Back to Brave page
Brave free download for Mac

Brave Reviews

80.1.3.115
11 February 2020

Secure, Open-Source browser.

MHerndz
02 September 2019

Most helpful

I Love Brave, I think it's the best browser out there. But had to stop using it as it just was not compatible with a second site that we started to use for business. On this second site we couldn't even create an account properly until switching to another browser. Brave just does not get updated as this other browser, so until it's caught up we just uninstalled Brave altogether. I just can't trust its compatibility yet.
Like (2)
Version 76.0.68.132

Read 38 Brave User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cwr
11 February 2020
v --.115. Crashes on Mojave on first launch after download. Will not launch. Done trying.
Like
Version 80.1.3.115
Hal2007
10 February 2020
This new Mac version is crashing like mad. I'm sorry but it's unusable. Please make it more stable and I'll try again.
Like (1)
Version 80.1.3.113
mherndz-1
09 February 2020
Great Brave Update… Really… • Cannot get new extensions because it doesn't connect to the Chrome Web Store that Brave takes you to… • Cannot connect to a site I previously could due to the Javascript being turned off (?)… • I turn it one and STILL cannot connect to that site… • I try to install the 1Password extension FROM the 1password app and the 1Password site I'm taken to does not recognize Brave - Yet it tells me to upgrade TO Brave… • So I reset all settings in Brave and so far it's taking 15 min. and still grinding… This Brave update is a HUGE mess… Deleted yet again… will try again when they can get it right… someday…
Like
Version 80.1.3.113
Cwr
08 February 2020
Now Crashes on launch every.single.time. Just chasing my tail by Clicking "reopen". Tried deleting prefs and Application support files, worked one time. MBPro, Mojave. Sorry guys, buh-bye.
Like
Version 80.1.3.113
daveulrich
08 February 2020
I've been using Brave for about 8 months and I absolutely love it. The only time I ever have trouble with a site is when I have the Shield up. If something's amiss, one simple click of the shield and it's off, then the site reloads perfectly. If anyone is struggling with a site that's important, just take the shield down and you'll be fine. And, you also no longer have to struggle with things not working or loading in Safari, or Chrome demanding that you log back in 15-50 times a day. Now we can all just do what we've always wanted to do... browse problem-free.
Like
Version 80.1.3.113
Robio
16 January 2020
Brave has become my daily driver. Everything I want from Chrome (or Chromium) — like multiple user sessions inside one instance — without the Google (or the instability), plus set-and-forget ad/tracker blocking, and the option for helping sites get paid even though their ads are blocked. The only reasons I'm docking it a star: The clock on the new-tab page *still* doesn't follow the system protocol (no 24-hour time), Shields are not as user-friendly and informative as Ghostery, and the occasional bug that takes several iterations to get fixed.
Like (1)
Version 79.1.2.42
khal72
21 December 2019
Very good browser but big issues with bookmarks sync !
Like
Version 79.1.1.23
Scion777
17 December 2019
MacUpdate Admins! New version 79.1.1.22 released.
Like
Version 79.1.1.21
KristenS
08 December 2019
Brave is excellent. Super fast and easy to use. I'd like a little more customization, e.g., disabling the home page photos or using my own. And it's not compatible with all sites. I mean, I understand why Google Hangouts forces me to use Chrome, but it's not the only site that's incompatible with Brave. Nevertheless, I use Brave whenever possible. The small number of sites it doesn't work on is a small price to pay for the increase in speed and improved security.
Like (1)
Version 78.1.0.1
jputting
07 December 2019
Overall Brave is a fast browser with a lot of potential to become even better and a strong challenger to Google's Chrome. However I would very much like Brave to adopt many of Vivaldi UI customization's. The one thing that really is desirable for me and many others is having the ability to 100% TOTALLY DISABLE Search Suggestions in the Address Bar. In the Vivaldi Preferences you are given a clear choice, you can have your Search Suggestions as provided in the same way that the default Chrome configuration provides them or you can choose to have NO Search Suggestions from any source at all. This is an option that many people have repeatedly requested on the Chrome Support website for quite a long time time. But Chrome have made it very clear on many occasions this is NOT a feature they will ever consider implementing. Vivaldi already has provided this option for quite a long time along with a much more customizable interface. This issue of not being able to disable Search Suggestions is a deal breaker for me and many others. I simply will not use any browser which will not give me the options I want to have. Brave is continuing to slavishly follow Chrome's dictatorial policy in regards to this particular issue. I don't care how fast Brave claims to be, until Brave has a change of policy and gives what we want in terms of choice in regards to Search Suggestions it will never be installed on my mac again.
Like
Version 78.1.0.1
Scion777
12 October 2019
Brave renders the Facebook Messenger page's chatbox correctly - which Firefox does not. However, although one can read the Fox News site, Fox does not allow commenting via Brave. Fine browser, for the most part.
Like (1)
Version 77.0.69.135
MHerndz
02 September 2019
I Love Brave, I think it's the best browser out there. But had to stop using it as it just was not compatible with a second site that we started to use for business. On this second site we couldn't even create an account properly until switching to another browser. Brave just does not get updated as this other browser, so until it's caught up we just uninstalled Brave altogether. I just can't trust its compatibility yet.
Like (2)
Version 76.0.68.132
Just-Fred
01 August 2019
Wow, I've only now just downloaded and fired up Brave, and already I think this will become my default browser! For one, it supports the Dashlane extension, unlike Opera, Vivaldi, Waterfox, and others. I use Dashlane extensively! It's also fast! So far, it renders everything well, and seems rock solid. The best of Firefox and Chrome??? Why not!?
Like (1)
Version 76.0.67.123
Derekcurrie
04 July 2019
Here's an interesting article about Brave vs Google Chrome regarding ad-blocking. Be sure to follow the link in the article regarding Google's "Manifest version 3" proposal for more: 'Brave defies Google's moves to cripple ad-blocking with new 69x faster Rust engine. 'Brave, the Chromium browser with Mozilla roots, throws down an ad-blocking challenge to Google.' https://www.zdnet.com/article/brave-defies-googles-moves-to-cripple-ad-blocking-with-new-69x-faster-rust-engine/ "Developers of Chromium-based browsers like Opera, Brave and Vivaldi, didn't support Google's plans to cripple ad-blockers outlined under its Manifest version 3 proposal.... " (This is possible thanks to Google NOT controlling the Chromium project. Chromium is a branch off the WebKit project, which is a branch off the Konquerer project. It will be forever open source. Haha Google).
Like (8)
Version 75.0.66.99
Jb4
16 June 2019
I had tried this earlier and stopped because it didn't support add-ons. Now it has everything I want. Speed is still blazing fast and it cuts through some annoying pop-ups that other browsers don't. I'd been using Vivaldi primarily, but no longer...
Like (2)
Version 75.0.65.120
2 answer(s)
Jb4
Jb4
16 June 2019
Well... found a few bugs. It has a hard time with the RSS feeds on my Yahoo home page and sometimes won't open outlook mail on my office server.
Like (1)
Jb4
Jb4
02 July 2019
Bugs are gone... using this now as default.
Like (1)
tomtomklub
15 April 2019
The forced autoupdate really leaves a bad taste in my mouth, I don't care how they rationalize it. Still, of all the Chromium derivatives I've used, this one comes closest to replicating what I like about Chrome without being Chrome.
Like
Version 73.0.62.51
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
24 April 2019
If you use Little Snitch or other, you just have to block updates.bravesoftware.com. ;-)
Like (3)
tomtomklub
tomtomklub
08 May 2019
thank you Aargl, that is a super idea :)
Like (2)
Aargl
10 April 2019
I came back using Brave for the most peculiar reason: I thought "With all the browsers I've installed, why not dedicate one to Facebook, one tab for the main page, one for the messenger?"
I discarded my main browsers, and the ones I already use for dedicated purposes (namely Opera and its VPN), so the remaining choice would be between Brave, Vivaldi and Pale Moon/Arctic Fox/Basilisk.
Vivaldi has an historical issue with some video format and Pale Moon/Arctic Fox/Basilisk didn't gave satisfactory results for one reason or another.
Instead, the current version of Brave is acting quite like Water/Fire-Fox or Chromium and accepts nowadays apparently all of Chrome's extensions!
So I could customize it just to my taste with Chromium Wheel Smooth Scroller, 1Password, F.B.Purity, Stylus (with "Clear dark facebook by book777", my favourite Dark mode) and Deluminate (for other sites than FB).
Except for one crash today, it's working just as expected.
Like (2)
Version 73.0.62.51
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
02 September 2019
Note that while Brave is becoming a great browser, it still has issues with some posts on FB and other sites. I had no time to check it thoroughly, but I still rely on other browsers for my daily use...
Like
Version 76.0.68.132
Doc-Renaud
09 March 2019
As long as Brave won't support 1Password extension, I can't use it.
Like
Version 72.0.60.48
1 answer(s)
Welshmac
Welshmac
13 March 2019
I use the 1Password extension with Brave.
Like (3)
Aargl
14 February 2019
One more thing that I don't like: there's no "release notes" or "version history" anywhere on their site, impossible to check which is the latest version before downloading it! The only place I finally found something is there: https://www.reddit.com/r/brave_browser
Like (1)
Version 71.0.57.18
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
17 May 2019
Thanks to MU's "What's New in Brave", we now have a link for release notes: https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/blob/master/CHANGELOG.md
Like (1)
Jpwgibson
12 January 2019
I really want to like this browser, but I've encountered the inability to sign into Gmail issue that many have also experienced.

I've tried all the known fixes involving cookies and the Brave "shield" – all to no avail.

Hopefully this browser will one day be ready for prime time.
Like
Version 71.0.57.18
1 answer(s)
robtpatrick22
robtpatrick22
09 June 2019
Google, FB, and Twitter track you; I too cannot access these sites; the preferences have an option where you may/may not log into these sites. Brave is excellent has everything built in, and you can customize it; I could never remove stars. I belong to the Brave community, opera, and Vivaldi community as well. It "does not" crash" as reported; talking to Apple support revealed that third party software, running in the background is the culprit in most cases.
Like (1)
tomtomklub
22 December 2018
This couldn't have come at a better time for me. I won't have Google Chrome because what a mess that is, and unfortunately the SMUG build of Chromium is no longer signed. Opera and Vivaldi don't support profiles, but Brave does, so this was an easy switch to make.
Like (1)
Version 71.0.57.18
Aargl
10 December 2018
Finally out of beta! I never thought I'd see this day... :-D Import is working! I had a fast trial, looks everything's ok.
Like
Version 71.0.57.18
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
10 December 2018
Import isn't bring over my most frequent sites tiles, and 1Password doesn't work yet. Out of beta, but still beta.
Like
Spudboy
07 August 2018
Outstanding Product! For people that actually understand the technology behind this.
Like
Version 0.23.77
PM-R
08 July 2018
I was looking for a different browser to use with Mavericks 10.9.5 on my mid-2011 iMac and Brave was suggested on a Mac forum, but for whatever reason(s), Brave would not even start without an "unexpectedly quit" notice. So it's a no-go for me, but now completely uninstalled and no uninstaller included. Just a heads-up, and it seems I have to provide some rating in order to post, so even my one star is an over-rating!!!
Like
Version 0.22.714
2 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
06 August 2018
FYI: You can submit a comment without a star rating. The current version of Chromium also requires MacOS Yosemite or higher to run.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
10 August 2018
What I don't get is why they keep saying "10.9 or later" even on their own website (same thing for FreeSMUG's Chromium) while, as you rightfully say, Chromium 68 needs 10.10... :-/
Like
LeroyMorrison
18 May 2018
Why would I want to use this browser over something like Google Chrome or Firefox? Can someone tell me why?
Like
Version 0.22.714
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
30 June 2018
Speed and low memory usage (Firefox)
1Password works like a charm (Chrome)
Privacy (Guess who...)
Efficient preview of hidden tabs
Like (1)
Aargl
29 December 2017
At this pace, I wonder if we'll ever see version 1.0 before we die... ;-)
Like (1)
Version 0.19.123
4 answer(s)
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
16 February 2018
Yeah. It's the best browser on my Android phone, but I can't even sync bugger all between it and Brave on my Mac – so it's kinda useless. On the desktop I prefer Safari + uBlock origin or DuckDuckGo Privacy Essentials.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
16 February 2018
You might be interested by two other extensions (I use uBlock origin myself, together with those): uMatrix and Decentraleyes.
(I don't know if they're available on Safari, but they do a marvelous job on Firefox and Chromium)
Like (1)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
07 May 2018
Thanks for the tips on those extensions!
Like
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
18 May 2018
It will be just like HandBrake was! ;)
Like
Aargl
17 October 2017
I won't give a rating because this promising browser has still a long way to go before it's out of beta... It's fast and all things about security and ads filtering are great, but it's pretty hard to use a browser that has not a proper bookmarks manager... It imports bookmarks from the usual bunch of browsers but it doesn't even import them all! And when you try to manage them or just click on the "Imported" folder in the bookmarks bar, you have to wait forever before something happens... So this is clearly an important area to work on, and it hasn't changed at all since I've started trying it, five or six versions ago.
Like (2)
Version 0.19.53
SomeGuy-
23 September 2017
When the tab turns into black the text ( which is description of site ) gets really pixelated and ugly to look at, the "Dashboard"needs to be customizable ..adding sites and being able to delete them unlike what is now ( only few icons which are always there), it has to be sort of like favorites of Safari but by keeping the style which it has now, the need of Evernote or OneNote extension is clearly there, hopefully you guys be able to provide that, overall, nice looking web browser and fast ..Thanks for your work, keep it up, you have still things to do, if you pass those things, you can seriously destroy your competitors beautifully. Thanks for your work.
Like
Version 0.18.36
Maclover1-1
23 August 2017
Sadly does not play well with Wacom Tablet and stylus.. and I have not used a mouse for 2 decades.. so I'm sort of stuck with Chrome.
Like
Version 0.18.23
Poetry
12 June 2017
Good speed and safety., but needs better bookmark manager. After importing bookmarks, there's no way to list them for easy access along the top or along the left side.
Like
Version 0.16.9
Rsmacupdate
01 April 2017
I've been using this for some time now, although i can't remember when I started. It is the first browser I like to go to. It is quick and really cuts down on all the ad garbage. I am giving it a 5 with some hesitancy primarily because it is still a 0.xx.x version level. I really like the protection and privacy I at least seem to be getting. Just a note that Brave is currently at 0.14.1 as of this review on 20170401. I tested it using BrowserScope and here are my results: Security it failed the "toStaticHTML API" test as did Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. It seemed to get stuck "running" the following security tests: "Block reflected XSS" Firefox also get stuck on this one. Chrome passed this one. "Block XSS in CSS" Firefox and Chrome passed this one. "Strict Transport Security" Firefox also get stuck on this one. Chrome passed this one. Safari failed this one. "Block visited link sniffing" Firefox and Chrome passed this one. Bottom line is Brave in in the running on this test. On the Rich Text Tests the results were: Brave [0.14.1] ............................................. 98/114 (time: 706 ms) Chrome [57.0.2987.133 (64-bit)].... 98/114 (time: 543 ms) Firefox [52.0.2 (64-bit)] ........................ 94/114 (time: 1159 ms) Safari [10.0.3 (11602.4.8.0.1)] ........... 98/114 (time: 1016 ms) Selectors API results are here..... Brave [0.14.1] ............................................. 100.0%: 2164 passed, 0 failed Chrome [57.0.2987.133 (64-bit)].... 100.0%: 2164 passed, 0 failed Firefox [52.0.2 (64-bit)] ........................ 100.0%: 2164 passed, 0 failed Safari [10.0.3 (11602.4.8.0.1)] ........... 99.3%: 2148 passed, 16 failed Network Tests: None of the browsers seemed to finish the 17th Network Test. Acid3 Test results... Chrome was the best at 100/100. Then Brave a 99/100 and a color picture. Then Safari at 99/100 buy black and white with strike thru text. and finally, Firefox at 97/100 but with color. It is only one test, but it did, in my mind to a limited extent verify what I had been feeling about Brave. On the strength of my user experience and some testing I have done, I would recommend giving Brave a trial.
Like
Version 0.12.15
TCalhau
25 March 2017
This browser is moving to become my default browser. I miss 2 things: An aesthetic function that I can put the Home button in the place where I want it, move it in the bar. However, the most important function I miss to make it final as my default browser is for Brave to become compatible with Cookie ( https://cookie5app.com ). No more is a great browser and recommend it to everyone!
Like
Version 0.12.15
1 answer(s)
robert-patrick-1
robert-patrick-1
24 June 2017
Brave has it's own built in cookie manager; after installing go to your preferences and configure it to remove all data either at shutdown or while on the web under history "clear all browsing data". With regards to bookmarks, I imported my Firefox bookmarks; you may require a "preference" but nothing is as important as security and privacy; Brave has all that and more!
Like
mesacarvin
09 December 2016
This is now my default browser. Many others claim to be fast but Brave browser is the real deal. Sure, there are certain aspects that Brave does not have yet like more available extensions but with the built-in Pocket & Lastpass extension, my work flow doesn't take a massive hit. Looking forward to the development. Even now, it is the best browser I've worked with.
Like (1)
Version 0.12.12
iTruth
23 November 2016
Wow, this browser has come a long way from when I first used it. There are many small improvements that make it worthy to be my default browser. I will be testing Brave payments for web masters to get paid when we block their ads, a very nice concept.

Ad blocking and compatibility with 1Password are essential and Brave offers both of these things. The one thing I hope to see in the future is trackpad gestures.
Like (1)
Version 0.12.10
iodrew
07 October 2016
After over 12 years on a Mac and 20 minutes using this browser I'm going out on a limb and saying that this might be the best Mac browser I ever used.
Like (2)
Version 0.11.0
siamlotus
29 August 2016
Great browser. Faster than safari and Firefox , even MacUpdate opens fast. The scrolling is not as smooth as Safari even with smooth scrolling enabled. Great to have an inbuilt adblocker that works. HTTPS Everywhere is also something that I like having in a browser. Something else cool is that if you have several tabs open, you can actually see each page by sliding your mouse pointer over each tab.
Like (1)
Version 0.11.0
MacMec
07 July 2016
Great new concept. Chromium based, but leaving the evil part behind. This is the future and Brave has great potential, also on iOS. I would recommend it to anyone who does not want that tracking ends up in being better than forensic profiling. Cannot play Netflix yet, current version shows missing video library.
Like (1)
Version 0.11.0
Jb4
28 May 2016
Really slick... faster than other browsers which have blocking ad-ons, because it's seamless. Missing a few plug ins I like, but really quick and has a nice look and feel to it.. Been using it fir half a day with no issues/bugs at all.
Like (2)
Version 0.10.0
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
31 July 2016
It's rather pointless to leave a review for something you've only used briefly. Problems and features aren't always immediately evident. A review from someone who's used this for 1/2 a day doesn't help me make a decision on trying it.

Use it for a couple weeks and then leave an informed and thorough review, citing details of why you do and don't like about it compared to Chrome, Safari or Firefox.
Like
Jb4
Jb4
31 July 2016
Well, Mr. J.... to each his own, as they say...I thought enough of it to want to inspire others to try it. If the application is interesting, the more people that use it and comment, the more likely the developers will keep upgrading....
I love browsers. I go back to IE being the one and only... then Netscape, Navigator, Chimera and my all time favorite; Camino. Now there are so many....I'll try most of them and usually discard after 20 minutes or so.
I really have nothing to add about Brave. I use it often... it's fast, it loads pretty accurately and I miss add-ons, particularly the ability to "send link" in an E-mail.
Like (1)