Back to RightFont page
RightFont free download for Mac

RightFont Reviews5.9.3

07 July 2021

Manage and find fonts quickly; integrates with Photoshop and Sketch.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
bill-153
bill-153
Jun 27 2020
5.8.4
4.0
Jun 27 2020
4.0
Version: 5.8.4
Tested it for a couple weeks and though it had some bugs we decided to use it for our small office of designers. Afterward, some larger bugs appeared. First, shared libraries: Just didn't work for large libraries. Would work for a few font families, but sharing many thousands of fonts, it failed to update, failed to preview, failed to activate fonts for individuals. Typically I'd see about 10% of the fonts that should have been accessible. We tried trashing the cache, rebuilding the font libraries (many times), reinstalling the app, etc... No luck. Other problems were relatively minor but included lag after installing more than a few thousand fonts. We're still using RightFont for our group and working out the hiccups. It's not a worse experience than Suitcase, tbh, and much more affordable per license. The interface is refreshingly simple and once font previews are loaded, it's pretty fast. Auto-activation has some bugs, but again, not worse than Suitcase.
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Jun 6 2019
5.5.3
5.0
Jun 6 2019
5.0
Version: 5.5.3
the best ever font manager on Mac , very powerful , convenient with a slick and stunning design , help me to collect fonts , find them faster than ever before , add to favourite as star with one click , always uptown date without any crashes , this application helped me a lot get all my fonts and icons in one place with a peace of mind . best than alternative and the killing feature is the search and the ability to use it with any other application open . the developers are so responsive and always listen to the customers , I do not know why it take 4 stars only . it deserves 5 with no doubt .
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
Apr 25 2019
5.5.1
3.0
Apr 25 2019
3.0
Version: 5.5.1
I've tried a later version of RightFont than my previous 1-star review. The fixes made in the newer version make the app MUCH more usable. That being said, there were still plenty of issues. RF didn't recognize many of the fonts installed in the system itself, auto-activation was sometimes sketchy, and organizing fonts once they're in RF is still severely lacking. RightFont is much-improved and appears to be getting better with each update. If you have a modest font collection it'll do you just fine. For a professional environment with a large collection, I still find Suitcase Fusion to be a much better option.
Cookie08
Cookie08
Apr 23 2019
5.5.0
5.0
Apr 23 2019
5.0
Version: 5.5.0
This app is great getting activation in other apps the the big ones won't touch ie pages Numbers all the Affinity apps etc. Activation and deactivation works smooth in the background. Really happy with this controls by 14000 font library nor problems and quick.
frans-3
frans-3
Jan 23 2019
5.3.0
4.5
Jan 23 2019
4.5
Version: 5.3.0
After adding auto DEactivation of (auto) activated fonts at Application quit (so also when shutting the Mac down, the app quits then) this has become my new fontmanager! Quick, nice, clean, per App Auto activation possible, nice view. This is the one for me now!
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Jan 22 2019
5.2.4
3.0
Jan 22 2019
3.0
Version: 5.2.4
Nice font manager. Somewhat overpriced though. And PLEASE, can you provide an option NOT TO SHOW the application window all the time and have the app icon disappear from the dock? Thank you. On my laptop screen real estate is precious.
Mike Cantley
Mike Cantley
Nov 25 2018
5.1
5.0
Nov 25 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1
Love the updated version, especially the Auto Activation works with Sketch I use daily.
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
Nov 25 2018
5.1
3.0
Nov 25 2018
3.0
Version: 5.1
Running macOS Mojave and Adobe CC 2019, I couldn't get Auto Activation to work at all in any app. In RightFont itself, I could select numerous fonts at once, but clicking activate only actually activated the first few (selecting 20 fonts took clicking activate 5 times to actually activate all of them). Having to keep the app open at all times was disappointing as well, coming from Suitcase Fusion where I rarely launch the actual app. I was so looking forward to using this app full-time, so I'm highly disappointed in the results I got. I give it a half star for having a nice UI... but ultimately, if the app doesn't work, it probably doesn't even deserve that. NOTE: Yes, I realize it could be a problem with my Mac, but it's a brand new MBPro and no problems with Suitcase Fusion or any other apps leads me to believe that it's either a buggy program or just doesn't work with Mojave and Adobe CC 2019 apps yet. Either way, not my problem. I will update my rating if the app works after the next update.
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Nov 24 2018
5.1
4.0
Nov 24 2018
4.0
Version: 5.1
Verizon 5 is a big improvement on the UI. Now you can have sets and collections of fonts. The list view could be a little more compact though
frans-3
frans-3
Nov 22 2018
5.1
4.5
Nov 22 2018
4.5
Version: 5.1
Deactivate (Auto) activated fonts at program Quit is GONE in version 5! That is bad...
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Jul 19 2018
4.10
4.0
Jul 19 2018
4.0
Version: 4.10
Not bad... thought I would try it out instead of Suitcase Fusion 6 I'm running, since that version doesn't work with Adobe 2018 apps. RightFont only comes with a plugin for Illustrator, which works as expected. So far I haven't run into any fonts in InDesign that needed activating. Not sure if that's because it activated them, or because they were already activated (although I did just reboot). Not sure I care for the interface though... the list view is nice, unlike the recent versions of Suitcase, but I'd like to see font families grouped with a disclosure triangle instead of having to go to another "page" to see the fonts when grouped. I guess I just have to get used to the UI But this looks promising.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Mar 25 2018
4.9
0.5
Mar 25 2018
0.5
Version: 4.9
As Harry-Macbeth pointed out, and just for the sake of it ... half a star, not nice @ all, mr Dev.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Mar 16 2018
4.7
0.5
Mar 16 2018
0.5
Version: 4.7
Sorry for double post... but what should have been a Review I wrongly posted as comment... my bad

well for the same price i surely will be going for best (imo) soft such as, Find my Font, https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/40361/find-my-font

Then what i find most upsetting is the useless download of ALL google fonts, which is just a 380+MB garbage into my machine... Please. If ever, all free fonts and icons are available directly via any kind of web based soft, and even in the case i'd like to use ONE or TWO even THREE, i just get them NOT the entire collection... since most people working on such environments already buy most of the fonts the require, so having +MB of free stuff you can get anytime without hassle is just plain nonsense to me
then for what it does its frankly a bit overpriced..
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Mar 16 2018
4.7
0.5
Mar 16 2018
0.5
Version: 4.7
well for the same price i surely will be going for best (imo) soft such as, Find my Font, https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/40361/find-my-font

Then what i find most upsetting is the useless download of ALL google fonts, which is just a 380+ garbage into my machine... Please. If ever, all free fonts and icons are available directly via any kind of web based soft, and even in the case i'd like to use ONE or TWO even THREE, i just get them NOT the entire collection... since most people working on such environments already buy most of the fonts the require, so having +MB of free stuff you can get anytime without hassle is just plain nonsense to me
then for what it does its frankly a bit overpriced...
lance-cheng
lance-cheng
Mar 5 2018
4.6
5.0
Mar 5 2018
5.0
Version: 4.6
RightFont is the sparking font manager to preview, sync, install and organize fonts, with flawless integration into any design software including Photoshop, Illustrator and Sketch. RightFont helps finding the right font for your next design project.
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
Dec 17 2017
4.0
0.0
Dec 17 2017
0.0
Version: 4.0
Version 4.0
Is anyone experiencing when fast scrolling, blanc window and frequent crashes when viewing fonts with the Grid option? Everything works fine with the List option visualization.

I'm talking about the bottom left corner visualization button "Toggle Grid/List".
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
Oct 4 2017
3.3.0
4.0
Oct 4 2017
4.0
Version: 3.3.0
So far I really like it. It's not as robust as some of the big commercial Font Managers, but I like the interface and it's fine for "light" design work which is what I do mostly these days. I don't work with Adobe apps anymore (I use Affinity apps), so the missing auto-activation features doesn't bother me, and I do like the Google fonts linking and it easily indexed my 3794 font families (from my old FontAgent Pro library) in a separate folder. While it doesn't offer temporary activation of fonts, the Lists feature makes creating collections and activating/deactivating them pretty simple. As with any font manager, if you have a LOT of fonts, it's always a challenge to manage. It's been stable for me so far and worked as promised. A vast improvement over FontBook and quite adequate to replace my old Suitcase/FontAgent Pro needs for notably less $$$. It's running fine in MacOS High Sierra for me.
f-vd-geest
f-vd-geest
May 11 2017
3.3.0
1.0
May 11 2017
1.0
Version: 3.3.0
Does not DEactivate fonts at restart or log off/in. In other words: no TEMPORARY activate fonts possible. You have to deactivate by hand in Rightfont. This is bad.
stevenfubar
stevenfubar
Mar 23 2017
3.3.0
1.5
Mar 23 2017
1.5
Version: 3.3.0
Working mainly in InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator, I purchased RightFont because of the seemingly user-friendly interface.

I will probably move back to FontExplorer because of the auto-activation feature. In RightFont, it works only in Photoshop, you get a pop-up screen and have to give permission to activate the fonts.

In InDesign and Illustrator, it doesn't work at all (unlike advertised on their website)! I have to close the app, load the fonts and open back up. This is gonna cost me too much time.

I spoke to the developer about it, their reply was: "We'll refine the feature in the future release." Not sure if I should wait or ask for a refund...

macOS Sierra / Adobe CC 2017 / RightFont 3.3.0
eli-ny
eli-ny
Mar 6 2017
3.3.0
5.0
Mar 6 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.0
super useful and works well
Mindplay
Mindplay
Mar 3 2017
3.3.0
5.0
Mar 3 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.0
It's actually the best font manager for Mac I've tried so far and does such a better job then FontExplorer. Highly recommended.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Dec 30 2016
3.2.5
4.0
Dec 30 2016
4.0
Version: 3.2.5
It is fast. Apple's Font Book can take a while to start up and load. This app is up and running with previews of the fonts very quickly. You can make your own lists and enter your own sample text to preview. You can activate and deactivate fonts within the app.
It does not appear you can print a catalog of fonts.
The app is a bit pricey but it is a clean and fast way to view all the fonts you have.
It looks like they are running an end of the year special that ends today or tomorrow for 15% off.
Font Explorer offers many more features and also costs more.
Go to the webpage to see the app and features before purchasing.

AJ Jones
AJ Jones
Oct 24 2016
3.2.5
2.0
Oct 24 2016
2.0
Version: 3.2.5
Been using it since it was in beta, and the app works perfectly fine for listing your computer's fonts, but don't expect anything more than that.

While it does offer additional features like the ability to import Google and Typekit fonts (yay?), the app fails to implement basic functionality that you should expect to come from a font management tool. You cannot create your own custom lists of font sets, nor can you filter fonts based on basic font characteristics. And while I do appreciate being able to be able have it running in my menubar only, developer carelessly lacked adding a shortcut key that quickly toggles the application - a simple convenience commonly offered by most menubar apps.

Bottom line, it works, and of the options available, is my choice font tool. But I purchased it cheap during their beta offering (when it in fact did offer filtering options, yet somehow the app's functionality has regressed as it has grown older), and I wouldn't be able to justify paying $50 for an app that amounts to little more than Font Book with better window dressing.
Tim27
Tim27
Aug 11 2016
3.2.4
0.0
Aug 11 2016
0.0
Version: 3.2.4
Price on their website says $49.95. Is this worth $50 compared to other font management software?
flamegoes
flamegoes
Apr 28 2016
3.2.1
0.0
Apr 28 2016
0.0
Version: 3.2.1
Is there a trial or demo? I couldn't find one. Their website has no FAQ, no contacts. I wonder if it can auto-activates in InDesign CS6. Photoshop CS6, Illustrator CS6.
DerekGotzen8687
DerekGotzen8687
Mar 26 2016
3.2.0
2.5
Mar 26 2016
2.5
Version: 3.2.0
I bought it at Feb and having mixed feelings about it right now - it's not bad but it's not that burning prog for me. It's too buggy ... Pugwash told about it a few comments before. Just going back to FontExplorer.
Pugwash
Pugwash
Mar 22 2016
3.2.0
3.0
Mar 22 2016
3.0
Version: 3.2.0
I purchased this about a month ago and while the idea, design etc are fantastic it tends to be a bit buggy in it's usability and integration with Photoshop. What I mean by this is 1 minute it'll work perfectly and the next for no apparent reason it just stops, i.e. takes a split second to activate a font then suddenly will take ages to activate another one, or, one minute has no problems applying fonts and the next won't apply any. So sometimes this means quitting and restarting both PS and RightFont in the hope that it works. Don't get me wrong I love it when it works, however for the money paid and the rather mean and stingy license it should be a whole lot better. If you are considering buying this do yourself a favour and read the liscensing before you hit the 'buy' button. I for one don't think I'll be renewing mine.
Bk1200
Bk1200
Jan 14 2016
3.1.2
0.0
Jan 14 2016
0.0
Version: 3.1.2
License comes with "1 year premium support" which includes "one opportunity to transfer your license to another computer".

This means that when I get a new Mac I'm required to buy a new license and lose the old one? Absolutely weird and a no- go!
Rochade
Rochade
Jan 11 2016
3.1.1
4.5
Jan 11 2016
4.5
Version: 3.1.1
What a slick and sexy font manager! I used FEX for many years now but I instantly switched to this one. It has all I need and the addition of synced shared fonts is awesome. The only thing I miss is the auto activation with Illustrator. The told me they are working on this and in the changelog I can read "Fixed the integration issue with AI". But as far as I can see, auto activation still doesn't work. Once this is implemented, I would give it a full five star review.
aaffonso
aaffonso
Jan 5 2016
3.1.0
0.0
Jan 5 2016
0.0
Version: 3.1.0
This software seems pretty good and could be the long waited replacement for Fontcase 2 as a lightweight font manager. What keeps me away from buying is their license, if you want to use it on your desktop and your notebook you need to buy 2 licenses. Not fair. Furthermore, I don't like this one-year update model, I rather like to pay a major upgrade. I'm keeping an eye on this but this license is really a deal breaker.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Jan 3 2016
3.0.1
0.0
Jan 3 2016
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
15%-off holiday sale through January 4, 2016.
Archiethearchiver
Archiethearchiver
Dec 22 2015
3.0.0
4.0
Dec 22 2015
4.0
Version: 3.0.0
I like the app. It works in Photoshop and MS Word.
However, I fail to see where it really integrates with TextEdit. You can Drag and Drop from RightFont into Textedit but it brings in only the text that exists displaying the font. Then you highlight the text and change the wording. Selecting the font from the TextEdit pop-down menu is quicker.
Ervins Strauhmanis
Ervins Strauhmanis
Dec 14 2015
2.4.0
5.0
Dec 14 2015
5.0
Version: 2.4.0
I found this to be a great app for my purposes—particularly, I really enjoy font Live List that I sync via Dropbox and the icon section of the app, where I just drag and drop the icon I need into Affinity Designer. Devs are kind, responsive and in this version of RightFont fixed the problem I was having and reported earlier. Keep it up guys!
MediaManDan
MediaManDan
Nov 29 2015
2.2.3
3.0
Nov 29 2015
3.0
Version: 2.2.3
Yes it is a lightweight alternative to Suitcase and Font Explorer X and it has a simple interface. Comes with some cool icon fonts. But it needs to mature a bit so be cautious before buying to make sure it's for you. The UI uses icons with no text/flag/hover support so you have to click on a button to find out what it does. Also, some of the "activated" fonts don't re-activate after re-starting your Mac so you have to manually activate them again. This is a pain in the butt. Still waiting for a support section on the website – as of this writing, there is none. Just an FAQ and a hard to find "email me" link. After many frustrating years with Font Explorer X, I wanted this to "save" me but it needs some polish.
Why-Not
Why-Not
Oct 18 2015
2.1.0
0.0
Oct 18 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.0
Wish it did not require 10.10, or I would buy it.
coreythomas
coreythomas
May 25 2015
0.1.4
5.0
May 25 2015
5.0
Version: 0.1.4
Awesome font manager app! Our team need a lightweight font solution to help us find the correct fonts, and finally we found RightFont and now we don't have to scroll Photoshop long font list again! We are really excited to see such an app, keep going!
John-Con
John-Con
May 24 2015
0.1.4
5.0
May 24 2015
5.0
Version: 0.1.4
Great font manager! Lightweight and super useful!