Back to TurboTax page
TurboTax free download for Mac

TurboTax Reviews

2018
30 November 2017

Manage your U.S. taxes and maximize your return.

Cowicide
29 March 2013

Most helpful

Warning. Intuit is a company you shouldn't trust with your private information. They are an unethical company and should be boycotted. Please read this exposé of this company who has gone out of its way to hurt the American public for its own greed: http://www.propublica.org/article/how-the-maker-of-turbotax-fought-free-simple-tax-filing Why would you trust this unethical company with some of your most private data?
Like (8)
Version 2012.r15.023

Read 29 TurboTax User Reviews

Rate this app:

RoXXXy
03 April 2017
2016.r22.043 <UPDATE> 2016 TurboTax Deluxe for MAC OSX - My Forms will NOT PRINT!!! What do I do, the application keeps crashing when I click on “PRINT" Nor can you save a PDF ... Totally Crashes & Quits... Latest macOS Sierra 10.12.4 (16E195)
Like
Version 2016
Macguruguy
01 February 2015
Cannot contact Intuit via email. Have issue with state tax forms printing with DO NOT FILE watermark.
Like
Version 2014
BobK1
20 January 2015
According to Amazon.com, requirements for Turbotax Deluxe Mac include: OS X 10.7.5 (Lion) or later and not OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard) as noted here by MacUpdate. I can confirm that it will not install on 10.6.8; I haven't tried it yet on OS X 10.10 Yosemite.
Like
Version 2014
1 answer(s)
BobK1
BobK1
21 January 2015
Installed on Yosemite & works fine ... except for all the features removed by Intuit in the 2014 TurboTax Deluxe Mac edition (check ratings on Amazon.com). Perhaps Intuit is just trying to lower TurboTax to the level of Quicken for Mac.
Like
JackG3175
19 January 2015
These people have changed for the worse. What used to be their basic program is now for only the very simple returns. You get to a point and then they tell you that for $40 more you can download the needed forms. If you buy the CD instead of downloading from them, it asks you for a "conformation number". After finally reaching a person on their line, she could not explain or find how to get a "conformation number" for me. I switched to H&R Block.
Like
Version 2014
Homer1
14 April 2014
The fact that these folks would publish an update the day before our tax returns are due is total BULL****! Also, those of you that have already filed your taxes (I have!), DO NOT UPDATE THE INSTALLED APPLICATION!!!! Once I file I no longer apply updates. If there's a problem with my return, well IRS, here's the TurboTax I used to file my return. Not sure it would help, but at least it's a start.
Like
Version 2013.r17.002
1 answer(s)
BillHicks
BillHicks
14 April 2014
I worked for a tax company, they update program's all the time no matter the time of year. The IRS doesn't care what version of software you used, they only care if you followed the law.
Like (6)
mrsidoric
14 April 2014
An important patch in the final hours before filing deadline is inexcusable. These people need to go away -- or gain a sense of mission.
Like
Version 2013.r17.002
1 answer(s)
zaydon
zaydon
14 April 2014
there are always patches even after the deadline passes. if you still have TT2012 installed try opening that today. I'm sure you will see there is an update. i'm guessing that none of the tax law data is changed but rather just crashy bugs in the software have been fixed. in the case of the update today i believe they updated the ssl keys that are used.
Like (1)
Albabe
14 April 2014
Wow... A patch the day (literally) before Taxes are Dues. Amazing. That's reason enough to never use this client.
Like (1)
Version 2013.r17.002
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
15 April 2014
TurboTax is even slimier than I thought. Google "astroturf campaign designed to keep filing your taxes a hassle."
Like
wintermute
12 April 2014
2013 TurboTax for Home & Business is a buggy piece of cr@p. Seriously. I launch the program, it opens my data file and declares no updates. Then it freezes. I can't dismiss the update window, I can't continue on with entering my data. Intuit is the worst software developer on earth. First they keep shoveling buggy versions of Quicken year after year, now they are following up with worse and worse versions of TurboTax each year.
Like
Version 2013 r11.002
BobK1
10 February 2014
TurboTax is up to version 2013.r11.002 as of today. I'm not sure if MacUpdate bothers to follow the (sometimes) daily updates to the program during the tax season. Thanks.
Like
Version 2013.r02.004
Macguruguy
26 November 2013
Horribly slow. Update process took 5 minutes.
Like
Version 2013.r02.004
BradMacPro
01 August 2013
R19 fixes the issue Box 5 Amount Doubled When Entering 2 CSA-1099-Rs. In addition, R19 incorporates all items from the previous releases.
Like
Version 2012.r19.002
phillipbj
31 July 2013
I saw no reason to install this update because like everyone, my 2012 taxes were filed months ago. I did anyway, for whatever reason. Very shortly afterward I get an email from Intuit, supposedly regarding privacy issues. I think the update was only a ploy for information.
Like (1)
Version 2012.r19.002
monty-3
31 March 2013
Gave up on TurboTax when they tried to ram through payment for every return filed and switched to TaxCut. Decided to try TurboTax 2012 this year due to a more complicated return. First, the company falsely advertises the ability to import H&R Block TaxCut files via pdf. However, it doesn't work and hasn't from day 1 when the 2012 version was released. After 6 weeks of repeatedly contacting them, they basically said to enter things manually as they were not going to fix this known issue. Yet they never stopped advertising that feature. This is just plain negligence by Intuit. Second, no information is provided on any of the updates. The update just released on 29Mar doesn't even tell you what was fixed, patched, or changed and if it would have any impact on a return already filed. Finally, they keep pushing via their ads different (and more expensive) versions even though they have no applicability to your current tax filing status or situation. TurboTax is better at Schedule C forms and the 2106. It continually came up with different results for the AMT than TaxCut, even though the data was the same. Manually doing it leads me to trust TaxCut over TurboTax. TurboTax did not have the embarrassing problem with forms that TaxCut did this year, so I reverted back to TurboTax (after having to manually enter all 2011 information needed for 2012 since IMPORT does not work). Overall the continued lack of support for Mac users or fixing problems that are known to exist is why I rated the program poorly. It's greatest strength is the ease of use and ability to switch between the interview and the form, something TaxCut is very, very weak in (you often can't manually enter information in a form).
Like (2)
Version 2012.r15.023
Cowicide
29 March 2013
Warning. Intuit is a company you shouldn't trust with your private information. They are an unethical company and should be boycotted. Please read this exposé of this company who has gone out of its way to hurt the American public for its own greed: http://www.propublica.org/article/how-the-maker-of-turbotax-fought-free-simple-tax-filing Why would you trust this unethical company with some of your most private data?
Like (8)
Version 2012.r15.023
2 answer(s)
Bousozoku
Bousozoku
30 March 2013
While I agree that you shouldn't trust Intuit, it's hardly a review of a product. If you're not using it, please use a comment to tell us about it instead.
Like (1)
Cowicide
Cowicide
01 April 2013
Bousozoku, I've used it in the past and rated it accordingly. I will not be using it again, however, because I could never trust this kind of corrupt, unethical company with my private information. That fact alone is enough to give this product the lowest possible rating.
Like (3)
BobK1
07 March 2013
Note to MacUpdate: in the MacUpdate Desktop program, the 'current version' updates for TurboTax Deluxe 2012 (Mac) seem to be tied to the old TurboTax Deluxe 2011 (Mac) software. MacUpdate Desktop shows name: "Turbotax Deluxe 2011", installed version "2011r15.011", current version: "2012r11.011, release date: "March 7, 2013". This appears in red as out-of-date. I believe that it should show name: Turbotax Deluxe 2012 (and indicate that the software is up-to-date). Thanks
Like (3)
Version 2012.r11.011
Solefald
21 February 2013
About 10 years ago I went to H&R Block and after spending 3 hours and $300 there I realized that the only thing they do is answer questions their application asks. I've been a happy TurboTax user ever since.
Like (4)
Version 2012.r09.023
Big77
07 April 2012
A few people commented about the long time it takes to update the 2011 version. While that's true, it's really a GOOD thing for people with slow connections. The updates themselves are tiny now -- MUCH smaller than previous downloads. In spite of misleading progress messages most of the time now is spent applying the updates. In other words, these are delta updates which when have to be woven in to the existing code, which takes a while. I agree with many others -- I think the program gets better every year. Yeah, there are annoyances such as occasionally having to answer stuff you've already answered and the early versions (i.e December and January) have some unforgivable bugs but I think these are outweighed by the thoroughness of the program. I just wish they add the full feature set of the windows versions to the mac versions.
Like
Version 2011.r15.011
Donmontalvo
07 April 2012
Why bother if you can do your taxes online for cheaper and without having to install anything? :)
Like (1)
Version 2011.r15.011
1 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
29 March 2013
Or better yet, why give an unethical company that actively deceives and cheats the American public your most private personal and/or business data?
Like
matrixbud
07 April 2012
I have used this for years except one year I tried a leading alternative and was VERY disappointed. As another evaluator pointed out, the app just gets better and better. I used to have to manually and painfully enter each stock I sold along with its purchase and sold dates, purchase and sold amounts, etc., etc. - an incredible amount of work since I averaged 20 to 30 of these and had to find the individual pieces of data. Now I just download all this from my brokerage firm and TurboTax automatically enters it all, without errors. Lots of other great features as well. Easily a 5 star application. As to complaints from others about not getting manual code upgrades, that is nonsense. Intuit needs to maintain quality and configuration control. As it is, they regularly release fixes as problems are pointed out to them by users throughout the tax season. As an experienced programmer myself, I know that releasing them piece-meal for "manual" downloading would create more errors than would be fixed. It is amazing that Intuit makes so few errors considering the complexity of the tax codes and the annual changes. I couldn't ask for anything more.
Like (2)
Version 2011.r15.011
Acuraice
06 April 2012
love the way the app gets important tax updates AFTER you have already filed months ago!!! hope everything is ok !!!
Like (3)
Version 2011.r15.011
Fsckthemembership!
09 March 2012
Well here's the update… After two weeks of dealing with TurboTax Customer and Technical Support regarding the lack of manually downloadable updates they "approved course of action for TurboTax Deluxe 2011 (Mac)" is to force you to create a TurboTax Support account membership! This gives them all your personally information and in exchange they "push" what is supposed to be the "current TurboTax .dmg" into your account. The .dmg contains what appears to be a Windows/Mac hybrid image because if you open the package it's filled with Microslop files! Additionally, if you launch the TurboTax application it does NOT obey the User's Preferences file (i.e. do NOT check for Updates). It also automatically installs a price list…go figure! Additionally, watch your User Preferences, Cache and Application Support folder/files change after you launch TurboTax from this .dmg and collect the data stream sent to Intuit's servers. Totally different than the boxed version! This behavior breaks the trust between a company and the user! Now I purchased the "boxed" Mac version and if behaves totally differently than Intuits "pushed current .dmg". Having used Intuits tax software since the MacInTax days and tolerated the decline for years, this is the finally straw. I will be starting the refund process and moving unto H&R Block tax software which will import the previous years TurboTax data and does have manually downloadable updates. Why the concern over manual updates? My personal financial information is my business and the US government (theirs only to get accessed for tax liabilities) NOT Intuit (i.e. read the EULA on how they use, sell, market and distribute your personal data worldwide)! Although if might be convenient to eFile…if you have ever been through an IRS tax audit then you will be happy that you mailed a paper copy of your tax return via certified mail to the IRS, kept the tax software include the updates that you used at the time of tax submission. It eliminated a lot to the guess work and potential for, well, electronic misappropriating of your information… As an aside, the issues with Quicken 2007 and Essentials is crazy! I'm looking into iBank today!
Like (2)
Version 2011.r09.015
Fsckthemembership!
22 February 2012
To MacUpdate Admst. What would be a service is to provide the download files and/or download link for the "MANUAL UPDATES" as they are released! This would be a great service for those who are on a painfully slow dialup (i.e. 28k speed via 56k modem) in the remote woods! Attempting to do the "within the application update" is too problematic during winter/spring months with the weather changes. Thank you for looking into this option as well as posting your findings. :-)
Like
Version 2011.r09.015
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
12 March 2012
Can you provide us with the link to where these files are available?
Like
Fsckthemembership!
Fsckthemembership!
21 March 2012
Misha, No...MacUpdate would need to contact Intuit Mac Tech Support. The individual manual update would be a great service to the Mac community since this is the Number two Mac site on the net and the "go to update site" :-) Thanks Thanks!
Like
paulsrandall
21 February 2012
I know that there's lots of negative reviews, but TurboTax 2011 has worked great for me. I know the updating is slower, but that does not matter as much as how well it works. I've used this software for many years. This year I was able to import much more of my financial information, including even my W2 from work. I was done with my taxes in no time. The only problem I had was the initial update in either late November or early December. It just would not update, but it offered up a manual download to use for the update. That worked great and every update since that time has worked great.
Like
Version 2011.r09.015
Tom46
13 February 2012
Used to be good, but this year is much worse. Updating takes forever after the download. (Maybe they should cut out the cute messages.) The state program for PA is hopelessly screwed up. It's so bad that I'll have to file my state return by hand.
Like
Version 2011.r08.003
Cgc
07 February 2012
Why use TurboTax standalone when you can use an un-nutured TurboTax online which is outstanding?
Like
Version 2011.r08.003
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
21 February 2012
Tax data is sensitive. Some people prefer to not pour that info into a Web site.
Like
Zampom
07 February 2012
Last review was in 2009. Probably for the best. The program has only gotten worse. Don't get me wrong. I started way back when using one of the few tax programs for Mac .... MacInTax. Then Intuit threw it into a blender and spit it out as TurboTax. Initially, TurboTax was okay. Unfortunately, Intuit's lack of serious support over the years for anything Mac forced me to switch to H&R Block 4 years ago ... and I have not looked back. Unfortunately, a nearby relative still insisted on using TurboTax. To add insult to injury, he only has a dial-up connection. So, I would manually download the updates for him ... updates which numbered well into the double digits. Many of these updates were to correct program errors ... not to just finalize forms. This year, things are even worse. There were problems which prevented Lion users from downloading updates via the program. Unfortunately, manual updates were not an option either .... and are still not an options. On TurboTax's site, there is a link for Windows users to manually download updates. For Mac users ... only a link to contact Intuit to figure out what to do next. Peruse the TurboTax community forums and you will see tons of problems for Mac users. Again ... to add insult to injury ... you have Windows "super users" advising Mac product owners on how to solve problems! This final straw was enough to make my relative switch top H&R Block. I still have to manually download updates for him ... but it is easy and there have only been 2 (with only 1 more ... probably a final one ... projected for 28 Feb). I really don't know why MacUpdate continues to include TurboTax here .... unless it is at the request of Intuit.
Like (2)
Version 2011.r08.003
2 answer(s)
Jay-Q
Jay-Q
07 February 2012
I have the 2011 version, and I have Lion installed (10.7.3). I have had NO problems using the in-software updater twice so far for 2011. Either the problems for this version were fixed prior to 12/17/11 when I purchased my copy, or possibly there are specific set up problems for people. I obviously can't speak to any persons having problems on community forums, but the problems obviously are not universal. In fact, I've never had a download problem on a variety of MBPs, iMacs, or MPs for at least the 15 years or so years I've used TT. And on your last point, FWIW, I believe the CEO of Intuit in on Apple's Board.
Like
Zampom
Zampom
07 February 2012
Jay-Q: Glad to hear some are having no problems with TT. The in-software update function was supposedly fixed for Lion users on Dec 15th. However, the community forums still show some occurrences of 10.7.2 users having problems as late as this month (even after following the Intuit fixes). Regardless, it appears that if, for whatever reason, you need to do manual downloads of updates, you are out of luck.
Like
Infiniteline
26 February 2009
Ive been using TurboTax for the Mac for the past three or four years withut any issue. Importing the previous year's file is painless and quick. The questions can get a bit redundant and tedous, but I suppose they're necessary to make sure that nothing is missed. Overall, it has been a fine product for quick and accurate tax filing.
Like (3)
Version 2008.00.00.11.03
Todd-Burger
19 January 2009
Intuit has been shortchanging MAC users for years. I dumped Quicken for the MAC as it went without meaningful support for stability problems and progressively lost features made available in the Windows version (I use MoneyDance and have never looked back). But after being dissatisfied with TaxCut last year (It will not import Fidelity data, while TurboTax does), I decided to give Intuit's Turbotax another try. After confirming on the Turbotax website that Turbotax could transfer in my data from TaxCut2007, I purchased TurboTax 2008. Immediately after purchase I ran into trouble trying to do the transfer (TaxCut file grayed out and not accessible). I reached out to Turbotax support and was provided as a "resolution" direction to this hidden gem on their support site: "You can't transfer from TaxCut or TaxACT to TurboTax for the Mac. If you want to transfer from these products, try one of our TurboTax Windows desktop products." Intuit seems intent on maximizing sales and screwing MAC users. If they are not going to support the platform, and continue to mislead consumers that their products function fully on the MAC, then I say we boycott the company's entire product line.
Like (7)
Version 2007.00.02
2 answer(s)
Ghostwriter
Ghostwriter
12 February 2009
Quicken for the Mac has almost always been a marginal product! I stopped using it years ago in favor of the afore mentioned Moneydance! No regrets. Don't use Turbotax either, not necessarily because it is an inferior product, but because of Intuit's continued POOR support for its Mac products. No excuse! Boycott away!
Like (1)
Version 2008
Dom21
Dom21
12 February 2009
You can pay your taxes with Moneydance? I don't see that feature listed on their website.
Like (1)
Version 2008
Machybrid
29 March 2006
ADVICE for TurboTax: Seeing as how there are no listings for newer versions, I will post here. I write this as TurboTax2005 is out. A client who uses TurboTax tried to open their "04" tax file and TurboTax05 simply stated it could not open the file "due to an unknown error". Luckily I made them keep the previous year's CD. After installing TurboTax04 the "04" file opened fine in that version. However, the client could not import the past year's data and had to manually enter the information. Yes, we have run all updates. Yes, we have tried clean installs, etc. For those who insist on using TurboTax, please at least heed this advice: 1) DOWNLOAD THE UPDATES MANUALLY from Intuit's site. Their auto-updater is terrible, and in some cases, needlessly intrusive. (Go to "turbotax.com", click SUPPORT tab near top-right, click "Get the Latest Information" next to Update TurboTax Desktop, click a link that read something like "Manually download and install the update"). Intuit likes to change their web site and frequently moves the location of the Manual Download links. It is there, you may have to call support to get them to direct you. 2) PRINT COPIES FOR YOURSELF of all important forms each year. Also keep past version CDs of TurboTax in case the current version refuses to open past year's files. Another comment on the Manual Update, you can really see Intuit's disdain for the MacOS platform as they require you download multiple files (5 or more) whereas the Windows folks have one file. The one POSITIVE comment I will make about TurboTax2005, is that they finally made the package a Mac/PC combo. It was so incredibly confusing and wasteful to have separate boxes and order numbers for each platform for such a small, single-use product.
Like
Version 2003