Back to Install Disk Creator page
Install Disk Creator free download for Mac

Install Disk Creator Reviews1.5

23 March 2021

Create a bootable OS X installer.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Giosette
Giosette
Jul 3 2021
1.5
5.0
Jul 3 2021
5.0
Version: 1.5
If 1.5 doesn't work, use 1.3 (ask the manufacturer -macdaddy.io-)
roycebanjo
roycebanjo
Jan 16 2021
1.5
1.0
Jan 16 2021
1.0
Version: 1.5
It work for me once. Now I as stuck on my second attempt. An error occurred. Try ejecting the destination disk and reinserting it, or rebooting. It probably couldn't be unmounted to erase it. I've tried with different new USB's...it's driving me crazy!
jcfages
jcfages
Dec 25 2020
1.5
5.0
Dec 25 2020
5.0
Version: 1.5
perfect for me wth a sd card and Big Sur systèm for a MacBook M1
rmorris
rmorris
Dec 3 2020
1.5
0.0
Dec 3 2020
0.0
Version: 1.5
If you're not afraid to use the Terminal app, see <https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201372>.
markjenkins6659
markjenkins6659
Mar 23 2020
1.4.1
5.0
Mar 23 2020
5.0
Version: 1.4.1
I needed to downgrade my wife's Late 2013 Macbook Pro from Catalina to High Sierra after replacing the SSD. Catalina seemed to cause problems, especially with the trackpad that seemed to stop working/ lag. I tried many other apps and terminal commands to create a bootable USB and Disk Creator was the only one that actually worked.
bradley-dichter
bradley-dichter
Dec 23 2019
1.4
3.0
Dec 23 2019
3.0
Version: 1.4
Refused to make a bootable flash drive of Sierra with fresh install and freshly erased drive.
Foulger
Foulger
Nov 25 2019
1.4
4.0
Nov 25 2019
4.0
Version: 1.4
I KNOW its free and a really GREAT app BUT Catalina has been out both in ß and final version for a long time. As a premier app, we REALLY need a Catalina specific version, PLEASE
mharshma
mharshma
Oct 26 2019
1.4
4.0
Oct 26 2019
4.0
Version: 1.4
Im a software tester myself, and agree that there should be some sort of progress bar. I made my own progress bar, kinda, by doing a get info on the installer as it was being built. You can see the size continue to increase over time. Maybe the dev can build a progress bar from that. Thanks
desmond-4
desmond-4
Oct 9 2019
1.4
4.0
Oct 9 2019
4.0
Version: 1.4
Buggy with Catalina - Help please developer!
Citizenvern
Citizenvern
Apr 29 2019
1.4
4.5
Apr 29 2019
4.5
Version: 1.4
What Apple obfuscates and makes difficult, great devs make simple. Thank you. Everyone, please chip in when you can!
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Sep 27 2018
1.3
5.0
Sep 27 2018
5.0
Version: 1.3
This app is a butt saver! As an active beta tester I cannot count the times that I have used this marvelous app to create installers that I store on Flash Drives and always have available when that moment arrives and you have an emergency and must reinstall your system. There is no need for an Internet connection for the reinstall incase your Wifi has crashed or is simply not available. As far as periodic reinstall issues as scorned by chasjunk in his review it IS a good idea every few months reinstall. Periodically there are small corruptions in the OS that cause little irritations that are near impossible to isolate. There are apps that sometimes do not get along with others that even after uninstalling leave issues and a new OS reinstall will often correct. By the way if you have an installer on a Flash Drive with3.0 speed capabilities it is faster than going to online recovery!
chasjunk
chasjunk
Sep 27 2018
1.3
0.0
Sep 27 2018
0.0
Version: 1.3
This developer recommends (in the description above) that you should reinstall your system every six months or so. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA It's hard to take the product seriously (or trust the developer) when such farcical Windows-centric thinking is present. Macs don't need to be REINSTALLED every six months, that's simply ludicrous.
Dominikhoffmann
Dominikhoffmann
Aug 1 2017
1.21
0.0
Aug 1 2017
0.0
Version: 1.21
I don’t know, how hard it would be to do, but it would be nice to see a progress bar and a prognosis, as to how long the process has left to finish the job.
Timmyb
Timmyb
Jul 1 2017
1.21
0.0
Jul 1 2017
0.0
Version: 1.21
Seems to work. Created an 8GB USB install disk of 10.12.5 running from 10.12.5. As others have mentioned I saw no progress indicators during the creation process, there was a dialog to tell us that the process was complete. I didn't actually use the created disk to install an OIS, but I did test boot the disks.
marcus27
marcus27
May 16 2017
1.21
5.0
May 16 2017
5.0
Version: 1.21
Excellent !! worked for me
gamezr01
gamezr01
Apr 9 2017
1.21
1.0
Apr 9 2017
1.0
Version: 1.21
Does this thing even work? I tried it, but there was no way of knowing how long it was going to take to complete the Sierra install image on my USB stick. It's as though the developer skipped the user experience part when they wrote this app. In the trash it goes!
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Mar 21 2017
1.21
3.0
Mar 21 2017
3.0
Version: 1.21
OK, I downloaded Install Disk Creator and it works just fine. In fact, it was so fast that I didn't know it was done. Which is a problem: function aside, there are not enough indicators showing what's going on, not even a "finished" or "done" button. In other words, this app is incomplete as far as user feedback is concerned. We can hope the developer takes the time to finish the app. In the meantime, DiskMaker X has plenty of cues and prompts. And it is functionally more complete as well. It sniffs out all and any installers on media in or connected to your computer, including external drives, which is where I happen to keep my installers. It also does a lot better job explaining what's going on, which helps prevent mistakes. The best that can be said is that Install Disk Creator is a work in progress and has little or nothing to recommend it over DiskMaker X. So three stars is all I can give it, do to the inadequate user interface. We'll see if the developer is up to the challenge or if the negative feedback cools his enthusiasm for the project.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Mar 16 2017
1.21
3.0
Mar 16 2017
3.0
Version: 1.21
Who recommends doing a clean instal every six months? Maybe for Windows, but the Mac OS is generally stable almost indefinitely given routine maintenance. It depends on how you use your system and what you instal on it. Some things can crap it up, but that's much harder to do in macOS 10.12, Sierra, which isolates system files from user and third-party meddling. You can't even repair permissions any more. Routine software updates take care of that now. That said, in the past some experts have recommended doing a clean install once a year. Which is fine if you don't mind taking the time to reinstall all your software and data. But most people will never reinstall the operating system on Windows or macOS. Still, it is worthwhile for geeks to have an installer handy if and when they need it. Personally I've rarely had a problem with DiskMaker X. It's been around since Lion came out and has been supported ever since. But I'll give this one a look since the price is competitive with the competition. ;-) Though I suggest the developer not try so hard to make his app seem important. His claim that it is "recomendable" to do a clean install every six months is borderline FUD.
vl9449
vl9449
Dec 14 2016
1.0
5.0
Dec 14 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0
worked for me
Turquoise
Turquoise
Feb 2 2016
1.0
0.0
Feb 2 2016
0.0
Version: 1.0
I wish it could simplify creating any bootable installer, not only OS X.
david-127
david-127
Oct 13 2015
1.0
5.0
Oct 13 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0
Works great for me - much better than diskmaker x, which i've always found to be really buggy. Thanks for making this. :)