Back to Aurora HDR Pro page
Aurora HDR Pro free download for Mac

Aurora HDR Pro Reviews

1.2.7
03 October 2016

High-powered generation of HDR photographs.

Jeremy-Key
20 January 2016

Most helpful

Best HDR photo software I ever seen.
Like (14)
Version 1.2.0

Read 22 Aurora HDR Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
17 October 2016
v1.2.8 is now out. Note that the cost of the upgrade to Aurora HDR 2017 may be less than $99 depending upon when you purchased an earlier version. Use the site's interface to check on their offered price for your version.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Rondfranks
30 September 2016
Just a heads up. The new 2017 version will not open the previous version's mpau files. If you want to make additional edits to the previous version's file, you will need to keep the previous version on your computer. Otherwise you will only be able to edit whatever files that the previous version exported, or start over and recreate them in the new version. If Macphun intends to update Aurora HDR every year, which I can only assume they will, this might be a concern down the road in a few years.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
02 October 2016
And charge for it every year, Not worth it.
Like (1)
Is the update good for the version that MacUpdate sold with the recent bundle?
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
26 July 2016
Please drop us a message at support@aurorahdr.com, so we could check everything out. Thanks!
Like
carmenroberson28
29 January 2016
I'm in love with Aurora HDR! <3
Like (3)
Version 1.2.0
iramorgan842
29 January 2016
I always thought that HDR software is something complicated to work with and doesn`t worth money and time at all, but after I purchased Aurora HDR Pro I totally changed my mind! Easy to use tools, variety of presets, smooth interface, and as a result - gorgeous high quality pictures! Will keep exploring it and can`t wait to try out all of the features! I`m completely satisfied with the product and strongly recommend it to others.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.0
jball0645
25 January 2016
The results are just beyond amazing! I`m totally in love with my new images processed in Aurora HDR Pro. It`s absolutely a new level of HDR photos!
Like (5)
Version 1.2.0
carolinehay23
22 January 2016
Easy and powerful app with friendly interface and impressive results. Great product!
Like (6)
Version 1.2.0
mariabeatty111
22 January 2016
It`s a great HDR software for those who want to make their photos look fantastic without performing any complicated steps. I`m totally impressed by the results I get with Aurora HDR. Strongly recommend!
Like (5)
Version 1.2.0
lucasm248
21 January 2016
Aurora HDR Pro is really expanding my horizons!! Love it!!!!
Like (7)
Version 1.2.0
Fiona-Gilbert
20 January 2016
It`s a great HDR software which brings my photos to a whole new level! Will definitely recommend this to my friends!
Like (10)
Version 1.2.0
Andrew-S-
20 January 2016
I love this app. It’s unbelievably easy to use and produces beautiful HDR photos.
Like (10)
Version 1.2.0
Jeremy-Key
20 January 2016
Best HDR photo software I ever seen.
Like (14)
Version 1.2.0
falinc
20 January 2016
Aurora HDR is great!
Like (11)
Version 1.2.0
J-Pimper
20 January 2016
I use this app for interior photography, think it is just newer and better than LR HDR merge
Like (7)
Version 1.2.0
iriska-amid
20 January 2016
It works fine with no crashes even in LR or Aperture. I get the photos done in a moment. I didn't need any tutorials for my first try. I love its look and what it makes with my photos taken with my shaky hands )))
Like (9)
Version 1.2.0
pappacarazzi
19 January 2016
This software is total CRAP! I would not recommend it at all. Maybe 6 months or so down the road when they get all the bugs worked out - but as of now it is USELESS! The customer service email responses are nice, but I bought the pro version of this software before it was released and they have done 4 updates to try and get it working and it is still CRAP! I have contacted the customer service people several times and I get the same response - "Please be patient, our people are working on a fix: but there have been 4 updates and so far no fix! Carol Q
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
pappacarazzi
pappacarazzi
03 May 2016
They seem to have gotten most of the bugs worked out and the software is working better for me. I wish I could remove my earlier comment but it looks like it is there to stay.
Like
Rickzeman
17 December 2015
This product is wholly unusable to me (both 1.0 and 1.1.1). Invoking Aurora via the Aperture plugin leaves a modal alert window up with no controls whatsover saying "Plugin Started...." with no way to close it, nor any way to do anything in Aperture except Force Quit it. I suppose I could export the RAWs from Aperture and operate on them solely in the application that way but I won't. I'm not going to change my workflow to work around a buggy app. If I need HDR I'll stick with the Photomatix HDR plugin. It's ugly...but it works.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
29 December 2015
Hi Rickzeman!

Please drop us a message at support@aurorahdr.com so we can give you useful tips regarding using Aurora HDR Pro as Aperture plug-in.
I'm pretty sure you'll like it!

Like
madsnail-1
24 November 2015
I have bought some of Ratcliff’s tutorials, and I own Macphun’s Intensify as it came with a bundle I bought some years ago, so I’ve been bombarded with news and requests to pre-order. There is a trial version so I gave this a go. Aurora HDR will do nothing good for me personally, I find it rather pointless. Someone mentioned how Macphun is good at marketing, this is exactly why they went to Mr. Ratcliff who is also extremely good at marketing and hype. If you’re like me it’ll tickle your curiosity enough to test it, for others they might think they’re buying the holy grail of HDR, but really I am doubtful. The experience of using this is very similar to Photomatix: you have a bunch of sliders but no idea what they are actually doing, so you click around brainlessly having no clue which does what, until you get to a point where you’re so confused about what you’ve done that you think it’s time to stop. You tweak it a little bit more until you think it doesn’t look too horrible and you’re done. One of the big selling points is how fast that application is. For me it isn’t. I have a top of the line brand new 5K 27inch iMac with almost all options maxed out: fastest CPU, fastest GPU with 4GB of RAM, SSD, etc. I loaded 3 bracketed exposures, ticked alignment and reduce chromatic aberration and clicked okay. It took a long time, seemed stuck at 75% of the chromatic aberration process though no sign of the app crashing, it was just chugging at 300% CPU. After 15 minutes I had to leave for a game of tennis. When I came back after 1h+ it was finally done, yay! (PS: I didn’t have that problem with other sets of images that I’ve tried, but if it did it once it will do it again). I reset the settings, it looked bad but less horrible than my first try with a first set of images. I zoomed in 100% and there I noticed also that Aurora isn’t that fast then: span around a big file at 100% and it’ll be no faster than Photomatix or other plugins. It’s certainly much slower than the HDR function of Lightroom on the same set of images. It leaves me scratching my head somehow. Yes, there’s layers and masking, but I have no incentive to go that far because I find the first part of the workflow vastly random. Seeing the results, I also cannot justify spending the money on this (I’ve funded Trey Ratcliff’s luxurious lifestyle enough already ;)) Does one really need a dedicated HDR software these days anyway?
Like (7)
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
27 November 2015
Hi madsnail_1,

Thanks for your feedback :) Actually, there is a bug on some Macs, that causes inappropriate chromatic aberration performance. The good news, our developers are already working on the fix. In case you have any other questions on concerns - feel free to contact us 24/7 via support@aurorahdr.com and we will be more than glad to assist you!

Alina from Macphun
Like (1)
Cookie08
Cookie08
16 January 2016
Hi 4 gig of ram is not enough to work properly with graphics and it will slow down the processes. I have 32 gig in mine and it is fast.
Like (1)
madsnail-1
madsnail-1
16 January 2016
@Cookie08 My message says GPU with 4GB of RAM, that means it's the memory on the graphics card alone. The system RAM is 32GB. At the time I bought this brand new iMac it was the most memory you could cram either on the system or graphics card as a built to order.
Like (1)
Alex-(Macphun-Team)
23 November 2015
Hey all. Aurora HDR trial is available on our site: aurorahdr.com You're welcome to share your thoughts and feedback here, and we'll do our best to keep you happy. Have a great day. Alex.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Fariborz
23 November 2015
Could someone please tell me why there is such a hefty price difference between Appstore and here? Isn't it the same product or is it on sale on Appstore? Thanks. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
Alina-(Macphun-Team)
23 November 2015
Thank you for your question! Aurora HDR Pro has much more features and tools included. Among them: support of RAW images, unlimited number of brackets and layers, plug-in support for Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop and Apple Aperture and much more. All the list of features you can check here: http://aurorahdr.com/getstarted/frequently-asked-questions.
Moreover, in case you have any other questions or concerns - feel free to contact us via support@aurorahdr.com.
We will be glad to assist you! :)
Like (1)
Fariborz
Fariborz
23 November 2015
Hello Alina and thank you very much for your kind and prompt answer. I'll surely look into it. All the best.
Like
mzbe
21 November 2015
Positives:I really like the company (Macphun) and the user interface design and feature set of the tool. Negatives: The results are horrible with Olympus RAW files. I compared with Photomatix 5.1 (another HDR tool) and Aurora HDR delivered garish colors (no adjustment of color temp or tint would help) and exaggerated HDR effects (I used a -3, 0, +3 bracket). I'm more after natural looking HDR - the product was co-developed by a person who is known for surrealistic applications of HDR - this seems to have led to a product that may be more useful for those types of images vs. my objective to preserve a more natural look and feel. The de-ghosting option led to numerous strange artifacts - I had initially turned it on to deal with small branches of trees shifting in the wind, which led to large areas of the background sky looking like spotted cows. Summary: I don't see how this tool can be salvaged - it's only a version 1, but several parts of the core engine (color, HDR algorithm, de-ghosting) are vastly inferior to the "one click" experience I'm accustomed to from another tool. Furthermore, despite offering numerous strong options, there is no way to select the HDR approach appropriate for a particular image (unlike HDR Projects Professional or Photomatix). Disclaimer: Most of the other Macphun products get solid 5 stars from me (highly recommended). This one isn't ready for prime time and should not have been shipped as-is.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
6 answer(s)
pietz
pietz
21 November 2015
I find it interesting that you love their other apps so much, because it really seems like you know what youre talking about. To me Macphun takes single features from Photoshop and creates a new program for every one of them. Theyre just a good marketing firm selling software to people who dont know any better by using partly fake advertising examples. i dont even know who in the world wants 6 different image editors for 6 different features. Macphun software is for people who overuse clarity, saturation and HDR effects. fits right in that they now have software just for HDR. dont call me surprised that Aurora isnt any good.
Like (7)
mzbe
mzbe
22 November 2015
@pietz - I don't see the packaging of functionality across multiple apps as an issue. They all work as Photoshop plug-ins ...
Macphun adds genuine value that you can't get from Photoshop, even if you're an expert user.
E.g. Noiseless - unless Camera Raw meets your needs (it's not bad, but not optimal), you can't reasonably emulate that in PS (... yes, I'm aware of selective channel blur etc., been there, done that - still not the same).
Intensify and Tonality also have their place - many if not most award winning photographers take advantage of them or apps with similar functionality (e.g. the excellent Alien Skin Exposure).
The best proof point for me (regarding value of Macphun software) is how frequently I turn to my MacBook Air to use them, vs. my 16 core desktop PC (which is much faster, but doesn't run Mac OS).
The unique negative with Aurora HDR is that it violates the "do no harm" principle: If you don't like the other stuff because it "doesn't do enough" compared to plain PhotoShop - fine. It does something. Maybe you like it.
With Aurora HDR (I haven't tried it with developed TIFF files instead of .ORF raw files) things are different: I haven't been able so far to get any good results, let alone superior ones (and there are several excellent apps out there, c.f. Captain Kimo HDR review - on his list, I would again give Aurora a 3 in its current state).
Like (4)
pietz
pietz
22 November 2015
hey mzbe, thanks for the clarification. maybe our discussion can help a few people decide on what to do. i havent tried their products extensively, so i might not be in the position to actually criticize, but when i look at their advertising examples i see two things:

1) completely overdone effects, which to me personally point into a unprofessional direction
2) terribly faked results that can never come out of any piece of software

and i dont buy software from a company that fakes examples of what their software is capable of. just look at their Noiseless before and after examples. anyway, if somebody wants to prove me wrong im happy to take back everything i said, but until then im not buying anything from this firm. i think affinity is heading in the right direction and if they continue to impress with updates, Macphun will only have their marketing strong suit left.
Like (2)
Alex-(Macphun-Team)
Alex-(Macphun-Team)
23 November 2015
Hey MZBE, this is Alex from Macphun.
All good points. First of all, I'd like to see your RAW files and test them on my computer. Possible? If yes, email me those at alex@macphun.com.

My and Team's goal will be to make you a fan of Aurora HDR and change your mind, so hopefully you will help us to succeed. Email me the photos, and all your questions, and let's take it from here. There are a lot of things about Aurora HDR that you haven't discovered yet...

Thanks
Alex
Like
pietz
pietz
28 November 2015
thats what i thought.
Like
J-Pimper
J-Pimper
20 January 2016
They did great shop in 1.2.0 update. I opened my Photomatix raw HDRs
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
19 November 2015
Macphun has stepped into the arena of HDR photography with a very strong and stable application, offering features not found in other leading apps for HDR imagery. The company states that the application is fast, and it is: I opened a series of five brackets (Nikon NEF [RAW], 5.4 MB each) in approximately fourteen seconds, from the point of selecting the options I wanted to apply to the brackets, to the display of the image onscreen, including aligning the images and tone-mapping them to a "default" HDR image. In addition to the standard panels you might expect, Aurora also offers image radiance (an HDR glow), glow (a more standard glow effect), top and bottom lighting, tone curve, color filter, color toning, and vignette. These features eliminate the need to open the image in another editor post-merge. All adjustments were extremely responsive, rendering very quickly. A feature that is unique to Aurora is the concept of layers: you can add the same image as a new layer, make adjustments to that layer, then mask it. This allows different styles of tone-mapping for different sections of the image, selective denoising, selective detail and contrast adjustments, and selective color-toning. If you own other titles, you owe it to yourself to try Aurora HDR; if you are new to HDR photography, you should definitely make it one of the applications you test as you search for an HDR solution.
Like (5)
Version 1.0