Back to Records page
Records free download for Mac

Records Reviews

1.6
03 October 2019

Innovative personal database.

Howard-Lieberman
27 June 2018

Most helpful

I have just downloaded this app and find it to be actually more useful than Bento was.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.10

Read 35 Records User Reviews

Rate this app:

Howard-Lieberman
27 June 2018
I have just downloaded this app and find it to be actually more useful than Bento was.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.10
Dr-Franknfurter
10 January 2018
Maybe a lot of work by developer, but still not worth the money. Simply much to few possibilities for the user. Databases are not easy, we know. But that application is not a improvement. A pitty.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.6
ben-marko
27 December 2017
Pretty frustrating dealing with this app. I cannot modify themes, you are stuck with what is listed. I also cannot add/modify fields within canvas (i.e., I want to change a field’s title) - but Records won't let me. I can't even create a whole new field. And I can't modify a pop-down menu that I have placed within a canvas to show the list of choices within that menu. So limiting. The dev doesn't respond to requests for support. I honestly cannot recommend this to anyone.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
DianeP2626
25 December 2017
Big waste of money!!!! No instructions, doesn't work and crashes. Developer doesn't respond.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
Bunky
10 December 2017
Crashes every time I try to create a new file.. sent the report to the developer and never got a response
Like
Version 1.5.6
1 answer(s)
Records Team
Records Team
11 December 2017
Hi Bunky, we don't have received it, can you please resend it at support@records.team? Thanks!
Like
Quasimodo
07 December 2017
If I could figure out how to use it, I would be able to give it a real rating. But there are no instructions and the developer did not respond when I reached out for help.
Like
Version 1.5.6
MichaelZito2400
06 December 2017
No clear instructions on how to use this product. Tried to work a new database and got nowhere.
Like
Version 1.5.6
MichaelZito2400
05 December 2017
Poorly designed instructions on how to utilize this APP. Sent an email to the developer with no answer. Disappointed!!! I am still waiting for them to get back to me.. I am using OS X 10.12.6 and trying to load all my FileMaker Pro data into their database via CVS import with terrible results.
Like
Version 1.5.6
kenw_1
05 December 2017
Don't know about the app. Haven't had a chance to try it yet. But not impressed wth the marketing. I responded to an email from MacUpdate offering the app for $6.49 (US). I have now been billed by MacUpdate for that $6.99, and also by Paddle.com for another $12.99 (US). Not a good way t win friends!
Like
Version 1.5.6
robin-howard
04 December 2017
A well thought out yet basic and easy to use database, and thanks to Joel Lockard for being so helpful when I encountered a download problem.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
Quiiick
12 October 2017
"Now requires macOS 10.12.2 or later" Unfortunately my iMac can only run up to macOS 10.11.6. I purchased this app a few weeks ago in anticipation of future updates. Looks like I will not be able to take part of any new features until I buy a new computer ... :-(
Like
Version 1.5.4
4 answer(s)
Records Team
Records Team
27 October 2017
Hello, Records 1.5.5 is out and restore the macOS 10.11 compatibility. Thanks for your feedback.
Like (2)
Quiiick
Quiiick
27 October 2017
Hi, thanks a lot for reintroducing compatibility with macOS 10.11.
Much appreciated!
Like
Quiiick
Quiiick
29 October 2017
Unfortunately version 1.1.5 is not working correctly under macOS 10.11.6.
Newly created records revert to blank with no field entries when switching layouts (canvas, spreadsheet).
Also, any input to the search field results in immediately crashing the app.
Like
Records Team
Records Team
29 October 2017
Can you please contact us by email at support@records.team? We are going to investigate if you can help us providing more details. Thanks in advance.
Like
csegelov
07 September 2017
Not a lot of use without the manual (which you'd fairly assume to be included...but still searching)!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
naked4life
03 September 2017
Can't leave a review since I haven't got a clue how to use it. I 've figured some stuff out, but it's pretty useless to me. I've used MS Access and MySQL and I find them easier.

The one item that comes to mind is the 'List' button. I created a list....added some items successfully, but the default button doesn't seem to work. I selected the item and tried to hit default, but the default button doesn't become active. Would be wonderful if there was a PDF manual or a tutorial for starting out, but couldn't find one.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
Image-Search
02 September 2017
Worth the money paid as have been looking for OS X version of a database program but has a few shortcomings or quirks that I cannot seem to get answers to. I sent questions to developer but no replies yet. Easiest to paste my questions and you can read shortcomings. I downloaded your trial and spent 3 hours creating a database and want to be sure I do not lose the file I have currently created. It seems I keep moving the fields around in the forms that I am working on by mistake. I want to be able to revert back to where I once was. I tried saving copies of file as well as template, but when try to open new database and try to import saved file to test that it is saved, it fails. I went ahead and purchased program through the macupdate promo thinking that that feature may age disabled in the trial and still no success. 1) How do I save a backup file that I can revert to if I screw up the one I am using? 2) can I import the backup as an additional copy? original name “test" as "test 2” for instance 3) can I set to print multiple records, say record 10 through 15? 4) currently when I print canvas view I must do one at a time and set to print page 1 only of 3 pages although pages 2 and 3 are blank. It appears that it prints below where I have form data as I added a dummy box to right and below on screen and it prints the one below on page 2, and ironically one to right does not show up. 5) any way to show grid lines when creating form to make it easier to line up several text boxes for instance? 6) I wish for numbers to go to three digits past decimal and not automatically drop the zeros. (1.230 as opposed to 1.23) 7) Is there any sort of manual or user guide or how to videos available? 8) can I print entire spreadsheet? It only wants to print first few columns Any help would be appreciated. In short, I really wish could create form with gridlines in view to aid in lining up fields. I wish I could save template to use over and over on different databases. I wish I could set form to print on one page rather than one and kick out two blank pages. I wish I could print spreadsheet view of all data rather than just top left corner. Most of all, I wish there were some kind of instructions or help files. A close second would be able to import selected data without retyping (Assume one file with all 50 US state names but want to make form with dropdown to choose only southern states, another with northern states, etc. Exporting as csv, editing and trying to import seems to fail. May be a way but with no instructions whatsoever I must retype every one.
Like
Version 1.5.3
1 answer(s)
Image-Search
Image-Search
03 September 2017
same issue as naked4life. I try to have text box default to certain value but cannot.
I have spent better part of the day trying to figure out what "show guides" / "hide guides" toggle does aside from changing the word "show" or "hide" and stretching toolbar accordingly
backward/forward front/back also unknown.

Spent all day retyping items from list that should be able to import, and may be able to if only some instruction. Program has lots of potential, but very frustrated as either not working right or simply not going about it right as pretty much zero instruction. An auto number for next record would be a huge plus as well.

I would like to see complete form on screen at one time without need to scroll. I can do so, but then the remainder of canvas below what I see will make it as if 3 pages tall, a grid the size of form=1 page would be a HUGE plus
Like
Albino
02 September 2017
Not bad, but iy could be enhanced with some password for access security.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
Yh748964a
02 September 2017
Software for 'the price is of a latte'. I won't expect too much. Sure it's cheap but very limited especially in the absence of instructions on how it is to be used and how it fits the 'relational' model which is the current approach to data storage.
Like
Version 1.5.3
gbrocks
02 September 2017
Nice app. However, I would like to know: 1. What column in the spreadsheet view is being sorted upon; 2. How to designate the column to be sorted upon; 3. I would like the ability to do time math: Subtract the value in one time & date field from another time & date time field to get the duration between the values in the two fields. Please provide the answer to 1. & 2.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Dennisw1mac
01 September 2017
Would gladly pay extra for iOS app to use for data capture to a file on shared drive.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
jacob-9
01 September 2017
I like the concept, and use it to collect unstructured information for analysis purposes. Negatives: The software is unstable, it has crashed a number of times already - although the data seems to be intact after a retart. Printing leaves thigs to be desired. I have not been able to print a whole database, only single fields or single pages. An option that fits a database record onto one printed page would be great.
Like
Version 1.5.3
2 answer(s)
jacob-9
jacob-9
01 September 2017
Forgot to say: I still like the concept, and hope that future development irons out the glitches and really makes it the nifty tool that it promises to be.
Like
Records Team
Records Team
03 September 2017
Hello Jacob, can you please contact us by email at support [at] records [dot] team to explain to us how the app crashes? We are working on Records 1.6 and we can fix this bug before the release. Thanks!
Like (1)
Volcanus
29 August 2017
Imports only CSV-files. But a have a lot of AppleWorks 6 database files, Saving them as CSV will strip off too much information. I'm still demanding a true successor of AppleWorks.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.3
1 answer(s)
Steve-Eichel-ary#
Steve-Eichel-ary#
29 August 2017
Boy, do I ever feel your pain. I ran my private practice with the AppleWorks DB, and I have yet to find a replacement that could do what that "little" app did. MS Office certainly doesn't, and I tried to use FileMaker Pro but the learning curve was ridiculous (for my purposes). The ability to design forms and have them filled out with DB information was integral to my business. Yes, I can do something similar with Word and Excel, but not nearly as easily or flexibly. And when my forms had to change (e.g., HCFA insurance forms), modifications took, oh I don't know, maybe 10 minutes?
Like (1)
wafflebarn
11 April 2017
I like this. It's really affordable, other developers can easily charge you five times as much for the same features. Keep up the good work!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Sampler
27 March 2017
In my first trial, I created a database and one form (in "Canvas" view), then entered several records: I switched to "Spreadsheet" view. There is a "Sort" button, but what it sorts on is a mystery--it was not order of creation or alphabetical for any field. I then installed on a second computer, but this time the "Spreadsheet displayed .nothing. but two blank fields unrelated to those in Canvas view . The Canvas (i.e. form view) is very easy to use., but trying to use tab to switch to another field is erratic. It worked only switching from two of five fields. My conclusion: promissing, but still buggy and unpredictable. I'll watch for future updates.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
Madmanuk
18 March 2017
Could you perhaps be a little less adversarial in trying to bully, badger or trick us into installing macupdate desktop? Even if you dont install it, you download it with everything you buy now. Take a hint.
Like
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Records Team
Records Team
20 March 2017
Can you please explain a bit more what is happening with Records?
Like (2)
Imaginere
11 January 2017
I see this dB software discussions, and it's a joke, look at what this developer is providing you for a cost of a Latte, FMP and Panorama are bloated beast and don't belong in this conversation, give this Developer a thumbs up for his generosity and time, providing something at token price anyone can afford, you can get nothing on the market at this price and this level of service, get your head screwed on right before you compare. Show some grattitude!
Like (12)
Version 1.5
distantskunk
22 December 2016
Question: How many computers can I use for one license?
Like (2)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Records Team
Records Team
22 December 2016
Hello,

You can activate Records on 2 computers.
Like (3)
gdubis1
21 December 2016
I currently am using Collectorz for my music and movie collections and would love to get out of it instead of paying subscriptions. Does the Records app accept files from my Collectorz collection?
Like (1)
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
Records Team
Records Team
21 December 2016
Hello,

You can import CSV files in Records and this way allows you to import your data from Collectorz.
Like
gdubis1
gdubis1
21 December 2016
Thank you. How many fields would be imported over?
Like
Records Team
Records Team
21 December 2016
Records 1.5 includes 17 different kind of fields, you can check more details here: www.records.team
Like (1)
Yazarim
24 October 2016
I was desperately searching for a replacement for my FileMaker 9, which on Sierra has become very hard to use. So I tried several of these new softwares, among which Records. I did not understand immediately how to use it, the instructions on their site being too elementary, but once I understood a little, it proved very good. "Find" remains too simple, the fields on the canvas jump here and there too easily, an "html" field would be more than welcome, but all in all, I repeat, I like very much this software and I am sure it will improve.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.4
2 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
22 November 2016
You and me - too much to buy yearly FMP upgrades at $150 a pop.

You might try Tap Forms to see if it helps. I've used it for a couple of years and, while it's no FMP substitute, it does a lot.
Like (1)
Yazarim
Yazarim
04 December 2016
@Prince-Isaac Very good tip. Thank you so much!
Like
Diarbyrag
04 August 2016
The idea is fine and works a bit like the database part of Appleworks, the colour schemes are right out of the 80's though. Biggest drawback for me is that in table view the inability to sort the columns alphabetically is a major one, especially if you have hundreds or more entries, ascending or descending is not good enough despite the search feature. Worth watching though for improvements...
Like (3)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Superandyboy
Superandyboy
06 August 2016
Hello Diarbyrag.

Thanks for the feedback, the feature you are looking for (column sorting) will be introduced in Records 1.4 plus the new Calculation field.
Like (4)
Levelbest
28 July 2016
Just a comment as so many ask for a "real" mac db. I used Panorama for years and loved it. Flat file, sort of. It's all in RAM so everything it does is lightning fast. Programming language to learn, yes. But then, filemaker always had programing language to do anything complex. I always got frustrated between the left and right brain approach. Right brain is all the pretty stuff, the intuitive stuff. Simple. The left brain is all the code, the logic and frankly, this is not how my brain works. Panorama let me create all sorts of "pretty" forms with a code that I got used to using. You can use arrays to alter results within a formula on the fly. You don't have to define a variable before you use it, and more. Others can use it far better than I can because it has a really seriously powerful code that also run Peal, Ruby, just about anything. Yea, Applescript too. I discovered it years ago when I was trying to learn 4D (to no avail unfortunately). The presenter explained how she used Panorama when she had to migrate a very large and broken 4D database to a newer version but first she had to take and the exported data and rearrange it for the import into the new 4D db. Cool tool. I left it behind when I finally realized that at this time in my life, a database is simply overkill. I believe Panama has a new version now that is strictly subscription and I just wont do that. Still, with the RAM speed and its out of the box tricks, if you have to clean up a few thousand records, swapping last and first name or what have you, Panorama is one heck of an overlooked database toolkit.
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
14 August 2016
Subscription based apps are a showstopper for me. It means you have to pay for the product for life in order to access any old or archived data. Given that is the direction that MS Office is taking, I abandoned it and now use Libreoffice. It is donation based, not required, and also includes a relational database that keeps getting better with each release. The database is somewhat similar to MS Access and does have a learning curve. I have yet to find time to explore all its capabilities and become a knowledgeable user.
Like (2)
Dieppa
Dieppa
21 December 2016
Panorama rocks!! I've used it since 1985 on my first Mac 512e when it was called OverVUE before the name change to Panorama. I cannot imagine life without it now! It is the most sophisticated database/spreadsheet, as it is simple enough for a beginner to use (set up a new database in less than 5 minutes) up through experts using all the high end functions and design features (full integrated business inventory/billing/accounting; managing movie editing; etc.) Panorama has a wonderful online help forum with many experienced Panorama users and programmers participating. The downside is that the database is expensive, especially by today's standards, but it is well worth it, as the developers are first rate and at this point extremely experienced, and all that support and development costs money. One of the best aspects is that Panorama databases are backwards compatible, so that one can open databases made with older versions. I use an older version of Panorama from before the current annoying and cumbersome registration procedure on later versions which involves interaction with the company if one wants to move the program to a new computer.
Like
Jimw
24 July 2016
I may be wrong but this seems to be just another flat file db (not relational) that is a weak imitation of the discontinued Bento in power but possibly with a better GUI.

In my opinion what the Mac needs is a full relational database that has many features similar to Filemaker (a division of Apple) that is a bit easier to set up, has a little less programming features, and does not require you to "take out a mortgage on your home " to buy it and keep up-to-date. In other words, an affordable customized relational database that does not require a degree in computer science to use it. Is anybody listening?
Like (3)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Superandyboy
Superandyboy
10 August 2016
Hello Jimw,

Records is based on a relational database, the relational feature (like one to many) will be released in a future update.
Like (2)
lindajwm
11 July 2016
Would it hurt to include some simple instructions?.
Like
Version 1.2
Bazza720
20 May 2016
Seriously, has anyone EVER made a database of their DVD collection?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
2 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
14 August 2016
I have. In Filemaker.; and with a graphic interface. Unfortunately it was a long time ago and it is so complicated I forgot how I did it and can't edit it without going through a long learning curve again.
Like
Tim27
Tim27
18 December 2016
Yes
Like (2)
Rob-N
07 April 2016
This is a great little app for those who are looking for a replacement for Bento. Colors and themes do not matter to me as much as the export features so that the database can be exported to various web sites in certain formats. This fits the bill - - at least for me. The developer is wonderfully helpful. There might be a few Bento features that might be missing but to me - - they are minor. Give this one a look.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4
nazimcetin
06 April 2015
Doesn't this "innovative" database have subforms or relational database model? Maybe I am wrong but I couldn't find it out thru menubar and context options. If there is no, so it's a real dealbreaker for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Tim27
07 March 2015
This app has promise. In looking for a replacement to Bento, this could use more styling options. Instead of just color tints, the developer should give users the option to pick the colors they want - gradients, as well. The color choices are too few and too "girly". Color options for fields and other interface elements would be welcome, as well. I'd like to be able to import images to use in a template that do not have to be put into the image field. Just to use as button elements or however I want. If I do use an image field, integrating QuickView like in the Finder would be nice. It is very easy to create a database quickly. A bit more work and this will be a great app.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
04 April 2015
You might want to check out Tap Forms, which has been a great follow-on to Bento. TF even includes a Bento-specific import option.
Like (3)