Back to WhatsApp page
WhatsApp free download for Mac

WhatsApp Reviews2.2039.9

26 September 2020

Desktop client for WhatsApp Messenger.

1
Derekcurrie
11 February 2020
Version: 0.4.613

Most helpful

AVOID due to constant security problems. Despite its popularity, I dumped it for better. So has the United Nations. Signal is one worthy alternative. -->"The United Nations officials are not using WhatsApp for purposes of communication as it is unsafe and vulnerable to hacking." https://www.ehackingnews.com/2020/01/un-officials-not-using-whatsapp-over.html
(1)

How would you rate WhatsApp app?

Read 41 WhatsApp User Reviews

1
Drtyrell969
25 September 2020
Version: 2.2039.9
Keep Chinese SPYWARE OFF your computer. The world is entirely too gullible when it comes to digital warfare. Your content is being stolen and used against you.
(0)
5
time2poppop
02 September 2020
Version: 2.2035.15
Excellent !
(0)
5
time2poppop
30 August 2020
Version: 2.2035.14
Excellent
(0)
1
foolishservant
30 August 2020
Version: 2.2035.14
Reeks! Use Telegram instead.
(1)
5
time2poppop
15 August 2020
Version: 2.2033.7
Excellent
(0)
russell1960
29 July 2020
Version: 2.2029.4
it was continually hanging
(1)
Frankdalian
23 July 2020
Version: 2.2029.4
Simple to use, and simply works.
(0)
5
time2poppop
09 July 2020
Version: 2.2027.10
Excellent
(0)
Drtyrell969
13 May 2020
Version: 2.2019.6
This is Chinese spy software. AVOID. Add WeChat, TikTok, and Zoom to that list.
(0)
Show comments (3)
anna-empe
27 April 2020
Version: 0.4.2088
Well,from the beginning - I don't know why the connection between my iMac and iPhone broke during moving settings from old 6 on brand new SE. Secondly it's a real nuisance that the only way of re-connecting them is via QR code with a ridiculous comment that the iPhone may sometimes not read it - with not a word what to do then. Thirdly the User's Manual isn't the 1st thing I can find on a dedicated website.And this leads straight to the only disadvantage -as to my ... taste - of the communicator. As far as other issues are concerned it works,it's reliable and generally user's friendly.
(0)
1
The-Blinded
25 April 2020
Version: 0.4.2088
Are we kidding? Can’t I use it on iPad and Mac at the same time? Furthermore, "WhatsApp web" doesn’t have all the functions of the mobile version! There are also serious privacy and security issues! I hope I won’t use it again as soon as everyone’s using Telegram.
(1)
1
A1D
11 March 2020
Version: 0.4.1300
Biggest spy hole and backdoor to your system.
(2)
1
Derekcurrie
11 February 2020
Version: 0.4.613
AVOID due to constant security problems. Despite its popularity, I dumped it for better. So has the United Nations. Signal is one worthy alternative. -->"The United Nations officials are not using WhatsApp for purposes of communication as it is unsafe and vulnerable to hacking." https://www.ehackingnews.com/2020/01/un-officials-not-using-whatsapp-over.html
(1)
Show comment (1)
Holmemoss
24 September 2019
Version: 0.3.4679
Beware - I have Little Snitch and from this desktop version it now wants to connect to fcdn.net, which is Facebook.
(2)
0.5
Iliketrash
22 August 2019
Version: 0.3.4375
This is Facebook-owned spyware. It is impossible to use it without having your phone working, and it is impossible to get your phone working without surrendering your phone number to Facebook where it is associated with your Facebook account if you have one. In any case, Facebook will track you by your phone number in order to expand their $70 billion/year advertising empire. If this is OK with you and you don't mind this grievous violation of your privacy for no return to you, then go ahead and use WhatsApp. 1.5+billion people can't be wrong, right? Otherwise, use Signal https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/60246/signal which has the same capabilities and does not rape you.
(2)
4
samastro
06 June 2019
Version: 0.3.3328
I like the Desktop WhatsApp very much, but some functions from the cellphone app are missing at the Desktop Version.
(1)
0.5
Merlixir
04 March 2019
Version: 0.3.2276
Forces update: minus 4 stars. Says it supports 10.9 (the last OSX that wasn't locked down for your own incompetent good) - yay!: Plus 2 stars Doesn't actually launch on 10.9: minus 2 and half stars.
(0)
4
2stepbay
30 December 2018
Version: 0.3.1850
Useful and fast chat search function. Also emoji panel has useful search function too. Auto updates, however, not promptly. Using on OS X Mojave without issue.
(0)
2
Septimus
16 December 2018
Version: 0.3.1649
They are assuming that all users in a certain area use the native language. This is incorrect. As with many, all my devices are set to use the English language. Compared to my native language, English is a more convenient and compact language when it comes to computers and devices.

As I do use my native language to communicate with friends and family, most of the text that I type in Whatsapp desktop is marked by the spell checker as misspelled as it is checking for English language. This is annoying. Give users the ability to disable spell checking which is a common feature in most macOS apps.

Whatsapp is not honoring the general system preferences which are set to NOT spell check at all and when it does it has to use the Dutch / Netherlands dictionary.

Furthermore: remove the auto update feature and/or let users decide if they want this by giving them choice to automatically update or just notify for updates and whether have them installed. I like to be in control of the devices I own. How convenient it may sound, it is not up to software developers to decide if an app needs to be updated.
(0)
4
anonymous-skink-4653
01 December 2018
Version: 0.3.1649
Quite ok! I use WA all day. this is a companion as to avoid using the phone while working on other stuff.
(0)
0.5
jachaus1
19 November 2018
Version: 0.3.1475
Confirm version 0.3.1475 does NOT startup on Mac OS 10.9.5, have reported issue to WhatsApp. Previous version 0.3.1242 does work on Mac OS 10.9 and still available to download from Mac App store.
(0)
Show comment (1)
0.5
Bento de Espinosa
18 November 2018
Version: 0.3.1475
I am on Mac OS 10.9.5. Until now, even though it lacks some important functionalities of the Android version, like video, Whatsapp has worked very well, but since version 0.3.1475 it crashes before it even opens. Useless.
(0)
1
valerii-saytzev
13 June 2018
Version: 0.2.9737
Terrible program
(2)
4
alessio.caslotti
27 February 2018
Version: 0.2.8361
Not bad
(0)
1
Bento de Espinosa
19 February 2018
Version: 0.2.8082
It looks like it updates itself in the background (no option for manual update). Only English in chat. No option to change language for spell checking (it doesn't use the default dictionary). No video.
(3)
mrsidoric
02 February 2018
Version: 0.2.8082
The NSA thanks you.
(6)
Show comment (1)
3
Aargl
20 December 2017
Version: 0.2.7315
I'm not a WhatsApp user, just tried it a few times, I was hoping this app could ease things but it needs to have the phone connected too while using it, which I find utterly stupid! :-D
Can't they figure out a better way? I'm ok with QR code identifying but once done, why not keep the app connected on the same computer, with a password? or your FB account?
Or at least, if really needed check the QR code once a month?
Buh... :-o
(3)
Show comment (1)
3
TechGuru
22 October 2017
Version: 0.2.6424
Buggy with duplicate app icon. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgLIyzMWhgA
(1)
3.5
Robert D.
31 March 2017
Version: 0.2.3698
Average messenger, nothing special, but I have to use it cause a lot of my foreign business partners prefer it. Good point that Whatsapp never slows down or lags. Anyway, everyone should have it installed along with other messengers.
(1)
5
IroniMAC
12 March 2017
Version: 0.2.3698
Best messenger app bar none.
(1)
5
Gawan78
02 November 2016
Version: 0.2.2243
Could be better. Keep up, developer.
(0)
Mcr
01 November 2016
Version: 0.2.2243
If you use WhatsApp, in ANY form, web or desktop (which basically wraps the web site), you MUST read the various articles regarding security concerns with the service. WhatsApp parent company is Facebook; by default unless you opt out, there is a lot of your profile info that is shared with FB. Backups of your messages to the cloud are not encrypted. Read this article at the Electronic Frontier Foundation, an org that stays on top of security and privacy issues https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2016/10/where-whatsapp-went-wrong-effs-four-biggest-security-concerns I'm not saying at all that the service is bad or shouldn't be used; I'm simply saying educate yourself about the privacy and security concerns about the service A number of privacy advocate groups have cautioned people to be aware, and have demanded WhatsApp provide greater transparency about its policies. Also, WhatsApp is one of the most SPOOFED services ever. I don't have an FB or WhatsApp count; I get probably 3 messages a week that I have a WhatsApp message, which is totally bogus.
(9)
Derekcurrie
26 September 2016
Version: 0.2.1880
A side note about why the developer's site looks like crap in some web browsers: Ignoring the fact that smart web browsers allow the user to "Block cookies and other website data... From third parties and advertisers", the WhatsApp.com website grabs a lot of code for rendering its pages from a third party site. OOPS. Specifically, they grab code from their own 'WhatsApp.net' website. - - The cure of course is to temporarily UNcheck the 'Block Cookies...' setting in your web browser, which I personally do NOT RECOMMEND. IOW it's a Catch 22. Damned if you do. Damned if you don't. I suggest the developer get its act together and properly write its central .com website without requiring anything from its .net website.
(0)
5
Staps Fanny
15 July 2016
Version: 0.2.777
Recommended app when you need to send messages or call someone for free. I was very surprised to see a lot of my friends already using this. Very simple GUI that works as expected.
(0)
0.5
Panocha
11 June 2016
Version: 0.2.777
WEaste of time, I only tried to get it because it said it was cross-platform and works on all operating systems; iOS, Android, Mac, Win, etc. This is NOT true. The second I tried to get it on my Android, which is a really new quad-core 32GB model, the PlayStore says it is not for my device. I wasted a lot of time. Still looking for something cross-platform. I want to be able to communicate easily across Mac, iOS, and Android. Maybe Linux, but F**k windoze.
(1)
4.5
fabiorico
06 June 2016
Version: 0.2.777
You may think, why do I need WhatsApp on my desktop if I have it on my phone? But I noticed some significant pros. Firstly, it's much more useful if there is a need to send some documents or files to someone and do it quickly as the Internet connection on the computer is faster than on the phone or another device. Secondly, it easy to type long messages or text abstract using a normal keyboard instead of tiny buttons on the phone. Thirdly, there is no longer problem with scrolling long conversation or chat. Using a mouse is more convenient in this case. So, if you use WhatsApp much for conversation, I would recommend to get a desktop version as well.
(1)
Johnny-T-Dane
03 June 2016
Version: 0.2.777
Why use an app when you can do all this in a browser? Just my opinion.
(0)
5
Syed-Ali
14 May 2016
Version: 0.2.684
Works great. Don't see any issues. I am able to send / receive messages with all my friends and activation was pretty simple.
(1)
ososX
13 May 2016
Version: 0.2.684
Is it on the App Store too ?
(0)
foto-2
12 May 2016
Version: 0.2.684
0.2.684

This version not ripe (keeps crashing on startup)

Mac mini (early 2009, 4GB) OS X 10.9.5
(0)
Show comment (1)
Sonnendeck
12 May 2016
Version: 0.2.684
A WhatsApp-message is nice. A handwritten letter is much nicer!
(1)