Back to Glider page
Glider free download for Mac

Glider Reviews

1.0.4
23 June 2014

Fly paper airplanes.

Anonymous
27 April 2005

Most helpful

This game is the love of my life. I've played it since I was four and it's still good. If you have kids put them on this before any of that violent crap and they'll grow up to be good people.
Like (1)
Version 4.0

Read 64 Glider User Reviews

Rate this app:

Xenophile
23 June 2014
Another great game for children: fold a piece of paper into a paper airplane, and fly it around objects in the room! It's also over 100x cheaper than this silly game.
Like
Version 1.0.4
umaromc
01 December 2011
What I'm not getting is that this publisher's website, "softdorothy", doesn't mention the author's name and the AUTHOR'S website, http://homepage.mac.com/calhoun/Glider%20PRO.html states that Glider PRO is FREE with links to downloads for the OS X and OS 9 versions. You can play for free online as well since one Mark Arenz teamed up with Calhoun, the game's owner after Cassidy & Greene went under, to create a FREE, Flash-based version; http://www.ridiculopathy.com/games.php?gamename=glider
Like (1)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Adreitz
Adreitz
01 December 2011
This game is not Glider Pro. I haven't tried it yet, but from the screenshot it looks like a reimagined version of the original black & white Glider 1.0 from the late 80's. I used to play that game on my dad's SE/30!
Like (1)
Adreitz
Adreitz
01 December 2011
Just forgot to mention that "Soft Dorothy Software" was the (fake) publisher's name that calhoun used in the about box of the original Glider program. I don't believe it was used in any of the later versions. Also, calhoun has always been very modest about publicizing himself, putting his name in lower case and generally being hard to find anything out about. (According to Wikipedia, he's also currently working for Apple, which might have something to do with it.)
Like (1)
Mac007
Mac007
02 May 2014
The only link that works is the second one.
Like
Noraa
01 December 2011
It's alive! Perhaps not free anymore (but for $1.99 - can you really complain?), but works on Lion, has high-res graphics, and is just generally awesome. Ahh, nostalgia is wonderful
Like
Version 1.0
Mac007
01 December 2011
Nice little game from the past but it tends to run a little jerky on my Intel MacPro with OS 10.7.2 and 7GB's of memory. Since this is only version 1.0 I'm hopeful it will improve.
Like
Version 1.0
Neutralzone
01 December 2011
Description is inaccurate...I remained addicted to this game long after childhood! :) Nice to see it back.
Like
Version 1.0
-M-S-
28 July 2010
So cool to see this still running great under Mac OS X 10.6.4. A blast from the past!
Like
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Trevor
MacUpdate-Trevor
28 September 2011
No longer running on Mac OS X 10.7 since it's PPC only, but word is that it's coming to iOS. I can't wait. This one was one of my favorite games as a kid.
Like
Machacker
16 September 2006
It makes me sad that Cassady and Greene needed to go bankrupt. They had Pieces of the best mac software EVER. And im just glad to see this again on my OSX - Even free!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
30 September 2005
cool game. i like it very much!
Like
Version 4.0
Nano
03 August 2005
Two different browsers reported a faulty link & no download even started. The browsers were Safari & Internet Explorer.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
22 June 2005
I've been playing this since childhood, on an old LC II, but know it's for OSX! This is great guys, you should at least try it. (I still have the floppy discs from the old version!)
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
21 June 2005
I love this game!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
27 April 2005
This game is the love of my life. I've played it since I was four and it's still good. If you have kids put them on this before any of that violent crap and they'll grow up to be good people.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Elanna
21 August 2004
Thank you for creating Glider and Glider Pro
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
27 March 2004
This game really brings back the memories. I love it! One of the best, original games ever created, unlike some of the 3D slop that's being released these days. Many thanks to John Calhoun to releasing this for free!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
17 November 2003
i used to play this when i was young. great game, thanks for releasing it as freeware!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
16 November 2003
There is no Windows version and there is a 9 version. Its on the closed down cassidy and greene site. Their giving away copies for free because their out of buisness. I have the first copy of this game of floppies. Good game, been playing it for years
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
asmeurer-1
asmeurer-1
30 June 2004
There is a Windows version on their website.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
03 November 2003
i like this game a lot. i play on it with my friends at school, but does it work on Windows?
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 February 2004
There is a Windows version posted by John at http://homepage.mac.com/calhoun/ . It is an older version most likely for 3.1 or 95, but you can always give it a try......after all, XP still carries a LOT of 3.1 code.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
07 October 2003
If you issue a GetInfo against the Glider Pro OS X version, you will see no version number specified in the GetInfo window. If you issue a GetInfo against the OS 9 version of Glider Pro, you will see that it is version 1.1.2. There is no version 9.
Like
Version 4.0
Ardillero
07 October 2003
My version says it's Glider Pro 9. The demo mode which runs completely through the house is very nifty, but the one with the single room looks impossible to get the star. Where exactly are you supposed to enter the serial number (it must be a secret)? As a lifetime aficienado of paper airplanes, I can appreciate this whimsical game. Building the houses looks challenging, but how about a new version that lets you create your own airplanes? Looks like an enjoyable game, once you get the hang of it. Imaginative.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
06 October 2003
This game is not interesting, has bad graphics, has bad midi music, and is not difficult. Overall, this game is just a waste of time. Maybe it is good for children though, but doubt it.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
05 October 2003
Update- finally got it to recognize the number. Looks like a great game. Would be nice with some documentation. May take awhile to figure out the configuration.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
05 October 2003
would be nice if the registration number was accepted. It asks for a 13 digit number. I type in the 14 digit number included with the game and it says it is incorrect. Tired over and over again with no results. Can't rate.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
05 October 2003
sweeet...gosh the memories
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
05 October 2003
I used to play glider on my old IIcx in system 6.0.4 in 1989... with a whole 16 colors and 1MB ram... glad to see glider & glider pro being rereleased for free...
Like
Version 4.0
Bastibense
05 October 2003
Woot! Ten years back (when I was six years old) I used to play Cristal Quest and Glyder, sometimes even Sky Shadow (anyone remember that? :). OLD SCHOOL!!!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
04 October 2003
My jaw dropped when I saw John Calhoun had released Glider as freeware. What a boon! Playing it now reminds me of the fun I had with it when I was fifteen (playing Glider and Crystal Quest led me straight to state college instead of the ivy league :). Thanks for the memories and the creative effort!
Like
Version 4.0
Dremwkr
04 October 2003
A favorite. Well done! A game that sould be on every mac!
Like
Version 4.0
Michael-Welsh
04 October 2003
John, you're a prince of a fellow to offer Glider-Pro 4.0 free. I remember playing it when I had a MacPlus and have never gotten over the addiction. This is a truly great, Macintosh game. And, check out the merchandise on John‘s site. Good stuff!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
04 October 2003
"In a Cheesey Sort of Way?" ???? To the person who posted that response, you simply don't have much background with the Mac. Glider was one of the best games on Mac or PC (it was never released for PC in the beginning) at its debut. I suppose you're an UT2003 junkie. That's all Great. However, you need to try to understand the roots of it all, of which Glider was a major part. AND, games such as Glider could REALLY stand a COMEBACK with the current dearth of such games, and the longing of the community for a simply innocent, yet fun & detailed game.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
30 August 2003
An awesome nonviolent game. Fun and challenging for all ages. It is a nice change of pace from the violence found in other games. I played this game on my classic. When I went to PC I bought the PC version. Now I am back to mac and am thrilled it is available for OS X. Thanks John Calhoun!
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
15 August 2003
Verry good, in a cheesy kind of way. Verry FREE!! Verry entertaining. Did I mention it was FREEEEEEEEEEE!!?
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
05 August 2003
Okay, now who can port the cheat editor from OS 9 so we can max everything out (planes, bands, batts, etc.)? My kid's playing the "edited" (hacked) Classic version and having a grand time flying through rooms I'll never get to on my OS X machine---unless someone can update the Editor! (-:,
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
04 August 2003
This is great. I still have the original where you had to get passed a cat and other obstacles. It was in black and white and I would play it on mac os 7 I think.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
03 August 2003
prior to Mac OS X, i was never a mac user, and so i didn't get to play this game when it came out, but it's definitely one of the greatest cheesy Mac games ever. it's good to see that it was ported to Mac OS X, so that people can continue to be amused by and enjoy this game. thank you, John Calhoun.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Trogdor
02 August 2003
This is one of the greatest games I have ever played. I registered the game and used to play it nonstop way back when it was first released. Now that it has been re-released for OS X, my love for the game has been rekindled. Plus, now everyone can experience the love that I have for the game, now that it is free. Also, last but not least, this version is much more stable than the ones previously released for OS X, although I have gotten the occasionaly crash when I leave the game alone for a few minutes.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
01 August 2003
Ditto to what the others have said. I used to play this on my Dad's old LC - it was great fun! A big thank-you for making it free; it's very generous of you.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
31 July 2003
John Calhoun, you are awesome! I've played Glider on my LC years ago and loved it. Thank you so much for releasing it as freeware!
Like
Version 3.1.2
jnaron3
31 July 2003
I never played Glider Pro much, but the original Glider was one of my favorites. Glider Pro is the same thing, but better, and now it's free! Thank you for your generosity. It is such a pity that more developers don't make such generous contributions to the community. Kudos to you!
Like
Version 3.1.2
MikeWelsh
31 July 2003
Again, thank you for your generosity.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
31 July 2003
Absolutely GREAT game! I spent all my time yesterday playing this. It's a miracle that I stopped now to write this review. Must continue! :)
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
31 July 2003
More proof of the nets power to inspire...
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
John, thanks for re-releasing this for OS X. I had spent many enjoyable hours in 9 playing with this! I'm glad it's back
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
John, thanks so much for doing this. This game is an important part of Mac history, if you ask me. I can even play it under Basilisk II -- the free 68K Mac emulator on a PC (and of course, on my macs, too).
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
Glider Pro is a terrific game. I haven't played it since I was on OS 9, but with its availability for OS X -- and freeware to boot! -- I've downloaded it and know I'll have many happy hours with it. Thanks to the creator for such a wonderfully generous gift.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
THX a lot, John, it's still a great fun game :-)
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
I have such fond memories of this game from my days learning the Mac on a IIcx. It's very kind of you to gift us all with a free version to run on our new hardware and OSX. Thanks for hours of fun!
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
Simple, non-violent and ADDICTING
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
So at least one good thing has come out of the demise of Cassady & Greene. A big "Thank You!" to John Calhoun for being such a cool guy and making this awesome game available for free.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anonymous
30 July 2003
The game downloads as a disk image that opens in OS X---there's no need to start Classic at all. I've missed this game since the days I played it on a B&W Mac Plus---great to see it back, in color, for System 10! John Calhoun rocks for posting it as freeware now that C&G has gone belly-up.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Papyjac1
30 July 2003
J'ai joué ce jeu en noir et blanc sur un Mac SE ... Il ya fort longtemps ! Mais je constate que son auteur a su le faire évoluer de façon magistrale. Bravo !!!
Like
Version 3.1.2