Back to OS X El Capitan Security Updates page
OS X El Capitan Security Updates free download for Mac

OS X El Capitan Security Updates Reviews

10.11.6
19 July 2016

Security Updates for OS X El Capitan.

Whitebuck
20 August 2015

Most helpful

Sadly, it matters not what Apple says, OS X and their other Software has been in a steady state of degradation since Snow Leopard.
Like (24)
Version 10.11 Public Beta 5

Read 95 OS X El Capitan Security Updates User Reviews

Rate this app:

greenwavelet-throw
07 February 2018
I wasted time and signed up just to find outthis is a combo update that requires 10.11 to already be installed... Who needs you for this? The whole point is to download the basic installer.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.6
arvidberentsen
07 January 2017
Does not work!
Like (1)
Version 10.11.6
ososX
03 October 2016
I can't find MacOS X 10.12 Sierra on MacUpdate? I wanted to read some of the reviews before I install (or not).
Like
Version 10.11.6
Beasley
04 September 2016
What a crock - this Software hasn't successfully booted on my OS X (currently10.11.6) for almost a year now.
Like
Version 10.11.6
Macguruguy
05 August 2016
2 Constant bugs. First, "This Mac Can't Connect to iCloud because of a problem with..." bug -- cannot resolve. Second, wireless does not automatically connect at boot. Very slow. Many beachballs. And no more Boot Camp support for my 2011 Mac Mini Core i7. Apple...YOU SUCK!
Like
Version 10.11.6
Holmemoss
24 July 2016
I haven't had so many spinning beach balls since System 6. Snow Leopard was the best OS Apple produced and it has being going downhill ever since.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.6
Jayaii
21 July 2016
After having installed 10.11.6 and the latest security update, Airdrop stopped functioning on my rMBP but not my riMac (both fairly new & robust machines). Tried all prescribed remedies with no luck. Looking forward to the next OS version to magically fix this.
Like
Version 10.11.6
2 answer(s)
chawya22
chawya22
21 July 2016
I wonder if the security update was necessary for the 10.11.6 update since it didn't show up as available in the app store, for me. Maybe if you reinstall using the 10.11.6 combo update, the problem will be corrected.
Like
Jayaii
Jayaii
22 July 2016
Problem solved! One of my machines was not being recognized by the other because, in my own card in Contacts, my MobileMe e-mail address was incorrect (don't know how that happened). After correcting it, both machines recognized each other. Yay!
Like
darkness-surroundz
19 July 2016
Just thank GOD you are not using WINDOWS 10. And if you dont KNOW whats wrong with it-then IM NOT GOING TO TELL YOU.....(yes mom-ill be coming up for dinner soon)whitebuck is a dumbass-who goes crying to her mom
Like
Version 10.11.6
RavenNevermore
18 July 2016
That's it... last update my aging early 2009 iMac will run... :( But at least it runs great!
Like (2)
Version 10.11.6
5 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
19 July 2016
I know! End of the road for a couple of my Macs as well...weep. They are still productive machines though and will continue to be for several years; El Capitan is a good ''capstone"' release.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
19 July 2016
Ah, but now I see there's a patch to allow it to be installed on my Mac! Think I'll try it on an external hard drive first. ;)
Like
Mcr
Mcr
19 July 2016
I've tried such patches before with mixed results. You can do the initial installation (the patch if it's the one I think you are referring too, modifies a plist of all t he 'valid' models that the OS can accept').

The problems come later because the patch cannot modify the burned in model name which is stored in EFI somewhere, So if the model is for example 'imac6,1' any future update, release, etc that checks for that model name in ROM may still fail.

But hey, what have you got to lose! Give it a whirl, just be sure to keep that ol' El Capitan boot partition available.
Like
kimelias999
kimelias999
27 May 2017
rhrteiortueiouertitryiopioprt
Like
droidrootools
droidrootools
26 December 2018
You may able to run OS X El Capitan. If you are up, download the el capitan os from here
<a href="https://www.downloadelcapitan.com/">OS X El Capitan</a>
Like
MacParc
18 July 2016
OS X 10.11.6 Delta Update (718 MB): https://support.apple.com/kb/dl1884 OS X 10.11.6 Combo Update (1.54 GB): https://support.apple.com/kb/dl1885
Like (5)
Version 10.11.6
1 answer(s)
jkramer65
jkramer65
21 November 2017
does anyone have the original 10.11? i can't update unless I have it.
Like (1)
M85
17 May 2016
10.11.5 seems to have FINALLY given me a nice and solid base. 10.11.4 final and the 10.11.5 betas were a horror show for me. Think I'll be stepping off the OSX upgrade train for a long while - 10.11.5 has the features and tech I need. Now waiting to see Metal implemented in more third-party apps.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.5
4 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
19 May 2016
I didn't have any issues with the betas, except I couldn't get Messages to work.
Like
M85
M85
20 May 2016
I take back what I said - the love affair with 10.11.5 is over. The bugs I experienced in the betas are still there:
Fast user switching locks up the computer half the time
It can't properly initiate the restart command - leaving me with a blank screen for hours wondering if it will finally shut down as a first step to restarting
Final Cut throws up a spinning beach ball or freezes a lot
I've never had a bad experience like this in all my time using a Mac. Possibly in OS8, but that was so long ago I'm not sure.
I always perform combo updates, I've tried Onyx and Diskwarrior on 10.11.5; I've tried trashing the folders except zz in the /var/folders
No joy at all
Like
M85
M85
21 May 2016
2ND UPDATE: I've re-applied the combo update and that seems to have sorted all the problems.
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
31 May 2016
I never had any of the major issues people often talk about with any of the OS X systems, but I agree that 10.11.5 seems very smooth and stable. I appreciate your post; it helped me make the decision to try it.
Like
chawya22
17 May 2016
Much more responsive and significantly reduced pinwheels.
Like
Version 10.11.5
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
19 May 2016
I've learned that you can stop the pin wheels by defragging your hard drive. I use iDeFrag. It made a HUGE difference. You can also wipe the drive and restore from a TimeMachine backup.
Like
chawya22
chawya22
20 May 2016
Thanks for the suggestion. The problem I had was never with Applications, only with the Finder. Since 10.11.5, those lags (pinwheels) have all but disappeared.
Like
Bousozoku
16 May 2016
I'm glad that Apple continues to fix the many bugs. I wish they'd fix the problem when transferring more than 400 photo files over USB 3.0 over either of my Lexar devices that worked fine with 10.9.5. Having the Finder sit there for 20 minutes or more because I forgot to break up the transfer is frustrating. Yes, they have made progress. iMessage messages show up on my desktop. This is cute. They seem to forget the problems to focus on the cute. Unfortunately, Windows 10 is quite viable now. If the machine I have for that would be comparable in power, I could forget about 10.11.x completely. Since Windows 7, Apple have slowed their progress and since 10.5.x, they have increased their bug-iness.
Like
Version 10.11.5
Mcr
16 May 2016
10.11.5 combo update (updates any version of 10.11.x) https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1876?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US delta update (updates over 10.11.4) https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1877?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US I always recommend the Combo, even if you are just upgrading from the previous version. If possible, boot from another partition than the one you are updating. If you have two bootable partitions A and B, boot to A to update B, boot to B to update A. Updating the same drive you are booted from adds more risk. Run Onyx before update, run all the maintenance tasks. RUn Disk Utility First Aid first, make sure no currupted files. BACKUP YOUR DATA, OR BETTER YET, CLONE THE ENTIRE PARTITION BEING UPDATED. Once more: BACKUP YOUR DATA, OR BETTER YET, CLONE THE ENTIRE PARTITION BEING UPDATED. Updates can appear to stall or freeze; leave it alone, be patient, go watch a movie, don't turn your machine off thinking it's stuck, you will corrupt the install. It is normal after an update that the first time you restart, it may take awhile to boot, and the system seems slow for awhile, that is because caches are being refreshed/rebuilt. Most complaints about the system being slower after an update is due to folks giving a review right after rebooting. You need to use the system for a day and run all the apps you normally use at least once, so those apps can rebuild their caches or update their settings. This is likely the LAST dot/dot update for 10.11. The new 10.12 will be demoed next month, and since 10.7, Apple has only released five dot/dot updates for every version of OS X.
Like
Version 10.11.5
Jcraig
16 May 2016
Thanks MU for providing links to the Combo updater.
Like (4)
Version 10.11.5
Macsuga
05 April 2016
All I get from updating to this is finder and app crashes.... I need to find the full install of 10.11.3!
Like (1)
Version 10.11.4
Frankeed
22 March 2016
Anyone else using 10.11.4 having problems with Command + t not opening new tabs in browsers and the finder?
Like (1)
Version 10.11.4
2 answer(s)
DigiMonk
DigiMonk
22 March 2016
Please Ignore this comment, I made a mistake
Like (1)
Frankeed
Frankeed
22 March 2016
A re-start of the computer seems to have solved it.
Like (1)
Tomq
22 March 2016
My Word documents do not open anymore; and the Browser window in SecuritySpy is broken. Never had these problems before 10.11.4
Like (1)
Version 10.11.4
Jayaii
22 March 2016
I previously reported a nonfunctioning screen saver after updating to OS 10.11.4. That problem resolved after running TinkerTool System's "System Optimization" and then restarting the computer. It's possible that only one of the aforementioned tasks did the trick, but I have no way of being certain.
Like
Version 10.11.4
1 answer(s)
ramitaamali125
ramitaamali125
29 June 2016
fuck
Like
Verne-Arase
22 March 2016
Wow ... pretty intense update, but all seems to be well -- needed to reinstall the Logitech software though. Environment: Retina iMac late 2014, Core i7 4ghz, 32 GB, 3TB Fusion, AMD Radeon R9 M295X.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.4
Yazarim
22 March 2016
The slowest and most garbled OSX ever
Like
Version 10.11.4
RunHomeSlow
21 March 2016
10.11.4 combo update link: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1869?locale=en_US
Like (3)
Version 10.11.4
1 answer(s)
gary-22
gary-22
22 March 2016
Thank you! Just what I came here looking for :)
Like
Jessicajazz
10 February 2016
For my machine (Mac Pro, mid-2012, 16MB) it's OK. I did NOT like that my machine updated itself without my permission. I do NOT like changed settings in preferences on how to update as I had decided to wait. It decided not too. But it's stable. More-so than before. A bit faster, but I see "social networking" looming, and less work getting done. Dreamweaver works and so does Photoshop 6. Everything works. Mail still slow and sync is weird but not often used here. All in all, a good update if you have no mods on your system. If you do, remove them and do a combo update. So far so good. Note to Apple: please. I am the human. It is a machine. Let's keep that thought for awhile. Hi to my friends. Bye to the others.
Like
Version 10.11.3
2 answer(s)
Verne-Arase
Verne-Arase
22 March 2016
Do you perchance have "Install OS X updates" checked in the App Store prefpane of System Preferences?
Like
Jessicajazz
Jessicajazz
22 March 2016
Dear Verne Arase — you nailed it. Duh. 20 yrs at a Mac and I still miss stuff. Thank you for the help!
Like
Mcr
08 February 2016
I have updated five Yosemite systems to El Cap, ranging from 2009 to 2015 models. All run faster with El Cap than they did with Yosemite. Stability about the same, i.e. no worse no better. Lastest Office 2016 Mac 15.18 and El Cap 10.11.3 are solid. I work with others who also manage Mac systems, for the most part, the ones that have problems with El Cap (slow, instability), it almost always is due to the following: 1) older system, 4GB or less of RAm 2) they upgraded over an older system but didn't confirm all their apps are El cap compatible, or didn't update their apps first before updating the OS. 3) Upgraded and had existing apps which require files or access in System/Library folder, and don't have SIP disabled. 4) running hacked (k'racked) apps they download from torrents (but won't admit it, easier to blame Apple) 5) multiple upgrades on same system over last several versions of OS X (i.e. upgraded over 10.8, to 10.9, to 10.10, to 10.11. Just need to go with a clean install. 6) if your mac runs fine RIGHT AFTER a clean install, before you install any other 3rd party apps, then it's a good indication your problem is not an OS X issue but some 3rd party app. Add them back one at a time, test inbetween after each app install, till you find the 'problem' app. 7) user are using a system mod that requires disabling SIP or part of SIP; examples are cDock, TotalFinder, and so on. Just because SIP is disabled, doesn't mean these system mods/hacks are going to run flawlessly like they did under Yosemite. Even the developers of these mods will tell you that. for those complaining about SIP, and just in general the steps Apple is taking to secure the system, see this article about recent malware pretending to be a Flash update https://www.intego.com/mac-security-blog/fake-flash-player-update-infects-mac-with-scareware/ I'm not claiming SIP would stop this specific malware (depends on what it does) but the point is, there is no technical reason why this type of malicious stuff won't continue to increase.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.3
1 answer(s)
Raddle
Raddle
23 March 2016
Very helpful observation/s. One of my Macs is running pretty slow, and I'm sure it's due to (5) above. Can't quite face the clean install route yet. But thank you for making a sensible series of comments, rather than just dumping on an OS for something that's probably a user issue.
Like
Jessicajazz
07 February 2016
Has everyone slipped away from MU? I thought the posts here would be numerous. Some frantic, some furious, some supportive, some glowing. Yet it is like a desert town after high noon here. Complete with tumbleweeds. What in tarnation is going on? Should I install or not? I've read many articles trashing this version, but not a peep here. Is anyone home? Hello?
Like
Version 10.11.3
1 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
08 February 2016
It works just fine for me. No issues so far.
Like
djanni
22 January 2016
El Capitan is literally the worst piece of crap operating system I have ever run on a mac. I have never seen the spinning wheel so much in my life. After having so many problems I was ready to throw the iMac out the window, I went through the (not easy anymore) work of doing a clean install wiping my hard drive. Still runs like an old PC. Great job Apple developers, all the bells and whistles on a now unproductive computer is just GREAT.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.3
turninin29
21 January 2016
I was skeptical of downloading El Capitan for my 2011 MacBook Pro because I had done a similar OS upgrade on my older 2007 MacBook in 2010-11 and it literally ruined my computer! I recently purchased a GoPro camera and was not able to download the GoPro Studio software without version 10.9 or later. I was running 10.7 on my 2011 MacBook Pro. I read mixed reviews and decided to give it a shot, still worried I would ruin this MacBook much like my previous one. The El Capitan download took about 45 minutes or so to complete. The computer started and restarted a couple times which had me worried. The first time I logged in to my desktop seemed to run a bit slow. (Again, worried as I remembered similar issues with the 2007 MacBook I owned). Every one of my programs and desktop folders transferred over seamlessly! The first couple of times I powered down and then powered back up seemed to log in a bit faster each time. After about 3 or 4 days of using my computer I can now say it appears to be performing exactly as it was before downloading El Capitan! Everything appears to be running great with no issues. I can't say there is much of a difference with this 10.11 OS compared to my 10.7, but I successfully downloaded the GoPro software which was my main reason for converting! So all in all, I am very happy with the transition! I was actually shocked at how accurate the update was. Everything is in the same place, and even the widgets and my notes on my sticky pads from DashBoard are EXACTLY as I had them on 10.7! I would recommend this update to anyone who NEEDS the update. If you are doing it just to do it, I probably wouldn't take the risk as there are no big changes that I have found other than the split screen mode, which I really don't see myself using. The OS doesn't appear to be operating any faster, in fact I think log in is a bit slower, so from a functional stand point I don't see any real advantages other than being able to use newer software and such that requires a more up to date OS. For the slower boot-up and log in I am giving it a 4.5 out of 5. For ease of dowload, transition and everything after the boot-up/log-in it is a perfect 5 out of 5! I hope this helps! Thanks, Brad
Like
Version 10.11.3
Pik80
20 January 2016
No major problems with me. Nice step up from Yosemite in terms of stability.
Like
Version 10.11.3
ianrid
19 January 2016
Safari seems to run smoother but the caching problem is still not fixed, i.e. it doesn't go back to the last version of a page visited but to an earlier version.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.3
chaznewc
19 January 2016
Installed fine on my 2009 15" MBP. Everything is in working order. I ran Onyx and Time Machine before hand.
Like
Version 10.11.3
Billybob152
19 January 2016
I could not even install any system upgrade from Yosemite on although my computer is listed as being up dateable to 10.10 and beyond. Goes all the way through the upgrade process and then I get a message saying 'Essentials. pkg' is missing. Now, I am screwed because I have no recognizable drive to boot. Cannot even go back to 10.9.5. I have to take my mac mini back to the Apple Store so they can reinstall 10.9.5 since there is no install system disc to reinstall at home.. Did this 5 times on my Mac mini and four times on my iMac. This situation sucks and so does Apple. Anyone else have this problem?
Like
Version 10.11.3
3 answer(s)
sjakubiec
sjakubiec
20 January 2016
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314
Like
Sitting-In-The-Sun
Sitting-In-The-Sun
20 January 2016
Do a network install.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
20 January 2016
I've never had an issue with El capitan installing, and I've run it since the beta.
Like
RTouris
19 January 2016
10.10.3 combo update https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1859?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US
Like (3)
Version 10.11.3
1 answer(s)
RunHomeSlow
RunHomeSlow
19 January 2016
typo is not good,
but the link is good for 10.11.3 combo, thank you
Like (1)
SMS1
13 December 2015
Proceed with caution! The 10.11.2 update brought my 2 iMacs to their knees … Both machines performed OK after the update but installation or updates of apps and Time Machine were crippled to an almost unusable state. For example, an update to Microsoft Office that should have taken about 5–10 minutes took more than an hour … the console log was flooded with lsd errors (? launch services?) and repeated, by-the-second calls to crash reporter. Even normal file-copy operations were impacted. Fortunately (!) I had a SuperDuper system backup and was able to roll my machines back to 10.11.1 … but that still cost me a lot of time. The good news coming from this is that the problems forced me to reconsider my backup strategies. I’ve abandoned Time Machine altogether … at the best of times, even when running directly (i.e. NOT WiFi) to a fast Thunderbolt drive, the utility is glacially slow. I’ve replaced TM backups with periodic full-system backups by SuperDuper and daily and hourly backups of critical folders using ChronoSync. With ChronoSync you can duplicate the functionality of TM and achieve MUCH faster backups … and the archives that ChronoSync provides yield much easier access to old files/versions. So, bottom line: don’t install this update unless you have a bootable system backup! Disclaimer I am a happy ChronoSync user but I have absolutely no involvement, financial or otherwise, with the developers … I’m strictly an end user.
Like
Version 10.11.2
1 answer(s)
Charliehodge
Charliehodge
14 December 2015
Thanks for the info. I've still not upgraded to El Capitan because I need a working computer. I might just stay on Yosemite until I have no other choice.
Like
Larry-Klein
09 December 2015
Like all El Capitan installs, there is a freeze on boot. A restart holding the shift key worked again.
Like
Version 10.11.2
1 answer(s)
wintermute
wintermute
11 December 2015
My MacPro froze on reboot after update to 10.11.2... holding shift on reboot didn't help... still frozen. I'm now in the Recovery Partition on the MacPro trying to get it up and running again. Apple is getting sloppier and sloppier.
Like
Holmemoss
09 December 2015
Downloading through the App Store, there is also OS X El Capitan Recovery Update 1.0 which 'includes improvements to OS X Recovery'.
Like
Version 10.11.2
NedC
09 December 2015
Still doesn't work with POP mail systems but they managed to dump Herald as not approved for this update. Don't they get it. ALOT of people choose a POP account. Not all of us like imap.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.2
3 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
09 December 2015
My Apple Mail works fine with my POP account with Cox. I have never had a problem with POP with any of Apple's operating systems or versions of Apple Mail. I do not like IMAP either.
Like (3)
Douglas-2
Douglas-2
09 December 2015
Count me as a POP account lover too. Don't want to use IMAP.
Like
Younkint
Younkint
11 December 2015
Works fine with POP here on several machines. My own machine runs Mail with several POP accounts, Exchange, and IMAP accounts all simultaneously. Tons of email every day - especially on the POP accounts - and never an issue.
Like
Mcr
08 December 2015
the link above is to the full download at the Mac Store. This is the link to the combo updater. https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1850?locale=en_US
Like (4)
Version 10.11.2
ososX
08 November 2015
The road to hell is paved with good intentions ! A lot of new ideas but sloppy, sloppy and once again sloppy mess ... how a new OS looses the SMTP server of the provider of the OS (iCloud). It sounds like M$ at its worse. Have you tried to set up alert for travel time on you Mac ? you'll find out that the alert is (the alert time)+(the travel time). Calendar is not synchronized with the address in the address book. Mess, sloppy mess.
Like (4)
Version 10.11.1
Jmkmmrr
31 October 2015
For the second time I have reverted to Yosemite. There are simply too many problems with this. Applications behave unpredictably, USB communication on my machine (mid 2014 iMac) is erratic, audio is terrible. I have always been a believer of staying current, but this upgrade is a mess and the small feature set is simply not worth the trouble.
Like (3)
Version 10.11.1
exemega
23 October 2015
Yeah! Poser 2012 works again with this update.
Like
Version 10.11.1
mnicolle
22 October 2015
Just downloaded 10.11.1. All of my mail folders that I have emails stored in have disappeared!!!! Be wary. Will call apple support to see if they can help.
Like
Version 10.11.1
Holmemoss
22 October 2015
I have had a Mac since the 1980s and System 6. My Macbook Pro is for work and my 2009 laptop with Snow Leopard was perfect; nothing was ever wrong. Then the hard drive crashed earlier this year so I bought a new MacBook Pro and, of course, got Yosemite. 3 1/2 stars for El Capitan because it is slightly better than Yosemite but if is a joke of an operating system compared with Snow Leopard. I want my Macbook Pro for work; what I have is a toy for the iPhone generation.
Like (3)
Version 10.11.1
M85
22 October 2015
Sucks that people get to rate a beta. Anyway 10.1.1 is here and running like an absolute champ on my 2011 imac and 2012 mini. fwiw, I never had problems with the el capitan betas either that weren't epected of a public beta.
Like (1)
Version 10.11.1
Larry Klein
22 October 2015
Great OS and improved performance. The only problem I had, just like installing 10.11, was the hang on reboot, which seems common. Like last time, I restarted while holding the shift key - safe mode- and everything was fine. 2011 imac - 6gb
Like (2)
Version 10.11.1
Macinman
22 October 2015
This was the first year I took part in the public beta program from apple for one of their operating systems. With this said that's how long I've been Running El Capitan. I've read through a lot of the reviews here and seems to be a lot of negatives here. From my personal experience, I haven't had a lot of issues with 10.11, there were initial bugs, but for my workflow, those have mostly been fixed long ago. The other issues I ran into were just the initial new os release and waiting for apps to be updated to work with new features.

Beyond that I've had a very positive experience. The OS seems smooth and very responsive on my late 2013 13" Macbook pro Another common theme I see people having issues with is apple mail, I use two email accounts personally, iCloud, and Gmail. for Gmail i usually use google's web interface as i've always preferred it, but if i need to save an email i also have it linked to mail.app. I haven't had any issues with mail. I actually a while back had more glitches with google's interface then apple's, but that seems to have been resolved now.

Anyway, overall I think it's been a nice change, and the UI page Yosemite had on retina macs seems to be gone now in El capitan.

I wanted to add for anyone complaining about upgrade problems, It's always recommended to back up and do a clean install whenever possible. It will eliminate many of the problems i see reported. I was able to upgrade from Yosemite and things worked, but when i did a clean install to start off with the new os after it went final, Things felt so much smoother and clean.

The 10.11.1 update went flawless for me yesterday as well as iOS 9.1
Like (2)
Version 10.11.1
ApplesGuy
22 October 2015
Mac OSX El Capitan 10.11.1 is a worthy upgrade from Mac OS X 10.10.5 Yosemite. So glad Apple fixed the bug with Microsoft Office 2016 for Mac! After and initial install process, the computer was slow for about 5 minutes due to optimizing but after a reboot everything was well. Nice and snappy.
Like (2)
Version 10.11.1
w i n t e r m u t e
22 October 2015
Updating my review. I didn't think it possible that it could be any worse. After the fiasco with 10.11, I figured, okay, the bug fix is here with 10.11.1; it even states that they have addressed the numerous issues in Mail. So I ran the update via the App Store.... Which took three hours to download on my 60Mbit connection. (WTF?!) It begins installing and says it will take 25 minutes, so I go walk my dog. I just came back and the computer is frozen on the boot screen (I am writing this review from my iPhone.) Yes, Apple screwed it up even more. Apple's board needs to move Tim Cook back to CFO or whatever he was before and they need to bring Scott Forstall back to lead the company and put some fear into the programmers who have become so very sloppy under Tim Cooks overly kind leadership.
Like (3)
Version 10.11.1
NedC
22 October 2015
Mail alert sounds still doesn't work. This os just doesn't make it. 3rd party software acceptance changes have to be made also. Apple is losing alot of loyal users.!!!!!!!
Like (2)
Version 10.11.1
Doctor-Whiteface
21 October 2015
Amazing, I haven't been able to access the App Store since I installed Yosemite, and El Capitan did not bring any relief what-so-ever. Even the techs at Apple couldn't figure it out. I can't even get it through my 10.6.8 partition! Why in "H" won't Apple allow access to their system software update & upgrades via other web sites? ARH! It's not like someone is going to pirate it! :P
Like
Version 10.11.1
RichardKutak6667
21 October 2015
This is the worst OS I've ever used with a Mac. It bogged down the performance and rendered my late 2012 27" iMac virtually useless. It would hang on certain tasks and freeze on others. My machine was begging me to help it so since "ElCapitan" is such a control freak I was forced to erase my entire drive and start over again in Nice safe "Mountain Lion" territory since "Yosemite" sucks as well. I tried "El Capitan" in the hopes that maybe Apple had improved on Yosemite and finally made an actual better experience. No thanks. I'll stay with mountain Lion until Apple learns what to do about this latest OS or Steve Jobs comes back and fixes everything Like he did before. Thanks for wasting my time Apple. Hour upon hour I will never get back. No wonder it was a free upgrade, can you imagine actually having to pay for this OS?
Like (4)
Version 10.11.1
1 answer(s)
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
22 October 2015
Sorry you had problems -- I had zero issues updating my Late-2012 27" iMac.
Before you blame OS X, perhaps check your current installed OS for issues. Also check and see if there's a Mac User Group near you -- you will find them a great help. Here in Austin, ours is very active and helpful.
Like