Back to VLC Media Player page
VLC Media Player free download for Mac

VLC Media Player Reviews

3.0.8
21 August 2019

Popular multimedia player.

Jazzyguy
26 October 2008

Most helpful

M-Rick: Thanks for Movist. It works great on all Movies including AVI and MP4 I really like the way it displays the films and although VLC is good Movist seems to be better.
Like (21)
Version 0.9.5

Read 1123 VLC Media Player User Reviews

Rate this app:

blancaberger
14 October 2019
My old but loyal player)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8
DragonMaster
08 September 2019
Hell of a fine tool!
Like
Version 3.0.8
Aeschylus
20 August 2019
On their website: VLC 3.0.8 is the eight update of "Vetinari": Fix stuttering for low framerate videos Improve adaptive streaming support Fix WebVTT subtitles rendering Improve audio output on macOS &iOS It also fixes security issues: 13 issues, including 5 buffer overflows we fixed. 11 CVEs were assigned and addressed.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8
Spudfry
31 July 2019
Broken in Mojave 10.14.6 - menu distortion & bad colour artefacting make it impossible to use menus while any kind of video is on.
Like
Version 3.0.7.1
4 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
07 August 2019
I'm running on 10.14.6 right now, have not seen that problem with distortion of menus. This is on three different Macs, all running 10.14.6 and VLC 3.0.7.1. One mac has AMD Radeon video, the other nvidia Geforce, the third Intel UHD 630...so it doesn't seem like video hardware is impactful. I've been running x264, x265 (HEVC) encoded videos up to 4K resolution, on standard monitors and high resolution (retina) displays
Like
Panico
Panico
10 August 2019
Hi, just a guess: do you have 'Automatically adjust brightness' on (Display in System Preferences) or Automatic switching (Macbook) or changed your display profile? See discussions on Apple forum
Like
meco-jon51
meco-jon51
18 August 2019
Same problem. I have macOS Mojave 10.14.6 and card Invidia GeoForce.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
21 August 2019
@Spudfry are you also using nVidia graphics? If so, can't be a coincidence, I suspect this is an Apple issue. Mojave + nVidia + Metal graphics has been a battle. Apple and nVidia have divorced each other, driver support from nVidia is spotty at best. Very few nvidia cards are 'officially' supported in Mojave, and the list will grow even shorter with Catalina. The nvidia system I tried it on is a 2013 iMac with Geforce GT 750M.
You and @meco-jon51 may want to try the 10.14.6 supplemental update that just came out in early August, if you haven't already. Off chance there is a new driver in that update.

There are so many other quirky things broken in 10.14.6, really wished I had stayed on 10.14.5 myself; been contemplating restoring from my clone....
Like
Derekcurrie
23 July 2019
Just so you know: There is a pending security patch for VLC being developed. Theoretically, the security hole (CVE-2019-13615) can lead to a buffer overflow (the usual...). “'A remote, anonymous attacker can exploit a vulnerability in VLC to execute arbitrary code, create a denial of service state, disclose information, or manipulate files,' according to a release by German security agency CERT-Bund posted over the weekend."

So far, there are no exploits in-the-wild. But keep an eye out for a VLC update past v3.0.7.1.

ARTICLE:
VLC Media Player Plagued By Unpatched Critical RCE Flaw
https://threatpost.com/vlc-media-player-plagued-by-unpatched-critical-rce-flaw/146611/
Like
Version 3.0.7.1
poeaaron24
24 June 2019
My fav player!
Like
Version 3.0.7.1
Aargl
12 June 2019
If anyone is interested, I've found the Changelog page: https://www.videolan.org/developers/vlc-branch/NEWS
Like (2)
Version 3.0.7.1
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
13 June 2019
"Changes between 3.0.7 and 3.0.7.1:"
----------------------------------
Access:
* Update libbluray to 1.1.2

macOS:
* Fix bluray java menu playback regression in 3.0.7

Video Output:
* Fix hardware acceleration with some AMD drivers
* Improve direct3d11 HDR support
Like
Dellsuxx
10 June 2019
MacUpdate Is downloading wrong version 3.0.3! should be 3.0.7.
Like
Version 3.0.7
Aargl
31 March 2019
Well, let's face the truth: one year has passed since v3.0 and the bugs are still there... :-( Nothing has moved since I filed my bug 3 months ago, the least we can say is that the pace of development is quite slow. So sad, but I tend to use more and more VLC's rivals.
Like
Version 3.0.6
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
20 August 2019
3.0.8: the song remains the same... :-(
Even worse: my live TV streams are now out of sync.
Back to 2.2.8 once again.
Like
diamondrogue
15 February 2019
VLC has proven over and over to be the most versatile player I have ever used with the video and audio adjustment capability I have been able to use clips that would have otherwise been unusable. Thank you
Like (1)
Version 3.0.6
Mcr
15 January 2019
Went back to version 2.2.8. I use a feature whereby if you place the cursor on the timeline bar, using the scroll button on mouse up and down will advance time forward and backward. In 2.2.8 the motion is smooth, and the increments predictable. In 3.0.6 it will work sometimes, then other times the time marker will jump randomly to a spot far ahead (or behind) what you would expect based on the degree of motion on the scroll, sometimes as much as 30+ minutes ahead or back, when at most it should have incremented a minute give or take (compared to 2.2.8).

This is a deal breaker for me, as I use this feature constantly to review short, specific clips over and over. I'm a little hard of hearing, so when I'm watching a video, often I miss something or can't make it out unless I hear it repeated a few times, so this feature to be able to quickly scroll back in very short increments is useful. Yes, I know you can click on the timeline bar, but the granularity is not as fine as using the scroll feature. For a 2 hour movie, clicking even the slightest amount on either side of the current time marker still results in a jump of several minutes or more, instead of seconds. This is on a Mac mini 2018 with the i7 upgrade, so I know it is not due (or shouldn't be) to CPU or video lag. it has been reported (actually had already reported it when 3.0.0 came out)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.6
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
25 January 2019
Nice feature indeed! ;-) I've never used it before, but now that I've tried it, I understand your frustration and it's definitely another argument for not switching to v3.
Well, in the end, v3 does not bring amazing improvements, so better stick with the old one. ;-)
Like
Aargl
11 January 2019
I encourage every VLC users here to report any issue at https://forum.videolan.org/
As VLC3 is getting better, I've filed my issue about .ts audio being out of sync: https://forum.videolan.org/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=147595
We can't expect using great freeware such as VLC without spending some of our time reporting bugs. ;-)
I suppose that when they have enough reports about a specific issue they focus on it...
This is the only issue I've found, but it's a fundamental one for my use case, so I keep relying on v2.2.8 until it's fixed.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.6
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
08 June 2019
... and the bug is still there in 3.0.7.
So I take back what I said about reporting issues to the forum, it's blatantly useless. :-(
Like
Aargl
Aargl
12 June 2019
Changes between 3.0.7 and 3.0.7.1:
----------------------------------
Access:
* Update libbluray to 1.1.2

macOS:
* Fix bluray java menu playback regression in 3.0.7

Video Output:
* Fix hardware acceleration with some AMD drivers
* Improve direct3d11 HDR support

So trying it is useless...
Like
Aargl
27 December 2018
Looks like 3.0.5 finally fixed every issue! If you were a v2 user, you HAVE TO reset the prefs to start anew, otherwise you'll have issues (mainly with subtitles). If you want your settings to be permanent, you MUST set them with no video loaded, otherwise they won't stick. There's only one issue left with subtitles: you can't set a colored background as permanent setting, only through the menu — which apply only to the current video. I bet you could manually edit the pref file to get it back, but I think I can live without that... ;-) Resuming playback position works with every format I've tested, so I don't see any reason to stick to v2, this time. Hopefully we won't discover new bugs...
Like
Version 3.0.5
3 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
28 December 2018
Oh noooooo, not again... :-(
Just after writing my review, new trial with multilingual .ts: audio gets out of sync when I switch to a different language!
C'mon, VLC devs, do something good! Grrrrrrr! :-p

P.S.: I've checked this many times, in a clean account too, with .ts files. If you don't use .ts files, you might not meet this issue...
Like
Aargl
Aargl
28 December 2018
Looks like remuxing the .ts file into .mkv makes audio syncing...
Like
Mcr
Mcr
28 December 2018
When 3.0 was first released with all its issues, I said it would take at least 6 months to a year to reach pre-3.0 stability and usability levels. Well it's been about 6 months and we have the 5th update of 3.0. Maybe time to try it again.

So just bought a MacMini 2018, with the i7, hex core, 12 thread upgrade and 32GB ram. Will give VLC 3.0.5 a spin this weekend, although since having installed Plex server and loaded my video library into that, I find I hardly use VLC anymore for entertainment viewing; but basically just to do quick views of short clips or to check the quality of a rip, or videos that I may not want to add to my plex video library permanently just yet until I decide whether to keep it.
Like
Brooklyn-Al
27 December 2018
Still showing version 3.04 upon download not 3.05.
Like
Version 3.0.5
7 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
27 December 2018
Was just coming here to make the same note: Videolan is still showing 3.0.4 as the latest download, so be careful here. This could be genuine from a different Videolan source, or it could be wrong posting ,or a hacked version. Maybe still a beta.
Like
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
27 December 2018
I downloaded it directly from VideoLan webpage.....still version 3.04
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
27 December 2018
I have noticed that this happens quite often here on MacUpdate. I don't know if it is just due to human error, but they seem to frequently post version numbers which are just slightly ahead of the latest official release of an app. Yet when you download it, as has been discussed here, it is actually the last official release, and not a new release. Sometimes I wonder if MacUpdate does this intentionally, just so folks will download from their site. :)
Like
Scion777
Scion777
27 December 2018
same thing - only 3.0.4 at the official site - beware!!!
until an explanation is posted .....
Like
Aargl
Aargl
27 December 2018
Thank you all for pointing this out! :-)
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
27 December 2018
Just went to Videolan.org again and it's now showing 3.0.5 as the download version. S, In this case, MacUpdate published a little ahead of the main site.
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
27 December 2018
Indeed! Just a matter of hours... :-)
I've recently seen the same case with another app (Waterfox, if I remember well): I suppose some devs warn MU even before they update their own site! :-o
Like (1)
showduke
06 December 2018
Logiciel indispensable pour lectures vidéos. Prend en charges tous les formats. En plus, il est gratui
Like
Version 3.0.4
Lumac
22 September 2018
Plays allmost ALL videos without glitches and bugs and with ALL audio! I use this app since first release!
Like
Version 3.0.4
kolkataroy
22 September 2018
excelent
Like
Version 3.0.3
L0xby
10 June 2018
3.0 is a total garbage fire of an update. Will most likely take another year before it reaches stable parity to 2.2.8.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Aargl
31 May 2018
VLC 3.0.3 is globally usable but the biggest issue I've found is with the colors for .srt subtitles: the settings for Mac rendering in the advanced prefs seem gone, while the subtitles menu finally works — which is a good thing — but it's not saved and you have to set it again on next launch... :-/ Enough for me to revert once again to good old v2.2.8.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
George6
31 May 2018
how about the weird bug, that with some videos the fast forward step keyboard shortcut skips the whole video, while with some videos it steps just a second? to me v3 is a bit of a mess. it seems the vlc team is just concerned with techie nuts and bolts while terrible usability/ui bugs stay unnoticed. vlc always was the best player out there but now i'm looking out for alternatives.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
2 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
31 May 2018
Have you tried IINA? I have it installed along with VLC, and find it to be quite stable with my needs. It was recommend to me by someone who was a VLC user and got tired of the security holes and instabilities they were experiencing.
Like (1)
George6
George6
01 June 2018
I actually chose IINA already as my replacement. It even has the VLC shortcuts as a preset. We'll see if it beats the good old VLC 2.
Like (1)
davidvh
30 May 2018
Great app. A must have for Mac owners. How does one get rid of the second play window in version 3? I've had to revert back to 2.2.8.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
2 answer(s)
Jcraig
Jcraig
30 May 2018
This is not meant to be an attack on you, but I am curious why you would rate v.3 of this software at 5 stars when you admit to issues causing you to revert to v.2? A false rating doesn't seem helpful to those considering updating.
Like (1)
davidvh
davidvh
31 May 2018
Not sure this is a bug. Is the feature intended? Apparently it can be turned off in previous versions... perhaps that's the way its supposed to be.
Like
LeroyMorrison
15 May 2018
A must have and the first install for me whenever I get a new Mac. I haven't been able to find a video format that it wasn't able to play.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Mcr
14 May 2018
Version 3.0.2 is still too buggy for me, IMO. Tried, reverted back to 2.2.8. At the rate this is going, it might be another 6 months before 3.x reaches the stability and usability level of version 2.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Aargl
14 May 2018
As I mentioned earlier, VLC 3.0.2 fixes a lot of bugs from v3.0, but some still remain like one I've spotted in the Video Effects window: cropping is behaving weirdly.
As it is a function I'm using a lot while playing movies on my 16:10 display, I've reverted once again to v2.2.8, hoping for the best in the next 3.0.3 update. ;-)
Like
Version 3.0.2
George6
09 May 2018
I must say since version 3 VLC is very buggy. A lot of small things are not working. Keystrokes get lost or mixed up, The same for Video Effects...
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
4 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
12 May 2018
VLC 3.0.2 fixes a lot of bugs, but I agree with you about Video Effects, cropping is behaving weirdly...
Like
Macinman
Macinman
14 May 2018
I'm posting here just to get some feedback on a macupdate issue. I don't seem to be receiving emails anymore from macupdate on apps I'm following being updated. Did MU quit this feature, or did they break something?
Thanks for any help.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
14 May 2018
Dunno... Actually, I didn't know that option existed! :-D
You'll probably want to click on the Support link, bottom right on this page. ;-)
Like
George6
George6
14 May 2018
well.. for me vlc3 has too many annoying bugs. i downgraded to vlc2 and will wait until they get their things together. they even didn't manage to fix the hanging if you move/delete a file from the playlist. a bug existing for years, reported multiple times.
Like
Aargl
08 May 2018
MU> VLC 3.0.2 has been out since 2018-04-23... http://www.videolan.org/news.html#news-2018-04-23 Says "More than 150 bugs were fixed since the 3.0.0 release"! I think I'll give it a (careful) try soon. ;-)
Like
Version 3.0.1
Scrivens
09 April 2018
Getting a black screen during replay of some mpg and other files, but which work as normal under 2.2.8. Have totally deleted VLC 3.0 a couple of times and reinstalled in case it is a preferences or plist problem, but has made no difference. back to 2.2.8 for the time being. I've also had numerous crashes and hangs with 3.0x, which were almost unknown for me in any of the 2.x versions, so it looks like 3.x still has a way to go.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
08 May 2018
Thanks for the review! I was about to re-test v3, but it looks like it's better to keep waiting... ;-)
Like
George6
26 March 2018
another bug is that if you move or delete a file which is on the playlist, vlc hangs forever and you have to force quit it. i reported that multiple times, but in vain...
Like
Version 3.0.1
OhEssex
25 March 2018
I do like VLC, but it has a *really* annoying bug, and it's been there about a decade now. Many movies that contains a few foreign language scenes (but not all of them) do not display English subtitles during those scenes when viewed using VLC. DVDPlayer just works in that regard, and always has. The topic keeps coming up in the VLC forums and the developers (admittedly doing all of their fine work for free) haven't found the right motivation to fix it. Even very recent movies that contain such foreign language segments such as "Call Me By Your Name" simply cannot be viewed in VLC. So annoying...
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Bruce-y
Bruce-y
25 March 2018
I will need to watch for this situation. Until reading your post, I've been 'blaming' the subtitles for not showing the foreign language scenes. I'd never thought it might be VLC. My aggravation was misdirected it seems. Thx. Looks like we need more folks to send feedback to VLC on this one.
Like
Rikyman
04 March 2018
The new VLC Look is a welcome one, this is the best free multi-format app I know.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
Macinman
01 March 2018
According to VideLan's site, version 3.0.1 is out. Has anyone tried it to see if any of the initial bugs are fixed? Since I haven't had a lot of problems here, I haven't noticed any big differences.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
2 answer(s)
Demolition
Demolition
01 March 2018
I tried 3.0.1 and it does feel slightly more stable during use, but I'm now getting constant crashes on exit. That was an issue that plagued 3.0.0 on Windows (and was fixed in 3.0.1), but has now migrated to the Mac version.

As a result, I'm still using 2.2.8.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
01 March 2018
I've used 3.0.1 for a while today, without crashes or other strange issues to date. I can say however, when it comes to VLC crashing for me, it was mostly in the early days of high Sierra under version 2x. One thing I have done when having a backup solution to VLC stability issues, is to have IINA (Mac specific) installed, and a few other media players. I think part of VLC's issue is they try and make it run on as much as possible without focusing on a specific platform. Seems like that works good for some things, but others it leads to a lot of different kinds of issues.

As far as Serious Media playback, I use inFuse Pro on my Apple TV's because that's where my 5.1 speakers are.
Like
Mcr
14 February 2018
Hmm..a flurry of 'new' users to MacUpdate, all signing up on the same day Feb 12, giving 5 star reviews of VLC 3.0 but no other posts, only VLC. Resulting as of today, a 4 star overall rating for the current 3.0 version, which has OBVIOUS and glaring bugs and issues. Hmm..just say'in.

Head over to VideoLAN and review the bug list for 3.0 so far, you read some of them, and you say 'Really?..How did that not get caught in testing?" Don't get me wrong, I'm a VLC supporter (I have donated) and advocate, but boy, this 3.0 release has been / is really sloppy.
Like (7)
Version 3.0.0
4 answer(s)
nmassello-1
nmassello-1
16 February 2018
Agreed. Even allowing for its dot zero status, it's still too buggy to have been let out of beta.
Like (2)
Aargl
Aargl
16 February 2018
I confess I came back to 2.2.8 too.
Like (1)
legy
legy
28 February 2018
just downloaded 3.0.1 , maybe some bugs have been fixed ,
Like
Aargl
Aargl
23 March 2018
@legy: is everything ok with 3.0.1?
Like
philip-kindred
14 February 2018
Fantastic player! I have been using it for years. It works stable, supports almost all formats. 5 stars
Like
Version 3.0.0
robzein
14 February 2018
It is simply the best for all platforms!!!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
mariemorton
12 February 2018
Perfect player, usually it is one of first apps I install.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.0
shellyroddy758
12 February 2018
Super
Like (3)
Version 3.0.0
allanowlin
12 February 2018
Great media player. Works on all the platforms! I have had this app for 5+ years already.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0
Aargl
12 February 2018
From the Changes list, there are a lot of under the hood improvements. In my regular use, I can only see one: a better support for stream subtitles customization (still has to be improved, but at least it's manageable). One great improvement I dream about would be to be able to navigate through the paused stream like what exists in EyeTV — currently, when you pause, you're only allowed to play back from where you paused or reload the stream to come back to present.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
Stevencee
11 February 2018
If it's updated to 3.0, then why when I just ran Check for Updates, did it tell me I have the latest version (2.2.8)???
Like
Version 3.0.0
Dr-David
11 February 2018
Have reverted to VLC 2.2.8. Version 3 seems to have broken Universal Plug'n'Play on my local network. In 2.2.8 I can see the disc catalogue on my Panasonic DMR-BS880 (albeit taking rather longer than it should). VLC 3.0 eventually sees the BS880 but not the catalogue. If I double-click on the BS880 in the list, it sometimes accesses part of the catalogue. Maybe it is a time-out issue
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
Mcr
11 February 2018
Couple issues I ran into with Version 3.0
First, loses its file association to play MKV files, at least for me. Previously with 2.2.8, MKV files were set to open with VLC by default. After installing 3.0, that association broke, In Finder, double clicking on an MKV will not launch VLC. Right click on MKV file in Finder and select Open and Open With.. no longer show VLC as an app that can open MKV. Tried to reset file association using the two usual methods 1) In Finder, Open With then 'Other..', but in the Finder dialog window, VLC is greyed out as an app that can handle MKV, so you can't select it. 2) Tried 'Get Info' on a MKV file, select Open With, VLC gone from list of apps, then try Other... same thing, VLC is greyed out in the Finder dialog. Appears VLC is not registering itself with macOS as an app capable of handling MKV. I reported this to VideoLAN.

Second, when set to resume playing at previous time mark of a video when you last stopped viewing it, appears broke. It always jumps to the time mark saved when the video was last play in VLC 2.2.8. For example, let's saly you view a video in 2.2.8, and stop watching at the 20 min mark. If you reopen in 2.2.8 it will resume playback at 20 min mark. Open the video in VLC 3.0, jump to a different time mark in the clip, like the 40 min mark, stop. Reopen, VLC 3. 0 should resume at the 40 min time mark, but instead resumes at the 20 min time mark of when it was last opened in 2.2.8. Apparently when quiting, it is not refreshing the time mark of where you are at the video in the metadata it stores for each clip. So when you restart, it reloads the same time info from metadata that was never updated. Reported this one as well.

You know the old saying, be wary of .0 (dot zero) releases.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
8 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
12 February 2018
I met the same issues, apparently because I kept VLC228 (renamed that way) around, just in case. When I deleted it, mkv videos opened again in VLC.
About the second issue, have you tried trashing the old prefs? It used to fix issues in former versions — but I know how boring it is to reenter your prefs... I haven't done it but might do.
(the issue seemed to get fixed after reselecting "always" in the prefs but it doesn't seem to fix it on every file/format...)
Like
Macinman
Macinman
12 February 2018
I haven't tried the resume issue, but with MKV files, I did have the association changed, but was able to change back to VLC without issues. I am using a fresh copy of 3.0, have deleted all the old preferences, caches, etc, and for the most part I've had a clean experience. With that said, I have IINA, and MacGo blu-ray player pro as alternative media players. the blu-ray player pro, is currently the only app for macos that will play a blu-ray disc in full like a hardware player, including menus and BDJ features.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
12 February 2018
I confirm the resume issue is still there after trashing prefs, caches (and even killall cfprefsd in Terminal, to make good measure ;-) )
Like
darrel-2
darrel-2
13 February 2018
I have the same issues with blank mkv icons and the failure to resume play as you, and have also noticed that taking a "snapshot" will reliably crash VLC 3.0.0 every time. Anyone else experiencing this? (And how could problems like these even get past the beta stage?)
Like
Mcr
Mcr
16 February 2018
Clearing prefs did not resolve the issues, and also, when I was uisng VLC 3, 2.2.8 was NOT on the system, it had been deleted, but even if it hadn't been deleted, there shouldn't have been issues keeping both, assuming the developers had handled that situation correctly. If programmed to do so, there is no problem with different versions of an app having completely independent preference files. As a developer you just have to plan ahead and build it that way. taking a snapshot crashes for me as well. Another bug I found is the ability to use scroll wheel on the mouse to forward and backup on the timeline. That's a deal breaker for me, as I use that all the time to move forward or back in very fine increments (+/- 10-15 seconds). It is impossible to get that fine granularity by having to click on the timeline, or drag the marker.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
16 February 2018
"assuming the developers..." Well, you're being a bit optimistic, there. ;-)
Like
Aargl
Aargl
08 May 2018
Looks like all the bugs I met are gone in 3.0.2...
Like
Aargl
Aargl
27 December 2018
Looks like 3.0.5 finally fixed everything!
I first tried in a clean user account with .avi, .mkv, .mp4 and .ts — all with subtitles (.ts with embedded ones): all is working as intended!
Turning into my main account — with prefs from v2.2.8 — I had issues with subtitles but resetting the prefs fixed everything, you just have to remember the important settings you used before and reset them (doing it with no video loaded is mandatory, otherwise they won't stick).
Like
StrongTequila
11 February 2018
Yes, a problem with sound. Pause and do something else on the computer, then go back to viewing is not possible. Intermittent and jumping sound, you can only restart the view.
Like
Version 3.0.0
3 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
11 February 2018
What type of movie file were you watching? I just tried to reproduce the stated problem on a 5K iMac late 2015, 32 GB RAM High Sierra 10.13.3. VLC 3.0. I used my copy of AVATAR from MKV, with h.264 video, and DTS HD audio.

What I did is paused VLC, switch to Firefox, play a few Youtube videos, switch back, and e movie picked up where I left off, with no audio or video stuttering or skipping. I did this a couple times, even put VLC into fullscreen after resuming, without any issues. Maybe the issue is related to the specific media type, or setup being used here.

I take all my discs, and have put them into Plex media server as MKVs.
Like
Jmsuijkerbuijk
Jmsuijkerbuijk
11 February 2018
Pause the movie, disable audio track, re-enable the audio track, un-pause and all is well.
Like
StrongTequila
StrongTequila
11 February 2018
mkv WEBDL 1080p, audio AC3, 384 kb/s
got this issue in 2 computers. iMac late 2013, 32 ram HighSierra and mac mini 2009, 8 ram with ElCapitan
all previous versions vlc work ok, so back to 2.2.8
Like
WalterJennings1300
10 February 2018
I went back to 2.8.8, had issues with the sound when pausing a movie and then restarting it. Still the best player for the Mac.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0
MichaelHaeusler
10 February 2018
This is an awesome upgrade.. Apart from all the new functionality, v3.0.0 has greatly improved playback quality. Bravo.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
Kewl
10 February 2018
5 stars for in the new ability to decode Ambisonics audio!
Like
Version 3.0.0
Mac-Freak
09 February 2018
vlc 3.0.0 out now https://get.videolan.org/vlc/3.0.0/
Like
Version 2.2.8
1 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
10 February 2018
was just coming here to report that!
Like
Macinman
06 December 2017
To MacUpdate Staff: videolan's site is now showing 2.2.8 as the version to download. I just checked this morning, so they've updated it.
Like
Version 2.2.6
Macinman
02 December 2017
I installed both 2.2.7, and 2.2.8 from this site, and haven't had any strange behavior like it was tampered with. I was also curious about why the Videolan site wasn't updated, but since I haven't seen anything weird and it's fixed issues i was having with 2.2..6 under High Sierra, I just kept 2.2.8. From what I understand when I checked into the matter from other sources, VideoLan isn't planning on a major VLC release until 3.0 is ready, so all these little updates just appear to be fixes.
Like
Version 2.2.6
siamlotus
01 December 2017
According to this site 2.2.8 is a beta version : https://www.videohelp.com/software/VLC-media-player
Like
Version 2.2.6
Starman535
30 November 2017
I use vlc 2.2.7 It works great for me. I cannot find a vlc 2.2.8 anywhere - not on Sourceforge, not on Videolan's site. In fact, even VideoLan doesn't have 2.2.7, it has only 2.2.6 as its latest rev. This isn't the first app that MacUpdate said had an update, when MacUpdate installed an old version I already had. Something is fishy in all this, but I don't have a workaround.
Like
Version 2.2.8
6 answer(s)
Hawke5501
Hawke5501
30 November 2017
This site has been to inject malware into downloads. I always got directly to the site for my downloads. VLC has 2.2.6 as their latest update and I am sticking with this version until they update their site. When asked about the malware one of the support staffers told me "were trying something new"
Be careful how you use this site.
Like
Starman535
Starman535
30 November 2017
Hawke: I was wondering about that for some time. I used to get all my updates here, but now it seems apps don't update like they used to. I don't use MacUpdate Desktop anymore, because they charge too much for not much value.
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
30 November 2017
Starman535, Hawke5501, and vendor-1, rest assured that VLC 2.2.8 does come directly from the VideoLAN site, even if I posted it before its time. You can find the information related to its changes here:

http://www.videolan.org/developers/vlc-branch/NEWS

Another of our editors updated the listing to version 2.2.7 yesterday afternoon (29 November), and I updated the listing to 2.2.8 today on the strength of its availability. As I said, however, I might have posted this too soon. In fact, both might have been posted too soon. Regardless of timing, no malware has been "injected," with downloads coming directly from the developers' site.

If you want to drop back to version 2.2.7, you can do so with the following URL:
https://mirror.wdc1.us.leaseweb.net/videolan/vlc/2.2.7/macosx/vlc-2.2.7.dmg

Version 2.2.6 can be had from the following URL:
https://mirror.wdc1.us.leaseweb.net/videolan/vlc/2.2.6/macosx/vlc-2.2.6.dmg
Like
zeeblebrox
zeeblebrox
30 November 2017
https://get.videolan.org/vlc/2.2.8/macosx/

You can check the videolan mirrors .. not sure why they haven't updated the website for 2.2.7 and 2.2.8 :D
Like
Starman535
Starman535
30 November 2017
Jess: Sorry if I don't believe you posted the latest version. It just downloaded vlc 2.2.6 again, not vlc 2.2.8
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
01 December 2017
Starman535, I apologize for the additional confusion, but because of criticism here and through e-mails, I rolled the listing back to version 2.2.6 and back-dated it to coincide with the date on which it was listed at that level.
Like