Back to MacDown page
MacDown free download for Mac

MacDown Reviews

0.7.1
14 May 2017

Open-Source Markdown editor.

Akanico
12 May 2015

Most helpful

Tried many markdown editors (since there's so many of them), really impressed with this one. Open source, packed with many features, lot of stability and even uses Prism to render specific languages as blocks of code in the preview. Openly and heavily inspired by Mou, it is a bit ahead of the latter (at least) until v.1 gets released but Mou won't be free anymore. Surprised there is no review, no rating for this one here. Great job Mr. Tzu-ping Chung, many thanks for this app.
Like (1)
Version 0.4.4.1

Read 12 MacDown User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ptk3
28 March 2019
Macdown was a very helpful alternative to Mou when Chen Luo abandonned it, but it seems that uranusjr abandonned Macdown too.

Though, it's still lightweight, functional, with good feature (themable, fully markdown support , support of TOC, shell plugin, neat keystrokes, multiple views, tab bar, …), which made it really a complete tool, the market of markdown editors really evolved, and neither paid nor free or FOSS apps are now competing.
Some go to be notes apps (libke Bear, MWeb, which is one of my favorites, but quite expensive, FSNotes, or the open source Joplin, Notable Boostnote). Others become diary on journal tools (MWeb again, or but-now-only-subscription model DayOne), or try to be full writing tool like the veteran iA Writer, ByWord, or the complete-but-now-only-subscription model Ulysses, but also the new FOSS complete Zettlr.

It will end that only nostalgic will use it, since it become not compatible with the last evolution on the OS.
Is use to love but don't open it anymore (except for comparison with other tools).
Like
Version 0.7.1
I haven't used it enough to leave a score yet. But so far, it seems like a nice program.

I don't see how to set the default to open new documents, in "Hide Editor Pane" mode. I'm looking for a general purpose .md viewer and this would be great, if we could do that.
Like
Version 0.7.1
1 answer(s)
Ptk3
Ptk3
28 March 2019
Don't really understand your need ? If you hide editor pane by default, you just can't edit file. MacDown opens with new docs by default, but you just can edit the title of the file if you don't open the editor pane…
Like
Zx81
03 January 2017
Works just fine for me ; I tried a lot of MD editors and settled for MacDown. Nothing much more to say. Just works.
Like
Version 0.6.4
Markus-Winter
01 August 2016
I used to write articles for the xDev computer magazine (now only do it occassionally), and the editor one day wanted to get the articles in MarkDown format instead of .doc. I tried all the different MarkDown editors and settled on this one, mostly because of its support for all the different syntax colourings for all kinds of programming languages (for the example code in the articles). And I simply liked it with its side by side interface instead of the switching interface of many others. Has been running absolutely stable, even when I accidentally open a file from my DropBox that is already open on another computer. Contacted the developer twice about problems I found - one was solved quickly, the other one was an inherent limitation of the MarkDown system.
Like (1)
Version 0.6
Philosopherdog
30 April 2016
Crashes whenever you exit without saving and beachballs. Please test your crappy app.
Like
Version 0.6
2 answer(s)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
01 August 2016
Works perfectly fine here. Never had it crash on me, even when I had the same file from my dropbox open on two computers.
Like
June8
June8
16 October 2016
Don't be a dummy. 1 star because you're an idiot. Just what developers work for.
Like
Markus-Winter
26 January 2016
Great app, but what "many new languages"? Comparing the "components" folder using DiffMerge only reveals JSON as a new language addition, and SCHEME has been slightly renamed.
Like
Version 0.5.4
Just-Annutha-Dewd
03 November 2015
Image previews are still broken for me in El Capitan despite this supposedly having been fixed in v0.5.2. Am I missing something? I don't have the same problem with Typora.
Like
Version 0.5.2
1 answer(s)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
16 December 2015
Works fine for me, and I don't even have to escape spaces in file names. What are you typing as link?
Like
skendaro
22 October 2015
Awesome open source markdown editor with plenty of features. Continues to be improved fairly regularly.
Like (1)
Version 0.5.2
Arky
08 October 2015
Been using many markdown editors in past, but always found them either lacking something or being too unstable. Markdown has been simply best markdown editor there exist currently.
Like (1)
Version 0.5.2
anonymous-deer-2515
05 October 2015
About 6 months ago, I installed several MarkDown editors. I've found the open source MacDown to be one I use regularly. So, MacDown is has become my system default editor for .md & .markdown files.
Like
Version 0.5.2
tomatosoup
27 May 2015
Mou has not seen a lot of development recently, so this OpenSource alternative is a highly welcome project. Other devs willing to contribute should visit: https://github.com/uranusjr/macdown
Like
Version 0.4.4.1
Akanico
12 May 2015
Tried many markdown editors (since there's so many of them), really impressed with this one. Open source, packed with many features, lot of stability and even uses Prism to render specific languages as blocks of code in the preview. Openly and heavily inspired by Mou, it is a bit ahead of the latter (at least) until v.1 gets released but Mou won't be free anymore. Surprised there is no review, no rating for this one here. Great job Mr. Tzu-ping Chung, many thanks for this app.
Like (1)
Version 0.4.4.1