Back to iTunes page
iTunes free download for Mac

iTunes Reviews

12.9.5
16 May 2019

Play Apple Music and manage your media and iOS devices.

raymarbowen
09 February 2020

Most helpful

itunes continues to become more difficult to use with every update. I am sitting here now trying to figure out how to navigate to the video store with the new TV app concept which seems to not work correctly anymore. The music area is horrible when it comes to tracking and searching for you music. I know change can be good but making change for the sake of just doing it is pointless. I wish we had the option to choose the style or iTunes interface we like most no matter what iOS update is pushed.
Like (1)
Version 12.9.5

Read 1178 iTunes User Reviews

Rate this app:

raymarbowen
09 February 2020
itunes continues to become more difficult to use with every update. I am sitting here now trying to figure out how to navigate to the video store with the new TV app concept which seems to not work correctly anymore. The music area is horrible when it comes to tracking and searching for you music. I know change can be good but making change for the sake of just doing it is pointless. I wish we had the option to choose the style or iTunes interface we like most no matter what iOS update is pushed.
Like (1)
Version 12.9.5
Malcolm Burrows
14 October 2019
Apple iTunes is the best application that I have been for a while. I really like the interface of iTunes and how it works. And more important I really liked the new features that I have got after the new updates.
Like
Version 12.9.5
Derekcurrie
28 September 2019
iTunes 12.9.5.5 is now out. It updates iTunes to be compatible with iOS 13.x devices. - - When using the older 12.9.5 version of iTunes, iOS 13.x devices cause iTunes to bring up a window warning: "A software update is required to connect to [insert device name]. Would you like to download and install this update now?... Apple have thus far been too disorganized to bother providing any adequate explanation when using the useless 'Learn More...' button. But what happens if you hit 'Install' is the update to iTunes 12.9.5.5. Two notable new files are installed: (1) LaunchDaemon 'com.usbmuxd.plist' (2) PackageKit framework 'AppleMobileDevice.kext'.
Like
Version 12.9.5
hwgray
18 May 2019
Does not work on my 2014 iMac. iTunes crashes, upon launch, rendering it unusable. The error message reads: The iTunes Library file cannot be found or created. The default location for this file is in the "iTunes" folder in the "Music" folder. So, in my case, where does a search reveal this file to be? Why, it's in the "iTunes" folder in the "Music" folder, the default location for this file, of course. Where else would it be?
Like (1)
Version 12.9.5
Derekcurrie
25 February 2019
12.9.2.5 is the current version of iTunes (not 12.8.2). It was released January 23rd, 2019.
Like (3)
Version 12.8.2
1 answer(s)
Jbucholtz
Jbucholtz
26 February 2019
I was just going to make the same post!
Like
fmat
25 February 2019
Wouldn't it be great, if Apple managed to show album covers in iTunes? That problem has been reported on Apple Discussions one year ago in march 2018 and is since unresolved:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8339815
Like (3)
Version 12.8.2
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
25 February 2019
Yes, album covers would be great. So would the ability to fill in the little circles to the left of Artist's names when Apple hasn't bothered. Probably 90% of those circles in my iTunes are the generic gray microphone icon. Why did Apple even bother with that GUI element?! It ends up looking ridiculous.

As for Apple not following up on user requests, let along bug reports, this is part of what I call Apple Mac-Malaise. The company has FAILed to scale as they've grown, resulting in quite a lot of dropping the ball and Apple Bungles.®™ Having beta-tested (for free) for Apple for years via AppleSeed, I'm incredibly disappointed with the company's carelessness in recent years. It really is valid to say they've diverted their attention elsewhere, such as Apple Music and iOS devices. It's ruining their reputation for attention to customers, to detail and to user-friendliness. I still do my best to support them as an excellent company. But their failure to scale has become severely annoying and frustrating.
Like (4)
mrdhs-1
24 February 2019
Dear MacUpdate, You are lying when you write "It can automatically download new music, app, and book purchases across all your devices and computers." It does not download any apps. I manage a grunch of iPads and iPhones and I do NOT want my users to download their own apps. So, I am stuck in the distant past, and Apple does not seem to care!
Like (2)
Version 12.8.2
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
25 February 2019
The removal of the ability to download apps into iTunes happened with version 12.0.0. Apple instead wants iOS users to only install apps via their iOS devices. Storing iOS apps on Macs via iTunes is dead and gone.

If you are administrating iOS devices, there is the ability to control what your iOS device users can access, including apps. Download and read about Apple Configurator, available for free at the Mac App Store. You might also find Screen Time useful. It's available in the Settings app. It provides a variety of restrictions.
Like (1)
Amcarter3
24 February 2019
This version is NOT up-to-date. The current version on my Macbook Air is 12.9.2.5.
Like (6)
Version 12.8.2
4 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
24 February 2019
Right. Included in macOS MOJAVE:
https://www.apple.com/itunes/download/
Like
Scion777
Scion777
24 February 2019
This is NOT for Mac OS 14 - this is for High Sierra, Sierra, El Capitan (I think?)
Like (1)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
25 February 2019
Yes, Scion777, right, as noted on the Apple page I linked to:
"You can always download iTunes 12.8 for previous versions of macOS, as well as the application for Windows."
Like
Starman535
Starman535
16 May 2019
On my macbook pro (2015), I have iTunes 12.9.4.94. Neither it nor Safari appeared in the Mac App Store.
Like
hmfwic47
24 February 2019
The latest version that was updated on my iMac by Apple is 12.9.2.
Like (3)
Version 12.8.2
1 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
24 February 2019
Right. 12.9.2.5. Included in macOS MOJAVE:
https://www.apple.com/itunes/download/
Like (1)
Scion777
14 December 2018
MacUpdate Admins - iTunes 12.8.1 released about an hour ago via the App Store
Like
Version 12.8
1 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
15 December 2018
NOTE - this version was PULLED by Apple from Software Update and the page for it on Apple Support Downloads was removed after a short time - it appears iTunes 12.8.1 broke Safari for users of Yosemite.
Like (1)
kolkataroy
22 September 2018
nice
Like
Version 12.6.2
1 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
24 February 2019
All daft one-word reviews like this (and their rating) should be deleted from MacUpdate. I see many of these within the iTunes "reviews". people don't come here to read reviews like "nice", "soso", "i love music" etc....
Like
gary-22
19 September 2018
iTunes 12.6.5: https://secure-appldnld.apple.com/itunes12/091-87821-20180912-69177170-B085-11E8-B6AB-C1D03409AD2A/iTunes12.6.5.dmg Could someone post a comment if this works with iOS 12? Cheers.
Like (2)
Version 12.8
1 answer(s)
incrzr
incrzr
22 September 2018
Worked with my iPad Mini 4.
Like (1)
guoqingzhen
13 August 2018
Soso
Like
Version 12.8
Maclover1-1
20 July 2018
Apple, you suck more and more. I may need to change my nickname.
Like (2)
Version 12.8
ashishcompuiting
20 July 2018
i love music
Like
Version 12.8
thomas-freise
08 June 2018
Good music and movies
Like
Version 12.7.5
Wouldn't it be wonderful if iTunes was able to display non-square covers in album view? This has been broken since 12.6.4 and it has astonishingly not been fixed with 12.7.5.9 which was released yesterday so this listing needs to be updated.
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8339815
Like (6)
Version 12.7.4
4 answer(s)
Sean-Smith
Sean-Smith
06 June 2018
This bug alone easily merits your one-star rating. It's a slap in the face!

In fact, the iTunes developers should be lined up against the wall and shot.

/sarcasm
Like
japr
japr
19 June 2018
@Sean: not that, but fixing the bug would be a start, right?
Like (1)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
20 July 2018
Yes this "bug" merits a star. You'd almost think they do it on purpose so you get so frustrated with your own library you end up paying for their "online radio crap for the masses." They cannot be that bad at programming.. and if they are it's even worse possibly. I mean THE platform for graphics and imagery etc cannot even display images in their fancy jukebox ?!? In 2018?!? Hello... Something fishy's going on. Like with their planned obsolescence approach in general. Apple don't be evil.. too late.
Like
Starman535
Starman535
16 May 2019
iTunes is NOT available in the app store menu. Neither was Safari 12.1.1
Like
gcbernstein2
28 May 2018
I am getting a pop up "please try later" or smth' Someone knows the possible reason? Thnaks in advance
Like
Version 12.7.4
flavien
11 April 2018
j
Like
Version 12.6.2
Mac-Freak
05 April 2018
New iTunes 12.6.4 (Deploy) Edition with AppStore Support: https://secure-appldnld.apple.com/itunes12/091-60759-201803029-1F70CB08-3131-11E8-9791-31052B2AA206/iTunes12.6.4.dmg
Like (1)
Version 12.7.4
iqpu
02 April 2018
iTunes not supporting FLAC files. This is a really ignorant move by Apple Marketing to push their own proprietary format. Shame on you Apple!
Like
Version 12.7.4
1 answer(s)
Sean-Smith
Sean-Smith
28 April 2018
ALAC (Apple Lossless Audio Codec) is not proprietary. It is open source, released under the Apache license, and available at https://macosforge.github.io/alac.
Like (1)
Rikyman
04 March 2018
No high resolution formats is a very disappointing no presence in iTunes, other than that is very good.
Like
Version 12.7.3
DragonMaster
24 February 2018
No opinion have no use for it! Would delte it if I could because for me it is a waste of space.
Like
Version 12.7.3
barmaleydos
08 December 2017
Works okay for me.
Like
Version 12.7.2
Scion777
07 December 2017
MU Admins - iTunes 12.7.2 has been issued via the App Store.
Like
Version 12.7.1
Albabe
31 October 2017
12.7.1 was released today. C'mon macupdate!
Like
Version 12.7
Mcr
10 October 2017
Here's (once again) my lecture on how to manage Apple software updates of any kind (iTunes, iWorks, macOS etc) for all those ringing your hands about the changes in iTunes 12.7 and being 'caught unawares'. First lesson, why do people update on their working, everyday systems, with working data? macOS is one of the EASIEST operating systems to clone and have multiple boot copies of. Hard drive space is SO CHEAP; get yourself a couple terabyte external drive, and put multiple copies of bootable macOS on it. You don't need to go through the install process one by one, just clone your existing everyday partition, leaving out anything you don't want (data, certain apps, etc). I have one external drive with numurous bootable partitions, and not all the same version of macOS either. At least one each of High Sierra, Sierra, El Cap, Yosemite, or more. That's just one drive, I have other drives with boot partitions, going all the way back to Snow Leopard if I ever need it.. To clone just the OS portion only takes about 20GB partitions. The point is you can boot into these non-everyday working partitions to test software and test upgrades. If you find an upgrade doesn't suit your taste, no harm done, reclone the partition and start fresh, or in THIS CASE, where people want to hold on to pre itunes 12.7 so they can manage their iOS apps from iTunes, great, keep a separate partition with 12.6 on it. Use that partition to manage iOS apps, use the 12.7 running on another partition to manage everything else to take advantage of the newer features and cleaner UI of 12.7. Apple at least now allows you to manage iOS devices from multiple copies of iTunes, as long as you confirm that it can be 'Trusted'. In the old days, attaching a device to another copy of iTunes required removing the existing data. In fact, to make content management easier for me, I use one copy of iTunes just for eBooks and audiobooks, and another copy on a different boot partition to manage music. And this doesn't take a lot of work folks to set this up except for some initial time, I hear people already saying it's too hard to have multiple partitions, NO it isn't. One thing Apple did get right from day one is make macOS extremely flexible in regards to installing, and allowing Macs to boot from just about anything, and the same Mac to be able to boot from more than one partition. Windows users can't do that (without 3rd party tools). Windows users would KILL to be able to boot a PC from user selectable multiple Windows partitions, different physical drives, yes, but multiple partitions on the same drive, not so easy without hacks. Now A**zon and N**egg have sales all the time on external portable drives. This morning, I see a 1TB USB 3.0 drive for under $50 on N**egg. CAn't afford $50? If you have space on your existing internal drive, set aside some space for another partition on that. Disk Utility EASILY allows you to shrink your existing partition and add another. Again, 20GB is plenty for a working copy of macOS, with no user data, plus whatever app you are wanting to test or update. SuperDuper cloning software is free, or my favorites CarbonCopyCloner and ChronoSync are very affordable. If you have a boot partition already of Yosemite or earlier, Apple's Disk Utility will also clone. Or for the brave, you can still clone using Terminal commands from any macOS. Numerous free Unix utils can also clone mac partitions (Gparted, PartitionMagic are a few), and yes, they work on a Mac because you boot from a flash key. Last but not least, you can also use virtual machines to test software and upgrades before committing to it. If you already have VMWare Fusion or Parallels, test your upgrades inside a virtual machine. VirtualBox is free. The people that hang out here at MacUpdate tend to be more technically advanced than your typical 'Uncle Henry and Aunt Em' users, so what I am describing here should be well within the technical abilities of many of MacUpdate users. With hard drives so inexpensive, and free software solutions available, cost should not be a barrier to implementing some of these processes. I test macOS updates the same way, never first time on my working everyday partition, with my working data; always on a clone first. Peace.
Like (2)
Version 12.7
2 answer(s)
drdarrow
drdarrow
09 February 2018
If you would, please, can you supply a URL to instructions on how to have one drive with multiple OSes? I have wanted this for years.

Also, how to shrink the existing partition?

What about The Apps folder? Does each OS have its own Apps folder?

And what about the user, user setting and the data that user creates?

This is fascinating.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
09 February 2018
@drdarrow
Google search 'mac os multiple partitions', the results show DOZENS of articles on how to and why. Partitioning / shrinking can be done using the built in Disk Utility that comes with macOS. Use SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner to clone (duplicate) one partition to another. Both are great, personally recommend CCC but that's just me, SuperDuper is fine too. Each bootable partition is its own copy of macOS, apps, etc. with it's own folder for user data, etc. for all practical purposes, think of each partition as its own separate working version of a Mac. If you are familiar with Windows, each partition would be like a another Drive letter in Windows, Drive D, Drive E, and so on. IF you are new to all this, don't attempt to partition unless you have a full backup of your working system; or instead of using your built in default hard drive that came with the Mac, maybe get an external drive and experiment with that first. If you have a fairly new Mac that supports USB 3 and you get a true USB 3 external drive, booting and running from the external drive is fairly fast.
Like
ososX
09 October 2017
Half baked - once again. In the new version some of the support for the iDevices vanished, I don't like it after getting used to it. At the other hand they didn't make it user friendly ... I also encounter annoying bugs such as the "up next" tab in the flip down menu disappearing (left only with the history and lyrics tabs). Isn't it time for the flagship application to become friendly and reliable.
Like (1)
Version 12.7
nciccheck
22 September 2017
This sucks! I can't view my iPhone apps anymore! Anybody know where I can get an older version where I can still work with my phone apps and sort apps and adjust screens during backups?
Like (5)
Version 12.7
1 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
02 November 2017
The link to iTunes 12.6.3 is here https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT208079

this works with iOS 11. Lower versions will not.
Like (2)
Hermie
16 September 2017
And gone is all my artwork, *&%! Apple! Since the app stuff has also vanished it's exit iTunes. On the plus side: Swinsian still sees it and works like a charm.
Like
Version 12.7
lawrence-n
15 September 2017
Well, only a mere 2 days or more and the hysteria starts. How many of you complained bitterly that itunes was 'bloated' or 'unusable and thus not fit for purpose' — or a ipod of porpoises. So yet again, as with all change, we witness the fists of anger, the miserable hand-wringing, and then, finally, the heart-wrenching tears and the slow decline into a dribbling wreak. Change does that to everyone. Change upsets the complacent, and the arrogant fool with a sense of entitlement. This — itunes — is not your toy, kids. Never was and never will be, so go with the flow and embrace change. This might be the start of something quite remarkable. Especially if you're a porpoise.
Like
Version 12.7
1 answer(s)
blev-2
blev-2
17 September 2017
The problem, Lawrence, is that a truly key capability has been removed, and we were notified of it in such a low-key, roundabout way that no one realized they had "removed bloat" by totally eliminating our ability to manage the apps on our iOS devices. Yes, we can re-download and re-install (assuming you're running a new enough version of iOS, which several devices I manage cannot) -- but there is no longer any way to _manage_ those apps: arrange them & screens; selectively install/uninstall; sort & list to view various ways (especially by size); fully back up & restore from backup apps AND their data; the list goes on. Most of us understand that iTunes is Apple's and not ours -- but iTunes 12.7 is a big middle finger to all Apple customers who wanted to manage their apps instead of just re-download them, to all Apple customers who wanted to manage their ringtones, to all Apple customers with older iOS devices, and to all Apple customers who care more about the usability of their devices than how stylish they might be. That's why there's an outcry, not just because something was changed.
Like (10)
wmh
14 September 2017
This version is a major step backwards! Since we can no longer access, manage, or update apps on our computers, there is no reason to continue to store the apps on our hard drives. I found the apps at the following location and deleted them. In my case, they consumed 9.32 GB.
Home Folder > Music > iTunes > iTunes Music > Mobile Applications

On every iOS device in my home I changed my "Settings" to NOT allow " iTunes & App Stores" to "Use Cellular Data" Now apps will only update on WiFi. In the same location, be sure "Apps" and "Updates" are toggled ON to automatically download future updates.
Like (7)
Version 12.7
chawya22
14 September 2017
Isn't it the plan, to have the App Store take over iTunes Mobile Apps maintenance, in High Sierra? I guess the only problem is, those users who can't or won't update to 10.13.x. They're left out in the cold and IMO, weren't properly informed of the consequences of the iTunes update.
Like (1)
Version 12.7
Funjoy
14 September 2017
It's quote understandable for Apple to want to de-gunk iTunes, and I understand wanting to remove apps and ringtones and iTunesU to make iTunes an a/V app. But it needed then to add iOS apps to the Mac App Store app (or replicate ot on the web)! There are so many advantages to the larger view and ability to purchase from the Mac that it is a HUGE error for Apple to remove that ability entirely.
Like (5)
Version 12.7
Derekcurrie
14 September 2017
Apple has DELETED the original post of iTunes 12.7 from the Mac App Store. IOW: If you installed the original post of this update, keep an eye out for WHY it was deleted.
Like (1)
Version 12.7
2 answer(s)
Larry767
Larry767
14 September 2017
On my 2008 MacBook Pro running El Capitan - it autoupdated to iTunes 12.7 and now my Library is empty. I don't think I had any locally stored content but I am an Apple Music and iTunes Match subscriber and home sharing. I am used to seeing all my songs show up and now I see nothing. I am signed in to my Apple ID and the computer is authorized. Maybe that's why they pulled it?
Like
Fra
Fra
14 September 2017
Please tell us.
Like
Whisperquiet
13 September 2017
Now it's far cleaner and music centric. But the iOS apps section could have been placed in a separate app for easy app and device management. We still use a few 'older' iPhones as they are still very functional and the loss of the iOS apps section is a bit sad..
Like (1)
Version 12.7
SegN3rd
13 September 2017
To all these people panicking about the removal of iOS apps from iTunes, I get your point, but you have to realize that all your old 32-bit apps will be killed by iOS 11 next week anyway.
Like
Version 12.7
2 answer(s)
Fra
Fra
14 September 2017
Old devices will never have iOS 11 !
Like (2)
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
15 September 2017
If you want to use old devices with old iOS, why don't you just use old iTunes?
Like
alzoub
13 September 2017
Apple cut the mutant in two - the mutant most of the apple users had to learn to live with. But they didn`t put something in change to cover the apps, the books, the now missing half of iTunes. Maybe we`ll see soon a proper solution, other then relying on iPhone only. Because right now they did half a job... and as it seems it`s pretty sloppy. They just trashed it in the shadow on the shiny new iPhone UFO.
Like
Version 12.7
Sonnendeck
13 September 2017
Bye bye iOS App Store! We had a good time...
Like (1)
Version 12.7
Fra
13 September 2017
V. 12.7 : you cannot anymore manage your iphone/ipad apps in iTunes, You need to redownload them in the store. But older apps are not available on the store. So you loose them !
Like (8)
Version 12.7
Alynxx
13 September 2017
This is a catastrophic update. Apple just leave their customers middle of nowhere. Impossible to view-edit-update-delete list of apps on an ergonomic way and nothing in replacement. Also, using your mobile device to update or manage will use much more data on your plan than wifi with your laptop. How to add an App stored and already downloaded by iTunes, etc... I just don't understand this update. That's the new Apple and hope they will fail in the future, they are in a good way... A sad Apple lover.
Like (25)
Version 12.7
5 answer(s)
tx517
tx517
31 March 2018
Your criticism is not entirely fair.

Your claim that "using your mobile device to update or manage will use much more data on your plan" is totally inaccurate. You can use Wi-Fi on your iPhone (that's what many people do...).

Also, you don't have to use this update. Apple has provided another version that supports Apps management.
Like (1)
Majestik7
Majestik7
01 April 2018
tx517,
Where is this other version that supports Apps management? Or do you mean just mean not updating past 12.6.2?
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
24 February 2019
This review is a waste of time.
Like (2)
rphartle
rphartle
26 February 2019
Catastrophic? What's annoying is grown ass adults who use Catastrophic, Epic or other adjectives like a child to describe things that are hardly worth such descriptions. "That Game is Epic, or that you lost your mittens is Catastrophic." Get the F*** outa here with this nonsense, or like my mother a school teacher used to say "Quit talkjing to hear yourself talk." iTunes is just fine could be better like artist view that shows microphones down the page, But It's been working fine for me for decades. Get real people!
Like
rphartle
rphartle
26 February 2019
Catastrophic? What's annoying is grown ass adults who use Catastrophic, Epic and other adjectives like a child to describe things that are hardly worth such descriptions. "That Game is Epic, or that you lost your mittens is Catastrophic." Get the F*** outa here with this nonsense, or like my mother a school teacher used to say "Quit talking to hear yourself talk." iTunes is just fine could be better like artist view that shows microphones down the page, But It's been working fine for me for decades. Get real people!
Like
Bunnybrains
13 September 2017
As a iTunes user since it was SoundJam MP, I appreciate the back to basics of v12.7 BUT Apple really needs to replace the app management aspect with a standalone app management app. Having the ability to search your apps by date, size and category is very useful, as is being able to install and uninstall inside a management app.
Like (5)
Version 12.7
1 answer(s)
Bunnybrains
Bunnybrains
13 September 2017
and oddly they left the file sharing section in iTunes - which clearly deserves to be with the apps rather than the music. weird.
Like
xcoxco
13 September 2017
The new iTunes 12.7 introduced yesterday eliminates:

- iOS App Store
- iOS app and screen layout management
- iOS books/pdf document management

The implications:

- Can no longer access my Apps and iBooks that are no longer in the Apple iTunes store
(eg, the best Oxford English Dictionary)

- Can no longer search for iOS Apps in the much easier (prior) Mac iTunes interface

- Can no longer sync books/PDFs across devices not purchased through the iBooks Store

- Can no longer readily re-organize my many Apps and where they are placed on iOS screens


iTunes was horrible in its method of reorganizing apps - but far better than nothing.

It makes a clean iOS install with every major iOS upgrade a real pain.


What are those young MBAs at Apple thinking???
Like (6)
Version 12.7
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
14 September 2017
I believe you mean, "Are those young MBAs at Apple thinking?"
Like
Erik-Carlson
13 September 2017
Can no longer download iOS Apps! Bad news APPLE
Like (5)
Version 12.7
Hdms
13 September 2017
All-new-ish iTunes 12.7 now downloading. Removes the IOS Apps section - you can't 'see' your installed apps in iTunes anymore, or set them out how you want them on the computer screen anymore... :

Learn about changes to Apps, iTunes U, Internet Radio, and more.

The new iTunes focuses on music, movies, TV shows, podcasts, and audiobooks. Apps for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch are now exclusively available in the new App Store for iOS. And the new App Store makes it easy to get, update, and redownload apps—all without a Mac or PC.
You'll find these changes in the new iTunes:
Apps: Looking for your past iOS app downloads? Learn how to redownload apps on your iOS device.
iTunes U: Collections of iTunes U content appear in the Podcasts section of iTunes.
Internet Radio: Your Internet Radio stations appear in your music library's sidebar. Click Edit in the sidebar to show or hide Internet Radio.
Ringtones: iOS 11 supports redownloading ringtones directly to your iOS device, without the need to use iTunes on your Mac or PC.
Books on Windows: Books on iTunes for Windows are managed in iBooks for iOS. Learn how to redownload books on an iOS device.

Manage apps and other content
You can find iOS apps, ringtones, and books (PC only) that you've already downloaded in your iTunes Media folder.
If you have an iOS app, ringtone, or book that's no longer available for redownload, you can move that content to your iOS device while plugged in to a computer with a USB cable.
Like
Version 12.6.2
1 answer(s)
xcoxco
xcoxco
13 September 2017
Managing iOS device screen App setups was always a pain in iTunes. Now it's been eliminated altogether. Setting up the App screens is now even more of a pain for those of us with many Apps, especially after a clean install.

Hopefully Apple has something better in mind and will let us know soon. Or it will facilitate third-party utilities to do the job instead.

But at the moment, I will not do my usual clean install when updating to the new iOS version next week. Far too much hassle to reorganize Apps on the iOS devices' (iPhone and iPad) screens. Shame.
Like (4)
Albabe
16 May 2017
Brand new version, 12.6.1, keeps crashing in Mavericks on my 2010 Mac Pro. It won't even start-up. POS!
Like (1)
Version 12.6.1
2 answer(s)
Majestik7
Majestik7
18 May 2017
Same here. 2011 MBP / 10.9.5. No 3rd party add ons. No problems until this update.
Like
PM-R
PM-R
22 May 2017
I had the same problem but finally got it fixed.

Some are now saying Apple released a patched version that works better (but still the same version number). I'm not sure or where they downloaded it but I'm sure not going to do any more testing. :-(

See: https://discussions.apple.com/message/31781609?ac_cid=tw123456#31781609
Like
Sichan
15 May 2017
Version 12.6.1 finally fixed the lag and the spinning beachballs of death that have been plaguing the last 10 or so versions for me. I am happy.
Like
Version 12.6.1
Albabe
05 May 2017
iTunes still sucks for me. It works fine except for when it doesn't. It's been years and I still have the same problem of some of my Songs not playing 'till the end and skipping to the next Track. It really sucks. I have a theory: I noticed that the songs that skip are ones I've ripped at home and brought in to my Office as mp3 files, rather than bringing in the actual CD and ripping it in my office (m4a's seem to be ok if I rip them at home). A friend of mine ripped one of his CDs for me and gave it to me as mp3s and it skipped at my Office, so i borrowed his CD and ripped the songs myself, and it worked fine. I'm wondering if this is Apple's way of messing with people that they think are "obtaining" songs from somewhere other than their own CDs of through iTunes. Clementine isn't as robust but it plays all of my songs 'till they end.
Like
Version 12.6
MyronV9060
24 March 2017
Yeah! Apple finally restored the "open in new window" option for playlists. Now I can compare multiple playlists side-by-side again! But yes, switching between normal view and the mini-player doesn't work as well. The X in the upper-left of the mini-player doesn't always show up. Better off using shift+command+M as mentioned.
Like (2)
Version 12.6
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
26 March 2017
It'd be nice if they apply that to the Windows in the Finder again...
Like
Dgfarrar
23 March 2017
One other issue with iTunes 12.6 is that as of about 11:50 PM last night (2017-03-22), iTunes 12.6 updated from 12.6.0.95 (the initial release) to 12.6.0.100. If you installed the .95 update, the App Store and SoftwareUpdate (from the Terminal) will tell you that you have an update to 12.6 awaiting you, even though you thought you updated to the latest version of iTunes. I find that to be more disgusting than any feature of iTunes: an update to an update and not a peep out of Apple.
Like (1)
Version 12.6
1 answer(s)
Neal
Neal
23 March 2017
Signs Apple are losing control of Quality Assurance checks before release to market. Despicable treatment of customers.
Like (1)