Back to Ninox page
Ninox free download for Mac

Ninox Reviews3.1.3

04 September 2020

Flat-file database system.

5
weatherornot57
05 April 2019
Version: 2.5.5

Most helpful

For those that may be on the fence as to whether they should purchase Ninox or not, there have been some major updates with Ninox and that should relieve any fears. Still not sure, read on. First, Ninox itself was designed and built in Germany but now with "merger", there is now a US "component" side of it. This, in itself, helps in so many ways...especially you needed tech support. Next, Ninox is a fully fledged relational type database, not just flat. You can have one-to-one OR one-to-many. The interface for Ninox is superb, easy to use, and it is extremely fast, even if with your huge database with many tables. BTW, there is a free trial for Ninox, if wanted. It was once true that without a manual the learning curve was a little hard. This is no longer the case. If you are willing to spend a few hours, you can learn the beginning of Ninox and have a fully working database. Now with the US side, there are different days where you can learn via a webinar, or there are now videos being made (via Youtube) at least once a week, the learning is even easier. For those who want to learn the basics, every Wednesday at 8 am (Eastern time) and again, at 4 pm there is a webinar for an hour or more. Other days have different topics that may be a little more advanced. These webinars are free of charge If you purchase Ninox, there are even some prebuilt databases (12). From Custom CRM, Real Estate, Contacts, Accounting, Inventory, etc. You can play with them (in fact, they encourage you to play with them to get the feel and understand what everything does) and if you do something wrong, you just delete the database and download it again. To top it all, each of the webinars are recorded and available free of charge to watch as often as needed. And now, as this is review is being written, they have put out an exhaustive online manual. It is still not complete but will be done very soon. There is so much more with Ninox I would like to touch on but I will just say that as an owner/user of Ninox, I love it and use every day.
(4)

How would you rate Ninox app?

Read 8 Ninox User Reviews

cano-4423
15 September 2020
Version: 3.1.3
çok ıyı
(0)
4
Sampler
06 August 2020
Version: 3.0.3
The table format is rigid. The font is small for my taste. and can't be changed. The rows are high, so there's a lot of space around the entries. There's no way to get entries to wrap. To really view the entries easily, I export to Easy CSV Editor.
(0)
5
weatherornot57
05 April 2019
Version: 2.5.5
For those that may be on the fence as to whether they should purchase Ninox or not, there have been some major updates with Ninox and that should relieve any fears. Still not sure, read on. First, Ninox itself was designed and built in Germany but now with "merger", there is now a US "component" side of it. This, in itself, helps in so many ways...especially you needed tech support. Next, Ninox is a fully fledged relational type database, not just flat. You can have one-to-one OR one-to-many. The interface for Ninox is superb, easy to use, and it is extremely fast, even if with your huge database with many tables. BTW, there is a free trial for Ninox, if wanted. It was once true that without a manual the learning curve was a little hard. This is no longer the case. If you are willing to spend a few hours, you can learn the beginning of Ninox and have a fully working database. Now with the US side, there are different days where you can learn via a webinar, or there are now videos being made (via Youtube) at least once a week, the learning is even easier. For those who want to learn the basics, every Wednesday at 8 am (Eastern time) and again, at 4 pm there is a webinar for an hour or more. Other days have different topics that may be a little more advanced. These webinars are free of charge If you purchase Ninox, there are even some prebuilt databases (12). From Custom CRM, Real Estate, Contacts, Accounting, Inventory, etc. You can play with them (in fact, they encourage you to play with them to get the feel and understand what everything does) and if you do something wrong, you just delete the database and download it again. To top it all, each of the webinars are recorded and available free of charge to watch as often as needed. And now, as this is review is being written, they have put out an exhaustive online manual. It is still not complete but will be done very soon. There is so much more with Ninox I would like to touch on but I will just say that as an owner/user of Ninox, I love it and use every day.
(4)
Pfackelmann
24 August 2017
Version: 2.1.1
MacUpdate calls this: Flat-file database system All other sources call it relational I can't test it as there is no trial version. who can?
(0)
Show comment (1)
4.5
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
18 June 2017
Version: 2.0.3
This app is extremely easy to use and still you can do a lot! Im not a programmer but still I find my way around most tasks I set myself. If there is a problem and I don't know how to solve a certain task, there is the community and the developer who help you spontaneous and frequently. Just check out the help pages and the comments there and post away if you have a question. Long time since I was fascinated again by an application for Mac.
(0)
4
awestwood
13 February 2017
Version: 1.7.0
This is a very good database, ideal for those of us that don't want the full relational and scriptable Filemaker/4D type of app that I've used in the past. I found it easy to create databases and tables, to import and export data, to design appropriate layouts, and to do admittedly limited calculations within or across records. I've reserved a star because the computations are very limited, and so is filtering data on fields - though finding text matches does work very well. I've tried several other db apps, eg TapForms, iDatabase, and Records 1.5 - Ninox is a tad more expensive but is better than them all, by a fair bit.
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
Skapplin
19 March 2016
Version: 1.6.0
Have just downloaded Niniox and tested it with an import of my software registrations database made using iData 3/4. The import was so fast ai thought it had failed! It's very fast, but import functionality is limited to CSV files. I have not yet tested its relational capabilities that it claims to support, but after you create one database it appears that it expects the next one to be part of a relational tree. From my limited experience with Ninox I would say it seems to be a decent replacement for Bento which is no longer supported. For the $30.00 price tag I would say it is bargain.
(1)
4
PhilTate7625
21 February 2015
Version: 1.4.1
I’ve only got one day experience with Ninox, but so far I like it. I migrated from Bento to another app that had some integrity issues, so I wanted something reliable and versatile. The user interface is not always intuitive, and the online manual is too brief, but I’ve managed to do about everything I wanted with it. It’s fast, the data cells are color customizable, and the calculation fields give you a lot of control. However, the graphical interface for the calculations gets in my way more than it helps. The idea is to keep you from doing something wrong, but it can feel limiting. Importing data from csv files mostly worked, but some data types won’t import except as text. The saving grace is the ability to filter rows, then do a bulk data modification, which is really easy. It’s not the prettiest app you’ll find, but it gets the job done, and some of my gripes may go away as I get more experienced. There’s a free app for iPad, but if you want to sync data with iCloud you need a $16 in-app purchase. So for less than $50 I got a pretty powerful database app for my Mac Mini and my iPad.
(1)