Back to JRiver Media Center page
JRiver Media Center free download for Mac

JRiver Media Center Reviews25.0.116

11 November 2019

Manage and playback almost any type of media.

0.5
Bluesilence
08 February 2019
Version: 24.0.75

Most helpful

Awfull GUI Awfull setup Awfull use Full of bugs and crash Any free app will work MUCH better! forgot this one or put it to the trash and download anything else, it will work better!
(1)

How would you rate JRiver Media Center app?

Read 8 JRiver Media Center User Reviews

5
jaesm21
10 June 2020
Version: 25.0.116
This is literally the only music manager I've found that actually works as expected in Catalina. The GUI has plenty of skins to chose from. This is a librarian, doing what itunes did and then some. The stuff in the app store are just pointless music players. The Mac can do the same thing as them when you press the space bar with an audio file selected.
(0)
jef2neto
04 November 2019
Version: 25.0.114
Don't waste your money, it does not work with mac, is full of bugs, I tried and follow all suggestions in there forum and from other music, sound does not output to external usb Bose USB speakers. The other problem is if it does not work for you they will tell you they don't give refunds, so what you paid for it is forever gone.
(0)
0.5
Bluesilence
08 February 2019
Version: 24.0.75
Awfull GUI Awfull setup Awfull use Full of bugs and crash Any free app will work MUCH better! forgot this one or put it to the trash and download anything else, it will work better!
(1)
0.5
gmsingh
25 July 2018
Version: 24.00.42
I paid them money to get the beta version of this when they were first developing it. When the finished version came out they wanted me to pay again, and I told them to stick it. Even if the app was good I would never give them a dime again.
(0)
2.5
Wunderhorn
23 February 2017
Version: 21.0.31
This application has some powerful features to offer. Especially the conversion features for advanced file formats. However, the bad GUI is sabotaging its usefulness. This would be very attractive with a good and Mac native user interface at a price-point of $30.
(0)
Big Johnson
15 February 2016
Version: 21.0.31
This has the weirdest, most confusing GUI of any player I've used!

I gave it another try and it's still a useless POS!

After installation, every time I used the "Configure Auto-Import" function, the app froze and I had to force quit.
But now as I'm writing this review the importer is actually working...too bad the player isn't.

I got it to import FLAC files and video files from different folders, then added m4a and mp3 tracks from iTunes, but it won't play a single file that it has imported - when I try to play any audio or video file, a message says "something went wrong with playback."

I'm up the JRiver without a player!
(2)
0.5
Big Johnson
09 January 2016
Version: 21.0.31
WHAT A POS!!!

Yesterday I spent over an hour installing and diagnosing three different versions.
NONE would play anything!

Every time I tried to play a file a window popped up that said "something went wrong with playback."
That's a lot of help, how about telling me WHAT went wrong? The files play fine in Quicktime and VLC and my computer's only 3 weeks old.

There is NO support whatsoever from the company - the only support offered are the forums on their website.
I'm not going to waste my time registering on yet another forum just to find out why their crappy software doesn't work.
If the company truly cared and wanted my money, they would support their product.

OS X 10.11.2
(2)
Show comments (2)
5
steveoliver360
08 January 2016
Version: 21.0.31
I've been using this program for some time an love it as an alternative to iTunes. Recently my iTunes started breaking up during playback while I was connected to the internet, making Media Center my go to for audio playback..The current version is 21.21 and is available at http://www.jriver.com/download.html.
(0)
Show comment (1)