Back to Pine Player page
Pine Player free download for Mac

Pine Player Reviews1.27.19

23 September 2020

Play almost all existing digital audio formats.

3.5
fleur2metaline-1
24 April 2019
Version: 1.14.05

Most helpful

Good app, but how to precisely adjust the Eq ?
(1)

How would you rate Pine Player app?

Read 15 Pine Player User Reviews

3
kingjj
19 June 2020
Version: 1.27.13
oof, I didn't actually give it any stars PS: For people that don't want to use the app store (sane people): ftp.digipine.com u: pine p: player)
(0)
kingjj
18 May 2020
Version: 1.27.09
Strange app... First, I'm not sure what to make of the developer's description with all the "upconverting" and "Over Sampling Filter". I'm they're claiming they can somehow make your audio files a higher quality than they actually are, well, that's not possible. But, I'm not even sure that's what they're trying to say. At any rate, I can say that at first blush this is the oddest sounding audio player I've come across. It's like all of the high-mids have been eliminated, made even odder by the fact it has very nice low-mid response. This can somewhat be fixed with the app's EQ, but not entirely. There's always a lack of high-mids. Looking at playlist functionality adds more strangeness, it can save in .m3u and .xspf but is unable to open those formats. Yes, it's unable to open it's own playlists... My three stars come from the fact that it seems to be stable (has yet to crash on me) and as mentioned, it does have a nice richness in the low-mids, and seeing that most mac audio players tend to be shrill, that is worth something. The rest? Puzzling...
(1)
3
Wade-Smith
21 March 2020
Version: 1.26.35
Disclaimer - I got this primarily to convert .dsf files (which it plays nicely thank you) but the converter is crippled - sort of. Conversion to .flac is fine - the whole file is converted and, to these ears, quite well. But conversion to .aac will only convert about the first minute or so of the file, and then just break off. So, I've taken the converted FLAC files and pushed them through Fission to get my AACs for iTunes. Good thing about all this- it actually works, and I doubt I'll be seeing too many DSF files in my travels, so I can deal with this three step process in those few circumstances. But it would be nice to see the AAC conversion fixed. Haven't tried MP3 conversions yet, so can't comment on that.
(0)
4
SamiH1833
22 January 2020
Version: 1.26.31
Good, the Eq is week.
(0)
4
bob-185
22 January 2020
Version: 1.26.31
Was looking for an mp3 player and this fits the bill. Very nice.
(0)
3.5
fleur2metaline-1
24 April 2019
Version: 1.14.05
Good app, but how to precisely adjust the Eq ?
(1)
nobody2011
12 October 2018
Version: 1.11.73
version 1.11.74 released 11/10/2018 http://www.digipine.com/?module=file&act=procFileDownload&file_srl=26682&sid=8d2c04b29bea05ee53cc645605d78074&module_srl=157
(0)
5
OSX-FTW!
18 January 2018
Version: 1.10.07
Wow! I wished for the volume to be unlinked from the System and voila it was after the latest update. That got another star!
(2)
RavenNevermore
03 July 2017
Version: 1.9.51
Just want to point out that up sampling does NOT increase the quality of a file, since if it's at a lower resolution, that's the extent of the data in that file. Up sampling just doubles some bits without adding anything to the audio quality. For example, re-encoding a 128 kbps MP3 file to 320 will not magically improve the sound of that file.
(5)
Show comments (4)
4
OSX-FTW!
05 April 2017
Version: 1.9.17
It's good, lightweight. It's not the prettiest thing. Feature request; unlink the volume control from the system at large.
(2)
4
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
20 March 2017
Version: 1.9.13
I had no trouble with the download (version 1.9.13) from the App Store. The app works just fine in my limited testing. I didn't try anything fancy. On the plus side, it plays songs from my iTunes playlists just fine. However, it didn't actually import any playlists, it just grabbed the track names in alphabetical order. This means I have to search for songs by title or recreate my playlists from scratch, ugh! One feature Pine Player lacks is an equalizer. This seems like a serious oversight. So I'll ding it one star for the inadequate iTunes playlist import and the lack of an equalizer. Though I could use something like Boom to provide that function, it would be better if it were built into the app.
(0)
4
Solar Sailor
02 March 2017
Version: 1.9.9
First of all, I don't write reviews often (since I can never keep them short haha) but in this case I somehow feel for the developer as he/she is trying hard to make a really great audioplayer and I want to give it the credits it has deserved so far. I'm enthousiastic about this app as the search for a proper multifunctional audioplayer on OS X has kept me searching and longing for years after trying, using and switching between multiple players since Snow Leopard. Yes, I've practically tried them all.... Especially now MacAmp Lite X (which I liked a lot due to the seriously epic audio scrobbling/FF function no other app ever had) is dead since my upgrade to El Capitan, Cog is practically dying too and Vox, my used to be final player with moderate satisfaction, is starting to become annoying, slow, buggy and bloated now with too much annoying stuff in the latest versions so the quest has continued again.... Now the people below leaving 1 star reviews when they haven't even tried the app is a bit ridiculous, and harsh, don't you think? Why don’t you download it from the MAS store then?? That works fine…It's free! Give the developer some credit.. I have to admit, the developer could do a better job by checking his/her site because the downloads indeed don't seem to work and although system says they finish, it leaves a corrupted .zip file which appears useless. This happens to all .zip files unfortunately so def. something wrong in the packaging of these, developer? I have to say, I've been searching for years and using a lot of different music players over the years but this one really got me. I like the minimalistic design although it does look a bit ugly and "too oldschool" almost like the player design has been copied from an old Windows Media player on Windows 98….but the UI in general is logical and has lots of useful functions. Though there is still quite some things left to desire like the language is not so good in English with spelling/grammar errors everywhere (and I understand it is not his/her native language) also the logo is bit childish and ugly and I hope the developer will change or tweak that soon but for now the extended functionality and speed of the app is really what I like (on Macbook Pro 2009 El Capitan). It plays about everything an the sound quality is seriously good. Converting is also fine. I've compared it to other paid converters like Switch and some online converting sites but the result is equal (to my ears at least and I'm not your standard audio listener) and the files sound and play perfect. Also the Metadata editing/tagging right on the fly is very nice! It works and is equal as fast as other Tagging apps I’ve tried. And definitely faster than iTunes tagging but that's not so hard since iTunes is shit in everything it does.... I do start to get slowly annoyed now since the update frequency is very high which is good and I feel for the developer since he/she is dedicated in making it better but the last 1.9 versions all following up too often after each other and are very buggy now as compared to 1.8 and earlier which all worked fine... The audio scrobbling when moving the slider during a song is very buggy now and the playing time keeps hanging and suddenly cuts off the song and moves to the next. Also adding files to the Queue/playlist is buggy now and cause hangs or crash. Now the developer site is all in Korean as far as Google Translate tells me and hard to navigate since the language selector also doesn't work so I'm trying to help you and contact you, developer out there! Hopefully you read this, and my e-mail I sent you and get a stable version out asap and fix the .zip download links of earlier versions cos I'm stuck now with a crashing buggy version (1.9.9) and want to revert to an older version but is not possible at the moment... Last but not least people, it’s free (for now) but I don’t mind donating to help out the developer because the potential here is absolutely great. Big up! 4 stars and when the above is fixed and design is also topped up definitely 5 stars for me!
(4)
4.5
AnthoLogical
02 February 2017
Version: 1.8.9
I like a lot the minimalist design, and I am appreciating it to play offline tracks. I did not test converting though. I've experienced some little issues, but I've noticed that the developer is bringing many updates and solved most. Download it from the Mac App Store.
(1)
1
orsobou4
27 January 2017
Version: 1.8.7
In fact, the most recent version is 1.8.8, but, just like last fall, the download failed, so I could not install this software. I have tried it in two web browsers, Safari, and Firefox.
(0)
1
Bjoernowitsch
07 October 2016
Version: 1.7.9
Forget it! The download gets interrupted every time I try, and that is from the software's web page, not MacUpdate.
(0)