Back to RiparaCapo page
RiparaCapo free download for Mac

RiparaCapo Reviews

2.0
26 October 2016

Repair disk permissions on OS X 10.11.

Dhess01
02 November 2015

Most helpful

Hmm. No log or so much as a progress bar...
Like (1)
Version 1.0

Read 6 RiparaCapo User Reviews

Rate this app:

Alicekollan
27 October 2016
Not bad. Most important of all, it is free.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Tubo
04 February 2016
After one error at start (command not found?) now works very well (10.11.3) – Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Wts
10 December 2015
had to use Activity Monitor to force quit because my El Capitan 10.11.2 was spinning that pretty rainbow wheel which means trouble what a waste of time downloading and installing this application. why do we even need this application?
Like
Version 1.2
4 answer(s)
chrisB
chrisB
11 December 2015

This is the normal(!) behavior of RiparaCapo when it waits until the "repair_packages" process has completed.

You may not be familiar with the meaning of the spinning wait cursor. If an application takes longer than 2 seconds to process the events in its event queue (regardless of the exact cause!) the operating system displays the wait cursor whenever the cursor hovers over that application's windows (see also https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spinning_pinwheel#System_usage).

However, even if you had (force) quit RiparaCapo the "repair_packages" process would have successfully completed.

Furthermore the start dialog of RiparaCapo clearly indicates "Permissions repair may take up to several minutes"; this means RiparaCapo waits until the "repair_packages" process has finished and then RiparaCapo will continue with the next dialog (to quit or to check the log file).
Like (1)
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
15 December 2015
One thing is clear, you have no clue what you're talking about. A tip, don't download apps you don't understand;-)
Like
Wts
Wts
15 December 2015
Thanks for the heads up info MacParc. It would be helpful to provide that info at your website.
Like
Wts
Wts
15 December 2015
@Mikaelf those are rather harsh comments since the developer and MacUpdate had very little clarification about the application.

Once noted my findings the developer did offer heads up info.

On the other hand why did it bother you so much ????????
Like
Pissnaround
10 December 2015
I am curious as to how this program works. My understanding is you can't change permissions of any file/folder protected by SIP. Which means one would have to go into recovery mode and disable SIP. Perhaps I'm missing something.
Like
Version 1.2
4 answer(s)
chrisB
chrisB
10 December 2015
I just start the repair_permissions process which still exists.
Like (1)
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
12 December 2015
It's an AppleScript running this command

/usr/libexec/repair_packages —repair —standard-pkgs —debug <Volume>

You can do it directly in Terminal, though the question remains "why"? If you run it in Terminal, you'll see pretty much all it does is restore the 'write' property on lots of printer related directories.

@ChrisB: when you save a script as run-only, it captures the state of the properties from the last run (in other words, your last exitStatus is written into the script, including your HD drive name and username). After testing, you should recompile a fresh version of the script and save it as 'run-only' without running it first to avoid that.

Like (1)
chrisB
chrisB
23 July 2016
@softwater: Thanks for the hint. :-)
Like
MacParc
MacParc
26 October 2016
@Pissnaround:
SIP prevents parties other than Apple from adding, deleting or modifying directories and files stored in the following directories only(!):
/bin
/sbin
/usr (except: /usr/local)
/System
On macOS 10.12 (Sierra) you may see entries like "Unable to set permissions on …" or "Unable to set owner & group on …" in the RiparaCapo (v2.0 or newer) log file.

@softwater:
Oops, I did it again. ;-/

Like
Dhess01
08 November 2015
The 'Show Log' button on completion helps. However, I anticipate a lot of users, without progress feedback, might force quit the program when they see it SBBOD while it is working.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
chrisB
chrisB
09 November 2015
I'm sorry, it's not possible to equip such an AppleScript application with a progress bar.
Anyway if you (force) quit RiparaCapo the "repair_packages" process is still running and will finish successfully.

chrisB/MacParc [developer]
Like
Dhess01
02 November 2015
Hmm. No log or so much as a progress bar...
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
chrisB
chrisB
03 November 2015
I'll try to implement a certain kind of feedback (log, progress info or similar) in the next update.

chrisB/MacParc [developer]
Like