Back to Install Disk Creator page
Install Disk Creator free download for Mac

Install Disk Creator Reviews1.4.1

04 February 2020

Create a bootable OS X installer.

4
Foulger
25 November 2019
Version: 1.4

Most helpful

I KNOW its free and a really GREAT app BUT Catalina has been out both in ß and final version for a long time. As a premier app, we REALLY need a Catalina specific version, PLEASE
(1)

How would you rate Install Disk Creator app?

Read 17 Install Disk Creator User Reviews

5
markjenkins6659
23 March 2020
Version: 1.4.1
I needed to downgrade my wife's Late 2013 Macbook Pro from Catalina to High Sierra after replacing the SSD. Catalina seemed to cause problems, especially with the trackpad that seemed to stop working/ lag. I tried many other apps and terminal commands to create a bootable USB and Disk Creator was the only one that actually worked.
(0)
3
bradley-dichter
23 December 2019
Version: 1.4
Refused to make a bootable flash drive of Sierra with fresh install and freshly erased drive.
(0)
4
Foulger
25 November 2019
Version: 1.4
I KNOW its free and a really GREAT app BUT Catalina has been out both in ß and final version for a long time. As a premier app, we REALLY need a Catalina specific version, PLEASE
(1)
4
mharshma
26 October 2019
Version: 1.4
Im a software tester myself, and agree that there should be some sort of progress bar. I made my own progress bar, kinda, by doing a get info on the installer as it was being built. You can see the size continue to increase over time. Maybe the dev can build a progress bar from that. Thanks
(0)
4
desmond-4
09 October 2019
Version: 1.4
Buggy with Catalina - Help please developer!
(0)
4.5
Citizenvern
29 April 2019
Version: 1.4
What Apple obfuscates and makes difficult, great devs make simple. Thank you. Everyone, please chip in when you can!
(1)
5
DragonMaster
27 September 2018
Version: 1.3
This app is a butt saver! As an active beta tester I cannot count the times that I have used this marvelous app to create installers that I store on Flash Drives and always have available when that moment arrives and you have an emergency and must reinstall your system. There is no need for an Internet connection for the reinstall incase your Wifi has crashed or is simply not available. As far as periodic reinstall issues as scorned by chasjunk in his review it IS a good idea every few months reinstall. Periodically there are small corruptions in the OS that cause little irritations that are near impossible to isolate. There are apps that sometimes do not get along with others that even after uninstalling leave issues and a new OS reinstall will often correct. By the way if you have an installer on a Flash Drive with3.0 speed capabilities it is faster than going to online recovery!
(2)
chasjunk
27 September 2018
Version: 1.3
This developer recommends (in the description above) that you should reinstall your system every six months or so. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA It's hard to take the product seriously (or trust the developer) when such farcical Windows-centric thinking is present. Macs don't need to be REINSTALLED every six months, that's simply ludicrous.
(4)
Show comment (1)
Dominikhoffmann
01 August 2017
Version: 1.21
I don’t know, how hard it would be to do, but it would be nice to see a progress bar and a prognosis, as to how long the process has left to finish the job.
(0)
Show comment (1)
Timmyb
01 July 2017
Version: 1.21
Seems to work. Created an 8GB USB install disk of 10.12.5 running from 10.12.5. As others have mentioned I saw no progress indicators during the creation process, there was a dialog to tell us that the process was complete. I didn't actually use the created disk to install an OIS, but I did test boot the disks.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
marcus27
16 May 2017
Version: 1.21
Excellent !! worked for me
(1)
1
gamezr01
09 April 2017
Version: 1.21
Does this thing even work? I tried it, but there was no way of knowing how long it was going to take to complete the Sierra install image on my USB stick. It's as though the developer skipped the user experience part when they wrote this app. In the trash it goes!
(0)
Show comment (1)
3
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
21 March 2017
Version: 1.21
OK, I downloaded Install Disk Creator and it works just fine. In fact, it was so fast that I didn't know it was done. Which is a problem: function aside, there are not enough indicators showing what's going on, not even a "finished" or "done" button. In other words, this app is incomplete as far as user feedback is concerned. We can hope the developer takes the time to finish the app. In the meantime, DiskMaker X has plenty of cues and prompts. And it is functionally more complete as well. It sniffs out all and any installers on media in or connected to your computer, including external drives, which is where I happen to keep my installers. It also does a lot better job explaining what's going on, which helps prevent mistakes. The best that can be said is that Install Disk Creator is a work in progress and has little or nothing to recommend it over DiskMaker X. So three stars is all I can give it, do to the inadequate user interface. We'll see if the developer is up to the challenge or if the negative feedback cools his enthusiasm for the project.
(0)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
16 March 2017
Version: 1.21
Who recommends doing a clean instal every six months? Maybe for Windows, but the Mac OS is generally stable almost indefinitely given routine maintenance. It depends on how you use your system and what you instal on it. Some things can crap it up, but that's much harder to do in macOS 10.12, Sierra, which isolates system files from user and third-party meddling. You can't even repair permissions any more. Routine software updates take care of that now. That said, in the past some experts have recommended doing a clean install once a year. Which is fine if you don't mind taking the time to reinstall all your software and data. But most people will never reinstall the operating system on Windows or macOS. Still, it is worthwhile for geeks to have an installer handy if and when they need it. Personally I've rarely had a problem with DiskMaker X. It's been around since Lion came out and has been supported ever since. But I'll give this one a look since the price is competitive with the competition. ;-) Though I suggest the developer not try so hard to make his app seem important. His claim that it is "recomendable" to do a clean install every six months is borderline FUD.
(1)
5
vl9449
14 December 2016
Version: 1.0
worked for me
(1)
Turquoise
02 February 2016
Version: 1.0
I wish it could simplify creating any bootable installer, not only OS X.
(1)
5
david-127
13 October 2015
Version: 1.0
Works great for me - much better than diskmaker x, which i've always found to be really buggy. Thanks for making this. :)
(2)