Back to WhatsApp page
WhatsApp free download for Mac

WhatsApp Reviews2.2110.12

06 April 2021

Desktop client for WhatsApp Messenger.

How would you rate WhatsApp?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Jan 18 2021
2.2100.5
0.0
Jan 18 2021
0.0
Version: 2.2100.5
DON'T USE WHATSaPP! Facebook told us how they own all our information on this app. There are safer, more private options including Signal, Telegram, and Apple Messages. This app seems "free," but the cost is too high, IMO.
nobody2011
nobody2011
Jan 10 2021
2.2049.10
0.0
Jan 10 2021
0.0
Version: 2.2049.10
The new conditions of use are unacceptable. I use Telegram since month. Bye bye Sackerbörg
grigio60
grigio60
Nov 22 2020
2.2047.11
3.0
Nov 22 2020
3.0
Version: 2.2047.11
The developer's website is the official WhatsApp site - curious how many people here scream "Chinese spyware! Chinese spyware!" - since when Facebook got Chinese?
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
Sep 25 2020
2.2039.9
1.0
Sep 25 2020
1.0
Version: 2.2039.9
Keep Chinese SPYWARE OFF your computer. The world is entirely too gullible when it comes to digital warfare. Your content is being stolen and used against you.
foolishservant
foolishservant
Aug 30 2020
2.2035.14
1.0
Aug 30 2020
1.0
Version: 2.2035.14
Reeks! Use Telegram instead.
russell1960
russell1960
Jul 29 2020
2.2029.4
0.0
Jul 29 2020
0.0
Version: 2.2029.4
it was continually hanging
Frankdalian
Frankdalian
Jul 23 2020
2.2029.4
0.0
Jul 23 2020
0.0
Version: 2.2029.4
Simple to use, and simply works.
time2poppop
time2poppop
Jul 9 2020
2.2027.10
5.0
Jul 9 2020
5.0
Version: 2.2027.10
Excellent
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
May 13 2020
2.2019.6
1.0
May 13 2020
1.0
Version: 2.2019.6
This is Chinese spy software. AVOID. Add WeChat, TikTok, and Zoom to that list.
anna-empe
anna-empe
Apr 27 2020
0.4.2088
0.0
Apr 27 2020
0.0
Version: 0.4.2088
Well,from the beginning - I don't know why the connection between my iMac and iPhone broke during moving settings from old 6 on brand new SE. Secondly it's a real nuisance that the only way of re-connecting them is via QR code with a ridiculous comment that the iPhone may sometimes not read it - with not a word what to do then. Thirdly the User's Manual isn't the 1st thing I can find on a dedicated website.And this leads straight to the only disadvantage -as to my ... taste - of the communicator. As far as other issues are concerned it works,it's reliable and generally user's friendly.
The_Blinded
The_Blinded
Apr 25 2020
0.4.2088
1.0
Apr 25 2020
1.0
Version: 0.4.2088
Are we kidding? Can’t I use it on iPad and Mac at the same time? Furthermore, "WhatsApp web" doesn’t have all the functions of the mobile version! There are also serious privacy and security issues! I hope I won’t use it again as soon as everyone’s using Telegram.
A1D
A1D
Mar 11 2020
0.4.1300
1.0
Mar 11 2020
1.0
Version: 0.4.1300
Biggest spy hole and backdoor to your system.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 11 2020
0.4.613
1.0
Feb 11 2020
1.0
Version: 0.4.613
AVOID due to constant security problems. Despite its popularity, I dumped it for better. So has the United Nations. Signal is one worthy alternative. -->"The United Nations officials are not using WhatsApp for purposes of communication as it is unsafe and vulnerable to hacking." https://www.ehackingnews.com/2020/01/un-officials-not-using-whatsapp-over.html
Holmemoss
Holmemoss
Sep 24 2019
0.3.4679
0.0
Sep 24 2019
0.0
Version: 0.3.4679
Beware - I have Little Snitch and from this desktop version it now wants to connect to fcdn.net, which is Facebook.
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Aug 22 2019
0.3.4375
0.5
Aug 22 2019
0.5
Version: 0.3.4375
This is Facebook-owned spyware. It is impossible to use it without having your phone working, and it is impossible to get your phone working without surrendering your phone number to Facebook where it is associated with your Facebook account if you have one. In any case, Facebook will track you by your phone number in order to expand their $70 billion/year advertising empire. If this is OK with you and you don't mind this grievous violation of your privacy for no return to you, then go ahead and use WhatsApp. 1.5+billion people can't be wrong, right? Otherwise, use Signal https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/60246/signal which has the same capabilities and does not rape you.
samastro
samastro
Jun 6 2019
0.3.3328
4.0
Jun 6 2019
4.0
Version: 0.3.3328
I like the Desktop WhatsApp very much, but some functions from the cellphone app are missing at the Desktop Version.
Merlixir
Merlixir
Mar 4 2019
0.3.2276
0.5
Mar 4 2019
0.5
Version: 0.3.2276
Forces update: minus 4 stars. Says it supports 10.9 (the last OSX that wasn't locked down for your own incompetent good) - yay!: Plus 2 stars Doesn't actually launch on 10.9: minus 2 and half stars.
2stepbay
2stepbay
Dec 30 2018
0.3.1850
4.0
Dec 30 2018
4.0
Version: 0.3.1850
Useful and fast chat search function. Also emoji panel has useful search function too. Auto updates, however, not promptly. Using on OS X Mojave without issue.
Septimus
Septimus
Dec 16 2018
0.3.1649
2.0
Dec 16 2018
2.0
Version: 0.3.1649
They are assuming that all users in a certain area use the native language. This is incorrect. As with many, all my devices are set to use the English language. Compared to my native language, English is a more convenient and compact language when it comes to computers and devices.

As I do use my native language to communicate with friends and family, most of the text that I type in Whatsapp desktop is marked by the spell checker as misspelled as it is checking for English language. This is annoying. Give users the ability to disable spell checking which is a common feature in most macOS apps.

Whatsapp is not honoring the general system preferences which are set to NOT spell check at all and when it does it has to use the Dutch / Netherlands dictionary.

Furthermore: remove the auto update feature and/or let users decide if they want this by giving them choice to automatically update or just notify for updates and whether have them installed. I like to be in control of the devices I own. How convenient it may sound, it is not up to software developers to decide if an app needs to be updated.
anonymous-skink-4653
anonymous-skink-4653
Dec 1 2018
0.3.1649
4.0
Dec 1 2018
4.0
Version: 0.3.1649
Quite ok! I use WA all day. this is a companion as to avoid using the phone while working on other stuff.
jachaus1
jachaus1
Nov 19 2018
0.3.1475
0.5
Nov 19 2018
0.5
Version: 0.3.1475
Confirm version 0.3.1475 does NOT startup on Mac OS 10.9.5, have reported issue to WhatsApp. Previous version 0.3.1242 does work on Mac OS 10.9 and still available to download from Mac App store.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Nov 18 2018
0.3.1475
0.5
Nov 18 2018
0.5
Version: 0.3.1475
I am on Mac OS 10.9.5. Until now, even though it lacks some important functionalities of the Android version, like video, Whatsapp has worked very well, but since version 0.3.1475 it crashes before it even opens. Useless.
valerii-saytzev
valerii-saytzev
Jun 13 2018
0.2.9737
1.0
Jun 13 2018
1.0
Version: 0.2.9737
Terrible program
alessio.caslotti
alessio.caslotti
Feb 27 2018
0.2.8361
4.0
Feb 27 2018
4.0
Version: 0.2.8361
Not bad
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Feb 19 2018
0.2.8082
0.5
Feb 19 2018
0.5
Version: 0.2.8082
It looks like it updates itself in the background (no option for manual update). Only English in chat. No option to change language for spell checking (it doesn't use the default dictionary). No video.
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
Feb 2 2018
0.2.8082
0.0
Feb 2 2018
0.0
Version: 0.2.8082
The NSA thanks you.
Aargl
Aargl
Dec 20 2017
0.2.7315
3.0
Dec 20 2017
3.0
Version: 0.2.7315
I'm not a WhatsApp user, just tried it a few times, I was hoping this app could ease things but it needs to have the phone connected too while using it, which I find utterly stupid! :-D
Can't they figure out a better way? I'm ok with QR code identifying but once done, why not keep the app connected on the same computer, with a password? or your FB account?
Or at least, if really needed check the QR code once a month?
Buh... :-o
TechGuru
TechGuru
Oct 22 2017
0.2.6424
3.0
Oct 22 2017
3.0
Version: 0.2.6424
Buggy with duplicate app icon. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgLIyzMWhgA
Robert D.
Robert D.
Mar 31 2017
0.2.3698
3.5
Mar 31 2017
3.5
Version: 0.2.3698
Average messenger, nothing special, but I have to use it cause a lot of my foreign business partners prefer it. Good point that Whatsapp never slows down or lags. Anyway, everyone should have it installed along with other messengers.
IroniMAC
IroniMAC
Mar 12 2017
0.2.3698
5.0
Mar 12 2017
5.0
Version: 0.2.3698
Best messenger app bar none.
Gawan78
Gawan78
Nov 2 2016
0.2.2243
5.0
Nov 2 2016
5.0
Version: 0.2.2243
Could be better. Keep up, developer.
Mcr
Mcr
Nov 1 2016
0.2.2243
0.0
Nov 1 2016
0.0
Version: 0.2.2243
If you use WhatsApp, in ANY form, web or desktop (which basically wraps the web site), you MUST read the various articles regarding security concerns with the service. WhatsApp parent company is Facebook; by default unless you opt out, there is a lot of your profile info that is shared with FB. Backups of your messages to the cloud are not encrypted. Read this article at the Electronic Frontier Foundation, an org that stays on top of security and privacy issues https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2016/10/where-whatsapp-went-wrong-effs-four-biggest-security-concerns I'm not saying at all that the service is bad or shouldn't be used; I'm simply saying educate yourself about the privacy and security concerns about the service A number of privacy advocate groups have cautioned people to be aware, and have demanded WhatsApp provide greater transparency about its policies. Also, WhatsApp is one of the most SPOOFED services ever. I don't have an FB or WhatsApp count; I get probably 3 messages a week that I have a WhatsApp message, which is totally bogus.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 26 2016
0.2.1880
1.0
Sep 26 2016
1.0
Version: 0.2.1880
A side note about why the developer's site looks like crap in some web browsers: Ignoring the fact that smart web browsers allow the user to "Block cookies and other website data... From third parties and advertisers", the WhatsApp.com website grabs a lot of code for rendering its pages from a third party site. OOPS. Specifically, they grab code from their own 'WhatsApp.net' website. - - The cure of course is to temporarily UNcheck the 'Block Cookies...' setting in your web browser, which I personally do NOT RECOMMEND. IOW it's a Catch 22. Damned if you do. Damned if you don't. I suggest the developer get its act together and properly write its central .com website without requiring anything from its .net website.
Staps Fanny
Staps Fanny
Jul 15 2016
0.2.777
5.0
Jul 15 2016
5.0
Version: 0.2.777
Recommended app when you need to send messages or call someone for free. I was very surprised to see a lot of my friends already using this. Very simple GUI that works as expected.
Panocha
Panocha
Jun 11 2016
0.2.777
0.5
Jun 11 2016
0.5
Version: 0.2.777
WEaste of time, I only tried to get it because it said it was cross-platform and works on all operating systems; iOS, Android, Mac, Win, etc. This is NOT true. The second I tried to get it on my Android, which is a really new quad-core 32GB model, the PlayStore says it is not for my device. I wasted a lot of time. Still looking for something cross-platform. I want to be able to communicate easily across Mac, iOS, and Android. Maybe Linux, but F**k windoze.
fabiorico
fabiorico
Jun 6 2016
0.2.777
4.5
Jun 6 2016
4.5
Version: 0.2.777
You may think, why do I need WhatsApp on my desktop if I have it on my phone? But I noticed some significant pros. Firstly, it's much more useful if there is a need to send some documents or files to someone and do it quickly as the Internet connection on the computer is faster than on the phone or another device. Secondly, it easy to type long messages or text abstract using a normal keyboard instead of tiny buttons on the phone. Thirdly, there is no longer problem with scrolling long conversation or chat. Using a mouse is more convenient in this case. So, if you use WhatsApp much for conversation, I would recommend to get a desktop version as well.
Johnny-T-Dane
Johnny-T-Dane
Jun 3 2016
0.2.777
0.0
Jun 3 2016
0.0
Version: 0.2.777
Why use an app when you can do all this in a browser? Just my opinion.
Syed-Ali
Syed-Ali
May 14 2016
0.2.684
5.0
May 14 2016
5.0
Version: 0.2.684
Works great. Don't see any issues. I am able to send / receive messages with all my friends and activation was pretty simple.
ososX
ososX
May 13 2016
0.2.684
0.0
May 13 2016
0.0
Version: 0.2.684
Is it on the App Store too ?
foto-2
foto-2
May 12 2016
0.2.684
0.0
May 12 2016
0.0
Version: 0.2.684
0.2.684

This version not ripe (keeps crashing on startup)

Mac mini (early 2009, 4GB) OS X 10.9.5
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
May 12 2016
0.2.684
0.0
May 12 2016
0.0
Version: 0.2.684
A WhatsApp-message is nice. A handwritten letter is much nicer!