Back to Typora page
Typora free download for Mac

Typora Reviews

0.9.9.29.2
21 October 2019

Minimalist Markdown editor.

Replikant
19 September 2017

Most helpful

Typora is a refined and clean text editor, perfect for blissful writing of longer texts. It it markdown based, but without the usual annoyances. – it hides the usual markdown code in favor of the live formatted view. No separation of "code" and "preview"! Still, it remains a fully functional markdown editor. – it has a very nice & functional outline pane, hence making it ideal for writing longer texts, like research papers, books, etc. – It has excellent import/export to several formats (using pandoc). – The UI is beautiful, yet you can customize it with your own css, as well as typewriter/focus/source code/outline views, etc. And much more. A bit similar to IA Writer or Ulysses, but better IMO. The only draw would be that it is in perpetual beta, with no comments from the author as to what the final pricing, let alone release date, will be. On the other hand, it is pure markdown, hence nothing is lost by using it, you can always shift to another MD editor.
Like (6)
Version 0.9.9.10.6

Read 17 Typora User Reviews

Rate this app:

Michael-Vilain
12 October 2019
I don't recall if earlier versions of Typora worked on 10.10, but I just noticed this update works on 10.13 forward. Since I can't upgrade my hardware, if this trend continues I won't buy the resulting app when it becomes "official" even though it's better than most of the MD editors out there. Otherwise, this is a great program. I'm sad that I can't run it on my 10.10 system any more.
Like
Version 0.9.9.29.1
Hal-Itosis
31 May 2018
0.9.9.16.2.73.00254.7.13.444.666.0.9.9.9.999 For heaven's sake, get to version 1.0 already!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.9.16.2
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
11 November 2018
Why are you complaining? While it's still in beta it's free, when it reaches v1 that will change.
Like (1)
Wonderwarthog
11 December 2017
Best markdown editor I've seen so far bar none. And I've tried a few, if not to say almost all. I really hope once this is out of beta the full version pricing will be decent. For now it's my default Markdown editor.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.9.10.9
anonymous-thrush-1121
07 November 2017
This app is best Markdown Style editor.

Because inline preview, not side preview.
And multi platform (macOS Linux, and Windows), but without iOS.
I want iOS version.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.9.10.9
Replikant
19 September 2017
Typora is a refined and clean text editor, perfect for blissful writing of longer texts. It it markdown based, but without the usual annoyances. – it hides the usual markdown code in favor of the live formatted view. No separation of "code" and "preview"! Still, it remains a fully functional markdown editor. – it has a very nice & functional outline pane, hence making it ideal for writing longer texts, like research papers, books, etc. – It has excellent import/export to several formats (using pandoc). – The UI is beautiful, yet you can customize it with your own css, as well as typewriter/focus/source code/outline views, etc. And much more. A bit similar to IA Writer or Ulysses, but better IMO. The only draw would be that it is in perpetual beta, with no comments from the author as to what the final pricing, let alone release date, will be. On the other hand, it is pure markdown, hence nothing is lost by using it, you can always shift to another MD editor.
Like (6)
Version 0.9.9.10.6
Bumbleb
15 August 2017
WOW! This one I like!

Its outliner is brilliantly based (automatically) on your header structure. H1 headers become level 1, H2 level 2, H3... well, you guessed it: level 3. The outliner-view can be visible at all times, in the sidebar, giving you a great birds-eye view of your document.

I hope they/he will develop the outline further. I'd LOVE LOVE LOVE to move large chunks of text by dragging an item in the outline.

And rather than a simple night/dark mode, as seen in Byword and iA Writer, you can choose between several fine CSS-based themes.

Being CSS-based means you can write with the fine-tuned typography you so meticulously created for your blog/website. I find that feature quite sexy.

If the developer keeps up the good work, Typora may become the next "killer app" for writers, taking the place of iA Writer, Byword and others in that league.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.9.10.3
JBX
15 January 2017
Looking like a really great app. I have tried several markdown apps recently, this one is a keeper for now. Simple, no clutter UI for people who know what they are doing without toolbars etc.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.9.8.8
markowa
18 October 2016
Not bad. Really good markdown editor.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.9.8.2
kscmint
27 May 2016
This is one of the most functional Markdown editors that I have used and very clean. I like having the TOC in clear view as well. It is my primary go to for writing and I've used a lot of Markdown editors.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.9.3.5
chrisforrest
06 May 2016
Comparing with other apps, this one is very primitive, lacks functionality, poor interface. Maybe someone wold like this simplicity but I would prefer something more multimedia. Anyway, one of the advantages - it's free.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.9.3
1 answer(s)
Mindplay
Mindplay
24 September 2017
Did you try it before coming to those conclusions? Primitive???
Aside from the usual shit, it support TOC, tables, MathJax expressions, diagramming and flowcharts, and much more. Can you name at least another single Markdown app with such a broad feature set? And yes, it's still free as of writing. Primitive... ?‍♂️
Like (2)
chrisforrest
06 May 2016
Comparing with other apps, this one is very primitive, lacks functionality, poor interface. Maybe someone wold like this simplicity but I would prefer something more multimedia. Anyway, one of the advantages - it's free.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.9.3
Jess-MacUpdate
21 February 2016
Your antivirus software may be triggered by the download of Typora 0.9.8.6. I have reported this to the developer, who replied as follows.... "The overview for CVE_2016_0071 is: "In other words: "1. it is a vulnerability not a virus/malware. "2. it is a vulnerability of IE 9. "3. the exact file that is "infected" according to the scan is a *.js file, and I confirm it is clean and safe because I wrote it, and it is a *.js file on an embed webpage that won't has read/write access to user's local file. "Therefore, it is a wrong report from ClamXaV, it has nothing to do with typora, even OS X. I have already reported this to ClamXav. "And, of course, Typora is free of viruses or malware."
Like
Version 0.9.8.6
Ivan-Jiang
04 January 2016
It's quite a pretty markdown application. However, I've found that it has some lack of functionality. For example, when I have an unordered list under an ordered list, how could I move my cursor to the 1st level place? I don't know how to handle this so sorry, although you may be one of the most beautiful markdown application on Mac.
Like
Version 0.9.8.1
Akanico
26 December 2015
Single window is really what separates this app from other markdown apps. Wish it would integrate Prism for code view though. Without this feature I'm sticking with Macdown.
Like
Version 0.9.8.0
LuxLogica
02 November 2015
By far, the best Markdown editor I've come across so far - among the dozens available on the Mac right now. The features that make it stand out are: - single-page writing and previewing - customisable styles (using CSS) - great support for most popular and commonly-used extended Markdown features - writes clean Markdown that can be opened by other software without issues Features that could be very useful if the developer were to add: - ability to add images from system Photo browser - word count target indicator (for when you have to write x number of words) - folder view/file manager (for when you have to work on projects involving multiple files) Right now it's the most promising Markdown editor available, and I cannot wait to see what version 1.0 will look like!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Gordon142
18 April 2015
Inline preview Markdown like this is my favorite style. The only other app I'm aware of that does this is FoldingText, so I'm very happy to see this. It definitely feels like a work in progress. There are virtually no configuration options - you have several built-in themes, which you can of course tweak (or add your own) by modifying the CSS directly. It would be nice to be able to configure basic things like display font and size without tweaking the CSS, since I like my fonts zoomed to different levels depending on the resolution of the screen I'm using at the time. There are also some limitations with regards to the inline preview. For instance, there is no indication of whether or not a line has a hard line break at the end (double-space in Markdown), which I find problematic, since it's a very easy thing to forget. This means I can have a long document that looks perfect in Typora, but renders everything on a single line when parsed to HTML. This isn't going to replace FoldingText for me right now, but I'll be watching its progress closely (and once it evolves a bit more, I'm happy to pay money for it.)
Like (3)
Version 0.9.3
Jeremyan
18 March 2015
Excellent markdown editor. I mostly enjoy its ability to live preview without a separate panel or window. This makes writing rich format much more fluid and less cluttered from markdown tags. The built-in themes are also good. Minimalistic yet productive.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.1