Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Canary Mail page
Canary Mail free download for Mac

Canary Mail Reviews3.27

05 July 2021

Easy and elegant e-mail client.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Sid_Sid
Sid_Sid
May 7 2021
3.26
5.0
May 7 2021
5.0
Version: 3.26
Try to use this app, I hope, everything will be fine!
Benichols
Benichols
Nov 9 2020
3.17
5.0
Nov 9 2020
5.0
Version: 3.17
Best privacy features amongst competitors. Visually pleasing and cross-sync functioning more reliably now. FYI, these reviews are inconsistent with App Store reviews (4 stars), which makes one wonder if reviewers are unbiased.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Nov 4 2020
3.16
2.0
Nov 4 2020
2.0
Version: 3.16
I tried this before purchasing. Alas, after purchasing, I discovered that it doesn't update my iCloud email. I wrote to the developers for help and was asked to send them some log files. I did so, directly from their Canary application. Then they turned around and told me that those were encrypted and that I should do something else, yet they didn't specify exactly what. I mean, if their own program can't do this, what am I supposed to do? I eventually copied and pasted all of their log data into an email and sent that. Since then, I haven't heard jack from them. They've abandoned this problem after gladly taking my money. I know people on MU ask for ratings based on the program and not on service, and I am trying to do that here. But my experience with the program is not good, and my experience with their customer service is far worse. I have little choice but to advise against this program.
johnnuzzo
johnnuzzo
Apr 15 2020
3.07
3.0
Apr 15 2020
3.0
Version: 3.07
Overall, I'm a little disappointed. Canary looks good, is fast, and has solid security support. Then there are the basic functions that are missing: - message tagging - some kind of rules-based sorting feature, to automate moving messages to folders Finally, the defect in the message editor incorrectly creating email or phone number links. To be fair, I've observed in Spark and Airmail: the message editor does not create links properly. Try creating a link for your signature, containing an email address or phone number. Canary (and Spark and Airmail) simply prefix the link text with 'https://'. Insert a phone number, say 333-333-3333 as 'tel:3333333333' and you get 'https://tel:+13333333333'. Click it, instead of opening your dialer, it opens a browser and fails to find the site. Try an email address link, and 'mailto:abc@xyz.com' becomes 'https://mailto:abc@xyz.com'. Click that, and again you open a browser instead of creating a new message to that recipient.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Mar 26 2020
3.07
3.0
Mar 26 2020
3.0
Version: 3.07
wanted to use Canary, but it does not accept digital attachments even 18 mb !!! why??? Spark has no problem with that. But the search in Canary is fast, while spark's search is useless.
joopsiroop2
joopsiroop2
Feb 24 2020
3.06
1.0
Feb 24 2020
1.0
Version: 3.06
Encourage you to read: https://www.reddit.com/r/privacytoolsIO/comments/5us6rz/canary_mail_is_this_email_app_worth_something/ and then dicide if you really want to use this "secure"mail client.
lrsquires
lrsquires
Dec 19 2019
3.04
0.0
Dec 19 2019
0.0
Version: 3.04
I am installed canary and upgraded it to Pro on my imac OS10.15.2 because Apple Mail suddenly stopped send my emails. I think I've wasted my money on Canary. Canary help is useless. I cannot get ordinary features to work. No stars from me.
Pirx
Pirx
Dec 8 2019
3.03
4.0
Dec 8 2019
4.0
Version: 3.03
It is good and solid, says what it does, does what it says.
sally-20
sally-20
Dec 3 2019
3.03
1.0
Dec 3 2019
1.0
Version: 3.03
This App drives me crazy! I no sooner get used to Canary, putting up with some weird anomalies when suddenly I get Canary Pro - I don't want the trial! How do I restore my originally purchased Canary programme? Canary search is difficult, Canary Pro doesn't seem to offer me the option to use my own colour and font when I compose and keep it for every email ( I have to change it every time I compose a new email - what!!!?) Oh heavens - and how the heck to do I contact anyone at Canary??? HELP.
Bupkis
Bupkis
Mar 21 2019
2.21
3.0
Mar 21 2019
3.0
Version: 2.21
This would be a great competitor to Airmail and Spark except for one thing: it insists that the user go to their gmail account and make "All Mail" visible. That creates havoc with my email, making it impossible to find anything. No other client insists on this. Otherwise I like most things about it: the look, the integration of OpenPGP (which Airmail and Spark do not have), the workflow.
cjred
cjred
Oct 1 2018
2.13
4.0
Oct 1 2018
4.0
Version: 2.13
So far OK. The interface needs some tweaking to make it more user friendly and simpler because right now it is quite cumbersome. Read receipts are cool (coming from a Newton mail user). Also need to ramp up sync speed. IT is quite on the slow side.
Haevuus
Haevuus
Oct 1 2018
2.13
1.0
Oct 1 2018
1.0
Version: 2.13
Gets worse, costs more...good deal.
divalasvegasproductions
divalasvegasproductions
Aug 8 2018
2.07
0.0
Aug 8 2018
0.0
Version: 2.07
Is there a way to make the font size bigger in the preview pane? I love the look but was curious about that feature. Same question about the sidebar where I see all of my accounts listed.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Jul 17 2018
2.07
0.5
Jul 17 2018
0.5
Version: 2.07
It's a good mail app with some nice features. But there is no free trial version. You have to fork over $20 to try it. There is also no support. It took me a while to figure out how to contact the support . It's buried deep in the Help section. Even then, they are not responsive. What good is an app if you cannot get any help?
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Jul 14 2018
2.07
2.0
Jul 14 2018
2.0
Version: 2.07
I'm not spending $20 on something that won't let me try it first. Especially given the concerns raised in the comments here.
Benichols
Benichols
Jun 27 2018
2.06
5.0
Jun 27 2018
5.0
Version: 2.06
Mac and iOS clients are unable to sync snoozed emails reliably, resulting in different inboxes between clients. This renders the snooze feature useless. I deleted iCloud data on all 3 clients (Mac, iPhone, iPad) and deleted and reinstalled app without change in behavior. Tried to contact support for 2 days with essentially no response (the one reply I got was a "what's wrong?" at 3am). If you want to use snooze and have it sync reliably across different devices look elsewhere.
fleur2metaline-1
fleur2metaline-1
Jun 14 2018
2.04
0.5
Jun 14 2018
0.5
Version: 2.04
The dark interface without transparency is coarse, it's almost only black and white, there are few shades, the fonts are too greasy and you can hardly distinguish unread emails !
mi-men
mi-men
Jun 14 2018
2.04
0.5
Jun 14 2018
0.5
Version: 2.04
Their iOS doesn't work with my Exchange account. Contacted their customer support. Had to send screenshots, logs and test results. Took them one week just to tell me that they are not able to open an xml file (!!!) and read the connectivity test results. After several more days, the conclusion was that the problem is not their app, but wrong account login details (never mind that the same account and login work in their own app on the Mac as well as in Spark, Apple Mail and Airmail on iOS.)
sbrenner
sbrenner
Jun 8 2018
2.04
0.0
Jun 8 2018
0.0
Version: 2.04
The price is $19.99, not $.9.99, I opened a ticket with MacUpdate.
anonymous-trout-1840
anonymous-trout-1840
Apr 1 2018
2.03
5.0
Apr 1 2018
5.0
Version: 2.03
Not only is this an elegant email client, it's also secure. The best one I've used in my entire life!
Odysseus
Odysseus
Nov 2 2017
1.7.1
0.0
Nov 2 2017
0.0
Version: 1.7.1
How is this app better than Airmail 3?
n0p
n0p
Aug 10 2017
1.4
0.5
Aug 10 2017
0.5
Version: 1.4
one is forced to add first an iCloud account ?! one can not employ any mail-provider first, or test non-iCloud services ? is it just me who can't figure this ? not customer friendly, in my books -(
ylluminate
ylluminate
Jul 25 2017
1.0
0.0
Jul 25 2017
0.0
Version: 1.0
For anyone that would like the powerful Unibox style inbox for Canary, up vote this: https://canarymail.canny.io/features/p/unibox-style-view---grouped-by-sender--arrange-by-date
alzoub
alzoub
Jun 19 2017
0.994
0.0
Jun 19 2017
0.0
Version: 0.994
Free? If you follow the path from developer page you reach the appstore where it says it will cost you 10,99 euros (for Europe - but 9,99 in US $). So,... what it is free?

It is indeed preferable a simple mail client that doesn't loop your credentials and all your e-mails through a third party server (rise suspicions especially because that app is free, it s the case of other nice GUI Apple mail replacers like Spark), but 11 euros is a terrible price, no matter how many features it offers.
Edit.
OK, I downloaded de beta version from MU. It is a very nice, easy to use/ intuitive/ with useful features , fast loading, colourful enough email client, but... BUT... i guess being a beta version it`s not exactly fully functional - two step verification doesn`t work, or at least I could make it work. I wonder if the pay version works better - way too expensive to find out.
Anyway... it is by far a better and more honest app then most of competitors for the genuine Apple mail client replacer.

pooyakamel
pooyakamel
Jun 3 2017
0.978
5.0
Jun 3 2017
5.0
Version: 0.978
Easy, Nice Looking (UX/UI) and Free!
Tim27
Tim27
May 4 2017
0.972
0.0
May 4 2017
0.0
Version: 0.972
I am really curious. Could someone explain to me what is so bad about Apple Mail and why people feel the need to use a different email app? It seems perfectly fine to me. I have emails stored in it from the late 90s when I used Claris Emailer. I mean, Mail isn't great, but it isn't bad, it's stable, free and it can send and receive email.
TheNameless_
TheNameless_
Feb 26 2017
0.912
4.0
Feb 26 2017
4.0
Version: 0.912
Dear developer, do you have any plan for Windows 10, it would be awesome, what do you think? Windows users are desperate for a great Mail app like this app,
Panico
Panico
Feb 18 2017
0.910
1.0
Feb 18 2017
1.0
Version: 0.910
Cannot use this app. After logging into Gmail (single account) on el capitan, I get a popup/dialog stating only: Missing Folder Mapping, showing al list of inboxes (some with my own labels).
This 'dropdown' list keeps coming back, cannot change behavior in prefs either. No hints, no clues. Something about draft and hidden label(s) maybe. Force Quit only. Obviously still in beta, but nothing in faq or anywhere. Shame, the parts of the interface that are visible look promising...
zlazkow
zlazkow
Feb 16 2017
0.908
3.0
Feb 16 2017
3.0
Version: 0.908
I'm using it right now. It looks very elegant. BUT...despite being elegant as the first impression, I find it really hard to concentrate on emails. The TITLES: foggy black, and the foggy so called "mass emailings", make it very difficult to look at. I didn't see any way to change the background to WHITE for example, or to Light GREY. What about FONT colors for TITLES of the emails ? If the background is dark, the titles should be easy to look at and easy readable But they are not. "Mass Emails" - I like this sorting. But these emails are 80% of all emails, at least for me. Their titles shouldn't be foggy, but clearly visible and readable. Personal emails on the other hand, should be maybe in another color. Another thing: there is no DELETE button, only right click menu. All in all Canary is very promising and I like it.
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Jan 10 2017
0.891
0.0
Jan 10 2017
0.0
Version: 0.891
What does "emails are not stored on a 3rd-party server" actually mean?

In my understanding IMAP mail with synchronization across multiple devices requires that the mails are (also) stored on the respective mail service providers servers, whether that might be with iCloud, or Gmail, or Outlook, or any other mail service provider.

And on the other hand it is also a matter of course that emails are NEVER stored on the servers of ANY maker of an email application (unless I also use an email address from that company). If I use Apple Mail and have only a Gmail email address nothing of my emails is ever stored on Apple's servers. I therefore don't understand why the makers of this software think that such a (non-) feature would make it stand out from the competition.

What is different here in regards to the handling of IMAP email accounts?
ylluminate
ylluminate
Jan 5 2017
0.886
0.0
Jan 5 2017
0.0
Version: 0.886
Does this also implement a "Unibox" style functionality that facilitates a nice homogenous inbox that reduces clutter dramatically? If it had this approach I'd be all over this app.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Dec 21 2016
0.874
4.0
Dec 21 2016
4.0
Version: 0.874
The application has been very good! Very good indeed! However, I leave some suggestions to the developers. Focus your application on security! Implement the ability to use GPG in an easy way! Today we do not have competitors with this characteristic. I am currently using Canary or Spark! However, the application that focuses on security more effectively will surely win the war!
Djefis
Djefis
Dec 4 2016
0.870
5.0
Dec 4 2016
5.0
Version: 0.870
Elegant and efficient email client.
Mondele
Mondele
Oct 9 2016
0.855
3.0
Oct 9 2016
3.0
Version: 0.855
I like Canary Mail. I really do! I found it while looking around for better email clients for my iPad and Android tablets, and I really like the look and speed of Canary Mail. I also like that it connects me directly to my email servers, rather than trying to filter everything through their own servers first. So, why three stars? Canary say that security is one of their priorities, and this is why they don't glom on to your email the way so many other programs do these days. However, there's no way to encrypt your email in this app. Not even SMIME, which is supported by the iOS mail apps, let alone GPG. Secondly, no rules. I get hundreds of emails in a week (hundreds of spam messages a day) and I need to be able to filter them into their own folders. Apple's client does this rather well. Canary -- no option. I realize the app is free. I like free. I think it's beautiful, and it's fun to use, but without smart folders, rules, encryption, and so on, it's only half an email program. I wish K-9 Mail made an app for Mac, and I might even get desperate enough to try to compile it! If your email needs are simple, and you're a member of the new media "share with no boundaries or fences" crowd, you owe it to yourself to try Canary Mail. If you liked it when letters had envelopes, or you need to organize large amounts of email, you need to keep looking, or learn to love Apple's really quite functional mail client again.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Aug 19 2016
0.803
5.0
Aug 19 2016
5.0
Version: 0.803
"Preference to raise message limit to 2000" Does that mean what I think it means? One can not have more than 2000 msgs stored/displayed/tracked at any one time? If so, is that per account, or for the app in total? I can't find any info at the dev's site, so maybe some users can help out here.
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
Aug 9 2016
0.785
2.0
Aug 9 2016
2.0
Version: 0.785
Tried it a few weeks, and couldn't figure out why my text in new emails or replies would fracture into segments (some text active while other text is greyed out and unselectable/non-editable). Turns out the dev instituted a ridiculously cumbersome and counterintuitive scheme for separating out the "sig" portion of the email from the composed section (but it just winds up fracturing everything unpredictably, with no explanation as to why). Such disruption and confusion to solve a complete non-problem!

The many bugs may eventually be worked out of this unstable beta, and the dev may eventually realize the insanity of this sig-separation scheme, but I don't trust the judgement displayed, and have little faith this will evolve into an app that's "elegant", to use his phrase..

I'm going back to awful, awful Airmail. Your mileage may vary though. So give it a try, but first thing you should do is create a new email and see how high your blood pressure climbs when chunks of your own text become arbitrarily un-selectable.
Noraa
Noraa
Aug 8 2016
0.785
0.0
Aug 8 2016
0.0
Version: 0.785
Definitely could use an opaque dark theme. The standard opaque theme is way to bright; the transparency of the dark theme, however, is very distracting.
davyboy
davyboy
Aug 6 2016
0.785
5.0
Aug 6 2016
5.0
Version: 0.785
Most excellent! Beta or not, it is always amazing to me when a developer shares a labor of love at no cost to the user. There are some who try to impart constructive criticism, some who just dismiss it as worthless - and both give less than optimal reviews. If you appreciate someone's generosity and, if it benefits you, why wouldn't you want to encourage the author with a rating that is deserved and positive words as well? Some hold out a rating in the same way they tease dogs that they never give the treat to. "Great first effort - here's a 3 star to encourage you. If you will provide yada yada yada, I'll increase my rating." Why, thank you King Poop! I have more to share on the subject, but people will be what they are; friendly or assholes. THANK YOU for an app I switched to immediately because of the very obvious time and attention you've put into it. I'm excited about the fact that a program of this quality is not a final release and also to see what you change along the way.
Schwity
Schwity
Aug 1 2016
0.778
0.0
Aug 1 2016
0.0
Version: 0.778
Hi. I just play around with Canary, but only with one account. For now I like Canary, yes. But, if I have a wish for the further development, then it is an import function for all the accounts from Apple Mail incl. aliases and signatures. If you would invite/inspire people to switch I thing this is elementary. Nobody wants to do all the configuration manually. Another important thing is to support the same plugin interface for third party apps like e.g. Daylite or other CRM software. … or Canary itself offers more CRM functionalities im combination with address book, calendar, notice and the reminder app from Apple, this will be excellence. Kind regards.
TheNameless_
TheNameless_
Jul 27 2016
0.772
4.0
Jul 27 2016
4.0
Version: 0.772
To be honest,I didn't have too much hope to get this much better in a short period of time..I have seen how you guys improved the application day after day and now lots of small bugs are gone..It's a great free application,Thanks! Great support for Outlook btw!
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Jun 29 2016
0.721
0.5
Jun 29 2016
0.5
Version: 0.721
font size and legibility in message pane is VERY POOR such a shame for vision impaired people!!!!!!!
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Jun 28 2016
0.720
0.0
Jun 28 2016
0.0
Version: 0.720
Too much unnecessary eye candy in my opinion, for example Unsplash imaginery and user pictures. Can't say anything about minimality yet. Hope it won't become another Airmail. However, I think I will stick with MailMate or GyazMail.
Hilbo60
Hilbo60
Jun 28 2016
0.718
5.0
Jun 28 2016
5.0
Version: 0.718
Very rare occasion when an update breaks something this morning and within minutes was fixed. Can't rate that highly enough, other devs please take note!
Hilbo60
Hilbo60
Jun 28 2016
0.718
5.0
Jun 28 2016
5.0
Version: 0.718
Been my default email client for quite a few weeks now, very active dev., constantly updating & improving the App. Will be buying on day one when it becomes paid-for! Just one thing, to the dev., please, please don't do a Sparrow and sell out to the dark side, i.e. Google.
Just-Fred
Just-Fred
Jun 22 2016
0.717
5.0
Jun 22 2016
5.0
Version: 0.717
This is quite an introductory splash by a very promising mail client. It set up four of my five email accounts (excite.com is the odd one out, and one that virtually no other mail client can touch) quickly and easily. I can configure elements of each account without having to resort to myriad menus and manuals, runs very quickly, and seems quite intuitive. There will be a paid version on the App Store when the finished product is released. I'm not quite sure what they'll add (or subtract) when that happens, but for now, it's a very smooth, enjoyable email experience.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Jun 16 2016
0.712
5.0
Jun 16 2016
5.0
Version: 0.712
@ Canary Mail (Developer) Thank you for so succinctly and completely negating the imaginary issues thrown up by blank_name_here in the previous post. Why that person should make MU the place to take you up on their perceived insecurities when you've got a perfectly functional feedback mechanism right there in the app, beats me. To counter act their dismal half star, please have five from me and keep up the excellent work you are doing!
anonymous-snipe-170
anonymous-snipe-170
Jun 14 2016
0.709
0.5
Jun 14 2016
0.5
Version: 0.709
With Little Snitch turned on I allowed this app to connect to only two places, my domain and gmail. Blocking the 6+ other locations it tries to ping out to cripples the ability for the app to login or continue. Secure? No fucking way in hell. If you want me to believe it's secure this should ping to my domain and my mail server only. I wish I could leave negative stars.
Sjha
Sjha
Jun 8 2016
0.702
0.0
Jun 8 2016
0.0
Version: 0.702
I've tried Canary and found it easy to connect to my gmail account (and liked what I saw of the UI. )However i couldn't connect either my university Exchange account or my Yahoo account. And the Canary web-site is not what you might call helpful. If anyone can point me to somewhere to obtain help with my issues I'd be very grateful
TheNameless_
TheNameless_
Jun 5 2016
0.700
4.0
Jun 5 2016
4.0
Version: 0.700
Wow,it looks really nice and its supper friendly,all problems I used to have on Apple Mail are gone, suddenly I can find answers for them easily in pref section easily! Just keep it up,its great looking,friendly and has Outlook IMAP,killer app! Keep it up! Love its features!
aljaruun
aljaruun
Jun 5 2016
0.700
3.0
Jun 5 2016
3.0
Version: 0.700
Stylish, sort of iOS looking, lots of hover buttons and things that slide in and out if you like that sort of thing. The UI is still a bit buggy (sometimes the viewer disappears, sometimes the menu bar doesn't work - this seems to be related to a setting in the Prefs where you can turn on/off a Status bar menu). No documentation - click 'Help' and you get a 'Help is not available'. Main drawback for me is there's no 'Mail Rules', so i can't define my own actions on incoming mail. Hopefully this is all just 'work in progress'. As a beta app it's got potential, but it's not sufficiently polished yet for it to be the daily workhorse that i need.