Back to WD Drive Utilities page
WD Drive Utilities free download for Mac

WD Drive Utilities Reviews

2.1.1.110
03 September 2019

Configure, manage, and diagnose your WD drive.

Wgibson648
28 October 2016

Most helpful

This version (2.0.5.18) does NOT support the newest version of Sierra v. 10.12.1 (16B2555). This version was released on 28 October; the newest version of Sierra was released on 25 October; this WD Drive Utilities program is ALREADY obsolete. AND, the documentation (online) does NOT cite Sierra (in any version) as a supported operating system. So, until WD gets its act together, this program is useless.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.5.18

Read 13 WD Drive Utilities User Reviews

Rate this app:

linlu
12 November 2019
When I ran this through MacUpdate Update feature, this version of WD Drive Utilities crashed: 2.1.1.110. I went to the folder after a restart and reran the update manually and it appeared to have worked. It completed updating without crashing when I ran it manually.
Like
Version 2.1.1.110
Hippeman
05 October 2019
The installer of this latest version (2.1.1.110) cancels itself halfway the process for unknown reasons, so I can't get it to work on OSX Mojave.
Like
Version 2.1.1.110
Wade-Smith
05 September 2019
Does nothing but crash for me
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1.110
MacHock
23 February 2019
Assuming you have an older version of the “WD Drive Utilities” application installed, here is how I installed the newer WD Drive Utilities (v2.1.1.100) application: 1. Download WD_Utilities_Standalone_Installer_Mac_2_1_1_100.zip file from MacUpdate. 2. Double-click the downloaded zip file to create the “WD_Utilities_Installer_for_Mac_2_1_1_100.dmg” on your desktop. 3. Double-click the “WD_Utilities_Installer_for_Mac_2_1_1_100.dmg” to create the “WD Drive Utilities” disk image on your desktop. 3. Open the “WD Drive Utilities” disk image. Do NOT start the installer application. Instead, right-click the file “WD Drive Utilities Installer” application and select the “Show Package Contents” option. 4. Open the “Contents” folder. 5. Open the “Resources” folder. 6. Scroll down in the “Resources” folder and double-click the “WD Drive Utilities.zip” file. 7. Open the “WD Drive Utilities” folder and copy the “WD Drive Utilities” application. 8. Paste the “WD Drive Utilities” application on your desktop and rename it “WD Drive Utilities v2.1.1.100” 9. Move the “WD Drive Utilities v2.1.1.100” application to wherever your previous “WD Drive Utilities” application was located. 10. Test the new “WD Drive Utilities v2.1.1.100” application. If it works correctly, discard the old version of “WD Drive Utilities.” This worked for me and I hope it solves the installation problem for you. ATTENTION Western Digital! The last couple of versions of your WD Utilities installer have had the same problem. PLEASE fix the installer for all of your loyal Mac customers or, at the very least, post an official workaround for your customers. Thanks!
Like
Version 2.1.1.100
3 answer(s)
Low-Flyer
Low-Flyer
20 March 2019
Recommended intallation procedure worked also for me, although I skipped steps 7 and 8.
Like
seldon42
seldon42
25 March 2019
Recommended installation procedure worked for me too! Thanks!!!
Like
Hippeman
Hippeman
05 October 2019
Great, thanks for offering this quick workaround!
Like
Version 2.1.1.110
NedC
19 February 2019
Tried to install this version with no luck. Couldn't install the helper app. Worked great on my laptop, no luck on the imac. As a matter of fact, the helper app on Monolingual didn"t work as well. What am I doing wrong here?
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1.100
1 answer(s)
Cmc
Cmc
19 February 2019
Me too just won't install on MBP on Mojave :-(
Like
Skallagrimson
15 September 2018
WD_Utilities_Installer_for_Mac_2_1_1_80.dmg WD Drive Utilities Installer.app macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 I am not able to install this… Crashes all the time. Installation was not able to complete.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1.80
1 answer(s)
Chansirip
Chansirip
19 February 2019
I have the same problem. As read the comment below 2.1.1.74 work well, so I will give it a try.

http://downloads.wdc.com/wdapp/WD_Utilities_Standalone_Installer_Mac_2_1_1_74.zip

If you would like to test :)

PS. The new one 2.1.1.100 is out. Hope this version is ok.

http://downloads.wdc.com/wdapp/WD_Utilities_Standalone_Installer_Mac_2_1_1_100.zip

Like
trevor-6
11 August 2018
No problems with the app - I find it very useful.
I had two versions installed, (2.1.1.80, and 2.1.1.74) so I de-installed 2.1.1.74
Like
Version 2.1.1.80
cybermanos
19 July 2018
I will not risk to install this application because tortured me a lot the version that they gave to me with the hard disks. Whenever the computer sleeps, when was activated, it shows message of wrong unmount of WD external hard disks. Finally I format again the hard disks with the system drivers to retain my peace of mind. I cannot risk 4Tb of data on experiments with WD drivers. It’s better solution to be “far and beloved”.
Like
Version 2.1.1.80
tx517
26 May 2018
This version (2.1.1.74) released in May 2018 is working all fine (High Sierra, latest version 10.13.4). It is simple, intuitive and fast.. The LED turn-off feature alone is worth the tool, as I have used cloth to (not fully) hide those annoying LEDs. Health testing capabilities are fair, and could be improved a lot. DriveDX provides much more information and details (but it is not free, and its price may not be labelled small). As a sidenote, MacUpdate should really update its scoring system, as the score averages totally different versions and as a result, is not really relevant...
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1.74
Wgibson648
28 October 2016
This version (2.0.5.18) does NOT support the newest version of Sierra v. 10.12.1 (16B2555). This version was released on 28 October; the newest version of Sierra was released on 25 October; this WD Drive Utilities program is ALREADY obsolete. AND, the documentation (online) does NOT cite Sierra (in any version) as a supported operating system. So, until WD gets its act together, this program is useless.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.5.18
This version (2.0.0.23) asks to update, but I went back to it after the most recent (2.0.2.18) started crashing on every attempt to open. The update had worked fine with El Capitan since its release, then suddenly stopped working even though I hadn't installed any new software. Wouldn't start up in Safe mode or under a different user or with latest EC update 10.11.3. Version 2.0.0.23 still works fine. 2TB My Passport
Like
Version 2.0.0.23
Forn
22 September 2014
Hmh… it doesn't see my WD BOOK on 10.9.5
Like
Version 2.0.0.18
2 answer(s)
Prologos
Prologos
23 September 2014
Here to. Not working!
Like
G-I-
G-I-
26 September 2014
It doesn't support old My Book Studios.
Like (2)
Wsheluk
21 September 2014
I purchased about 4 months ago the "My Passport for Mac" 2 TB hard drive and it is the best ever USB drive i have owned. In fact it is better than any of my FireWire drives. My comment really had nothing to do with the software update.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0.18
1 answer(s)
G-I-
G-I-
24 September 2014
Then WTF cares?
Like (5)