Back to Vivaldi page
Vivaldi free download for Mac

Vivaldi Reviews

2.9.1705.41
09 November 2019

An advanced browser made with the power user in mind.

jlee5201
19 July 2019

Most helpful

Fast, lots of useful features, and supports Chrome extensions. I still use Chrome for work, but Vivaldi is my browser of choice for personal web browsing. Recommended.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1566.44

Read 61 Vivaldi User Reviews

Rate this app:

kscmint
08 November 2019
Very fast and low on CPU usage. Lots of useful features built in and the Chrome extensions just enhance it. My go to browser for most of my work.
Like
Version 2.9.1705.41
Tom32547
01 October 2019
Version 2.8.1664.40 has a serious video problem that causes flashes on my Mac and streaks as some of those flashes - looks almost like arcing.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.1664.43
jlee5201
19 July 2019
Fast, lots of useful features, and supports Chrome extensions. I still use Chrome for work, but Vivaldi is my browser of choice for personal web browsing. Recommended.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1566.44
tomtomklub
08 May 2019
Profiles are here and I am pleased. No forced silent updates. This is a nice alternative to Chr*me
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1525.40
Aargl
09 April 2019
I salute the new integrated profile management (finally!) but the eternal issue with some videos not playing deserves one star less.
The copyright argument may be valid until a certain point: penniless browsers such as TenFourFox have managed to find a workaround with external libraries installed by the end user!
My guess is that Vivaldi doesn't want to spend time on finding an alternate solution.
Still a great browser, though, provided you're not relying too much on video... ;-)
Like (2)
Version 2.4.1488.36
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
23 September 2019
To add some precision for those who are not aware of the video issue mentionned above: it's apparently present on Macs with certain graphics cards (NVidia?). If your Mac is not concerned, you should be ok.
Like
Version 2.8.1664.36
cig0
24 March 2019
Not bad, but on Mac it consumes an unnecessary high amount of CPU cycles even when IDLE, which is a deal breaker for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1440.61
David1
15 February 2019
I've had no trouble with this browser. It works a lot better for me than Firefox, Opera, etc. The main reason I don't use it more than occasionally is that, like everything other than Safari, it is not tied into the Apple environment.
Like
Version 2.3.1440.48
Scion777
20 December 2018
Problems. Can't edit bookmarks - very, very bad - inexcusable - only allows them to be renamed. Problem: Can't drag URL to a bookmark folder. Very, very bad - inexcusable.
Like
Version 2.2.1388.37
2 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
07 February 2019
Sure you can edit bookmarks: just click on the bookmarked address on the right side in the Bookmark manager (not the list!).
Like (1)
Gl0tzk0wski
Gl0tzk0wski
12 March 2019
Vivaldi based on Chrome and if you're not like the bookmark manager there are lot of nice extension around to do this like NelliTab, Favorites etc. which much better than any bookmark manager. Not any software is perfect but not a reason to give only 1 star if you do not like a single feature. If it would be unusable i could understand like below but so... most bugs are sitting in front of a screen.
Like
june8
13 December 2018
Crashes!
Like
Version 2.2.1388.34
Bluesilence
20 October 2018
Beautifull but impossible to read videos on many sites , so it's totally useless... (tested again in version 2.0.1309.42). Many users on the community forum tryed to help but no issue :(
Like
Version 2.0.1309.42
3 answer(s)
Detlevski
Detlevski
13 December 2018
Vivaldi is aware of this problem, just like all the mac users who have tried Vivaldi. There are a lot of different codecs which require the browser pay for licenses. Vivaldi can't afford to pay for these licenses. Google and Apple have the money of course, Mozilla has sponsors. As Vivaldi is a free browser and is not supported by a big company they will never be able to support all codecs and a lot, probably most videos just won't play.

What iiritates me is that Vivaldi is not open about this fact in their forums, everytime someone new (the others complaining left the forum) asks about the poor video playback they let the new user play "The Blacklisted GPU Card" game which never leads to anything as the problem is not technical but a problem of lack of funds.

And Vivaldi scrolls miserably too. I really hoped Vivaldi would be a good Chromium browser experience for me without resorting to Chrome and let Google disrespect my privacy. So, I have given up. But let me tell you this, there is a GREAT browser out there: FireFox. From a company that does respect your privacy and is now after Microsoft left the browser building the one and only other good rendering engine.

A sorry state of affairs..
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
13 December 2018
Good explanation.
Note that there is a Chromium build without telemetry and stuff that allows codecs! You can find it there: https://chromium.woolyss.com/#mac-64-bit (choose one of Marmaduke's builds, based on your needs)
I've been using it since august 2017 and feel very secure and confident about it. All is working great.
One thing definitely superior about Firefox (or Waterfox) is that scrolling is way smoother!
Like
Detlevski
Detlevski
13 December 2018
I will try that thx
Like
swimmerbear
27 September 2018
Love the ability to customize. I find it quite quick and intuitive. The speed dial feature won me over.
Like
Version 2.0.1309.29
higherterrain-com
03 July 2018
Ummm. I am running version 1.16.121.3. Are you showing the right version?
Like
Version 1.15.1147.52
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
01 August 2018
You've probably accidentally DLed a beta? :-o
Look, it's still 1.15 on every platform:
https://vivaldi.com/download/
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
05 August 2018
I've just had a look at their forum and it seems like one can DL snapshots of the next release to be: https://forum.vivaldi.net/topic/29102/when-will-1-16-be-officially-released/12
As you can read there, the snapshots are nearly as good as the stable version. You can probably compare this as the main channel in Firefox vs the ESR channel: it's a matter of personal choice if one prefers the security of the stable version or the potential "betterness" of the dev/beta/snapshot.
By the way, 1.16 stable should be released in the next weeks, may be the occasion for you to switch to the stable channel if you prefer.
Like
Aargl
09 June 2018
Vivaldi could be my favourite browser, but there are a few sites with embedded videos that simply don't play. :-( (I tried them on a clean profile with no extensions)
Like (1)
Version 1.15.1147.36
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
09 April 2019
Still true in 2.4...
Like
evilinstone
01 March 2018
Slow. Kill_me UI. Too much configuration options. In same time some of them is not available. Safari OR Opera much better.
Like (1)
Version 1.14.1077.55
1 answer(s)
dogwithsocks
dogwithsocks
01 March 2018
"Too much configuration options" - you are clearly not the target audience if you say that since Vivaldi aims to be the most customisable browser for power users. ;-)
Like (1)
Bento de Espinosa
30 January 2018
I have used Firefox for over a decade, but was initially unhappy with the version 57 update (which I now like), reason why I tried Vivaldi. I spent some days trying it, but couldn't like it as much as I like Firefox. Vivaldi has some glitches, the tabs are not well designed and some functions are not intuitive.
Like
Version 1.13.1008.44
devoprov
24 December 2017
I like this browser a lot and it gets frequent updates, which is good. For some reason, I can't quite bring myself to make it my default browser yet, but it's getting better all the time, so maybe one day soon I will. Keep it up, guys!
Like
Version 1.13.1008.36
robert-patrick-1
06 November 2017
This browser came to me as I have been a longtime opera user; in most cases you have an updated Opera; the developers are from the "old Opera" before it went to other hands. Installation is simple, and straight forward; you are asked as how you wish the browser to be set up; tab placement, color, and other setup options. As soon as this is done open the preferences, and set it up to your liking. You have a zoom function, and it uses Chrome extensions, like opera, but without the extension to install chrome extensions; Vivaldi has that built in. It is "rock solid" since I use my computer very conservatively, may be the reason, on my end. An interesting fact; opera "crashed" when I installed certain extensions; Vivaldi did not. As I have Cerebral palsy, Vivaldi, has the same accessability features as the version 12-16 of the old Opera. It does not have a built in VPN; those who have a requirement for that will find many VPS on the Chrome Store. I gave this browser a 5 because it meets the needs of the disabled; I also am a member of the Vivaldi community as I was the "old opera"
Like (5)
Version 1.12.955.42
MichaelFrankel
28 October 2017
I don't know what they changed, but it no longer works with 1Password. And... now it's asking me to perform some complicated re-configuration to make it work again. Sorry guys, but that's not going to happen - it's into the trash for this one...
Like
Version 1.12.955.42
1 answer(s)
robert-patrick-1
robert-patrick-1
05 November 2017
Delete the p.list file; I am using the version you have "made a choice" to complain about. A fresh install; which I did also resolves issues of which I have had none; this is an updated Opera;written by the original Opera developers!!
Like (1)
Phoenixdownunder
21 June 2017
Hmmm, for Firefox 54.0, only 471 of 555 Safari same as below, 409.
Like
Version 1.10.867.38
1 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
21 September 2017
Chromium 61.0.3163.91: 518/555
Vivaldi 1.12.955.36: 515/555
Opera 47.0.2631.83: 515/555
Firefox 55.0.3: 475/555
Safari 11.0: 455/475
Like
Zx81
06 June 2017
I just tested a few browsers at html5test.com : Vivaldi : 518/555 Firefox 53.0.3 : 474/555 Safari 10.1.1 : 409/555
Like (1)
Version 1.9.818.50
Jb4
10 May 2017
I was once a confirmed Camino user and had never really warmed to any of the alternatives, but Vivaldi has won me over. Like Camino, it just feels right... someone else has written; "intuitive" and I agree. It is fast, simple and renders pages better than the rest. I like the function to hover over an unopened tab and see the site. I have added all the chrome extensions I need and of course the bookmarks come over quite easily. There are still features I have not tried and that is fun also... trying new things.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.818.49
Aargl
10 April 2017
Nice to have a Chrome based browser without my computer being "bewitched" by Google. ;-) I fire it mainly when some site doesn't behave well on Safari or Firefox, or when it needs Flash (I uninstalled Flash NPAPI and installed the PPAPI version instead — I was pleasantly surprised 'bout how little websites are still relying on Flash...) My main Firefox extensions have their Chrome version (1Password, Adblock Plus, Ghostery, NoSquint Plus, Speed Dial [FVD]). I had a few glitches with the favourite toolbar, a few versions ago, it looks ok, now.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.770.50
1 answer(s)
Detlevski
Detlevski
30 April 2017
Same here, good Chromium browser, less Google spyware
Like (2)
Maritza Cas
05 April 2017
Vivaldi can be good as a second browser you keep just in case. I am an average user, maybe I don't get all the advanced features of it. I was just looking for an alternative for Firefox which has been a bit laggy for some time now. Vivaldi is not bad, I will probably switch to it.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.770.50
Seenderella
23 December 2016
I downloaded Vivaldi by my friend's recommendation just to try something different than Safari and Chrome, looking for a good alternative. After about a week of testing Vivaldi, I didn't find something super special. Simple browser with a set of standard features. However, I couldn't get used to its interface which is a bit gnarly. So, I decided to stay with my favorite Chrome.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.689.40
Zx81
25 November 2016
Very fast browser I frequently switch to from Safari,especially when I want to watch online video which it seems to render much faster. Please, do not ask me why...
1Password is supported.
I try/use a lot of browsers (safari, firefox, cab, roccat) ; Vivaldi is, at the moment, the most pleasant to surf the web with.
A nice mixture of Opera and chromium (not surprising!)
Like
Version 1.4.589.38
Penpoints
25 October 2016
Vivaldi 1.4 was released on Sep 9, 2016. (Still shows 1.3.551.30 on MacUpdate, 10/25/16.) Works great on El Capitan. Very fast, with lots of interesting and useful features.
Like
Version 1.3.551.30
TwisterMc
04 October 2016
Vivaldi is a great browser. Sure, it's not prefect yet, but the feature set is amazing. Tab stacks and tab tiling is very handy. The themes and adaptive interface color just make it fun. Lots of good things in this browser.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.551.30
kunda311
22 September 2016
I was quite happy with this browser for the last month, since discovering it, and updating to the latest version today just about completely broke it for me. v 1.4.589.29 — nothing comes up on the screen except the Preferences panel. Very disappointing.
Like
Version 1.3.551.30
1 answer(s)
TwisterMc
TwisterMc
04 October 2016
Have you tried a manual download and install? Or uninstall and re-install?
Like (1)
silvio-dante
20 September 2016
Simple, fast, intuitive and very configurable. Chrome extensions can be used too (including Google Chromecast extensions). Version 1.4.589.11
Like (1)
Version 1.3.551.30
Poetry
13 August 2016
Just tried this today vs. 1.3.551.30
It's the fastest, most efficient, and most intuitive browser I've ever used.

A Big Bravo. to its creators.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.551.30
alzoub
03 June 2016
It was fun to use it for a while - for the variety of extensions, for color tabs... well not necessarily for speed. But after autoupdated to v 1.2.4 it works a bit crappy, gestures are screwed up, it is even slower on start up, closing the last tab is a funky business... and more. So... who knows, maybe with the next update it will become usable again.
Like
Version 1.1.453.59
Derekcurrie
17 May 2016
As of today, the current version of Vivaldi is actually v1.2.479.8. I have a copy. Check their website for the latest.
Like
Version 1.1.453.59
Virtualruffy
09 May 2016
Note: I downloaded the 1.1 version to test and it requires OSX 10.9+ so they are dropping compatibility with 10.8-10.6 which the 1.0.4 version has.
Like
Version 1.0.435.5
fiery12
05 May 2016
I tried Vivaldi v1.1 which is officially out of beta, but at this stage I just can't start using it. Here are some of my yearly observations: Pros: - Resembles old Opera browser which may be interesting for original Opera lovers. For me Opera Presto engine was and still is (with heavy pages) the fastest one. Vivaldi is Chromium-based browser as well as new Opera. - There are a lot of options, allowing customization not seen in other browsers. - You can add Notes making instant screenshots of web pages. Cons: - Very slow startup. When I click on the Vivaldi Dock icon, it's starts about 2-3 times slower than Firefox (and may be 4-5 times than Safari) . It's just unacceptable. (When it starts I can't notice any difference). - I can't remove the Startup page (tried any available option, including Homepage "about:blank"). - Notes don't save current page URL. Adding it manually is not that easy and is still very buggy (URL sticks on a new note). - Screenshots (at Notes) cover only the visible area. For example Firefox makes whole web page screenshots. - Uses Google DNS 8.8.8.8 that I can find any way to change (I'm using another DNS). - Make sure that you visit Privacy options as there are some, you may not like. - Colorful tabs (that appear automatically in the main web page color) may be appealing to some, but for me they are too distracting (most probably this can be disabled in options).
Like
Version 1.0.435.5
fiery12
04 May 2016
Vivaldi is now v1.1 (04/30/2016): https://downloads.vivaldi.com/stable/Vivaldi.1.1.453.52.dmg
Like
Version 1.0.435.5
1 answer(s)
Starman535
Starman535
17 May 2016
The Macupdate version is way out of date, I have 1.2.479.8 on my Mac. The MacUpdate app is still broken & unuseable, and I have no Idea when they will get around to fixing it.
Like
Hal2007
06 April 2016
Now final and very very promising indeed. Probably the most configurable browser in the world. Only missing thing is built-in bookmark syncing, on which I rely a lot.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.435.5
anonymous-dingo-826
27 March 2016
An excellent new browser and a pleasure to use after Opera became so unsatisfactory. Vivaldi is simple and even intuitive to use. Thanks guys for bringing back a sensible browser.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.365.3
Penguirl
10 January 2016
Nice to have a full featured browser again, Vivaldi is my default browser. I would like to see a couple features from OmniWeb, such as being able to add a search engine by putting the cursor in a page's search field and then clicking an icon on the browser's activity bar; and the ability to bring a text entry field forward from a page and resizeable, and lastly per-site preferences.

Also I'd prefer when closing a tab the focus go to the next tab instead of the previous tab.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.365.3
Mikenesmith
05 December 2015
A FANTASTIC alternative browser from the real programmers behind Opera. For those of us occasionally stuck with l-o-w bandwidth, this makes toggling images on/off a breeze. New Escape option for downloads handy. Would be glad to pay $15 for this -- great to see some real innovation in a browser again.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.340.7
jipeca
19 November 2015
<font><font>Vivaldi Est TOTALEMENT INCOMPATIBLE Avec Snow Leopard 10.6.8 DEPUIS déja Quelques mois et de Nombreux rappels au développeur, et du Malgré l'envoi des Données consoles. </font><font>Il crashé Dès La Première tentative de lancement.</font></font>

Vivaldi is TOTALLY INCOMPATIBLE WITH 10.6.8. Crashes from the first launch attempt. The developer is warned for months and did not seem to react. NOT RECOMMENDED
Like
Version 1.0.321.3
5 answer(s)
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
19 November 2015
Works in 10.6.8 here on a VM. However, the application is in test/beta version now, and will have lot's of bugs. But i suspect 10.6.8 will not be supported the first non beta version will be released (just a guess). The reason is that 10.6.8 is almost vintage ware (no offense! It's a stable OS X version!) and misses some of the platform specific features in newer systems. It's really Apples fault.
Like
jipeca
jipeca
05 December 2015
@ A01110010101
Pour écrire ce genre de poste, vous devez être complètement ignorants, bornés, et très limité intellectuellement.
Un choix de trois, mais les trois ensembles arrivent assez régulièrement.
Le "Cro-Magnon" qui vous répondez, a seulement 4800 clients (éditeur, impression, et la plupart du temps photo) dont plus de 80% sont retournés au 10.6.8, à la fois comme nouvelle OSX sont lents, buggy, incomplètement fini, et moins performant. Sous Photoshop il est particulièrement sensible pour le même travail. Testez-le quand vous voulez, jeune Padawan grossier.

Je ne prendrai pas la peine de traduire en français. Je sais que vous vous servirez de Google Translate comme la plupart des clampins.
Like (1)
jipeca
jipeca
05 December 2015
De mieux en mieux....
Après la grossièreté, l'irrespect et les tentatives de condescendance. Il est vrai que certaines natures moyennes aspirent au grand sans pouvoir y atteindre et font mine de fuir la vulgarité sans y échapper jamais. Le bluff sur le soi ! Parler pour ne rien dire et ne rien dire pour parler sont les deux principes majeurs et rigoureux de tous ceux qui feraient mieux de la fermer avant de l’ouvrir.
Je vous laisse à vos 7 langues, et à vos rodomontades qui n'impressionnent personne mais qui vous ridiculisent avec quelle efficacité.
Like (1)
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
09 December 2015
Ease up fellas! While 10.6.8 is quite old, there are lot's of legit uses. Some software hasn't been updated (or runs worse on newer systems), for example, some custom sales systems only run on 10.6.8, and also i had clients in a photo studio running 10.6.8 (and El Capitan also of course on other machines) with a workflow that works flawlessly (most common when i meet clients running older systems).

They work after ”Don't fix what ain't broken”. But of course, there will be a day when that will become ”broken”. However, that's up to the user to decide.

Also, not everyone can afford a new machine (and is pleased with the one they using). But after a while they may run into trouble when developers dropping support for older systems. The reason why they dropping support is quite easy. They look at the customer/user base, but also if the code maintenance for legacy systems is causing slowdowns or introduces bugs for the ”dominant” user base running newer systems.

Even if the maintenance is not the practical issue, it could cost money and time, and also predating on efforts that would speed up development for the main user base. I mention this generally, and i don't know if this is the case with Vivaldi.

But to see why this is not working for you, check the logs in the console. Open the Console.app (in Utilities folder in the Applications directory) and launch Vivaldi. When it crashes, look at the console and see if it says anything about Vivaldi or Chrome (even if you are not running Chrome).

Example: ”2015-12-09 09:47:02,000 kernel[0]: Vivaldi Helper[872] triggered unnest of range 0x7fff88a00000->0x7fff88c00000 of DYLD shared region in VM map 0x92bf45d57fe60a39. While not abnormal for debuggers, this increases system memory footprint until the target exits.”

This one is not a crash log (running just fine), but a debug message sort of. That one is a bug coming from Chromium (as Chrome and the standalone Chromium browser displays the same debug message).

Anyway, look for this and post it here (not the whole log, just the part's that gives hints why it's crashing).

Also, while not for Vivaldi (but as they share technology with Blink and Chromium, many times the solutions are the same), the general tips & tricks in the thread ”Chrome Mac is crashing for me!” could be something that may help. I'm sure there is threads in french also (no problems with reading french without Google Translate) if you search.

You find it here: https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/nqtRRubJJNI

There has since you posted been released a couple of new beta versions. You may download the newer versions and test again.

Disclaimer: I don't work on Vivaldi Technologies. (even if it would be nice, i'm in Sweden and Norway is an hour away)
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
08 January 2016
Ia!! Cthulhu R'yleth!
Like
Slice313
08 October 2015
Great browser!
Like
Version 1.0.291.18
1 answer(s)
JuggleStupidity
JuggleStupidity
16 October 2015
why?
Like (5)
Slice313
08 October 2015
Great browser
Like
Version 1.0.291.18
Wgibson648
08 October 2015
Please fix this! This version still appears to be infected (according to ClamXav) with Infection Html.Exploit.CVE_2014_4138. What appears to be causing this problem?
Like
Version 1.0.291.18
4 answer(s)
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
15 November 2015
It's a false positive.
Html.Exploit.CVE_2014_4138 is not even a virus, it's a WIndows ONLY malware affecting Internet Explorer v6 to v9. ClamXav (and many other of the so called antivirus scanners) is notorious for false positives (and being a security risk itself) . CalmXav is also very weak.

If you want to know more about security on the mac. Here is a read up: https://github.com/drduh/OS-X-Security-and-Privacy-Guide#viruses-and-malware
Like
Wgibson648
Wgibson648
19 November 2015
Whether one is "taking drugs," or not, is immaterial.

The malware / infection / virus causes ClamXav to abort the installation. Therefore, given the choice of installing a newer version (which has the flaw) or retaining an older version (1.0.118.19) that does NOT, the logical option is to use the older version.

And, to date, no one from Vivaldi has explained how the code was modified in the later versions to allow the flaw., and why they did it.
Like
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
19 November 2015
Wgibson648. I will explain the easy way. There is no virus in Vivaldi. ClamXav reports a false positive because the ClamXav engine pattern scanner is not that fine grained. The "offending" code is not even in the source of Vivaldi. In my recent test, ten of the Mac Anti Virus scanners on the market flagged core components in Mac OS X (clean install on a Virtual Machine) as Windows virus. IE ones. mostly. Chrome was also flagged in some scanners. That's false positives. If you google "false positive mac ClamXav" you will find plenty of results.

Btw: https://blog.malwarebytes.org/news/2015/11/has-macupdate-fallen-to-the-adware-plague/
Like (1)
Penguirl
Penguirl
24 November 2015
In response to @ChristopherAnderton, I just downloaded a MacUpdate Installer.app version of Firefox a few minutes ago. So apparently they're playing musical chairs with which apps they bundle their adware with.
Like
Wgibson648
11 September 2015
PLEASE fix this!! ClamXAV states that this version is STILL infected with a virus ——> Html.Exploit.CVE_2014_4138. Therefore installation is terminated and the infected app is quarantined.
Like
Version 1.0.270.16
5 answer(s)
Dgeo
Dgeo
08 October 2015
What does Vivaldi has to do with IE 11 ?
Like
Wgibson648
Wgibson648
08 October 2015
Dgeo —

I'm sorry, I don't understand your comment.

To where in my note / request, do I refer to IE 11? The problem is in Mac OS X 10.11 (El Capitan); it also occurred in OS X 10.10 (Yosemite). There is no reference to Internet Explorer 11 … where do you see that?!?
Like
Dgeo
Dgeo
08 October 2015
This vulnerability affects IE 11 but Vivaldi doesn't share code with IE.
Like
Wgibson648
Wgibson648
08 October 2015
That's all well and good. But immaterial.

The infection is cited by ClamXav, and the installation is aborted. So it should be corrected, so individuals might be able to use the browser. I AM able to use v. 1.0.118.19 … so how / why was the code modified in these subsequent versions?
Like
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
15 November 2015
It's a false positive. Read my comment above.
Like
Wgibson648
03 September 2015
In general, I like this browser. However ——> TO THE DEVELOPER <—— please check this version. ClamXAV states that v.1.0.264.3 in infected with a virus.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.264.3
4 answer(s)
Gestalt
Gestalt
04 September 2015
Downloaded clamav and verified this. It finds CVE-2014-4138 - an html exploit that affects Microsoft Internet Explorer 11.
Like (2)
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
15 November 2015
It's a false positive.
Like
Wgibson648
Wgibson648
15 November 2015
Perhaps, but the installation process aborts prematurely when one attempts to install the software, when virus protection software is in place … and that did not occur on 1.0.118.19. So what occurred in the coding process to change this?
Like
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
19 November 2015
I would contact the support of ClamXav so they could remove the false positive in the database.
Like
Gestalt
28 August 2015
I've been using this as my regular browser for a while now. It's like a breath of fresh air having a browser again that supports some user configurability options - I haven't felt this at home in a browser since OmniWeb and Opera 12 faded away. If you like vertical, rather than horizontal, tabs as I do, it''s easy to set up in this browser. Overall, this is the cleanest browser UI I've seen in a long time. Still has some large holes in functionality in beta form, but I'm giving it five stars for the excellent UI and the amazing effort the devs seem to be putting into this. I had no issues getting set up on the Vivaldi forums, and the devs seem to be actively attempting to resolve issues reported by users there. Sounds like they should read their email more often, though, based on other comments.
Like
Version 1.0.258.3
Foulger
28 August 2015
I have now sent a total of five E-Mails to the developers including one a few minutes ago. Nil response to all of them. I would recommend, based on their very poor customer service not to use this browser.
Like
Version 1.0.252.3
2 answer(s)
Akanico
Akanico
28 August 2015
Would agree if that was a paid software but so far it is totally free.
And while I understand your frustration, giving it half a star and not recommending its use for a lack of email communication?
Come on...
Like (3)
Mrsin
Mrsin
04 September 2015
The developer has been very responsive on Twitter. Though you may not have twitter. Still, please keep in mind, regardless what MacUpdate says, Vivaldi is still pre-beta, it is Technical Preview, though they're working hard toward a beta release very soon.
Like
Foulger
25 August 2015
This is a great Browser with great potential but marred by the total lack of response from Vivaldi support. My login activation code for their forum did not work so I have so far sent three E-Mails over 4 days with total lack of response. If this is how they are going to go about business, they may as well shut up shop now. Very disappointed, especially as I do like the browser.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.252.3
Bidule
22 August 2015
Info.plist says <key>LSMinimumSystemVersion</key> <string>10.6.0</string>, but crashes on 10.6.8.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.252.3
Foulger
21 August 2015
I'm always on the lookout for a faster browser that will suit my requirements in a timely fashion. My personal criteria is (1) Will it Print pdf's properly (2) Can Bookmarks be added quickly and be readily accessible (3) Is it supported by 1Password. Hopefully this browser will fit the bill when finished. I used to use Opera "back in the day" but as the Vivaldi team have pointed out , its lost its way. Good luck guys I look forward to a finished polished product.
Like
Version 1.0.252.3