Back to JRiver Media Center page
JRiver Media Center free download for Mac

JRiver Media Center Reviews25.0.116

11 November 2019

Manage and playback almost any type of media.

How would you rate JRiver Media Center?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
zgojic11
zgojic11
Mar 15 2021
25.0.116
0.0
Mar 15 2021
0.0
Version: 25.0.116
Crashes all the time. You can just resteart app to start working again but restart Mac in hope that it will work. UNBELIVABLE WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME
pekotski
pekotski
Jan 14 2021
25.0.116
1.0
Jan 14 2021
1.0
Version: 25.0.116
Piece of shit. So many problems I gave up resolving them. On Windows 10 constant problems with every 5th application. For example, no sound on Steam or Tidal after using JRiver. Both should sue them btw. Pekotski
aleksjunttila
aleksjunttila
Nov 10 2020
25.0.116
2.0
Nov 10 2020
2.0
Version: 25.0.116
А sound in this player is bass, boomy, not clean. Apparently the developer himself has such a musical taste. I don't like that sound. I removed this player from my computer right after testing the sound. Not a bad sound is given by another free player Clementine. I use it.
jaesm21
jaesm21
Jun 10 2020
25.0.116
5.0
Jun 10 2020
5.0
Version: 25.0.116
This is literally the only music manager I've found that actually works as expected in Catalina. The GUI has plenty of skins to chose from. This is a librarian, doing what itunes did and then some. The stuff in the app store are just pointless music players. The Mac can do the same thing as them when you press the space bar with an audio file selected.
jef2neto
jef2neto
Nov 4 2019
25.0.114
0.0
Nov 4 2019
0.0
Version: 25.0.114
Don't waste your money, it does not work with mac, is full of bugs, I tried and follow all suggestions in there forum and from other music, sound does not output to external usb Bose USB speakers. The other problem is if it does not work for you they will tell you they don't give refunds, so what you paid for it is forever gone.
Bluesilence
Bluesilence
Feb 8 2019
24.0.75
0.5
Feb 8 2019
0.5
Version: 24.0.75
Awfull GUI Awfull setup Awfull use Full of bugs and crash Any free app will work MUCH better! forgot this one or put it to the trash and download anything else, it will work better!
gmsingh
gmsingh
Jul 25 2018
24.00.42
0.5
Jul 25 2018
0.5
Version: 24.00.42
I paid them money to get the beta version of this when they were first developing it. When the finished version came out they wanted me to pay again, and I told them to stick it. Even if the app was good I would never give them a dime again.
Wunderhorn
Wunderhorn
Feb 23 2017
21.0.31
2.5
Feb 23 2017
2.5
Version: 21.0.31
This application has some powerful features to offer. Especially the conversion features for advanced file formats. However, the bad GUI is sabotaging its usefulness. This would be very attractive with a good and Mac native user interface at a price-point of $30.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Feb 15 2016
21.0.31
0.5
Feb 15 2016
0.5
Version: 21.0.31
This has the weirdest, most confusing GUI of any player I've used!

I gave it another try and it's still a useless POS!

After installation, every time I used the "Configure Auto-Import" function, the app froze and I had to force quit.
But now as I'm writing this review the importer is actually working...too bad the player isn't.

I got it to import FLAC files and video files from different folders, then added m4a and mp3 tracks from iTunes, but it won't play a single file that it has imported - when I try to play any audio or video file, a message says "something went wrong with playback."

I'm up the JRiver without a player!
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jan 9 2016
21.0.31
0.5
Jan 9 2016
0.5
Version: 21.0.31
WHAT A POS!!!

Yesterday I spent over an hour installing and diagnosing three different versions.
NONE would play anything!

Every time I tried to play a file a window popped up that said "something went wrong with playback."
That's a lot of help, how about telling me WHAT went wrong? The files play fine in Quicktime and VLC and my computer's only 3 weeks old.

There is NO support whatsoever from the company - the only support offered are the forums on their website.
I'm not going to waste my time registering on yet another forum just to find out why their crappy software doesn't work.
If the company truly cared and wanted my money, they would support their product.

OS X 10.11.2
steveoliver360
steveoliver360
Jan 8 2016
21.0.31
5.0
Jan 8 2016
5.0
Version: 21.0.31
I've been using this program for some time an love it as an alternative to iTunes. Recently my iTunes started breaking up during playback while I was connected to the internet, making Media Center my go to for audio playback..The current version is 21.21 and is available at http://www.jriver.com/download.html.