Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Adguard page
Adguard free download for Mac

Adguard Reviews2.5.3.955

05 March 2021

Ad blocking and filtering for browsers and applications.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Albabe
Albabe
May 5 2021
2.5.3.955
1.0
May 5 2021
1.0
Version: 2.5.3.955
This is an insane price for an Ad Blocker... and then I ran across it in the Apple Apps Store... and it's FREE in there. Very odd. So far it's working great with YouTube and my other sites that I frequent... ABP and AdBlock have been crap for years and don't really work on YT... this apparently does, but I am curious about Privacy with it. There seems to be Contradicting info at their site.
trebron
trebron
Nov 9 2020
2.5.1.916
1.0
Nov 9 2020
1.0
Version: 2.5.1.916
This is proprietary and fairly expensive. Prefering uBlock Origin. Somehow that is not listed on macupdate.
paulaantalan
paulaantalan
Sep 30 2020
2.4.8.797
0.0
Sep 30 2020
0.0
Version: 2.4.8.797
Start using this just today. Let's see if I will have keep it as my antiblocker :) hopefully yes!
1kumarshi
1kumarshi
Jun 26 2020
2.4.8.797
5.0
Jun 26 2020
5.0
Version: 2.4.8.797
It is an extremely perfect adblocker i can watch anything including crunchyroll and youtube with no ads whatsoever. I reccomend this to all users who get annoyed by ads (pretty much everyone).
angelo1354
angelo1354
Feb 13 2020
2.3.2.710
5.0
Feb 13 2020
5.0
Version: 2.3.2.710
This is one of the best adblockers ive used. Unlike others, this one blocks all ads and doesnt leave any pop ups. would recommend this to anyone.
Albabe
Albabe
Jan 30 2020
2.3.2.710
1.0
Jan 30 2020
1.0
Version: 2.3.2.710
$50 Clams? Seriously? ...and most of the GLOWING "Reviews" here sound like Ads.
KonradVK123
KonradVK123
Jan 5 2020
2.3.2.710
5.0
Jan 5 2020
5.0
Version: 2.3.2.710
I’ve been using Adguard for about a year, and it is by far the best ad blocking software I have ever used. It blocks most ads with just a push of a button on the software, making it very easy to use. It keeps tracks of how many ads have been blocked so far. It also tells you the Trackers and Threats that have been blocked while the app was active. Moreover, it saves data on your phone when the app is on. Meaning when you are browsing online, Adguard will not only block ads and threats from violating your phone, it will also save your data plan. Another amazing thing about this app is that it doesn’t get recognized as a ad blocking software on most websites. I have used the basic ad blocking extension from Chrome, and I have noticed and experienced that most websites will recognize it and tell me to shut it off to play videos or fully access the features on the website. This is a huge pro for Adguard as it will most likely be not recognized as a software, meaning that you would never have to turn Adguard off to access features or play videos on a website. However, I hope they improve the blocking so that it can block ads on videos on social media such as Facebook. When watching videos on Facebook, there will be ads popping up during the video which is really annoying and kills the overall flow of the video that you were watching. If Adguard makes an update on blocking ads on social media as well, it would be the ultimate best ad blocking software that has ever been made. Customers also have a lot of access to complimentary license keys which is a bonus. Overall, very useful software 100% recommend.
woodbury2
woodbury2
Dec 29 2019
2.3.2.710
0.0
Dec 29 2019
0.0
Version: 2.3.2.710
I used the free version of AdGuard on my iMac for a year or so and a free version of AdBlock on the MacBook. Of the two, I much preferred AdGuard. I liked it so much I ought a license in November 2019. The paid version is super powerful and efficient. So many features, so little money.
::mile::
::mile::
Jul 8 2019
2.0.6.559
4.5
Jul 8 2019
4.5
Version: 2.0.6.559
Okay, this one actually looks different that the one I downloaded from the app store. Is there a side-by-side comparison somewhere showing the differences between the two versions?
::mile::
::mile::
Jul 8 2019
2.0.6.559
4.5
Jul 8 2019
4.5
Version: 2.0.6.559
In my opinion this is currently the best ad-blocker for Safari.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jun 15 2019
2.0.6.559
5.0
Jun 15 2019
5.0
Version: 2.0.6.559
New v2 upgrade is fantastic. Lots of new security & privacy functionality that previously I always needed Firefox plugins for. Now it's all in one app, and less browser footprint is always good.
momijigari
momijigari
May 30 2019
2.0.4
5.0
May 30 2019
5.0
Version: 2.0.4
Invaluable.
iMacWare
iMacWare
May 25 2019
1.5.14
5.0
May 25 2019
5.0
Version: 1.5.14
Powerful ad blocker. Far better than any alternative on the App Store
Gregm
Gregm
Apr 18 2019
1.5.14
0.0
Apr 18 2019
0.0
Version: 1.5.14
A bit confused: Adguard is in the App Store as version 1.2.1 This Version 1.5.14 is a trial ware/ paid subscription---- and yet when I use the "new" version links, they take me to GitHub older version. WTH?
isdn
isdn
Nov 11 2018
1.5.10
0.5
Nov 11 2018
0.5
Version: 1.5.10
I thought that I finally found a best ad blocking software. Well, it can block ads. But it also adds their own root CA certificate to your system. They also install a kernel extension, but this seems to be fine, it is required to filter traffic transparently. Having a "fake" root CA certificate in the system is a terrible idea. That means that they (or anyone who have that certificate) can do MitM on all of your HTTPS traffic (to Google, your bank, PayPal, etc). That is not required to filter traffic. You can implement exactly the same functions with Little Snitch and a list from, for example, http://pgl.yoyo.org/adservers/. So, I would not recommend anyone to use AdGuard because of that certificate installation.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Oct 8 2018
1.5.8
5.0
Oct 8 2018
5.0
Version: 1.5.8
Powerful ad blocker. Far better than any alternative on the App Store for Safari 12 in Mojave! Works with a huge number of browsers! I never knew there were so many. Easy to use Whitelist filter. Regular updates. Fine support!
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Apr 9 2018
1.5.6
5.0
Apr 9 2018
5.0
Version: 1.5.6
Very satisfied with AdGuard. For me, it's the best and most unobtrusive solution on the Mac to fight ads of all kinds.
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 3 2018
1.5.3
5.0
Mar 3 2018
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
This is the best, at least for me, I have used it for some time and I am very satisfied with Adguard.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Feb 25 2018
1.5.3
5.0
Feb 25 2018
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
Adguard is by far the most stable, most advanced and easy to use software I have ever used on my iPhone and Mac... I wouldn't use any other software. We warned! The adguard app in the app store is Malware!
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Dec 27 2017
1.5.3
5.0
Dec 27 2017
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
Very happy with it. Does what it says on the tin.
Wts
Wts
Sep 21 2017
1.4.1
0.0
Sep 21 2017
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
actual Adguard is now ( Thu, Sep 21, 2017 ) is at version 1.5.0
Funjoy
Funjoy
Sep 21 2017
1.4.1
5.0
Sep 21 2017
5.0
Version: 1.4.1
Fantastic. Transparently works in Chrome and Safari. Powerful.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Mar 30 2017
1.4.1
4.0
Mar 30 2017
4.0
Version: 1.4.1
The best blocker out there! I love its ability to work without the use of any plugin in Safari. I do not like to install any kind of plugin in my browser. Worth what it costs!
TCalhau
TCalhau
Mar 30 2017
1.4.1
4.0
Mar 30 2017
4.0
Version: 1.4.1
The best blocker out there! I love its ability to work without the use of any plugin in Safari. I do not like to install any kind of plugin in my browser. Worth what it costs!
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Dec 20 2016
1.4.0
5.0
Dec 20 2016
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
Now has CSS blocking, and suddenly all those annoying "sponsored messages" on Facebook are gone gone gone. Love it! Adguard is getting better with every update.
JBX
JBX
Dec 17 2016
1.4.0
0.0
Dec 17 2016
0.0
Version: 1.4.0
Annoying as hell if your also running LittleSnitch. Wants to connect to various yandex.ru sites. wth is with that.
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Dec 14 2016
1.4.0
5.0
Dec 14 2016
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
Love it. Works for me.
june8
june8
Oct 16 2016
1.3.0
4.5
Oct 16 2016
4.5
Version: 1.3.0
It is system-wide and works fine for me.
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
Aug 13 2016
1.3.0
2.0
Aug 13 2016
2.0
Version: 1.3.0
Adguard is fairly efficient at removing annoying banners and popups and it does not seem to be a resource hog. I was ready to buy a "two-pack" for my desktop and laptop macs until I saw how much they are asking for their product: $32 for a YEARLY subscription (the equivalent in euros since I am working in Europe). I am used to buying reasonably priced software that I can expect to last a few years at least or at least over the course of a few years of major OS upgrades. This company expects to gouge us yearly for a fairly unsophisticated blocker, which is unreasonable considering their are plenty of free blocker extensions that work almost as well. Either lower the price, move to a conventional sales model, make the software work on multiple computers for one price or issue big discount vouchers. If not, you will not get a penny from me.
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Jun 30 2016
1.3.0
0.5
Jun 30 2016
0.5
Version: 1.3.0
it really fall short compared to ublock orig browser extension, cpu and memory usage are higher but what annoy me the most is that in some sites where ublock works perfectly it crap just fails
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jun 22 2016
1.3.0
5.0
Jun 22 2016
5.0
Version: 1.3.0
New version has some great improvements, doesn't block other local proxies anymore (at least those that I'm using), the GUI seems snappy compared to version 1.2. Hands down the best adblocking solution for the Mac, with fast & very good technical & customer support. Worth every penny.

(Haven't checked yet, if blocklist subscriptions via URL input are possible, but I fear, it hasn't been implemented yet.)
Raro
Raro
Jun 21 2016
1.3.0
4.5
Jun 21 2016
4.5
Version: 1.3.0
I have tried many adblockers. Among them was not one that was able to block all the ads on http://medienjobs.ch/stellen/index2.html permanently. Whats more, all those adblockers were not able to block all the ads automatically. I had to block most of them manually – only to be confronted with new ads after reloading the page. Then I tried Adguard and bang, all the ads had gone – automatically and forever. The only compliant I have is that Adguard 1.2 is very resource-hungry. Hopefully version 1.3 has improved in this respect.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Apr 11 2016
1.2.0
5.0
Apr 11 2016
5.0
Version: 1.2.0
I was a user of GlimmerBlocker before, but that stopped working correctly on El Capitan, so I switched to uBlock, but that's (a) an in-browser blocker, and (b) deprecated anyway for Safari. So back to Adguard. I really appreciate the system-wide approach with the desktop app, and the price for a life-time license is actually fair. The new version works flawlessly on 10.11.4, and it's way better than just the browser extension… better than Adamant, Ka-Block etc. as well. (Don't like the new API with 50,000 rules maximum at all.) Love the automatic filter loading. If you're serious about ad-blocking, Adguard should be the thing for you. The only thing that's missing is the ability to add user-defined filter-subscriptions by URL. Don't know about js, but that seems to be missing too. But it all seems to be in the works. Bottom line: Great adblocker, and if you're looking for a system-wide blocker, it's the only one you should consider. PS: Reek's anti-adblock killer works flawlessly in Adguard; I always had problems with that in uBlock (probably because of the old Safari API).
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jan 29 2016
1.1.0
5.0
Jan 29 2016
5.0
Version: 1.1.0
Three questions: (1) Am I correct in assuming that this is an adblocker that primarily works as a local system-wide proxy? If so, how does it work together with LittleSnitch? (With GlimmerBlocker you need to setup the .pac file.) (2) And is it compatible with AdBlock filter lists? If not, is there a way to convert AdBlock to AdGuard, as you can do e.g. with AdBlock > privoxy? (3) And is there a way to add your own filter rules?
Pugwash
Pugwash
Dec 17 2015
1.1.0
3.0
Dec 17 2015
3.0
Version: 1.1.0
When it's working it's good, which is most of the time, and I mean very good. However there are times when it just doesn't launch, like just now after a system restart I get the following message: "You can’t open the application “Adguard.app” because it is not responding." Sometimes it's prone to almost freeze site loads in Safari, whether it does this in other browsers I can't say. The only fix is to switch it 'off' then 'on' again. At version one there are bound to be problems/bugs, and as I said it works really well when it works. Would've easily been five stars without these issues, which I'm sure will get fixed in a future update, I hope so anyway.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Aug 27 2015
1.1.0
0.0
Aug 27 2015
0.0
Version: 1.1.0
The price. Is it real? How?
PSi-AU
PSi-AU
Aug 18 2015
1.0.63
4.0
Aug 18 2015
4.0
Version: 1.0.63
Out of all the ad blocking solutions i've tried, Adguard seems to work the best, and with minimal stability issues.