Back to Disk Clean Pro page
Disk Clean Pro free download for Mac

Disk Clean Pro Reviews6.0

12 March 2021

Find and remove space-wasting files.

How would you rate Disk Clean Pro?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Jan 3 2021
5.1
0.0
Jan 3 2021
0.0
Version: 5.1
This is not a review per se, it is a discussion of the class of software to which this program belongs. As a public service to the MacUpdate community, I've found as many of these "cleaner" apps on this website as I could and listed them them below. I intend to post this every time a new or updated version of one of these things shows up on this site. There are now 73 in the list, and it seems like new entries in the 'Mac cleaner' market space pop up every day, metastasizing like a cancer. Unfortunately, more is not better. They are all of dubious value. Many have no reviews here. Many have what look to be essentially fake 5-star reviews with no useful commentary. Many -- probably the most accurate and honest -- have negative reviews, by users who have been burned by them. Most of the developers' descriptions boast about what a great job they do, but the truth is, there are no good, comprehensive, head-to-head reviews of these programs by impartial 3rd parties. True experts in macOS maintenance advise against using any of them, because in general they serve little useful purpose and they can easily do more harm than good. Macs simply do not need "cleaning." (See for example: https://www.thesafemac.com/the-myth-of-the-dirty-mac/) Some of these programs are notorious for being little more than malware. Many have "disk" in their name, although disks, especially internal ones, are now a thing of the past. (Although macOS still comes with the storage drive initialized as "Macintosh HD," a quaint relic of a bygone era.) You are well-advised to read any program documentation and make a RELIABLE BACKUP before attempting any changes. If I have missed any programs that should be on the list, please leave a comment and let me know. I will rate all these programs with one star, probably one more than they deserve. And I would appreciate comments. If you disagree, please speak up. But if all you can come up with is 5 stars and a sentence or two saying that program X is great and I don't know what I'm talking about, please save your breath. No one here will take you seriously. And I apologize for the almost unreadable formatting, a severe limitation of MacUpdate itself, which compresses maximum text into minimum space, leaving no whitespace for readability. :: BEGIN LIST:: Aooro : AppCleaner & Uninstaller : AutoTrash : AweCleaner : Broom : BuhoCleaner : CCleaner : Clean Disk : CleanGeeker : CleanGenius : Clean Me : CleanMyDrive : CleanMyMac X : Cleaner One Pro : Cocktail : Combo Cleaner : Disk Aid : Disk Analyzer Pro : Disk BoostUp : Disk Clean Pro : Disk Cleaner : Disk Cleaner Pro : Disk Diet : Disk Doctor : Disk Expert : Disk Health : Disk Janitor : DiskKeeper Advanced Cleaner : DiskKeeper Cleaner - Modern : DiskKeeper Pro : Disk Manager: Disk Sensei : Disk Xray : Disk Xray Lite : Doctor Disk Cleaner : FastScanner Pro : Hard Disk Manager : HD Cleaner : iBooster : iCare : iMac Cleaner : MacBooster : Mac Cleaner : MacClean : MacClean360 : MacCleaner Pro : MacCleanse : MacEnizer : MacMaintenance : MacMaster : MacOptimizer : MacTuneUp : Mechanism8 : Mojave Cleaner : More Disk Space : Omni Remover : Power Booster : PowerMyMac : Precious Disk : Pro Disk Cleaner : Quick Cleaner : SubRosaSoft Drive Cleaner : Sensei : Startup Manager : Stellar SpeedUpMac : TrashMe 3 : Washing Machine : WeCleanse : WinZip Mac Optimizer : Wise Mac Care : Wise mCleaner : XustoDisk : Xustomite :: END LIST :: The only system maintenance tools I recommend are 1) TinkerTool System, a true bargain priced at only $14 for a single license. TTS is a an exceptional piece of quality engineering, safe when used properly, and superbly documented, with in-depth tutorials for every option. 2) OnyX, from Titanium Software, has a loyal following and gets good reviews here. 3) I have used Northern Softworks' "Cache Cleaners" in the past (the latest being "Big Sur Cache Cleaner," which I have not used) and their products were always first rate. Still, the same warnings apply. As for the rest, listed above, it is safe to say that nobody who really knows what they're doing with Macs and macOS will touch them. Don't get sucked in by a pretty interface. You may very well regret it. -SB
vallee-blanche
vallee-blanche
Dec 17 2020
5.0.2
1.0
Dec 17 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.2
Google bait and switch. This is the first result.
lycanthrope214321
lycanthrope214321
Oct 16 2020
3.3.0
1.0
Oct 16 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.0
I used Disk Clean pro once and deleted a lot of duplicates. Then I re-ran the program and it found another 500, which I have left. In the process of deleting duplicates I also manged to successfully stuff my e mail - Applemail, which has reset to how it was at the beginning and has deleted all mail, mailboxes and does not allow me to add a new account. It also caused issues with my Wacom tablet. Maybe if you are an expert this is for you but I imagine if you are you would not need it. It has been a terrible experience for me and I am now trying to find out how to recover my e mails and settings. I thought if I ran it again and this time deleted the Junk Folder and Logs it may help but all that happens is next time I run it, five minutes later, the Junk folder has another 60 Junk and Log files to be deleted. and it reads that both Junk and Logs are in the Red Zone for 'improvement potential'.
kaydentaylornew
kaydentaylornew
Feb 17 2018
1.12.0
4.0
Feb 17 2018
4.0
Version: 1.12.0
Like this app. It improves my computer performance.
Warwickt
Warwickt
Jan 20 2018
1.11.0
0.5
Jan 20 2018
0.5
Version: 1.11.0
Same experience as RogerKatz — VirusBarrier reports a file inside the app at Disk Clean Pro.app>Contents>MacOS>.BC.T_vFIwAS as malware. I have emailed the developer and will report any response.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Nov 1 2017
1.11.0
0.5
Nov 1 2017
0.5
Version: 1.11.0
My Anti-Virus software (i.e., VirusBarrier by Intego Software) scans won’t let me install it. It has repeatedly warned me about this version (1.11.0) as well as earlier versions for both ‘Disk Clean Pro’ and ‘Disk Cleanup Pro’.
harrisfinn63
harrisfinn63
Nov 23 2016
1.9.0
4.5
Nov 23 2016
4.5
Version: 1.9.0
I’m very satisfied with the purchase of this product and performance, will install in my macbook as well and hoping for new updates to make a good product even better for all my macs at home.
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
Sep 13 2015
1.2.0
0.0
Sep 13 2015
0.0
Version: 1.2.0
No trial, no sale. Ever.
lacwbo
lacwbo
Sep 12 2015
1.2.0
0.0
Sep 12 2015
0.0
Version: 1.2.0
No trial to see how or if it's better than many that do the same thing and some even free!
CDavid
CDavid
Sep 11 2015
1.2.0
2.0
Sep 11 2015
2.0
Version: 1.2.0
This app seems to be a copy of many other apps used for cleaning purposes. However, unlike most rivals., Disk Clean Pro doesn't work properly. It randomly ignores files while scanning my Mac, it crashes from time to time and I think it's slows down my system. Think twice before installing this application.