Back to iTunes page
iTunes free download for Mac

iTunes Reviews

16 May 2019

Play Apple Music and manage your media and iOS devices.

How would you rate iTunes?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
anilmushi
anilmushi
Dec 1 2020
12.9.5
3.0
Dec 1 2020
3.0
Version: 12.9.5
Large library management is a headache. Necessary evil for iphone and pod users.
raymarbowen
raymarbowen
Feb 9 2020
12.9.5
1.0
Feb 9 2020
1.0
Version: 12.9.5
itunes continues to become more difficult to use with every update. I am sitting here now trying to figure out how to navigate to the video store with the new TV app concept which seems to not work correctly anymore. The music area is horrible when it comes to tracking and searching for you music. I know change can be good but making change for the sake of just doing it is pointless. I wish we had the option to choose the style or iTunes interface we like most no matter what iOS update is pushed.
Malcolm Burrows
Malcolm Burrows
Oct 14 2019
12.9.5
0.0
Oct 14 2019
0.0
Version: 12.9.5
Apple iTunes is the best application that I have been for a while. I really like the interface of iTunes and how it works. And more important I really liked the new features that I have got after the new updates.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 28 2019
12.9.5
3.0
Sep 28 2019
3.0
Version: 12.9.5
iTunes 12.9.5.5 is now out. It updates iTunes to be compatible with iOS 13.x devices. - - When using the older 12.9.5 version of iTunes, iOS 13.x devices cause iTunes to bring up a window warning: "A software update is required to connect to [insert device name]. Would you like to download and install this update now?... Apple have thus far been too disorganized to bother providing any adequate explanation when using the useless 'Learn More...' button. But what happens if you hit 'Install' is the update to iTunes 12.9.5.5. Two notable new files are installed: (1) LaunchDaemon 'com.usbmuxd.plist' (2) PackageKit framework 'AppleMobileDevice.kext'.
hwgray
hwgray
May 18 2019
12.9.5
0.5
May 18 2019
0.5
Version: 12.9.5
Does not work on my 2014 iMac. iTunes crashes, upon launch, rendering it unusable. The error message reads: The iTunes Library file cannot be found or created. The default location for this file is in the "iTunes" folder in the "Music" folder. So, in my case, where does a search reveal this file to be? Why, it's in the "iTunes" folder in the "Music" folder, the default location for this file, of course. Where else would it be?
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 25 2019
12.8.2
3.0
Feb 25 2019
3.0
Version: 12.8.2
12.9.2.5 is the current version of iTunes (not 12.8.2). It was released January 23rd, 2019.
fmat
fmat
Feb 25 2019
12.8.2
0.5
Feb 25 2019
0.5
Version: 12.8.2
Wouldn't it be great, if Apple managed to show album covers in iTunes? That problem has been reported on Apple Discussions one year ago in march 2018 and is since unresolved:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8339815
mrdhs-1
mrdhs-1
Feb 24 2019
12.8.2
1.0
Feb 24 2019
1.0
Version: 12.8.2
Dear MacUpdate, You are lying when you write "It can automatically download new music, app, and book purchases across all your devices and computers." It does not download any apps. I manage a grunch of iPads and iPhones and I do NOT want my users to download their own apps. So, I am stuck in the distant past, and Apple does not seem to care!
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
Feb 24 2019
12.8.2
0.0
Feb 24 2019
0.0
Version: 12.8.2
This version is NOT up-to-date. The current version on my Macbook Air is 12.9.2.5.
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
Feb 24 2019
12.8.2
0.0
Feb 24 2019
0.0
Version: 12.8.2
The latest version that was updated on my iMac by Apple is 12.9.2.
Scion777
Scion777
Dec 14 2018
12.8
0.0
Dec 14 2018
0.0
Version: 12.8
MacUpdate Admins - iTunes 12.8.1 released about an hour ago via the App Store
kolkataroy
kolkataroy
Sep 22 2018
12.6.2
4.0
Sep 22 2018
4.0
Version: 12.6.2
nice
gary-22
gary-22
Sep 19 2018
12.8
4.0
Sep 19 2018
4.0
Version: 12.8
iTunes 12.6.5: https://secure-appldnld.apple.com/itunes12/091-87821-20180912-69177170-B085-11E8-B6AB-C1D03409AD2A/iTunes12.6.5.dmg Could someone post a comment if this works with iOS 12? Cheers.
guoqingzhen
guoqingzhen
Aug 13 2018
12.8
2.0
Aug 13 2018
2.0
Version: 12.8
Soso
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jul 20 2018
12.8
1.0
Jul 20 2018
1.0
Version: 12.8
Apple, you suck more and more. I may need to change my nickname.
CODE_ASH
CODE_ASH
Jul 20 2018
12.8
4.0
Jul 20 2018
4.0
Version: 12.8
i love music
thomas-freise
thomas-freise
Jun 8 2018
12.7.5
5.0
Jun 8 2018
5.0
Version: 12.7.5
Good music and movies
loving_big_brother
loving_big_brother
May 30 2018
12.7.4
1.0
May 30 2018
1.0
Version: 12.7.4
Wouldn't it be wonderful if iTunes was able to display non-square covers in album view? This has been broken since 12.6.4 and it has astonishingly not been fixed with 12.7.5.9 which was released yesterday so this listing needs to be updated.
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8339815
gcbernstein2
gcbernstein2
May 28 2018
12.7.4
0.0
May 28 2018
0.0
Version: 12.7.4
I am getting a pop up "please try later" or smth' Someone knows the possible reason? Thnaks in advance
flavien
flavien
Apr 11 2018
12.6.2
3.0
Apr 11 2018
3.0
Version: 12.6.2
j
Mac-Freak
Mac-Freak
Apr 5 2018
12.7.4
0.0
Apr 5 2018
0.0
Version: 12.7.4
New iTunes 12.6.4 (Deploy) Edition with AppStore Support: https://secure-appldnld.apple.com/itunes12/091-60759-201803029-1F70CB08-3131-11E8-9791-31052B2AA206/iTunes12.6.4.dmg
iqpu
iqpu
Apr 2 2018
12.7.4
1.5
Apr 2 2018
1.5
Version: 12.7.4
iTunes not supporting FLAC files. This is a really ignorant move by Apple Marketing to push their own proprietary format. Shame on you Apple!
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 4 2018
12.7.3
4.0
Mar 4 2018
4.0
Version: 12.7.3
No high resolution formats is a very disappointing no presence in iTunes, other than that is very good.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 24 2018
12.7.3
3.0
Feb 24 2018
3.0
Version: 12.7.3
No opinion have no use for it! Would delte it if I could because for me it is a waste of space.
barmaleydos
barmaleydos
Dec 8 2017
12.7.2
4.0
Dec 8 2017
4.0
Version: 12.7.2
Works okay for me.
Scion777
Scion777
Dec 7 2017
12.7.1
0.0
Dec 7 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7.1
MU Admins - iTunes 12.7.2 has been issued via the App Store.
Albabe
Albabe
Oct 31 2017
12.7
0.5
Oct 31 2017
0.5
Version: 12.7
12.7.1 was released today. C'mon macupdate!
Mcr
Mcr
Oct 10 2017
12.7
0.0
Oct 10 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7
Here's (once again) my lecture on how to manage Apple software updates of any kind (iTunes, iWorks, macOS etc) for all those ringing your hands about the changes in iTunes 12.7 and being 'caught unawares'. First lesson, why do people update on their working, everyday systems, with working data? macOS is one of the EASIEST operating systems to clone and have multiple boot copies of. Hard drive space is SO CHEAP; get yourself a couple terabyte external drive, and put multiple copies of bootable macOS on it. You don't need to go through the install process one by one, just clone your existing everyday partition, leaving out anything you don't want (data, certain apps, etc). I have one external drive with numurous bootable partitions, and not all the same version of macOS either. At least one each of High Sierra, Sierra, El Cap, Yosemite, or more. That's just one drive, I have other drives with boot partitions, going all the way back to Snow Leopard if I ever need it.. To clone just the OS portion only takes about 20GB partitions. The point is you can boot into these non-everyday working partitions to test software and test upgrades. If you find an upgrade doesn't suit your taste, no harm done, reclone the partition and start fresh, or in THIS CASE, where people want to hold on to pre itunes 12.7 so they can manage their iOS apps from iTunes, great, keep a separate partition with 12.6 on it. Use that partition to manage iOS apps, use the 12.7 running on another partition to manage everything else to take advantage of the newer features and cleaner UI of 12.7. Apple at least now allows you to manage iOS devices from multiple copies of iTunes, as long as you confirm that it can be 'Trusted'. In the old days, attaching a device to another copy of iTunes required removing the existing data. In fact, to make content management easier for me, I use one copy of iTunes just for eBooks and audiobooks, and another copy on a different boot partition to manage music. And this doesn't take a lot of work folks to set this up except for some initial time, I hear people already saying it's too hard to have multiple partitions, NO it isn't. One thing Apple did get right from day one is make macOS extremely flexible in regards to installing, and allowing Macs to boot from just about anything, and the same Mac to be able to boot from more than one partition. Windows users can't do that (without 3rd party tools). Windows users would KILL to be able to boot a PC from user selectable multiple Windows partitions, different physical drives, yes, but multiple partitions on the same drive, not so easy without hacks. Now A**zon and N**egg have sales all the time on external portable drives. This morning, I see a 1TB USB 3.0 drive for under $50 on N**egg. CAn't afford $50? If you have space on your existing internal drive, set aside some space for another partition on that. Disk Utility EASILY allows you to shrink your existing partition and add another. Again, 20GB is plenty for a working copy of macOS, with no user data, plus whatever app you are wanting to test or update. SuperDuper cloning software is free, or my favorites CarbonCopyCloner and ChronoSync are very affordable. If you have a boot partition already of Yosemite or earlier, Apple's Disk Utility will also clone. Or for the brave, you can still clone using Terminal commands from any macOS. Numerous free Unix utils can also clone mac partitions (Gparted, PartitionMagic are a few), and yes, they work on a Mac because you boot from a flash key. Last but not least, you can also use virtual machines to test software and upgrades before committing to it. If you already have VMWare Fusion or Parallels, test your upgrades inside a virtual machine. VirtualBox is free. The people that hang out here at MacUpdate tend to be more technically advanced than your typical 'Uncle Henry and Aunt Em' users, so what I am describing here should be well within the technical abilities of many of MacUpdate users. With hard drives so inexpensive, and free software solutions available, cost should not be a barrier to implementing some of these processes. I test macOS updates the same way, never first time on my working everyday partition, with my working data; always on a clone first. Peace.
ososX
ososX
Oct 9 2017
12.7
2.0
Oct 9 2017
2.0
Version: 12.7
Half baked - once again. In the new version some of the support for the iDevices vanished, I don't like it after getting used to it. At the other hand they didn't make it user friendly ... I also encounter annoying bugs such as the "up next" tab in the flip down menu disappearing (left only with the history and lyrics tabs). Isn't it time for the flagship application to become friendly and reliable.
nciccheck
nciccheck
Sep 22 2017
12.7
2.0
Sep 22 2017
2.0
Version: 12.7
This sucks! I can't view my iPhone apps anymore! Anybody know where I can get an older version where I can still work with my phone apps and sort apps and adjust screens during backups?
Hermie
Hermie
Sep 16 2017
12.7
0.0
Sep 16 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7
And gone is all my artwork, *&%! Apple! Since the app stuff has also vanished it's exit iTunes. On the plus side: Swinsian still sees it and works like a charm.
lawrence-n
lawrence-n
Sep 15 2017
12.7
0.0
Sep 15 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7
Well, only a mere 2 days or more and the hysteria starts. How many of you complained bitterly that itunes was 'bloated' or 'unusable and thus not fit for purpose' — or a ipod of porpoises. So yet again, as with all change, we witness the fists of anger, the miserable hand-wringing, and then, finally, the heart-wrenching tears and the slow decline into a dribbling wreak. Change does that to everyone. Change upsets the complacent, and the arrogant fool with a sense of entitlement. This — itunes — is not your toy, kids. Never was and never will be, so go with the flow and embrace change. This might be the start of something quite remarkable. Especially if you're a porpoise.
wmh
wmh
Sep 14 2017
12.7
1.0
Sep 14 2017
1.0
Version: 12.7
This version is a major step backwards! Since we can no longer access, manage, or update apps on our computers, there is no reason to continue to store the apps on our hard drives. I found the apps at the following location and deleted them. In my case, they consumed 9.32 GB.
Home Folder > Music > iTunes > iTunes Music > Mobile Applications

On every iOS device in my home I changed my "Settings" to NOT allow " iTunes & App Stores" to "Use Cellular Data" Now apps will only update on WiFi. In the same location, be sure "Apps" and "Updates" are toggled ON to automatically download future updates.
chawya22
chawya22
Sep 14 2017
12.7
0.0
Sep 14 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7
Isn't it the plan, to have the App Store take over iTunes Mobile Apps maintenance, in High Sierra? I guess the only problem is, those users who can't or won't update to 10.13.x. They're left out in the cold and IMO, weren't properly informed of the consequences of the iTunes update.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Sep 14 2017
12.7
1.0
Sep 14 2017
1.0
Version: 12.7
It's quote understandable for Apple to want to de-gunk iTunes, and I understand wanting to remove apps and ringtones and iTunesU to make iTunes an a/V app. But it needed then to add iOS apps to the Mac App Store app (or replicate ot on the web)! There are so many advantages to the larger view and ability to purchase from the Mac that it is a HUGE error for Apple to remove that ability entirely.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 14 2017
12.7
3.0
Sep 14 2017
3.0
Version: 12.7
Apple has DELETED the original post of iTunes 12.7 from the Mac App Store. IOW: If you installed the original post of this update, keep an eye out for WHY it was deleted.
Whisperquiet
Whisperquiet
Sep 13 2017
12.7
4.0
Sep 13 2017
4.0
Version: 12.7
Now it's far cleaner and music centric. But the iOS apps section could have been placed in a separate app for easy app and device management. We still use a few 'older' iPhones as they are still very functional and the loss of the iOS apps section is a bit sad..
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
Sep 13 2017
12.7
0.0
Sep 13 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7
To all these people panicking about the removal of iOS apps from iTunes, I get your point, but you have to realize that all your old 32-bit apps will be killed by iOS 11 next week anyway.
alzoub
alzoub
Sep 13 2017
12.7
0.0
Sep 13 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7
Apple cut the mutant in two - the mutant most of the apple users had to learn to live with. But they didn`t put something in change to cover the apps, the books, the now missing half of iTunes. Maybe we`ll see soon a proper solution, other then relying on iPhone only. Because right now they did half a job... and as it seems it`s pretty sloppy. They just trashed it in the shadow on the shiny new iPhone UFO.
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
Sep 13 2017
12.7
0.0
Sep 13 2017
0.0
Version: 12.7
Bye bye iOS App Store! We had a good time...
Fra
Fra
Sep 13 2017
12.7
1.0
Sep 13 2017
1.0
Version: 12.7
V. 12.7 : you cannot anymore manage your iphone/ipad apps in iTunes, You need to redownload them in the store. But older apps are not available on the store. So you loose them !
Alynxx
Alynxx
Sep 13 2017
12.7
1.0
Sep 13 2017
1.0
Version: 12.7
This is a catastrophic update. Apple just leave their customers middle of nowhere. Impossible to view-edit-update-delete list of apps on an ergonomic way and nothing in replacement. Also, using your mobile device to update or manage will use much more data on your plan than wifi with your laptop. How to add an App stored and already downloaded by iTunes, etc... I just don't understand this update. That's the new Apple and hope they will fail in the future, they are in a good way... A sad Apple lover.
Bunnybrains
Bunnybrains
Sep 13 2017
12.7
3.0
Sep 13 2017
3.0
Version: 12.7
As a iTunes user since it was SoundJam MP, I appreciate the back to basics of v12.7 BUT Apple really needs to replace the app management aspect with a standalone app management app. Having the ability to search your apps by date, size and category is very useful, as is being able to install and uninstall inside a management app.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Sep 13 2017
12.7
2.0
Sep 13 2017
2.0
Version: 12.7
The new iTunes 12.7 introduced yesterday eliminates:

- iOS App Store
- iOS app and screen layout management
- iOS books/pdf document management

The implications:

- Can no longer access my Apps and iBooks that are no longer in the Apple iTunes store
(eg, the best Oxford English Dictionary)

- Can no longer search for iOS Apps in the much easier (prior) Mac iTunes interface

- Can no longer sync books/PDFs across devices not purchased through the iBooks Store

- Can no longer readily re-organize my many Apps and where they are placed on iOS screens


iTunes was horrible in its method of reorganizing apps - but far better than nothing.

It makes a clean iOS install with every major iOS upgrade a real pain.


What are those young MBAs at Apple thinking???
Erik-Carlson
Erik-Carlson
Sep 13 2017
12.7
1.5
Sep 13 2017
1.5
Version: 12.7
Can no longer download iOS Apps! Bad news APPLE
anonymous-wallaby-5682
anonymous-wallaby-5682
Sep 13 2017
12.6.2
0.0
Sep 13 2017
0.0
Version: 12.6.2
All-new-ish iTunes 12.7 now downloading. Removes the IOS Apps section - you can't 'see' your installed apps in iTunes anymore, or set them out how you want them on the computer screen anymore... :

Learn about changes to Apps, iTunes U, Internet Radio, and more.

The new iTunes focuses on music, movies, TV shows, podcasts, and audiobooks. Apps for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch are now exclusively available in the new App Store for iOS. And the new App Store makes it easy to get, update, and redownload apps—all without a Mac or PC.
You'll find these changes in the new iTunes:
Apps: Looking for your past iOS app downloads? Learn how to redownload apps on your iOS device.
iTunes U: Collections of iTunes U content appear in the Podcasts section of iTunes.
Internet Radio: Your Internet Radio stations appear in your music library's sidebar. Click Edit in the sidebar to show or hide Internet Radio.
Ringtones: iOS 11 supports redownloading ringtones directly to your iOS device, without the need to use iTunes on your Mac or PC.
Books on Windows: Books on iTunes for Windows are managed in iBooks for iOS. Learn how to redownload books on an iOS device.

Manage apps and other content
You can find iOS apps, ringtones, and books (PC only) that you've already downloaded in your iTunes Media folder.
If you have an iOS app, ringtone, or book that's no longer available for redownload, you can move that content to your iOS device while plugged in to a computer with a USB cable.
Albabe
Albabe
May 16 2017
12.6.1
0.5
May 16 2017
0.5
Version: 12.6.1
Brand new version, 12.6.1, keeps crashing in Mavericks on my 2010 Mac Pro. It won't even start-up. POS!
Sichan
Sichan
May 15 2017
12.6.1
4.0
May 15 2017
4.0
Version: 12.6.1
Version 12.6.1 finally fixed the lag and the spinning beachballs of death that have been plaguing the last 10 or so versions for me. I am happy.
Albabe
Albabe
May 5 2017
12.6
0.5
May 5 2017
0.5
Version: 12.6
iTunes still sucks for me. It works fine except for when it doesn't. It's been years and I still have the same problem of some of my Songs not playing 'till the end and skipping to the next Track. It really sucks. I have a theory: I noticed that the songs that skip are ones I've ripped at home and brought in to my Office as mp3 files, rather than bringing in the actual CD and ripping it in my office (m4a's seem to be ok if I rip them at home). A friend of mine ripped one of his CDs for me and gave it to me as mp3s and it skipped at my Office, so i borrowed his CD and ripped the songs myself, and it worked fine. I'm wondering if this is Apple's way of messing with people that they think are "obtaining" songs from somewhere other than their own CDs of through iTunes. Clementine isn't as robust but it plays all of my songs 'till they end.
MyronV9060
MyronV9060
Mar 24 2017
12.6
3.5
Mar 24 2017
3.5
Version: 12.6
Yeah! Apple finally restored the "open in new window" option for playlists. Now I can compare multiple playlists side-by-side again! But yes, switching between normal view and the mini-player doesn't work as well. The X in the upper-left of the mini-player doesn't always show up. Better off using shift+command+M as mentioned.