Back to WALTR page
WALTR free download for Mac

WALTR Reviews

1.7.3
11 February 2017

Convert video and music directly into iPhone and iPad without iTunes.

TilemanDothias
31 December 2014

Most helpful

Despite it is overpriced, at first glance this app has something to go for. It has a simple elegant user interface. Perfect when you want something to be playable on your Apple devices. Looking more closely reveals this app has no consistent experience and therefore questionable for daily needs. My experience shows good results are only guaranteed when using a file that has x264 avc video and aac audio. But those files already play fine natively on all Apple devices. No need for waltr. iTunes can transfer those safe as well. If the file includes other video or audio, lots of things are going wrong at random. Audio gets out of sync after a while, distorted or heavily gained audio or worse, no audio at all. Uploading to an iPad Air2 sometimes stopped promptly without any warning or indication something went wrong. Retrying did work, sometimes it did not. Avi files are badly transcoded. Not one avi file I uploaded performed well. Less than satisfactory video quality and it struggles with strange jumps in both audio and video. Skipping/searching while playing an uploaded movie is at times terrible. In some cases it even locked the movie completely and I was left staring at a nice black screen. I had no choice other than to completely reset the iPad. Chapter indexes are also lost when transcoding took place. When no transcoding is needed, it does copy chapters. Odd. Looking at the transcoded file size after uploading to an iPad, I noticed they were kinda huge. The same quality was achieved with permute with almost 40% of the file size. My iPad only has 16GB so file size does matter   I always use a tool called "permute" for doing my transcoding to my iPad and with very good results. Though waltr does occasionally work, it sadly does not qualify for my needs, namely "A tool that always works".
Like (11)
Version 1.0.7

Read 98 WALTR User Reviews

Rate this app:

67begemot
13 November 2019
Ребята просто супер, сделали всё возможное, чтобы программа WALTR заработала,рекомендую всем и программу и тех поддержку.
Like
Version 1.7.3
chant40
06 July 2019
Need help: My softorino converter stop working (not knowing it needs an upgrade), with little time at hand I rushed into buying softorino 2. Questions: 1. I have both installed on the same MacBook, can I transfer one to an iPad after upgrading the softorino converter?
Like
Version 1.7.3
zenklusen-a
17 November 2018
Great tool and fantastically fast and helpful support. Top Marks! Thank you Waltr.
Like
Version 1.7.3
taylanpince
11 November 2018
Been using WALTR for over 3 years and it's still the easiest way to transfer movies to your iPad. I just had an issue with my license and Softorino fixed the issue and responded within 5 minutes on a Sunday morning. Even though they have a new version of the app (WALTR2), they still support this first version and provide stellar support. Awesome company and great software.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Uncoy
05 March 2018
I own the Softorino YouTube Converter. Softorino just expired my license for no reason (still v1). Same thing happened with Waltr. Really pack of thieves. Clearly don't understand the concept of a lifetime license. Never ending spam if you get mixed up with Softorino. Avoid like the plague.
Like
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Softorino Ltd.
Softorino Ltd.
14 May 2018
Hi there, first off – we apologize for this inconvenience.

It looks like a mistake from our end. Please email our support team and we'll fix your license key (and set it to LIFETIME).
Like
SiteCR2
25 February 2018
From WALTR 1 to 2 all have provided the additional functionality I needed for getting some video files over to iPad for my grandson.
Like
Version 1.7.3
uggen-jigmey
20 April 2017
I stopped using itunes since I got WALTR. The customer service and technical support is 5 start from Waltr team. The best experience i have had in my life.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Hilbo60
11 February 2017
All I can say is that I purchased WALTR 1 with the promise of a free update to WALTR 2, and got exactly what was promised! As for the complaints below as to problems with either items, again, I have to say that both Apps performed as described. I do think that for WALTR 1 to be still on sale is a bit odd, as WALTR 2 out-performs the first program by a mile, but, I'm happy with what I've got. In closing, I must iterate that I have absolutely no connection with this company, indeed, my one complaint with them would be that, yes their Ads are very tiresome!
Like (2)
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
11 February 2017
Hello. I do agree with you that selling WALTR 1 is odd. I also got WALTR 2 that is undoubtedly superior to WALTR 1. I advise users to pass directly to WALTR 2.
Like
1ness
01 November 2016
Terrible experience with Waltr and Softorino Inc.

First of all the software never worked for me as I have expected. The idea was to quickly send audio files to the iPhone. After trying this for several times the results of conversion during the file transfer was terrible. Lossless files sounded like trash. I stopped using the app and hoped that some day things will be fixed.

Meanwhile what happened was that my inbox started to flood with junk promotional messages of the forthcoming release of v2 of the app. The promotional presentation is... well, like every other promotional video by Softorino - judge for yourself.

Now, after half a year or thereabout of promotional emails about v2 I have received an update link just to find out that I have to pay again! And this is after the lifetime license was purchased with the promise of having all future updates free!

Please do yourself a favour and use a quality free audio/video converter (such as HandBrake) or buy iFFmpeg or similar and just upload the files via iTunes (or iMazing - a great paid alternative with many functions). Feel like an idiot after paying more then 3 times the amount for "lifetime" family licence of this junk than I paid for iFFmpeg.

Short conclusion: WALTR is an OVERPRICED GARBAGE. Softorino will try to get every last cent out of you, while utilising the most annoying tactics and promotions, selling you a lifetime licence, just to charge again in no time. IMO - this company is a SCAM. Avoid at all costs.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.2
4 answer(s)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
08 November 2016
Thank you for your honest review.

First and foremost – we turn FLAC into ALAC with ZERO quality loss. Everything stays the same. If you think the quality sounds like trash, then please contact the Apple team who's in charge of audio in iOS devices.

Though if you didn't like the product or if it didn't work for you – you could've requested a refund to get your money back. WALTR is not a scam. You purchased a lifetime license for WALTR 1. Please understand that WALTR 1 is still sold. It's still being updated. And it's still supported. You will get all updates for WALTR 1 free.

And the tech world reviewed it explaining why it's unique and what it's used for. There's no way for this feature to be fixed because it doesn't require any fixing from our end. We made it work as promised.

If you find using 3 separate apps to be a better and at a lower price – that's completely your choice. We're 100% confident that our solution is worth the investment. You'll save a lot of time using WALTR in the long run.

In regards to the second version –
WALTR 2 is sold as a separate product. It has new features including Wi-Fi sync that not everyone may need. It's a huge step forward for us and therefore, the price is also higher. If you don't want to use WALTR 2, then don't upgrade and if you don't like our email newsletters or promo materials, you may unsubscribe from them.

In any case, there's a free trial in both WALTR 1 and WALTR 2. Before you make any conclusions – please try it and see for yourself whether or not this review is valid ;)
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
10 November 2016
"Lifetime" purchase is one of the most abused concepts in sales. It should automatically trigger: BUYER BEWARE. What it is supposed to mean is that you get ALL (A L L) versions of that product on into the future until the product is killed.

To say that 'Lifetime' was only applied to WALTR v1.x is RIDICULOUS and does IMHO equate to a scam, unless of course the Dev buried verbiage in the License that said otherwise. If they didn't, it's time for lawsuit as well as mass revelation of the scam on the Internet.

I recall as a kid buying a 'Lifetime' subscription to a mail newsletter. I got one issue, then the publisher stopped and went out of business. That's how lousy a 'Lifetime' can be.

I own three 'Lifetime' licenses I dared purchase. All three are for real. They are for Koingo, Limit Point Utilities and ProXPN. There is no version number trickery. Those 'Lifetime' purchases have been terrific. So they're not all misleading scams. Just be wary of anything 'Lifetime'.
Like (1)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
10 November 2016
Derekcurrie you make complete sense.

You should know – WALTR 1 is not being killed off. It's still sold, updated and supported. And it will stay this way for a lifetime. It simply has less features and a small price for those that don't need the features in WALTR 2.

Simply put – WALTR 2 is sold as a separate product and WALTR 1 updates are coming soon.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
10 November 2016
I stand by exactly what I stated. I find your attempt to justify your wrong and misleading concept of 'Lifetime' to be user abuse and self-destructive marketing. Of course you were going to get burned for using the term 'Lifetime' and not living up to its actual, real meaning. (But again folks, read your software license for details that may allow the Dev to get away with this abusive marketing).
Like (1)
RoXXXy
08 October 2016
Purchased this from MacUpDate Supposed to be a Free UpDate to Waltr 2!!! Entered my registration code... They say My Free Trial is Over.. Trying to sell me other Packages.. .. What a Scam.. Personal & Family..WTF.. I already Purchased & it still says Need to Pay More.. BOGUS BULL!!
) Stars does not work at all!! Phising for more Money !! 0<>ZERO<>0 Stars!!
I Have Never Used the Program.. Was a Fail on 1st try.!! They have Issues..
Have no Idea what this Program can do.. Beings it doesn't work at all! I have a Brand new iMac & Just Barely loaded it on the Machine!! They're totally Nutz!
Like (2)
Version 1.7.2
3 answer(s)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
28 October 2016
WALTR 2 is not released yet so that's why your code did not work. Please wait until will be officially launched and you will get an email from MacUpdate about your upgrade :)

And after you try it. Please com back to this page and edit your review so it corresponds and doesn't confuse others. Thanks!!
Like (1)
1ness
1ness
01 November 2016
This company is a SCAM. Avoid at all costs.

I have exactly the same issue. Have paid tons of money for the buggy product, that would kill audio quality of files during the transfer... And now, when v2 is released they ask to pay again.

I am sure that most (all?) l the 5 star reviews here are made by faked profiles related to the company.
Like (1)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
01 November 2016
Guys, first off – the company is NOT a scam.

All reviews are real. They are not fake and I'm sure everyone of these reviewers will prove it.

In regards to WALTR 1 not working for you – get in touch and we will provide the update to WALTR 2 free of charge (if that fixes your issue).

Also, WALTR 1 is STILL sold, updated and supported. The 2nd version is sold as a separate product for those who want more features.

Please come back to this review and edit it if you everything works out in the end.
Like
juliaw
03 September 2016
I found this a very useful app. It works as advertised, flawlessly copying my movie and audio files onto my iPad and iPhone. I like how Waltr puts the video files into apps away from iTunes. I have had no technical problems and the service when I had a query was fast and helpful. I've paid up front for Waltr 2.
Like
Version 1.7.2
jtb69
20 August 2016
I have been using WALTER for 6 months now. He has become an indispensable part of my routine because I travel 70% of the time. Recently I upgraded my OS and decided to do a clean install and realized that I'd lost my serial number, I emailed Softorino and I got a reply back within a minute and the solution within 10. They are a GREAT company with a GREAT product, so in my book they have a loyal customer forever. I cant wait until WALTR2 is released!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
Memphisbird
28 July 2016
Re: MacUpdate Bundle. It says "Free upgrade included." Does that mean an upgrade to WALTR 2 when it is released? Or just an update to WALTR 1, since I see that WALTR 1 will still be supported and updated.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
Memphisbird
Memphisbird
29 July 2016
I will answer my own question here, because I just got an email from MacUpdate saying, "…join the rest of the bundle buyers who will get a FREE upgrade to the much anticipated WALTR 2." So, there you have it.
Like (1)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
24 August 2016
Sorry for the late reply!

Yes – WALTR 2 separate license key will be given to you since you're eligible for a free upgrade with the Summer Bundle from MacUpdate :)
Like
Fariborz
15 July 2016
To the developer: Hello. I already own Waltr version 1. What's your upgrade police when version 2 will be released in a short time? Do we have a choice to upgrade at a low price or have we to pay a full price? On your site it's quoted that it's already on a pre-release sale for $24.95 but there's no mention of your upgrade policy. Thank you for your attention. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
15 July 2016
Sorry for the typo, I meant "policy" not "police"!
Like
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
18 July 2016
Hi Fariborz!

Thank you for an awesome question :)
The reveal of WALTR 2 itself was only announced for WALTR 1 users. So the pre-order is a special deal for those purchased the original.

Additional upgrade pricing for existing customers will be announced during the official release.

WALTR 2 was revealed and is only available for pre-order. Even if you pre-order, you will only be able to download the app itself in later this Summer.


WALTR 2 will be sold as a separate product. And WALTR 1 will still be updated and supported. But of course, we'll have special upgrade prices for current WALTR 1 users.

Like
Staps Fanny
15 July 2016
This tool doesn’t work as advertised. Although it sends the movie fast to my iPhone, the file size is the same as the original. I got an error my iPhone has run out of space. The original was a 2.6GB mkv and I expected Waltr would compress the movie as Handbrake does. Sadly, it failed and just copied it to my iPhone. I converted that same movie with Handbrake to 120MB with very good quality. Used iTunes to upload it to my iPhone, et voila .. plenty of space left on my iPhone for other movies and still have $30 to spend on a good app. Maybe Waltr is useable when you have very small snippets you want to watch on your iPhone. For full size movies it is useless.
Like (5)
Version 1.7.2
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
21 July 2016
Thank you for your feedback!

Everything makes complete sense. Yes, we don't compress the file but if we would compress it – there would be many people complaining that we're compressing files.

In any case, we will try to think of a way to find the best settings and compress all kinds of files without compromising quality. It will be an additional option. Soon to come ;)
Like
pedrotaquelim
30 January 2016
Question to the developer:
Are you planing to include image transfer also?
Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.5
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
24 February 2016
Great question.
We do have this on our to-do list but unfortunately, iOS is much more locked when it comes to photos. Simply because it will make it very easy to share images, and Apple doesn't want this.
But we are definitely working on it.
Like (1)
handlink75
05 October 2015
Just tried Waltr for the first time. The uploaded movie file to my iPhone is sped up, and somehow uploaded the version with an alternate commentary audio track (which is not sped up and therefore out of sync with picture), even though the file I uploaded did not have the alternate audio track on it. Help?
Like (1)
Version 1.6.5
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
06 October 2015
Hi,

We can help! Could you please send us an email to our support team, and if possible, include the file you're trying to upload? This way, we can reproduce this on our end and provide a fix.
Like
borismelloul
18 September 2015
I use it everyday now! My job is 2 hours of train away with little 4G reception so I take my videos and musics offline and I must say, Waltr is so convenient! I'm always a "buy when low price" kind of guy but for this case, It was well spent. Before, I used Infuse or VLC for iOS (which doesn't support some of my shows codecs), went to iTunes, synced apps, and added files there. It took always 5-10minuts before my train. I tried the wifi sync but it never was reliable or fast in my case. With Waltr I just drag files in the app, any format, and it is on my iPhone 30 sec to 1 minute top in my iPhone video app. The sweet part was that I was able to see the videos in Infuse too and play videos with awesome controls. It even fixes a multi-line subtitle problem as well from the stock video app. Audio is a blast as well. no iTunes syncing. It shows the album art too. I didn't try ringtones yet. I saw a screenshot somewhere. It is quite a unsung feature. The support is surprisingly fast to answer, and generous! I wanted to check if I can upgrade my license to a family pack. It wasn't possible but they gave me a MUCH better alternative! (thanks again) I'm the happiest for my mom's license - I always fail/frustrate explaining to my mom how to sync or convert videos to her iPhone/iPad. Now I showed her the drag and drop Waltr thingie and FINALY she doesn't bother me or my sisters about it! :) And those who talked about Handbreak beneath, they probably never used the app (or a desperate troll). Handbreak is just a converter like many others. Nothing else. Not a video/music syncing app to your iPhone, and not a 'no-button' converting tool, and probably not having generous people sitting behind their desk if you need any kind of help. -drop the mike-
Like (2)
Version 1.6.2
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
29 September 2015
Borismelloul, thank you so much for such a detailed and awesome review ;)

You were able to show a perfect example where WALTR comes in handy.

And we completely agree that Handbrake is great but it's just a converter with a ton of settings. WALTR is here to solve a complete solution for putting videos, music and ringtones on your devices – with ease.

P.S
You've gained yourself a ton of karma ;)
Like
Masterminter
23 August 2015
Too expensive if you can do the same with Handbrake or any other free alternative. Use passthru if you want a quick remux. But if you really insist paying for this, I would but it with https://deals.macnn.com/sales/pay-what-you-want-magic-mac-bundle But $30 is waaaaay too much for this app.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
Masterminter
23 August 2015
Too expensive if you can do the same with Handbrake or any other free alternative. Use passthru if you want a quick remux. But if you really insist paying for this, I would but it with https://deals.macnn.com/sales/pay-what-you-want-magic-mac-bundle But $30 is waaaaay too much for this app.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Revco
21 August 2015
Part of a bundle currently on sale. Offer ends in 6 days. https://deals.macnn.com/sales/pay-what-you-want-magic-mac-bundle Go for it!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
22 August 2015
Thanks pointing this out. The price on the bundle really is great :D
Like
jose-maria-ramon
20 August 2015
First off, watching the introduction movie is terrible annoying. You can skip parts but in most cases you are forced to see parts you do not want to see. Even skipping email subscribing is hard. The company for sure want your email before you try Waltr. One part of the introduction is telling you to disable Auto iTunes Sync. That is a HUGE no-go for me. It makes iTunes useless if you need other things in sync. For testing purposes I did disable it for the time being. The dark theme UI is kept simple, which is good and shows how to connect your iPhone. After successfully connection, it displays to drag a movie file into Waltr. Doing this starts the process automatically. In many cases, the "preparing to upload" step is taking a very long time with several movies I tried. My guess: it is reencoding the movie but even then it takes way too long. When the movie is eventually uploaded, it is found in the video section on your iPhone ready to be watched. Watching the movies reveals the quality is sub-HQ. It is not really bad but not good either. Unfortunately fast pacing movies with erratic camera movements struggles with choppy playback too. I double checked: the original movie files did not have this. I noticed some movies had the tendency to play the sound out of sync: I would say 1 to 2 seconds. This makes watching movies impossible because lip sync is wrong. If no re-encoding took place the audio sync is correct. Taking a peek at the file size I was surprised to see it has the same size or in some cases about 10% smaller compared to the original. Meaning if your original movie file is 2GB, it will occupy 2GB on your iPhone. I did not expect this behavior and point this as failure. Waltr is clearly aiming for the iPhone market so I expect uploaded files to be smaller, much smaller !! Waltr stuffs your iPhone with every added movie. As a quick test, I created higher quality with a smaller footprint and way faster with iFFmpeg or the free Handbrake. 'Nuff said! It is worthwhile noting: Waltr sometimes locked up on my iMac (early 2013). The only way out was force quit the application and start all over again. If you don't care about disabling the most important feature of iTunes : Auto syncing - Waltr is a good idea badly executed and unreliable. I switched iTunes Auto sync back on, deleted Waltr and moved on.
Like (5)
Version 1.6.2
2 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
22 August 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

This is the first time we received bad feedback regarding the intro video. It's just a 1 time welcome video to help you understand what WALTR is about. Since you only watch it once, how can you find it annoying?

We only recommend turning off iTunes sync simply because if you have automatic sync enabled and decide to automatically sync your device after putting videos or songs with WALTR – it will replace the media library.

We put the movies in the same size and in most cases we do don't compress them, we only change the audio track. We know that people will usually watch the movie once. so they will be able to simply remove the video from the phone and put a new one with WALTR again.

Good news, in the future updates we will give an option to compress the files so you can save space.

Unfortunately, we cannot agree on your conclusion. The idea that we had for WALTR is executed in the simplest way.

ITunes is too bloated and it has too many of "most important features".
WALTR is developed for putting music and videos files onto your iOS device quickly. If you're totally fine with doing manual conversion and then syncing with iTunes AND you're tech savvy to set up the settings for the video conversion – then you're right, it's better for you to move on :D
Like
Masterminter
Masterminter
23 August 2015
"...AND you're tech savvy....."

You do NOT have to be a tech savvy to use Handbrake. Add a movie, set the preset and start encoding. When finished drag the converter movie into iTunes and there you go .... for free on your iPhone.
Like
kel-watson
15 July 2015
I`m using this app for a month and i`ve been satisfied so far. Now it`s so easy to transfer AVI or MKV to my iPad without using iTunes or handbrake. I`m really thankful to creators for such a useful product, it`s really awesome :P
Like (1)
Version 1.5.4
kel-watson
15 July 2015
I`m using this app for a month and i`ve been satisfied so far. Now it`s so easy to transfer AVI or MKV to my iPad without using iTunes or handbrake. I`m really thankful to creators for such a useful product, it`s really awesome :P
Like
Version 1.5.4
kel-watson
15 July 2015
I`m using this app for a month and i`ve been satisfied so far. Now it`s so easy to transfer AVI or MKV to my iPad without using iTunes or handbrake. I`m really thankful to creators for such a useful product, it`s really awesome :P
Like
Version 1.5.4
zuevainna94
14 July 2015
It's obviously the app I was looking for!! Easy to use, supports any format and quick in transferring media to idevices! It saves me a lot of precious time! It uploads AVI, M4R, M4V, FLAC in a matter of seconds! Incredibly useful!! Thanks for it a lot!
Like
Version 1.5.4
zuevainna94
14 July 2015
Big THANK those who brought this app to life! The most great thing is that WALTR supports all the formats as no other apps do. At first some of my media disappeared, cause I didn't close iTunes. But still.. I'm happy that I don't need to waste my time for long uploading anymore!
Like
Version 1.5.4
Revco
31 May 2015
Give VLC for iOS a go. Plays movie files in their native format without any transcoding (mp4, flv, wmv, avi, etc). Just drag/drop/watch. Faster, simpler, and free.
Like
Version 1.5.4
9 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
01 June 2015
It's not faster nor is it simpler because it still requires you to install a 3rd party iOS app and use iTunes. But you're right – it is free :)
Like
Revco
Revco
01 June 2015
Third party app? Really? So is yours. And no, it doesn't use iTunes to transfer files to your device. Give it a go, you might like it : )
Like
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
01 June 2015
I meant it's a third party iOS app. WALTR is just a Mac OS X app that doesn't make you go through iTunes nor look for additional iOS apps. Everything is transferred and played from the native Videos/Music apps. We've tried and we yes, we did like it ;) But that's why we created WALTR – we truly think it saves more time. Give it a go, you might also like it :P
Like
Babalooz
Babalooz
04 June 2015
How would Waltr save any time at all if it needs to convert unsupported file formats first? That's nonsense.

Compare the time needed using Waltr to using an app like VLC: in both scenarios there would be the upload time. If the file is supported we are dealing with the same file size und thus the same uploading time.

If the file is unsupported Waltr would start the conversion to a supported file format while VLC would upload immediately. Additionally, after conversion very likely you will have a bigger file size for Waltr to upload. Which requires even more time, while in VLC I am already enjoying the movie.

The only time saved is the time it takes to do about three additional clicks until you have the VLC documents window open in iTunes whereas Waltr is ready right after starting it. In most cases these few seconds are easily outweighed by the conversion time needed with Waltr.
Like
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
04 June 2015
Babalooz, honestly – if you're more comfortable with using iTunes and VLC, then go ahead :) It really is awesome and we support you with doing that.

But tell me, have you tried WALTR?

If so, you'd probably see that WALTR actually transcodes the files most of the time (converts if it's not an Mpeg4 video file) and it does it ON-THE-FLY. ;)

We as developers, really prefer using our own app, simply because we can transfer MKV or AVI movies into our iPhone or iPad at the avg. speed of 2Gig/minute. If you want to put an MKV file on your iPad, Waltr turns it to an MV4 file, which, in most cases, is essentially the same as the MKV file, just with a different wrapper.

And WALTR provides the ability to play files from the native Music & Videos app;

One of the main advantages of using the Music.app and Videos.app on iOS is battery life. All third party solutions consume more battery and Waltr aims to reduce that wastage of power. It repackages the files so that the native players support them and takes a considerably smaller amount of time as compared to a file conversion workflow.

P.S. And i'm not trying to sell WALTR to you, sir :) But, I highly encourage trying it for yourself since it has a 14 day trial w/out limitations. Just so you can see what I'm talking about.
Like (1)
Babalooz
Babalooz
04 June 2015
Hey JoshSoftorino,

I do agree with most of what you said. Using Waltr you get files optimized for iOS devices. Which in fact will be easier on the battery. Sometimes significantly.
The conversion also happens very fast. And btw, the user interface is very nice.

How do I know this? Because of course I have tested Waltr. And it is very good. You clearly have some very talented folks working on it.

I just don't agree with your statement of Waltr being faster than VLC. That is simply not true. Rather than claiming that I'd prefer you talk about the clear benefits of Waltr.

Personally I don't use Waltr nor VLC, but yaPlayer. Walter might be higher on my list if the conversion quality especially of large files would be better (especially frame rates) and if the video wouldn't get that boost in saturation and contrast.
Like
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
04 June 2015
First off – thank you for actually testing WALTR! Glad you spared a minute to play with it. And for your awesome feedback :D

In regards to WALTR being faster than VLC, you're right. I should've specified what I meant exactly.

By "faster" I meant – since it doesn't make you launch iTunes and install additional iOS apps – WALTR is faster to set up. It's just one app with a drop zone. Drag, drop, done.

But in terms of quality, yes there are times when the additional iOS apps (i.e VLC, yaPlayer;) are better because they have the freedom to use their own player. This means that they play by their own rules in their own playground.

Whereas WALTR has to put the files into the native stock apps made by Apple, which of course give us quite a challenge and makes us play by their rules in terms of the video settings :P

In any case, I'm really happy that you tried it for yourself and granted your honest feedback.

This app really isn't for everyone of course.

Many of our users simply love it just for the fact that you can finally put music and videos onto your iPhone/iPad WITHOUT iTunes.

According to the feedback from our customers – Just dragging and dropping your favourite mp3 album without having to sync with iTunes is a dream come true.
Like
Babalooz
Babalooz
04 June 2015
not frame rate, bitrate of course.
Like
Babalooz
Babalooz
04 June 2015
See? That's what I mean. Now you're talking. And I can wholeheartedly agree with all the benefits you just listed.
Best regards.
Like
iLeeLoo
14 May 2015
Cool app! Really - very useful!
Like
Version 1.5.3
jan-steurs
05 May 2015
Advertised as an easy way to convert your movies to iPhone without iTunes sounds interesting to me until you actually use this and see it is in fact useless. It always generates very large movie that fills up your iPhone in no time ! When converting the same movies with Handbrakes iPhone preset they are about 20 times smaller and same visual quality. Nuff said .. don’t waste money on this.
Like
Version 1.5.3
2 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
06 May 2015
Jan,
Thanks for actually trying the app.
The fact is, WALTR doesn't always convert but simply transcodes the file, which results in no quality loss. It converts-on-the-fly media files that are outdated and are anything older than MPEG-4 codec.

When you use handbrake, it may take you an hour or more to convert a large file. WALTR saves time. If you don't care about saving time bypassing iTunes and the manual conversion process, then sure, you may say with handbrake + iTunes sync. :)
Like
Fariborz
Fariborz
08 May 2015
As the developer justly says, Waltr doesn't compress files. This results in a speedy transfer of files. You can transfer a hefty 4 gigabyte file in a few minutes whereas transferring it by compression or conversion takes ages. I use it to transfer audios or films I intend to listen and watch on the go and when I'm back home I'll cancel them from my iPad. The fact that transferring is so speedy reassures me of being able to put them back on my iPad whenever I want to. If you intend to keep your files on your iPad or iPhone and have a lot of time and patience to spare then you might want to go back to the old, boring synchronization system. Cheers.
Like (1)
Fariborz
01 May 2015
I’ve never liked how iTunes synchronization works. There were times that it canceled my vital music/files for a simple distraction. I’m an experienced Mac user and bought my first Mac in 1984. Therefore, if this happens to an experienced but distracted user like me you can imagine how life will be for unexperienced users! Now with “Waltr” it’s just a matter of drag and drop! No synchro is necessary and my files go directly to the appropriate folders. I wish I had this tool before canceling al those lovely music/videos I had so painstakingly collected. My sincere kudos to all Waltr developers for their efforts. Fariborz Amirshahi - Verona (Italy)
Like (2)
Version 1.5.3
3 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
01 May 2015
You've hit the spot, Fariborz! Thank you! :)
Shout out to Verona, Italy!

The whole team behind WALTR would like to thank you for the kind words. We're glad you got the idea. Our main priority upon developing WALTR was to leave all the hassle and tech stuff behind and just provide a user experience that will leave a good feeling. No matter what format your music or video file is in, just drag & drop – and the app will put the files in best quality possible into the proper formats. And just so you know, you can also drop .m4r (ringtones) and they will show up in your ringtones section automatically.
Like
Fariborz
Fariborz
01 May 2015
Another word:
"iTunes is a complicated tool for a simple task" whereas "Waltr is a simple tool for a complicated task!” :-)
Like (1)
Adinaligiaernest
Adinaligiaernest
09 June 2015
Hi there ! Where did you find ChimeStop ?
Like
TCalhau
25 April 2015
I am having audio sync issues with the app WALTR 1.5.3. I extract the 1 DVD, 1 episode of COSMOS (Original with Carl Sagan). For this I used for extraction the fantastic app MakeMKV. Was generated a file that works perfectly well! FULLY SYNCHRONIZED. However, his extension is mkv. I opened the WALTR 1.5.3 and I launched the mkv file and in a few moments he appeared on my iPhone but the audio starts synchronized and about 3 minutes after the audio loses all its sync. I really enjoyed the WALTR app and would like to buy it but I need it to work properly. Please, please fix this!
Like
Version 1.5.3
3 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
27 April 2015
Hi,

First off – thank you for using WALTR.
Now, the issue seems to be related to the MKV file being packaged strangely. There are so many ways you can package the MKV wrapper, and WALTR may stumble upon some trouble. But this is all fixable.

Is it possible for you to send us a sample file to our support team? We provide 24/7 support, so you can either call us or email support @ softorino . com

Thanks in advance!
Like (1)
TCalhau
TCalhau
27 April 2015
I am already in contact with you and if the WALTR appears functional for me I intend to purchase it! I hope they can resolve these issues. :)
Like
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
28 April 2015
Yep, found your email.
So we'll just wait for the sample file that you're uploading to dropbox and we will hop on this file and start investigating. :)
Like (1)
Mitch-k
20 April 2015
Apparently, this doesn't work with my iPod nano - only iPod Touch. Why?
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
21 April 2015
At the moment, WALTR only works with iOS devices. iOS 5 & above to be exact.

Old iPods and non-iOS devices are on our to do list :)
Like (1)
Calmeforet
20 April 2015
The only video files I'm really interested in transferring to an iPad are dvdmedia and these are apparently NOT supported, if I understand right. So the app would be of very little use to me.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Noivad
Noivad
23 April 2015
Handbrake does this easily (and is free) in case you were unaware.
Like
thom-gareth
10 April 2015
"Drag-and-drop any media file to an iOS device (without iTunes) for native playback" This is not true ! Did test with a lot of files and only one created a playable file.Any other free converter app does this without any problems. The slogan should be: "Drag-and-drop some media files to an iOS device (without iTunes) for native playback" No need for an expensive app like waltr. Waltr = blingbling/hype/marketing without delivering 100% good results. Just my two cents though.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
14 April 2015
Hi Thom,

I'm glad you tried the app for yourself.
Please let us change your mind on this.
WALTR supports any media file that's up to date. Of course, there are just so many media files, which may be packaged differently and some may not work properly. But we recently put an end to this and recently a huge update – 1.5.

It now fully supports old mpeg files and a ton more.

Please update to the latest version and let us know if it works for you :)
Like (1)
Steinar-Helgesen
25 March 2015
Its the best program in the world. The first program i install on any computer. Its fast and amazing. Yes you should turn off syncing with iTunes while you use it. But i have movies/tv shows downloaded and send it to iPad Mini. When i am done with it i delete the files on iPad. Its not a replacement for iTunes but i use Waltr 9 out of 10 times now.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.11
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
26 March 2015
We're so glad that you're enjoyed the app.

Thank you for your awesome feedback :)

And yes, unfortunately, automatic iTunes sync should be turned off because if it syncs, the whole iTunes media library on your device will be replaced with the one inside your Mac's iTunes library.
Like
stefan-schoernig
15 March 2015
I had some trouble activation my Waltr Application, but thanks to a great EMAIL support it was solved in no time. Great App & great support Team.
Like
Version 1.0.10
ben-stamp
28 February 2015
What? This company asks us to turn of the most useful feature of iTunes to make Waltr work? This app is joke really..
Like
Version 1.0.10
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
28 February 2015
Ben, we don't make you or ask you to turn off iTunes sync to make WALTR work. You can go ahead and use WALTR without turning off automatic syncing inside iTunes – WALTR will work as promised.

We recommend disabling automatic sync and wi-fi sync because once you sync the device with iTunes, then all media transferred with WALTR previously, will be removed.

If you see iTunes as a very useful tool for managing your device, and if you're completely satisfied with what it brings and you're not looking for a more simple solution to upload music/video/ringtones to your iPhone or iPad – then we completely understand. You can go ahead and stay with iTunes :)
Like
IngeMortier3516
27 February 2015
What a ripoff. Whenever I send something to my iphone. It is promptly removed when I connect with iTunes. 30$ badly spent.
Like
Version 1.0.10
2 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
27 February 2015
Hello,

First off, we're sorry for the inconvenience and if you're not satisfied with the app, please get in touch with our 24/7 support team and you will get a refund.

But, please let us be more helpful than that. We decided to create an on-boarding video that will get you all set and informed about any unusual situations. In the very beginning, we ask you to tutor off automatic iTunes sync, wi-fi sync and so on.

In your case, this happens because you probably have iTunes Wi-fi sync enabled and 'Automatically sync with iTunes' enabled inside iTunes itself.

It's just that if you have 'music & videos synced' then all content uploaded with any third party app will be removed - this is the logic of general iTunes sync – it overrides everything. To avoid this, please enable the checkbox: 'manage music and videos manually'

Please understand – we have your back at all times that you're using WALTR. If you've encountered an issue – please get in touch with us and we'll do our best to assist you.
Like (2)
ben-stamp
ben-stamp
28 February 2015
Turning of iTunes syncing? WTF
Like (1)
BenjaminW
26 February 2015
Recently i have been converted two HD movies trailers (Star Wars VII and Terminator) to my iPhone with Waltr, i noticed however that it stutters quite a lot during playback. Especially noticeable with quick camera movements. Playing both original files with the VLC player works fine and has super smooth playback. Then used Handbrake to convert both to the iPhone preset and playback was perfect on my iPhone. I have no clue why Waltr messed up and i can't see myself spending money and time to it. Removed it. Waste of money.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.10
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
27 February 2015
Thank you for your honest feedback, Benjamin.

Sorry to hear that you didn't have such a pleasant experience with WALTR.
Could you please provide more details about the file format you've uploaded?
Was it an .AVI trailer?

If you get a chance to spare a minute and let us assist you – please, send us a sample file to a link to these trailers for us to test it out on our end.


Thank you in advance.
Like
arcade-points
24 February 2015
This version still has flaws. The strange geometries are still happening for some movies. Why is a so-obvious problem not being fixed?
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
25 February 2015
Hello,

Have you notified our support team about this?
Is this happening with an AVI file?

The issue itself is mostly inside the movie file that is being uploaded.

In any case, will you be able to send us a sample to our support?

Thank you in advance.
Like
Rohit-Chitkara
22 February 2015
Amazing App.. Works absolutely smooth as advertised.
Feature request : Wireless transfer.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Steinar-Helgesen
16 February 2015
Love it, so easy tp use. Would like be able to add SRT subtitles, but awesome program.
Like
Version 1.0.8
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
16 February 2015
Thanks for the feedback!
Actually, you're now able to add SRT subtitles :)

You may find our tutorial on how to Add SRT subtitles with WALTR in this guide:
http://softorino.com/waltr/video-playback/how-add-subtitles-using-waltr
Like
Doug-Eddy
15 February 2015
I love WALTR. It breaks me free from the stranglehold that is called iTunes - the original "I control all you do and you do it my way" program straight from Microsoft nightmares! I am free to add items to my iOS gadgets quickly and simply. I had a slight glitch and had an immediate response from Softorino. Great app. Great support. Cannot be beat! I highly recommend it.
Like
Version 1.0.8
steve-kingston
08 February 2015
I'm not interested in file conversion software as I already use iMedia Converter. So, all I was looking for was a simple programme to drop HRA files onto my iPhone 6 (Apple has a lot going for it but can be completely restrictive just when you don't want it to be!). WALTR delivered the answer. Take iTunes out of the equation for 'music' (one tick box), open WALTR drag/drop box, plug in iPhone, drop files into WALTR and wait a few seconds. Job done. Hi Res Audio Black Sabbath, Led Zep, Tom Petty and Bruce Springsteen on the go. For its simplicity I can't rate it highly enough.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Revco
21 January 2015
Would love to use this but it always crashes on launch for me. Has been that way with every update since its release. Dev, how can I troubleshoot this? Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
27 January 2015
Hi!
This sounds like a very unpleasant experience. Completely the opposite of what we want you to feel when you're using WALTR.

What is the OS X version that you're running WALTR on?
Please, get in touch with us via email or phone. it's on our website support form.

I promise that we will do everything in our power to fix this up for you ASAP!
Like
horsepower
16 January 2015
Saves a lot converting time! Super program!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.7
chovanpeter
14 January 2015
Today i spent just only few seconds with this NEW GREAT soft and i have to say .... IT IS GREAT and SIMPLE to use. SUPER ... thx many times for simple and good solution :)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.7
hriez
14 January 2015
Truly effortless!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.7
Pumbaa1965
14 January 2015
This a great step forward and I love it. Thank you so very much for putting in the time and effort.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.7
1 answer(s)
JoshSoftorino
JoshSoftorino
14 January 2015
Thank you for your great feedback :)
Like