Back to File Cabinet Pro page
File Cabinet Pro free download for Mac

File Cabinet Pro Reviews

7.3.3
31 October 2019

File manager for the menu bar.

latarnikicloud-com4436
17 February 2019

Most helpful

I simply deleted older version
Like (1)
Version 6.8

Read 22 File Cabinet Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

latarnikicloud-com4436
17 February 2019
I simply deleted older version
Like (1)
Version 6.8
RogerKatz
15 September 2018
The current versions, from both the Developer and the Mac Store, is version 6.6.1
Like
Version 6.5.1
macspeed
09 July 2018
A very convenient file management utility.
Like
Version 6.5.1
BryanatMU
08 March 2018
Pros: Updates are making it better, items stay organized in the same way with each use.
Cons: "Customize Toolbar" option is not obvious. Switches between active displays when left open.

New version has brought dark mode (❤️) and a new, clean looking icon. This app has saved my life this week. To manage one of my work responsibilities I need to check file info in my downloads folder and mount/unmount disk images. Having this menu bar item allows me to hit a keyboard shortcut and have that info immediately at-a-glance, as well as check what is mounted and eject if needed. It has probably saved me up to an hour this week alone of shuffling around files and finding Finder windows. This is the one Finder alternative that I need.
Like
Version 5.9
Monor82
26 January 2018
A couple of weeks ago, I bought File Cabinet Pro as part of a software bundle. It´s quite convenient to have a »Mini Finder« with integrated text editor sitting in the menu bar. In terms of usability I consider FC Pro a 4 star application. The author has earned a 5th. star by his exceptional responsiveness: Often, when you call the attention of a developer to a bug or a new helpful feature, you get a short notice that this could possibly implemented in the future - and never hear of it again. In the case of Anthony, the developer of FC Pro, my propositions were fulfilled within a couple of hours or days by new program versions - drag & drop of clippings, PDF pages or mail attachments to FC Pro, inserting the clipboard, and so on. So carry on the good work!
Like (3)
Version 5.6.1
baxsur
17 January 2018
Makes my life easier.
Like
Version 5.6.1
YHC
30 December 2017
Please download the Trial (on Mac App Store) before buying this app. IMO, this app is useless (I've bought it), because of the following reasons, 1. You can do a simple action in Finder, but cannot do the same action in this app, for example, switching the sidebar items by clicking BACK Button (on the toolbar). This is just one example. I'm tired to tell the all. 2. A lot of bugs (I sent them to the developer, and this took me a huge time). 3. The Ugly UI, for example, Dark Mode in this app (it is 100% black, not semitransparent). The Dark Mode in this app just exchanges white color into black color, so there is no any modifying for optimizing the looking. This is just one example. I'm tired to tell the all. Regret buying this app.
Like (2)
Version 5.5
1 answer(s)
Writes for All Inc.
Writes for All Inc.
16 January 2018
The minor bugs you reported to me via e-mail have been fixed. I also was happy to clarify certain application behavior to you that was not determined to be bugs.

Version 5.6 has just been released; this update fixes the bug that could cause the "Go back" button to not work after switching directories via the sidebar (this only happened in Column view).

Thanks for your feedback.

I hope the new version changes your opinion about the app. You can always get in touch with me here to report any issues: https://apptyrant.com/contact/
Like (2)
Sonnendeck
20 December 2017
Puh.... So many updates... Maybe bigger udates a little later. Best regards!
Like (1)
Version 5.4.2
Knapster
28 October 2017
Was looking for something like this, having tried Unclutter and Yoink. My initial thoughts are that the install process is very poor. Install without the MacUpdate app is now impossible (all attempts at this failed) and while MacUpdate used to be a great site to visit for app discovery, I now find that it's increasingly used to up-sell the MacUpdate app - demoting the very thing that made the site good in the first place and in this case damaging my image of the product. Looking at the app itself, I think it will do what I want. I would perhaps like the sidebar integrated (to toggle labels). A dark mode of HUD appearance would look nicer. Also as I drag, it would be nice if the window appeared as it got close to the menu bar rather than having to drag it all the way up to the top. Still, it will be useful - especially in full screen apps.
Like (3)
Version 4.9
1 answer(s)
Writes for All Inc.
Writes for All Inc.
28 October 2017
Hi Knapster,

Thanks for your feedback, I will take your suggestions into consideration! You should be able to install the app without having to install anything else. If you have any issues in this regard, please contact me here: https://apptyrant.com/contact/ and provide a valid return e-mail address and I’ll be happy to assist.

You may already know this, but I’ll offer a tip In regards to your suggestion about dragging near the menu bar icon. You may wish to enable the global hotkey in Settings and use it to show the window any time you want, if you want to avoid dragging all the way to the top.

Thanks again.
Like (1)
George-OConnor
17 October 2017
My serial number from Receipt: 1277380360 does not work. Nor can I enter a support ticket.
Like
Version 4.7
2 answer(s)
Writes for All Inc.
Writes for All Inc.
17 October 2017
Contact me here: https://apptyrant.com/contact/ I'll gladly help to get your issue resolved.
Like
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
17 October 2017
You can always reach us as well via support@macupdate.com
Like
Rjmorita
16 October 2017
"You can now change the sort policy by clicking a column header in list view" I'd been waiting for you to make this change. Thank you !!
Like (1)
Version 4.7
ben-marko
09 June 2017
If I could download a trial, I would give it a spin. But a trial seems to be unavailable.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.4
2 answer(s)
Writes for All Inc.
Writes for All Inc.
09 June 2017
Hi Ben,
You can try out File Cabinet Lite, which is on the Mac App Store: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/file-cabinet-lite/id1160292682?mt=12
Like (3)
lacwbo
lacwbo
01 September 2017
I agree, before spending $30, need to try first.
Like
Cro-duke
03 June 2017
Ok, the installation was not so smooth, but the app is very good - practical and fast.
Like (2)
Version 4.1.3
Allan2
31 May 2017
Hi Guys. The problem with install is you need to put "Special Deal" in name column and then the serial number and it will work fine. The programme is excellent as it shows in graphic from all items. you can double click and they open in a preview window You can then alter it i.e crop or copy .You can add folders as well and drag and drop items from the window.. Its so easy to open and close as well. Click on menu item and it opens ...click again and it shuts. Great little programme well worth it. ( Their support is great as well. I had a reply within hours of asking about install problem)
Like
Version 4.1.3
deputat
08 May 2017
Dear Dev could you explain your design choice in a matter of icons; especially menu bar?
( y skeuomorphism?)
(perspective in menu bar? Why?)
Like (2)
Version 4.0.3
1 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
26 May 2017
"Why?" Why not? Does it interfere with the operation of the app, somehow?
Like
deputat
08 May 2017
Dear Dev could you explain your design choice in a matter of icons; especially menu bar? ( y skeuomorphism?)
Like
Version 4.0.3
BryanatMU
06 April 2017
Sometimes you need a quick glimpse into a folder. Having this app in the menu bar is extremely useful to me just for that reason. The quick access that is in the same spot every time is helpful as it keeps me from dropping out of my work flow to find or open a new Finder window and get to the proper folder. File Cabinet Pro always opens in the folder I need, in the view I like. It’s consistent, stable, and light-weight. Great work!
Like
Version 3.9.7
Flavum
20 February 2017
Sadly, I'm just a casual user rather than a "pro", so I guess I'll have to pass on this. I'll keep an eye out for File Cabinet Amateur though.
Like
Version 3.9
zo219
17 February 2017
It is kinda ugly. Way ugly, and uninviting to use.
Like (3)
Version 3.8
Bluebird
07 December 2016
As of 3.6.3, Pro version of this app is pretty near perfect. Everything on my wish list is there without complaints or issues. This is the quickly accessible menu bar Finder helper you need on your Mac. Out of the way, but always there.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.3
Rjmorita
28 November 2016
A good finder replacement (or supplement) that sits in the menu bar for a convenient access to folders and files.
Like (2)
Version 3.6
Kitmos
18 October 2016
No Trial version? No thanks.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
2 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
23 October 2016
There's a so-called free version (lite) on AppStore if you want to give it a try.
Like (1)
Writes for All Inc.
Writes for All Inc.
28 February 2017
Hi Kitmos,

Thanks for the feedback.
As mentioned by Fariborz, you can now download File Cabinet Lite on the Mac App Store and try the app for free for 30 days.
Like (1)