Back to Blocs page
Blocs free download for Mac

Blocs Reviews

3.4.1
16 October 2019

Visual web-design tool.

mwelz75
30 March 2019

Most helpful

You only can use ready made blocks, cannot change it. Incompatible between versions.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1

Read 37 Blocs User Reviews

Rate this app:

mwelz75
30 March 2019
You only can use ready made blocks, cannot change it. Incompatible between versions.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
Harry Flashman
10 December 2018
If you have Blocs 2 or use some other app like Rapidweaver do yourself a favour and buy Blocs 3. This is a huge upgrade with regular updates and lots more development in the pipeline.

It offers amazing control with the new column adjustments that allow you to resize visually in a couple seconds at four different breakpoints. Then you can create freehand margin adjustments that automatically set custom classes; again individually configurable at each breakpoint in real time.

Two columns with unequal quantities of content? Just click the full column height alignment to make them equal and while you are there why not create a graduated background on uniquely shaped button to stand out from the crowd.

It includes the ability to create complex forms, plus a wide range of built in design configurations and practically anything you can think of yourself, leveraging the power of Bootstrap 4. It does all of this and much more straight out of the box without having to spend another cent on endless $$ plugins.

Are there things I would change or improve? Yes without a doubt, but with Blocs 3 you get the sense they are all coming pretty soon.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.6
Harry Flashman
24 November 2018
This is actually out of date at Macupdate, since Blocs has now progressed to version 3 and it's a huge update with great improvements. It's strange, but if you search on this site for Blocs you find nothing and have to add the version number before a suggestion appears.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.5
Gprovan
05 June 2018
I've been searching for a web builder to replace Adobe Muse now that they've stopped developing it and came across Blocs.

After trying out the week long demo (which really wasn't long enough to get used to the software) I've come to some conclusions:
As one of the reviewers below has mentioned, it's not really intuitive; there are many, many frustrating moments trying to move blocs to where you want them to be to no avail. You seem to have to create custom classes (like stylesheets) to get anything anywhere close. Surely having all these options readily available in the one panel should be better?

Adding images looks promising, giving an asset library to add to. However, if you're image is bigger than 3MB, it won't add it in. It just tells you that it's too big! Could Blocs not resize to suit like most other applications seem to be able to do?

There's possibly an ability to add webfonts or your own fonts, but I couldn't work this out.

One of the main things that appealed to me was the ability to use a CMS. My clients constantly ask me if they can be given the ability to add and change photos, update news, etc. However, this is not as easy or as user friendly as you would expect. I tried installing October CMS, a freemium CMS. I installed on the server and eventually got it set up. Once I logged in to the 'backend' I quickly realised this was no good! I was faced with an unusual, albeit friendly looking code window. You seem to have to enter the text in what looks like an HTML editor along with links and the relevant code for your images. Surely this isn't what the client wants? I realise October CMS is not developed by Blocs so not really their fault, but I am surprised and disappointed in this integration.

The lack of an FTP upload is strangely lacking. It surely shouldn't be difficult to add this feature to prevent the complete export and upload of the site each time a change is made.

Among the several quirks I found was the strange resizing of images among the responsive layout. There were sometimes gaps at the bottom of images and then they'd disappear.

Anyway, this is just my short experience of Blocs.
I like the drag and drop nature of the application and feel Blocs has a lot of potential. It just has a fair bit to go before I would feel comfortable using it for a client's site - the moment they came back to me and said "could you move that there, or could you add this...", I'd balk.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
pcampbell2010
24 March 2017
This app is close to being perfect BUT the editor is just so WEIRD! The developer obviously spends a lot of time adding good features, but the editor is not intuitive at all. The majority of new users will have a hard time learning the basic editing features.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
1 answer(s)
Norm-1
Norm-1
25 March 2017
Hey I'm the creator. Blocs is a little different but I'd love to know what you think would make it more intuitive in your opinion.
Like (5)
CedricJason
10 February 2017
Amazing what this software can do, its super easy to make your own, responsive, website. The possibilities are endless! Blocs staff listens super good to the feedback and requests and always gets updated to make it even better! 10/10 worth every penny.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.0
Scott-C-H-
08 February 2017
I felt compelled to retract and change my review after learning a bit more HTML5/CSS3 and examining the Blocs codes more closely with a couple of other web developers.

I found the following statements to be untrue, and frankly, dishonest:

“Quality: Blocs generates good quality organized code with no clutter or inline styles.”

If you examine the Blocs.app official site, which claims it was built using Blocs.app, you will see inline styles, and it suffers from “divitis” as well as a truckload of non-semantic class names. General users and those who know just the basics of HTML couldn’t tell the difference, but real developers who know HTML/CSS would cringe at the code.

“No Coding: You don't need to understand or use any coding to build a website with Blocs.”

The irony of GUI web builder tools, in general, is that you can get the most out of it when you know things like how CSS box model works and how you write semantic HTML code. I find it true in this case as well.

“Easy to Use: Blocs is one of the easiest website building tools, anyone can build with Blocs.”

It is only half true. Sure, you can whip up a page, but you still need to know how to use FTP, and some other minor but definite details. You will need to know even more if you want to integrate a CMS or go beyond the most basic features. Online services such as Squarespace is a little more guided, it doesn’t require that users know how to do FTP, and things like that.

“Developer: Blocs generates good quality, clean code. This makes it the perfect springboard to get the basics in place, fast.”

It is just not true as explained above. Most developers who know how to code would cringe at the code and would most likely try reproducing the same layout from scratch using a more standard set of tools and frameworks.

There is also a question about whether you should allow people with no clue about design and basic coding skills to build a website in the first place. A developer with some level of knowledge could create a decent-looking website using Blocks.app, but people with no clue about design, proper content authoring and complete lack of knowledge of HTML/CSS will likely struggle despite Blocs.app’s claims. Tricking those users into believing that web design is as easy as writing something in Microsoft Word is dishonesty in disguise, much like how it was with Macaw editor.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.0
6 answer(s)
Norm-1
Norm-1
09 February 2017
Hey Scott, hello again.

Like I mentioned last time, your review process is very hot and cold, it’s either one star or five stars. I appreciate you’re entitled to your opinion, but from reading your other reviews on various apps in this area, my personal opinion is that you are on some kind of crusade against apps that create websites for none-developers, however I could be wrong.

I’d like to give some feedback to your comments.

Inline styles: Upon export, Blocs actual checks for inline styles in the html and removes them, the only time an inline style is used is to set the height of a hero bloc so that it fits to the height of the screen. This is of course a dynamic application done with Javascript not one that’s static. The copy from our landing page will be updated to reflect this. So in general, there are no inline styles, but the hero bloc will use one dynamically along with JS simply to fill the screen.

Non-semantic Class Names: Users are able to control class names, so this is just down to my personal choice when I created the Blocs site, however, there are some that are generated for you, and they take on the same standardisation as the vanilla Bootstrap ones with the adoption of -sm -md -lg.

Understanding CSS: Yes, it’s true the more you understand about CSS and HTML the more creative you can get with Blocs. But for a lot of people, just being able to create a layout with a few clicks is very empowering.

FTP: Blocs is an app designed for creating websites, it doesn’t handle some of the other tasks that are commonly connected with web development in general, such as handling site hosting or acquiring a domain name or as you stated handling the upload of your site to a server. That’s because Blocs is a tool for creating websites, not hosting them or transferring them to servers.

Code Quality: This is a matter of opinion, in your previous review (5 stars) these are your words “ the generated code also looks well-coded and well-formatted” you actually stated the code quality was good, but now all of a sudden the code quality is bad? You also make a statement about using standard frameworks, almost everything Blocs uses to create web pages is a standard framework from the Bootstrap to animate.css.

From your most recent review, it’s this comment I find the most offensive “There is also a question about whether you should allow people with no clue about design and basic coding skills to build a website in the first place.” Your general tone here does come across condescending, ok we get it you know how to code, but why should someone without the technical knowledge not be encouraged to try?
Like (13)
Norm-1
Norm-1
09 February 2017
Actually a quick follow up to the inline style comment, this actually is outdated information here at Mac Update only. Our site doesn't include this statement anymore and hasn't for over a year now.
Like (6)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
09 February 2017
I don’t care whether someone listens to what I have to say about each app I use and review, and I don’t care whether they end up buying the apps I think are not good, either. I do believe, though, that I have a moral obligation to inform others of all the pros and cons I have discovered so others could make a better decision than I did. I am writing stuff for my own conscience’s sake.

I appreciate you took the time to comment thoroughly, and I would like to respond to each point.

## Inline styles

It’s great to hear that the direction Blocs.app is taking is right. However, the dynamic JS height trick you talk about is still not how a web developer with semantic coding skills would code a website. I wouldn’t blame you for that, though. It simply shows that it’s hard to get a piece of software to handle something like this.

## Non-semantic class names

Users can control *some* class names but not all, especially when you use one of the built-in components. It is not unique to Blocks.app. I’ve seen the same limitation with practically every visual builder I’ve tried. Pinegrow, for example, is able to whip up a landing page with its pre-fabricated components, but it gives me class names like “section-1” “section-2”, etc. The only way to change that is to go through every class name and manually change them in CSS.

## Understanding CSS

Should we empower amateurs by tricking them into thinking that web design is as easy as creating a document in MS Word and none of the code quality stuff matters because it looks fine on the surface? You call this stance condescending, but I call your comment dishonesty. There is nothing new about any of this. Dreamweaver has already tried back in 1990’s. Graphic designers thought they no longer needed to code, they disrespected coders and called them HTML monkeys, and they spewed billions of lines of generated spaghetti codes all over the Internet. We ended up with so many gazillions of websites that were slow to load, difficult to maintain, and nightmarish for coders to add backend features. Macaw is a more recent reincarnation of the same old garbage. The whole industry hyped Macaw so much to the point that Jeffery Zeldman would spend an hour interviewing the lead developer on his show. They claimed that it was the beginning of the end of handcoding, people will “code visually” and so on. It took them only about a couple of years before they completely abandoned it and sold themselves to InVision.

All these sagas are a sign of people trying in vain to find a technological solution for the wrong high-level approach.

Amateurs can “empower” themselves by learning to code HTML/CSS/Bootstrap. The industry has made HTML/CSS into a rubber dragon at this point. It’s not that hard to learn. Nobody is saying they shouldn’t. Why do we keep telling them the lie that they can make a “professional website” without coding?

## FTP

Copout. What’s the point of building a website if they can’t even upload it to somewhere on the Internet?

## Code quality

Yes, I changed my stance on this matter. That’s why I added this to my previous review: “Hence, I rate my five-star review 1/2 star, and I hereby denounce the positive review.” I rate my own review 1/2 star because it turned out that it was largely based on ignorance on my part and therefore I wrote an incorrect, bad review.

## Encouraged to try?

They should not be encouraged to try doing it the wrong way. Instead, the industry should encourage them to try the right way, and it is to learn to code and handle it directly. Dreamweaver encouraged them to do it the wrong way, and guess where it led them? It kept them from learning to code, it kept them believe that they were not at fault, and real coders suffered. Who said they couldn’t try learning to code? It’s not that hard.
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
11 February 2017
Not exactly changing my mind regarding overall principles, but in light of Norm-1’s respectful and thorough response, I felt like it deserved yet another look.

I admit that I missed one fact about the software: Norm-1 is right, you can indeed change most of the class names that says “bloc,” even the ones assigned by default, right in the Class Manager. That's cool.

I also admit that it is indeed kind of fun to be able to quickly whip up a nice looking landing page in a matter of a few minutes. Mentally, it is much less taxing than manually coding or even editing a template manually in code. No denying on that for sure. Although I advocate working with code, I am struggling to determine whether it matters as much as I think it does. Clean code, sure, but to what extent? Coding everything by hand is tedious and, I confess, it is prone to typos and unclosed tags. The approach Blocs.app seems to suggest is indeed tempting.

I guess I will take back some of my previous comments and keep an eye on this app. I can be very critical, but I am also for supporting developers. I was probably a bit harsher than I had to be.
Like (2)
Norm-1
Norm-1
11 February 2017
Scott this is crazy, I simply can't believe you have come back again and in some respects, changed your mind again, to some degree.

Let me offer some advice. Your comments come from a place were you want to encourage people to code websites by hand, learn the craft you have because you see that as the only way to do a truly great job. Not everyone has the time or the capacity / general interest to do this. Technology is here to make things easier, which ever way you look at it, the future of web design is to simplify the process of getting from A to B but still allow for creativity. I'll be honest, your comments at times insinuate developers like myself (who have deadicated years of work to try and make this breakthrough) out to be liars and in some respect fraudsters. Honestly I can't tell you how much that hurts to hear, when it's not our intentions at all, we want to make building websites more accessible so anyone can try, you just never know we're that path may lead that person who otherwise would never have tried.

My idea for Blocs came when playing MindCraft with my 6 yr old nephew. I thought this game (MindCraft) is just a 3D modelling app made so simple kids can use it, I'd love a web design tool that does this. So I made it. To some degree a child could build a basic site in Blocs (zero coding), why is that a bad thing? If anything, it opens new doors at an even younger age.

I know it's important for you to be honest, but try to consider, someone, somewhere made this app, lost hours of sleep trying to make it the best they could.

Be honest but also be fair and try to look at how effective the app (you're cutting down) is to a broader audience, rather than just yourself. I know that's hard, but it's what makes a good review.
Like (10)
Tim27
Tim27
11 February 2017
Hey Scott, I'm a web designer that knows html/css and I've done coding by hand, as well as used apps like Dreamweaver, GoLive (even before Adobe bought it), Coda, and several others. I'd like to give you a little feedback on your comment and what I've learned over the years, especially with the rise of the mobile web. Here is my revelation...
No one cares about website code except people who code. The end result and how it works is what's important. That there are no errors and everything looks how it's supposed to look. Your parents don't care what the backend code on a website looks like or how many div's there are. They want a website to work when they click on buttons. That's pretty much it. That's the most important lesson I've learned about designing and building sites and I've been doing it since 1997 when I started learning using Claris Homepage.
That said, Blocs is a much easier app to use and produces better code than Dreamweaver (or at least what Dreamweaver used to - I haven't used it in a while). For people that don't want to get their hands too dirty with code it's a fantastic option. And actually, this app is way easier to use than Microsoft Word from my experience (especially Word 6).
If you are looking for an app that let's you control the code even more, while still giving you an interface, then I would recommend Pinegrow, which is also a fantastic app, but more complex.
Like (11)
Michael-Sebrecht
24 December 2016
Amazing website WYSIWYG builder. Creating truly amazing looking website is so easy. It can make your website standout from any thing else. Highly recommended to give it a try !
Like (7)
Version 2.2.2
Scott-C-H-
09 November 2016
Modified rating: Five stars

This comment is my attempt to correct my previous rating below. Since MU doesn't give me the option to delete it, I am posting this so that people know the developer of Blocs doesn't deserve a rash, incorrect comment I made earlier.

After giving a lot more time experimenting with Blocs, I have to say that this is an impressive piece of software.

It allows you to build a modern, professionally-looking website in a matter of minutes without having to do fiddly hand-coding. "Professionally-looking" doesn't stop at aesthetics; the generated code also looks well-coded and well-formatted. You can even customize IDs and Classes right in its GUI panel, so the generated code will look just as if you coded by hand.

I believe it's great not just for non-coders but also for developers and designers who are building websites for clients. It's a great springboard tool for prototyping that they could develop into a production site. They might even be able to create a finished site if the design/feature requirements are minimal. Those who are familiar with Bootstrap should be able to get a ton out of this time-saving tool.

Overall, the developer of Blocs has done an admirable job. Blocs delivers.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
08 February 2017
I felt compelled to retract and change my overly-positive review after learning a bit more HTML5/CSS3 and examining the Blocs codes more closely with a couple of other web developers. Hence, I rate my five-star review 1/2 star, and I hereby denounce the positive review.
Like
Scott-C-H-
08 November 2016
Not a bad software, but it's too expensive for what it is. Bootstrap Studio is a better deal in my opinion. (https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/55596/bootstrap-studio)

It generates the code that is easily identifiable as a Blocs-generated site, so it is not for anyone who cares about clean and quality code. It's ok for those who want a "No code necessary" type website builder, but then I suspect they would be better off using a hosted solution such as Squarespace.

Design variation is also limited. It generates a typical landing page layout that's already overused all over the web.

HTML/CSS isn't that hard. You might want to try this website before shelling out $80 on this software:

http://jgthms.com/web-design-in-4-minutes/
Like
Version 2.2.2
4 answer(s)
Norm-1
Norm-1
08 November 2016
Just looked at a few of your reviews for other apps in this area and I see you just copy and paste the same paragraphs. 2.5/5 wow looks like I got off lightly :) $80 is cheap when you consider how much it costs to use a hosted solution for a single year. And it's peanuts to a dev, most devs I know charge more than $80 an hour.
Like (1)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
09 November 2016
Actually, I changed my mind later and tried to delete my reviews, but MU doesn't give me the option to do that. I think you are absolutely right, and I was utterly wrong in a few of my recent reviews.

I fiddled with it some more after writing my first impression and found it to be pretty good. Sure you could hand code your static site, but this is FAR easier, FAR quicker and, once exported, the overall code quality is not bad at all. You could host a Blocs-generated site anywhere. So, you could host it on a cheap hosting and skip paying for a SaaS.

Developers who can code could still use this as a springboard to kick-start a project or even use it as a prototyping tool.

So, yes, I stand corrected. I will post a revised review since I can't delete this one.
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
09 November 2016
Correction: MU won't even let me post a revised review, so I guess I will have to just regard my reply as a correction. Sorry about all this. :(
Like
Norm-1
Norm-1
09 November 2016
Don't worry about it :)
Like
Staps Fanny
22 October 2016
Very cool app to create stunning sites. I don't like the dark GUI but it is intuitive and easy to access. Well worth to check it out when you want to great fancy looking sites. A bit too expensive imo.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
2y2d
08 September 2016
Really Nice ;) but more flexibility with SEO would be amazing !!!!!!
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Norm-1
Norm-1
08 September 2016
Hey, what SEO control do think Blocs lacks? It currently lets you set SEO, titles, descriptions and keywords per page.

I'm the creator, I'd love to make the SEO feature set better.
Like (1)
Fixx
01 August 2016
Ok I have tried this some. Looks like a lot of work in progress. There are difficulties in styling text. Most text settings seems to be global for some reason, it is very hard to make local overrides. Hard to find a way to set heading level. Etc. Beautiful responsive output though.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Fixx
Fixx
01 August 2016
Also hard to make text size responsive. Using vw as unit sometimes work but text tends to fall back to px.
Like
Ollie1972
29 July 2016
Blocs2 is now the only to-go tool to build high professional looking and working websites. Great GUi that makes building sites without writing one single line of code. Many are using Rapdiweaver, which isn't bad etiher, but RW still requires some knowledge and most of all, you have to buy a lot of plugins before you can create a nice website. In the end Blocs2 delivers from day one. AWESOME WEBDESIGN TOOL !!
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Albertkinng
Albertkinng
16 August 2016
Let me see if I understand you correctly (I am thinking to upgrade Rapid Weaver soon so, your answer will help me to make that decision better)
Are you saying that everything I do with my Rapidweaver plus my Stacks 3 and Plugins are going to be easy to do with Blocs? I mean I hate to keep buying stacks and plugins overtime my client need something in their website.

You are 100% sure that anything a stack or plugin do for RW I would be able to do it with Blocs? please be honest with your answer
Like
Baccaroeja
04 July 2016
Surprisingly easy to use webs designer app. The sites you can create are truly eye catchers and very professional looking. Superb app and very highly recommended for everyone who wants to create a awesome website - both pro and novices.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.10
dpenrose
25 May 2016
There is ONE important reason that the folks at BLOCS APP deserve a "5" ... an easy to learn/use app that builds sophisticated and sleek responsive websites in MINUTES not hours, days or months.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.5
pietz
15 May 2016
i had the privilege of trying blocs 2.0 during the closed beta and i must say im pretty excited about it. to be honest i thought it would be impossible to satisfy my needs, as i was looking for a web design tool thats not so much aimed at beginners anymore. but the developer behind blocs totally pulled it off.

The UI of v2 is just as simple to understand as the first version of blocs. it just feels more mature and grown up by now. beginners are still able to create pretty cool looking sites in literally no time. if you know what you're aiming for, you can easily create a fully functioning one-pager in less than 5 minutes. with some getting used to the workflow you can probably do it in less than 1 minute without adjusting the text.

so what about power users? well they would throw together a site just like a beginner would, but after it you have this entire new level of settings and options to tweak. and thats what make the difference for me. with blocs 1.x i sometimes hit a wall where the capabilities of the software ended, but now its a totally different story. id recommend going to the website of blocs and checking out the 2 introduction videos. they show what i mean.

but even if you are a professional web developer that loves raw code. i bet you anything that theres no way that you could create a raw skeleton of a website faster than in blocs. there is no drawing like there was in macaw, theres also no drag & drop. you only click to add elements and select what you want. its really super fast.

so in the end, theres something for everybody inside Blocs 2.0 and i recommend you check out the trial and see for yourself.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.0
achim-j-dehmel
11 May 2016
Wonderful app, clean design, smart features
Like
Version 2.0.0
AlexHughy
04 April 2016
Great tool! But where is v2 ? It was 'promised' for February/March 2016 release.
Like
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Damian Weiss
Damian Weiss
10 May 2016
Version 2 of Blocs is out now. Just have a look at their website. A demo version is available. Enjoy :-)
Like
mfgv89!
10 February 2016
Have been using Blocs for 5 days straight now, and can happily say that I developed a full website in ~ 7 hours with multiple pages, forms, links etc.

I am unfortunately disappointed with several bugs and limitations with the software, especially with the price point it is currently at. I have outlined these below and hope that Blocs 2 would address many if not all these points.


- It would be great if rearranging page tabs would automatically rearrange them on site nav menu

- Add ability to assign a new home page or delete it and make another page a new home page (I deleted the body from the old one and wasn't able to get it back so everything I created was in the footer which made me have to create a new "home" page.

- Add ability to drag blocs into either the footer or the body

- Fix bug that lets you delete body section with no way of adding it again

- Add ability to drag blocs around and move them with mouse

- Add ability to re-size images within the blocs app (by using the mouse and dragging the corner to make it bigger or smaller).

- Add ability to double stack the nav menu (for example if you have a log in, register, etc. option you would like to add above the nav menu. I know Pingendo has this ability.

- Add Google maps integration (ability to type in an address and add a map to show it physically)

- Add an E-commerce option to integrate with Paypal or other forms of payment

- Add ability to print the web page from within the app for design reviews

- Add ability to insert plank brics as spacers or allow margin adjustment for every item not just images

- There is a bug where on some pages, even though the “include sticky nav area” is checked, it does not appear when viewing in browser mode.

- Add ability to re-size videos

- Add ability to copy brics and move them to different pages

- Add an integration with Wordpress or a form of publishing the website so that making continuous edits is a breeze. Pinegrow for example has this and many of these options at a lower price point.

Overall, a good app I must say. Just missing some core features to make it an exceptional one.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
Fixx
Fixx
20 April 2016
Many of those requests are pro stuff -- there are other more powerful tools for them. I think Blocs is more for a casual user. That said, indeed in many areas features and boosting is needed. In carousel there should be a fader option too, and options to change timing (both slide duration and transition length, preferably in seconds -- if you insist using quick-medium-long there should be extra long too).
I was pleased to see I can set headlines to scale as responsive design. Initially I set text size in vw (viewport percentage) and Blocs seems to translate it to something else but it works.
Like
Shooters
27 January 2016
Brilliant website builder based on Bootstrap. It has to be said: the GUI is a bit strange and needs some time to get things going. But the results are awesome indeed! V2 is in the making and promise a lot of pro level features. Can't wait to get my hands on this. :)
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
Aragorn07
26 November 2015
Blocs 1.5.3 is completely buggy.
the contact form doesn't send e-mail and if I add other fields like check email not sent.
Images lose links (with a large number of images i'm frustrated to re-setup broken links).
If you use two galleries on the same page, but in two distinct blocks, after seeing the last image of the first gallery, continues with the first image of the second gallery.
Carousel with fill size 100% doesn't work, the carousel is left-aligned.
Everything is slow, sometimes I have to close and reopen because blocs is completely frozen. Now I understand it's called Blocs.
I don't recommend this buggy software!!!
Like
Version 1.5.0
macupdate_275
19 October 2015
I am sad. Because I had to search so long before finding Blocs. I tried a few monthly-plan web site builders (wix, weebly, squarespace) and some which you would buy (Macaw, RSD @ coffeecup) and was close to giving up and sticking with RSD. Websitebuilder was my last favorite but it would not only cost monthly (adds up) but also means you have to use one host without having control about the performance (loading time matters for google some say). So RSD was what I would go for TILL I TRIED BLOCS !!! I hope Norm_1 (and his team?) will have the time to make some improvements (like more photo galleries) and be very successful, just the marketing needs to be more. The name BLOCS is just not out there. It's so hard to find. Isn't that sad? Feel free to shoot me a line. Cheers Peter zebralounge cebu
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
michel
michel
02 November 2015
Hi everybody,

Maybe one of you can help me.
I am looking for new software for making a website.
I am now using the Serif Webplus software, but I visited the Blocs website and I am interested, because it works simple.

Can anybody inform me how you must upload the website to the internet by using the Blocs software?

I hope some one can help.

Best regards,

Michel Bos
Netherlands.
Like
macupdate_275
19 October 2015
I am sad. Because I had to search so long before finding Blocs. I tried a few monthly-plan web site builders (wix, weebly, squarespace) and some which you would buy (Macaw, RSD @ coffeecup) and was close to giving up and sticking with RSD. Websitebuilder was my last favorite but it would not only cost monthly (adds up) but also means you have to use one host without having control about the performance (loading time matters for google some say). So RSD was what I would go for TILL I TRIED BLOCS !!! I hope Norm_1 (and his team?) will have the time to make some improvements (like more photo galleries) and be very successful, just the marketing needs to be more. The name BLOCS is just not out there. It's so hard to find. Isn't that sad? Feel free to shoot me a line. Cheers Peter zebralounge cebu
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
pietz
25 September 2015
Blocs 1.5 is out with some major new features that i love. i easily want to bump my old review to 4 stars, which is why im writing this new one. background video and sticky navs make a whole lot of a difference!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
Shallowp
08 August 2015
Discovered this great app today ! Wow, this is massive useable website builder app to make awesome looking websites without knowing anything about coding. Granted, the GUI is very strange looking and you definitely need some adaptation using it. I widely uses animation, both in Blocs itself and for creating website animations, to a great effect. It is not perfect though. It locked in some random occasions making it unreliable atm. The developers do have a tendency to improving it on regular basis so bugs are fixed quickly. Blocs 2.0 is on the way and therefore I wait buying it right now. Hopes are high it will be awesome and replace Rapidweaver for a lot of people.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Shallowp
08 August 2015
Discovered this great app today ! Wow, this is massive useable website builder app to make awesome looking websites without knowing anything about coding. Granted, the GUI is very strange looking and you definitely need some adaptation using it. I widely uses animation, both in Blocs itself and for creating website animations, to a great effect. It is not perfect though. It locked in some random occasions making it unreliable atm. The developers do have a tendency to improving it on regular basis so bugs are fixed quickly. Blocs 2.0 is on the way and therefore I wait buying it right now. Hopes are high it will be awesome and replace Rapidweaver for a lot of people.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
pietz
31 July 2015
When i started using Blocs it was a clear 5 Star application for me, because it was very easy to learn and it didnt take much time to deploy really good looking websites. For somebody just starting out with web design, who doesnt want to write code, Blocs is an easy recommendation to buy. So what has changed for me? Well, i wouldnt call myself a web developer or professional designer, but I'm definitely heading that way and i need tools that can help me grow. With Blocs you currently reach the limits of whats possible really fast. -You can't modify the html and css from inside the application -You can't open existing projects based on their html & css file structure -You can't create and select themes for buttons or ui styles -You can't control all of the element settings like you can inside css -Blocs doesn't output plain bootstrap code Where is all of this coming from? in the past weeks i've been playing with tools like Pingendo or Webflow, which bring a few things to the table I absolutely love and for me personally Blocs needs these features! Pingendos project structure is completely based on Bootstraps HTML & CSS. There are no project files. you open and edit the html & css natively but visually. They call it a visual editor and i simply love that approach. Webflow is a lot more powerful when it comes to element modification, because you can pretty much change everything thats possible inside a css file. It removes the problem that all ebsites kind of look the same, as it is ith blocs. With both of these applications you can add custom css or JS projects which has become more and more important to me. So why am I still using Blocs or want to use it? Well, Blocs is easily the best looking application of the bunch and its very well structured and organized. its just a joy to use. its performance is great, its a desktop application opposed to subscription based Webflow and it feels much more robust than Pingendo, although there are quite a few bugs going on. Blocs is still very young so complaining about a certain missing features might be rude, but Blocs is quite costly at $70 so i'm also expacting a lot. Summary: If you're relatively new to web design and want to easily create top notch looking websites, Blocs is definitely for you. If you want reach beyong the style that Blocs has built in and create your very own or you want to be able to tweak code snippets inside the application or add custom JS projects, Blocs cant do that as of right now. Lastly I want to say again how impressed I am with Blocs extremely active development and the things im critisising right now might be gone in 2 months. I do hope so.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.2
2 answer(s)
Norm-1
Norm-1
31 July 2015
A very fair review, you'll be happy to know Blocs is only going to get better with alot more control coming for power users. By early 2016 you will see a huge difference in custom control and the type of projects Blocs lets you work on which will really set it apart from other apps on the market.
The only thing I doubt will change is the file type, it does offer a lot of benefits going forward.
Like
pietz
pietz
06 August 2015
Norm, you're much more experienced concerning that topic. If you say there'll be an advantage for native Blocs filetypes, I cant wait to try it out in the future :)
Like
AlexHughy
28 July 2015
First things first. I am horrible with html5, ccs, .. and all the things you need to hard code websites. But I did made a several websites for small companies, sport clubs, .. all using Rapidweaver. Using it for years and happy doing this. I never found something that could replace it until I stumbled on Blocs.
At first look it is looking different and minimalistic. I can understand some people are scared about this and turn it off pretty quickly. I'd say .. give it a good twist before ditching it because it is a very capable app for making bootstrap-a-like website (read: used by many many modern sites nowadays - hell, even Apple uses the bootstrap base code).
Just explore things by inserting blocs, brics, backgrounds (parallax or static), images, movies, animations, ... and you quickly build a very complex pro looking website.
Ones you know how it works, it is a joy to use and way easier compared with Rapidweaver to achieve the same (even with the Blocks plugin and bootstrap themes).

Of course there are some 'flaws':
- As far as I know it is not possible to have a carrousel with a timer so images are changed automatically.
- Fixed navigation bar
- No side navigation bar possible.
- No form bric (yet?)
- No way to insert custom html (for example html5 animations). Would be great if it possible to add Hype5 code :-)

The devs seems to be very actively improving Blocs and I have no doubt it will improve with every new release.

One last note: I think the app is a bit overpriced. $69.99 is a lot. It is the only thing holding me back for buying it. It would be great knowing if you get v2.0 for a free upgrade too. Otherwise a price drop to about $50 would justify it more.

Still a solid 4 stars for this great innovative app.

Forgotten to add:
Support needs to be done via a public forum. I would like see a personal private contact address too.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Norm-1
Norm-1
28 July 2015
Thanks for the feedback, I'll look into adding a private support system.
Like (2)
Xplicit
27 July 2015
I really wanted to love this app, had my credit card ready. But after having tested it for a few hours now unfortunately I must say that this app is not ready for prime time. Its usability is bad: It's not intuitive, no tool tips, no explanations, nothing. Pages exist only as tabs, no list, no overview, whatever. It's also buggy, the sidebar shows for a page sometimes the page settings, sometimes site and page settings. Close a tab and you get a warning if you really want to delete that page ... but not always. After closing a tab the page is gone ... but not always, sometimes when you click about the closed tab with that page appears again. But you cannot be sure. I also experienced that when you want to change the background colour in a selected bloc the bg colour in a totally different bloc changed. Tried to build the example "Surf Summer" shown on blocsapp.com. Not possible. How do I set a background image for the body? Couldn't find that out. Support didn't answer that either. Bummer. Sorry, but this is 1 star only. Maybe version 2 will be usable.
Like
Version 1.4.2
13 answer(s)
AlexHughy
AlexHughy
27 July 2015
This is a very unfair rating. Reading your 'review' just shows you didn't dig into this wonderful app. For example setting a background image for body is plain easy (static or parallax).
Yes, it does not have tool tips but the pictographs are very explanatory enough to know what it does or doesn't.

Giving this one star rating is plain stupidity.
Like (3)
Xplicit
Xplicit
27 July 2015
On the contrary. There is nothing unfair, the app just doesn't work. And I did "dig" into it, and I deeply regret all the time I wasted trying to build a webpage like the one presented on blocsapp.com which is not possible. But I already said that. Setting a background image for the body, which includes navbar and footer is not possible, you know, like with "body {background-image: url("img/newyork.jpg"); background-size: cover;}".

Bad usability, too little features, buggy. Come on, why are you defending the app? Because it looks good? Are you the developer? Then stop whining and do a better job. Are you a friend of the developer? Then stop whining and tell him to do a better job. Or is it because you wasted your money and really regret it but you cannot admit to yourself? Well, don't write stupid defences on here, tell the developer there are some issues and ask him to fix those.
Like
Norm-1
Norm-1
28 July 2015
Hey I'm actually the developer. Sorry your initial experience with Blocs wasn't what you expected. Reading over your comments I noticed a few things that are actually features not bugs such as linked colour swatches.

In blocs a single swatch can be assigned to any element, when that swatch is updated it updates all objects with that swatch assigned.

Blocs is very new but it's improving monthly, I've taken all of your feedback and will defiantly look into improving blocs in some areas that you mentioned.

It's totally your option but I really don't think Blocs is a one star app, I mean Mac World reviewed it and it got almost 5 out of 5 because the reviewer gave it a good play with for almost 5 days, plus he read the user manual. There are thousands of users who have really resonated with Blocs and its approach and I don't personally Know AlexHughy but he is obviously one of the users who sees the potential so just except that he gets the app.

Anyway maybe blocs 2.0 will be a better fit for you, I better get back to work :)

Oh and the surf summer site just uses the hero bloc, with an image set as background, it's not covering the entire body, the hero bloc just fits to the screen height so more content can be placed below.
Like (2)
AlexHughy
AlexHughy
28 July 2015
@Xplicit
So when someone is giving comments on your 'reviews' he is the dev or a friend. Good thinking.
Taken a fast peek at some other reviews you wrote - the only thing I can say is - start coding yourself and see if you can do better. Sigh ..
Like (3)
Xplicit
Xplicit
28 July 2015
@Alex Exactly ... sigh ... You still didn't read, did you? Please, please do, your comments are so useless. I am a developer myself. I won't reply to you anymore, it's a waste of my time.
Like
Xplicit
Xplicit
28 July 2015
@Norm_1 Honestly I think Blocs has the chance to be the best app of this kind out there (really, thumbs up) and I would gladly pay $69 which is a fair price for this kind of app because it would save me a lot of time. I would also give it 5 stars here. But at the moment it just doesn't work for me at all. The 1 star rating wasn't personal it was just how I perceived the app. It was, sorry to say that, quite a frustrating experience for me.
Like
AlexHughy
AlexHughy
28 July 2015
@Xplicit:
You are a developer. Interesting. Please provide us a link to one of your apps so we can take a peek. I await silence ..
Like
Xplicit
Xplicit
28 July 2015
@Norm_1:
I have absolutely no problem with AlexHughy getting the app and his opinion. But he seems to have a problem with others opinions if they are not like his, mine for example. He even hasn't bought your app and is defending it like I did attack him personally or so. He even called me stupid. Very immature person. I won't waste any more time on him.
Good for you that Mac World reviewed it and it got almost 5 out of 5. I think it has a lot of potential, but I don't buy potential ... at least not until there's a substantial discount involved, you know what I mean.
And how am I supposed to find the "hero bloc" if there are no tool tips?
Like
pietz
pietz
30 July 2015
i have to agree with AlexHughly many of the things you say dont add up.

To get the personal out of the way: Alex never called you stupid, he referred to your rating and review as stupidity. this is logic 101, something you learn in your first programming class. you on the other hand acted like a child when saying "stop whining"

everybody is entitled to their opinion and so am i when i tell you the things you said dont add up. your review is written like you tested blocs for weeks, although you specifically said that you only played around for a few hours.

you criticize things not being explained? can you just take a look at the 2nd screenshot? everything is labeled and everything is explained. Blocs is one of the most intuitive apps i have used . i talked to people on the forum who have never designed a website before and they were surprised by how easy it is. if you find it unintuitive i simply cannot believe that youre a developer of anything. but please prove me wrong.

you cannot find the background image option? omg, its even visible in the 1st screenshot here. i can see it on a 300px wide miniature screenshot of blocs, why can you not find it?

there are 55 year old soccer moms who think of their shoes when hearing the term "bootstrap" and they still can build websites in blocs. but you found it unintuitive? you said it doesnt work?

you rated this app with the worst possible rating. meaning this is one of the absolute worst apps you have ever used. and then you say it has the potential to become the best app out there. you even gave the developer a thumbs up for this app and yet you give it the worst possible rating of 1 star?

i checked out your profile. you give EVERY app you rate 5 stars or 1 star. there is nothing in between for you. this shows very emotional and completely illogical behaviour, if you ask me and still you try to defend your opinion?

i want to give you an advice, and i dont mean this in a trash talk kind of way, i mean it in a very honest trying to help you kind of way: get your facts straight man. learn what it means to have an application being worth 1 star and the same for 5 stars. dont be emotional when reviewing things, be analytic. dont act like a child and complain about the behavious of others. dont lie about being a developer because that seems to underline that you know what youre talking about. be rational.
Like (1)
Xplicit
Xplicit
30 July 2015
@pietz
Very long read, not very inspiring though. Some honest advice to you: you should keep your advice or help to yourself. Every point of your analysis of me is wrong. I especially wonder, how you can be so sure I lied about being a developer (which I don't lied about by the way). You were just guessing. Truly analytic method I must say.

You don't seem to know how ratings work, although it's quite simple: people give an app ratings and those ratings differ. Some like the app and give a good rating, some don't like the app and give a bad rating. you get that? Also there's a total rating which is the average of all ratings. and the average rating is better the more good ratings and the less bad ratings are given.

I really wonder what's the problem here with my bad rating which was based on my bad experience (= app was not usable for me at all).
Like
pietz
pietz
31 July 2015
no worries this is the last time you'll hear from me. i just have to end this in a satisfying way for myself, im a bit weird regarding this, i admit.

most of my analysis is based on things you wrote in this very thread and can be proven true by anybody reading them. making your sentence "every point of your analysis is wrong" a false statement. a little ironic actually.

also you didn't come back on a single specific thing i argued about regarding your review. i dont blame you because my reasoning my completely logical and there is probably nothing to argue against.

yours however doesnt really seem that way. i never said that youre not a developer. i said, i couldnt believe that you are one. and not surprisingly on this topic you didnt get back to me with specifics either.

i understand your reasoning on rating precisely, but imho its just too emotional, like it also shows in your other ratings and the way you described it. you like it it or you dont like, easy as that right?

to answer your last question, because i detect you really mean that one as well: there is absolutely nothing wrong with your rating. there is something wrong with your reasoning and thats the part bothering me. and gladly im not alone. very much opposed to you. i wish you luck.
Like
SpiessensMark
SpiessensMark
02 August 2015
Mr Xplicit (not registered as a develop with this name at MU) seems to have the habit to give low rating in general. Not that I care but it would be awesome if he shares a link to his apps. I'm eager to test drive his creations and see if he can do better.

@Norm_1 : ignore such reviews. They are counterproductive to say the least.
Like (1)
Xplicit
Xplicit
06 August 2015
@pietz
What's ironic is actually that you're obviously so much self-complacent you don't seem to understand what others are writing. Maybe you're just not able to, who knows. For example I complained about Blocs, about not being able to change the background image of the body. And you said "omg, its even visible in the 1st screenshot here". What you described there was the background image option for one block only, not for the entire body. You obviously didn't read and you also don't seem to know a lot about web development. One advice, if you don't know what you're talking about, you shouldn't try to lecture others. Makes you look a little stupid. And that's why I didn't come back to any of your arguments, because it would have been useless. Have a nice day.
Like
Xplicit
26 July 2015
5 days trial period? What happened to 14 days let alone 30 days? And why not 7? As if I have time to fully check an app like this within such a short period of time. And you can't just have a quick look because the clock starts to tick then. By the way, after my quick look, which was right before I wrote this, my impression was "cool interface, but not very intuitive". If I won't be able to test the app more within 5 days this will be my opinion of it. Dear developer, you really want to risk that? And don't think about all those who would use a longer trial period to complete a project. They wouldn't buy your app anyway.
Like
Version 1.4.2
3 answer(s)
AlexHughy
AlexHughy
27 July 2015
I guess you want devs to make free apps only. Figures your one star rating.
Like
Xplicit
Xplicit
27 July 2015
Alex, your comment is so much fail, it took me a while to figure out how to respond. I'll try it with explaining, let's see if you can understand.

Did you actually read my comment and review on Blocs? I guess not. Where did I say something about free? I develop software myself, so I know exactly what I'm talking about. But I guess you don't, considering your silly comment. $69 would be a fair price for Blocs, as I said in my review, and I would have been happy to pay. But this app at this point is not worth the $69, because it's not working well.

Some personal advice: Always read to the end, then think a while and only then post a comment on the net.
Like (1)
pietz
pietz
30 July 2015
trial periods are for getting to know the application. yes? you can write an extensive review about blocs after a few hours, but youre complaining that 5 days is not enough?

but since you honestly mean your question, let me give you an honest answer: you can learn blocs fast, like really fast. and you can easily deploy quite a few websites in 30 days. even in 14. or even in 7.

so Norm (the devoloper of blocs) has a problem. he wants to give people a chance on trying blocs, but this period of time cant be too long because quite a few people only need blocs for this one website project and if theyre done in 12 days, they dont need to buy the app anymore. so 5 days is a fair middle ground. and lets not forget: most apps dont give you a trial period at all :)
Like (1)
mrsidoric
24 July 2015
Love the look and simplicity and will check it out. The W3C Validator found the developers website atrocious on standards: https://validator.w3.org/nu/?doc=http%3A%2F%2Fblocsapp.com%2F
Like
Version 1.4.2
Zac
23 July 2015
Incredible app, beautifully, tastefully designed. Worth every penny.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Anthony-Jr-
22 July 2015
This app is absolutely gorgeous and takes the stress away from modern Web 2.0 webpage designs. Would recommend to beginners and seasoned developers alike.
Like
Version 1.4.0
Bort1611
26 April 2015
Screenshot given above is from "Sketches for Pages"; do not be misled. This app looks nothing like the screenshot.
Like
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Bort1611
Bort1611
30 April 2015
After update to 1.3.0 still has the wrong screenshot.
Like
Tim27
28 February 2015
This is only getting started, but by just downloading it and playing around a bit I can already say it's better than Macaw. I was so excited about Macaw and backed the Kickstarter, and was so let down by the product itself. Blocs had no hype around it and I didn't even know about it until seeing it here and I am very impressed. Can't wait to see how it evolves.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
Mauko
28 January 2015
This is awesome, still in the beginning, waiting for new things to come (that's why I only give a 4.5 rating) Simple clever web design tool, nice! Version 1.0.10 but 1.1.0 will be released soon...
Like
Version 1.0.6