Back to Amphetamine page
Amphetamine free download for Mac

Amphetamine Reviews5.2.1

12 April 2021

Override energy saver settings and keep your Mac awake.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
bg-7
bg-7
Jan 3 2021
5.1.1
5.0
Jan 3 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.1
Brilliant! Extremely stupid of Apple to threaten removal.
GLW
GLW
Jan 10 2019
4.1.3
0.0
Jan 10 2019
0.0
Version: 4.1.3
Four updates in five days! Ever hear of beta testing?
Maxter
Maxter
Oct 9 2018
4.0.3
5.0
Oct 9 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.3
The best of it's kind. Don't look any further (a long time user)!
TheBruno
TheBruno
Apr 5 2018
3.0.2
4.0
Apr 5 2018
4.0
Version: 3.0.2
I love this app, but the only feature I feel it's missing is the ability to permanently add applications to the white list. Otherwise, the features are rich, and it's very well designed and thought out; I love it much more than any other similar app I've used in the past. My only other suggestion is: charge a few dollars for it; it's worth at least $5. Give me an app white list that prevents sleep, and I'll update to 5 ⭐️. Great work!
cade1
cade1
Apr 2 2017
3.0.2
0.0
Apr 2 2017
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
Waiting to see if i can get an apparent permissions drawback overcome. My system won't let me choose the external backup drive used for time machine to stay awake (because it causes my whole system/imac to stall/lag/freeze .... i guess it's the external drive, that's what i've analyzed it to so far).

One of the positive/different things about keep drive spinning is it allows me to use admin pw to force KDS to choose the external drive. i filed a support request w/ amphetamine cuz i would like to try it and see if it's indeed better as so many reviews say. Thanks. will plan to update once I find out.

UPDATE: Boy that was quick! They responded almost immediately and told me to do this:

Try creating a new folder at the root of the drive for use with Drive Alive. Then, select the folder instead of the root of the drive.

It worked! I named my emply folder > Amphetamine Keep Alive My Drive, which i was able to choose in Amphetamine preferences > Drive Alive.

So, that barrier was defeated (easily) and now I'm going to be testing it and comparing experiences. Will review later.

Hope this may help others. Cheers!
Funjoy
Funjoy
Oct 7 2016
3.0.2
5.0
Oct 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
Works great. Came to this app from the long-unupdated Caffeine.
Trance
Trance
Sep 7 2016
3.0
5.0
Sep 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
Version 3 is not working at all. Prefs are not saved and none of the manual triggers work, just flip on and off again. 10.11.1
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Sep 7 2016
3.0
5.0
Sep 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
This is really really excellent, great scriptability for automating its use and lots of control/triggers etc. So good I'll even brave the App Store for it...
Remi
Remi
Sep 7 2016
3.0
5.0
Sep 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
Awesome!
Guest
Guest
Mar 28 2016
2.3.1
0.0
Mar 28 2016
0.0
Version: 2.3.1
Would love a non App Store version :-)
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Nov 18 2015
2.1
5.0
Nov 18 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1
Simply excellent!
chodorowicz
chodorowicz
Nov 3 2015
2.1
4.0
Nov 3 2015
4.0
Version: 2.1
Does what it promises. Would be really nice if it offered option to disable sleep on closing lid too.
fwilkinson
fwilkinson
Nov 2 2015
2.1
2.0
Nov 2 2015
2.0
Version: 2.1
yawn!
Shadokuss
Shadokuss
Sep 2 2015
2.1
5.0
Sep 2 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1
Really nice free app. A must have if you need preventing sleep computer when he's in monitoring state. Ex: When i'm djing with Traktor, almost everything is done under midi controllers. Don't need to touch the trackpad or keyboard for bringing back my monitoring screen. Amphetamine last for all night live session. And it's legal ;)
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
Aug 28 2015
2.0.2
5.0
Aug 28 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
Tiny wee application that does what it says. And for the small fortune of free is charge is brilliant!!! thank to the developer for keeping this application free and working!!
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Aug 22 2015
2.0.2
0.0
Aug 22 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
Could logging level be controlled from preferences?
Marco-2
Marco-2
Aug 14 2015
2.0.1
5.0
Aug 14 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Works as advertised ! Thank you for keeping this free.
Marco-2
Marco-2
Aug 14 2015
2.0.1
5.0
Aug 14 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Works as advertised ! Thank you for keeping this free.
Trance
Trance
Aug 10 2015
2.0
5.0
Aug 10 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0
Works perfectly, much better than any other similar utilities I've tried, including caffeine and jiggler, not to say that they are not good ...this is better, and has the option to allow the screensaver and display sleep to work, thanks dev
George6
George6
Jun 14 2015
1.5.4
0.5
Jun 14 2015
0.5
Version: 1.5.4
can't understand why a free app should be appstore only. please make it downloadable directly
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
May 14 2015
1.5.2
0.0
May 14 2015
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
It seems so promising that I can switch from Caffeine.app to test it out. AppStore-only - that is not good at all, though.
iMiNiMaL
iMiNiMaL
Feb 19 2015
1.4.1
4.5
Feb 19 2015
4.5
Version: 1.4.1
Definitely the best of the genre. Better than Wimoweh and better than caffeine.
TechGuru
TechGuru
Jan 25 2015
1.3
0.0
Jan 25 2015
0.0
Version: 1.3
Can this app prevent my late 2013 MBPr 13" from sleeping with the lid closed?
Xenophile
Xenophile
Dec 16 2014
1.2
5.0
Dec 16 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2
Works great and I like the interface better than Caffeine's. It worth the download just to have the cool molecule icon in my menu bar. Thanks!
mekes7275
mekes7275
Nov 20 2014
1.1
5.0
Nov 20 2014
5.0
Version: 1.1
Love the name, love the icon. Don't have a sense of humor? No 'tongue in cheek' for you? Then don't come to the software's download page.
Mountabe
Mountabe
Nov 19 2014
1.1
3.0
Nov 19 2014
3.0
Version: 1.1
Having difficulty with the name and icon. Not cool.
Sleek
Sleek
Nov 19 2014
1.1
0.0
Nov 19 2014
0.0
Version: 1.1
Can one of Admin remove Mac The Ripper from this post?? it was my my mistake it got posted here by mistake and my Apologies, Thanks.