Back to Cisdem PDF Converter OCR page
Cisdem PDF Converter OCR free download for Mac

Cisdem PDF Converter OCR Reviews7.5.0

28 October 2019

PDF converter and OCR reader.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ruthsnowlove
ruthsnowlove
Mar 22 2021
7.5.0
5.0
Mar 22 2021
5.0
Version: 7.5.0
A really helpful software, which makes it convenient to extract the texts from an image. Otherwise, it is really easy to use to get the converted file in 3 steps.So far, so good.
tracidgordon
tracidgordon
Mar 5 2021
7.5.0
5.0
Mar 5 2021
5.0
Version: 7.5.0
I love Cisdem's software so much! The most I like it is the OCR function, it can accurately extract the texts from an image or scanned PDF file, also the conversion speed is fast. It should be the best OCR product I've been used, hope you can keep producing the great products. Thanks!
Tsolak
Tsolak
Jan 26 2021
7.5.0
1.0
Jan 26 2021
1.0
Version: 7.5.0
Terrible piece of software – if I may call it so. It might work well for american/english language, but you'll have to tweak it (I 'm still not sure, but something about setting the language to something different, open the (hidden) editor, selecting all pages, setting the language back to the desired and NOT touching the field markings) somehow. User interface is unfinished and using non standard for many elements. A lot of things doesn't work as described in the users guide. It is now a year since I contacted the company about it, and they havn't done anything about it. Avoid and find something better to pay for!
rynwest11
rynwest11
Dec 24 2020
7.5.0
5.0
Dec 24 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.0
Well, I like its simplicity so much. Without any complicated operations, upload your files, select an output format and then click Convert. What I uploaded is a scanned pdf with text and illustration, it resulted in a searchable pdf with the same format as the original one, so far so good.
pellegrinoriccardi531
pellegrinoriccardi531
May 4 2020
7.5.0
1.0
May 4 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5.0
Terrible customer service! Avoid.
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Apr 9 2019
6.2.0
5.0
Apr 9 2019
5.0
Version: 6.2.0
The all in one utility for any mac user , very accurate and reliable results with outstanding features and simple and very intuitive interface , best conversion , OCR feature and optimizing the work as you need , finally an amazing software that did the promised job perfect.
TomLoredo
TomLoredo
Feb 11 2019
6.2.0
4.0
Feb 11 2019
4.0
Version: 6.2.0
Cisdem PDF Converter OCR 6 is on sale for $19 via Mariner Deals, so I gave it a test vs. my current OCR tool, an old (v. 9) version of Adobe Acrobat Pro (included with my scanner when I bought it several years ago). The Cisdem demo will work on up to 3pp, so I processed the first 3 pages of a PDF from a 600 DPI scan of a book, including a title page with vertical and horizontal lines and text, the copyright page with some centered text and a paragraph of normal text, and a page from the TOC. I was converting the scanned PDF to a PDF with text. It was from a math textbook, so not the most common English. Some comparisons from this one text:

* Both apps deskew. I didn't see deskew mentioned anywhere on the Cisdem web site; it's important and they really should mention it (I almost didn't even try it because deskew wasn't mentioned). In deskewing, Acrobat appears to favor vertical alignment and Cidsdem horizontal alignment, e.g., on the title page, Acrobat accurately fixed a full-page vertical line, but was less accurate with a 3/4 page horizontal line. Cisdem did the opposite. Subjectively, Acrobat's deskew seemed slightly better on all the pages. Cisdem's deskew gave results that were more obviously inhomogeneous (e.g., aligning one side of the page nearly perfectly, but the other side less so).

* Both apps recognized letters with high accuracy, with Cisdem occasionally missing a space between words, but otherwise matching Acrobat in accuracy.

* Cisdem recognized the Roman numeral page numbers accurately. Acrobat failed here; it translated "vii" as "Vll" (those are "ells") and "ix" as "IX", for example. Both recognized Arabic page and section numbers with equal high accuracy.

* Acrobat optimizes as part of its OCR; the final file was 53% of the size of Cisdem's. The visual quality was very similar between the two; if I had to choose, I'd say Acrobat looked slightly better, despite being half the size.

Of course, Acrobat does a ton more than PDF Converter OCR. But if you are only interested in OCR, at a fraction of the cost of Acrobat, Cisdem's app is very competitive (with what you save vs. Acrobat, you could also get PDF Expert, ending up with most of Acrobat's capability yet saving $40, or more if you catch sales). The factor of two in file size is the main weakness of Cisdem.
jasonbnovak0
jasonbnovak0
Sep 8 2018
6.0.0
5.0
Sep 8 2018
5.0
Version: 6.0.0
This app does a good job of extracting text and images from scanned PDFs and images. This is exactly the function I was looking for. It allows me to convert PDFs to Word, Excel, text and even EPUB. Very useful. It also comes with a PDF creation feature, which I haven't used yet.
Oliver Jenner
Oliver Jenner
Aug 28 2018
6.0.0
0.0
Aug 28 2018
0.0
Version: 6.0.0
This is my second time to use your product. I took a picture from a movie in Russian, and OCRed it to reproducible text. Eventually, I got the movie name by searching the text in Google. Really brilliant, probably the most effective OCR software I have tried.
lewis18r
lewis18r
Aug 28 2018
6.0.0
4.5
Aug 28 2018
4.5
Version: 6.0.0
Just tried this tool to convert my PDF to word document, the conversion is fast and good. And I found that if I turned the OCR function ON, the image text in the PDF could be also accurately recognized, that's super super useful if I need to edit the text on images.
abby8616
abby8616
Apr 13 2018
5.2.0
4.0
Apr 13 2018
4.0
Version: 5.2.0
Works good at converting PDF files into word documents for me, but need improvement in converting complex PDF files, some formats didn't kept as original, simple text and formats got very good layout.
Frankeed
Frankeed
Sep 10 2017
4.0.0
0.5
Sep 10 2017
0.5
Version: 4.0.0
I really wanted to like this program, especially for converting scanned documents using OCR, but every time I tried to use it, it crashed. I went back and forth with support until they eventually stopped replying, leaving the issue unresolved.
lanarriswe
lanarriswe
Mar 23 2016
3.1.0
4.0
Mar 23 2016
4.0
Version: 3.1.0
It's a good tool for me to do my job, useful and convenient!
dn-doss
dn-doss
Jun 6 2015
3.1
5.0
Jun 6 2015
5.0
Version: 3.1
Reliable pdf converter tool with OCR function! I bought it and used it everyday, original price is $59.99, but the bundle sale on its official site helped me save big! http://www.cisdem.com/store.html The conversion speed and quality is good! Recommended!!
Ward
Ward
Oct 25 2014
3.0.0
0.0
Oct 25 2014
0.0
Version: 3.0.0
I find the two reviews for this app quite suspicious. The only two reviewers posted 4- and 5-star reviews on the day they signed up at MacUpdate. Darren posted 3 reviews on his first day and 1 the next day, and luisreese834 posted 2 reviews on his first day. Neither has posted anything since then.
luisreese834
luisreese834
Oct 21 2014
3.0.0
5.0
Oct 21 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0.0
The OCR function is powerful! It solved me a big problem -- the conversion of scanned PDF. Now the conversion issue becomes very easy! What's more, the quality result is good and formats available are many!
Darren-Nichols
Darren-Nichols
Sep 16 2014
3.0.0
4.0
Sep 16 2014
4.0
Version: 3.0.0
Since we on Mac do not have that many good PDF Converter, this is a well working experience, I'm impressed with the speed of the OCR engine, and the OCR accuracy is excellent. I won't hesitate to use this again or recommend it to others.