3, but as I understand it, they will be producing a chargeable v2020 at some point. Despite the advertising information stating that it's 'buy once, enjoy forever for free'. They use stealth upgrade tactics by renaming products to charge for upgrades. I'd rather they be honest, and say that version upgrades are chargeable (I have no issue with buying software and future upgrades, if they present reasonable value). To the software itself, the DAM has failed to deliver compared to their initial promises, and they haven't listened to any concerns expressed in their forums over design matters that had been revealed. Stability is painful at the moment, and it is pretty mush unusable for many users. You can make use of it as an extension by deleting the DAM library files though, which makes it stable enough for that. It's a real shame, because once you do get it to work, it does a very good job of editing images, and has a plethora of excellent tools and presets. Let's hope they can turn this around and deliver on their promises.