Back to Malwarebytes page
Malwarebytes free download for Mac

Malwarebytes Reviews

3.9.32.2826
12 October 2019

Adware removal tool (was AdwareMedic).

Aeschylus
10 August 2017

Most helpful

DANGEROUS - DO NOT INSTALL! This software completely ruined a healthy Mac running Sierra. I installed it, but didn't like that it had hidden daemons running. So I uninstalled, but it never completed. Now I can't even shut down my Mac because "Other installations aren't complete" and I can't install or uninstall this software. This is the worst problem I've had in 25 years of using Macs. BE CAREFUL.

With the exception of MacKeeper, this is the worst review I've ever written for Mac software. I used to use this before the crazy installer. It ruined all of my Little Snitch rules, and I still haven't figured out what else.
Like (20)
Version 3.0

Read 114 Malwarebytes User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jimw
15 August 2019
This App seems to infiltrate the MacOS and install pieces of it all over MacOS and God know what it is doing. I choose to delete it after installing the free version as I already have similar products, and I felt it was impacting performance and/or causing some stability issues. It literally took me hours to search out all the pieces and delete them . As such I cannot recommend this product.
Like
Version 3.9.27.2815
ShotBlocker
11 August 2019
Dear MacUpdate Users, I have stated this before on MacUpdate but, since some people didn't get the memo, I'll say it again: Quickie, one-liner 5-star reviews on this site are WORTHLESS. I would also say that quickie, one-liner 5-star reviews by people who purport to be Mac malware experts (I'm referring to "Hanspoot" just below) with "over 300" clients are EXCEPTIONALLY worthless. Especially when that 'expert' is claiming (it actually sounds like boasting) that his 300+ clients are averaging 5 infections PER MONTH. My friends, if you are averaging 5 infections per month, while you pay both a Mac consultant, and also for anti-malware software, your Mac consultant is not only incompetent but irresponsible. A properly protected Mac, with a properly trained user (and a reputable Mac consultant should be a *teacher* for his or her clients, rather than leaving them uneducated and vulnerable in order to suck money out of them) should not get 5 infections in A YEAR. You especially want to avoid a consultant who allows you to get 5 infections per month while using a "real-time" scanner like the paid subscription version of Malwarebytes. This is beyond irresponsible -- it is appalling. For that kind of money, you should not be getting ANY infections. That's the point of "real-time" scanning, and why you pay a premium (in money and performance) for it. Also, please, be skeptical of reviewers who make silly, boastful claims that can't be substantiated. This is something akin to what Malwarebytes does with it says that it "crushes the latest threats" and other hyped-up nonsense. * * * Now, if you want to see a useful review, scroll down to "Jimw's" comments on May 17, 2019, where he points out that not only does Malwarebytes cause instabilities (inexcusable in and of itself), but its so-called "uninstaller" doesn't actually uninstall everything like it should. It leaves bits and pieces of Malwarebytes junk all over the place. This is beyond inexcusable -- it's disgraceful. -SB P.S. And by the way, "Hanspoot," I don't get money from any AV vendors as you insinuate in one of your snarky comments below. I don't actually recommend ClamXAV though I do subscribe. The Intego VirusBarrier Scanner works just as well as an on-demand scanner -- and it's free. And I actually do use and recommend the older "Malwarebytes Anti-Malware" program (v.1.3.1.628) It still works very well, much as it did when Thomas Reed originally developed it -- a tight, light, free scanner for active infections -- before Malwarebytes (the company) turned it into a bloated piece of expensive corporate crapware.
Like
Version 3.8.17.2526
Hanspoot
09 August 2019
finds among my (over 300) clients about 1500 inf. per month
Like
Version 3.8.17.2526
Sgilbert
08 August 2019
What's going on? On Aug 1st, I downloaded & installed v. 3.9.23.2814; now, just 8 days later, they issue 3.8.17.2526. Are they backtracking??
Like (1)
Version 3.8.17.2526
1 answer(s)
brian163
brian163
09 August 2019
The took 3.9.x down as some users were having problems. See the forums if interested.

While release notes were technically unavailable as they have not been posting details of sub-releases, MacUpdate could have at least noted this.
Like (1)
Jimw
17 May 2019
I had tried using it many months ago. During the time I was using it I started to have machine instabilities which I finally traced to it. So I chose to remove it, and even tried its so called uninstaller. Afterwords I still was occasionally present with some evidence that pieces of it were still lurking on my machine. So I used a few in depth tools to check for invisible and system file and found pieces of it still all over my computer. After several hours of work I finally got rid of all of it; at least I believe I did. Since then the problems that I attributed to it have disappeared. Given its bad behavior on my machine and the way it inserts itself all over MacOS, I have come to believe that the text 'bytes' at the end of its name should be removed as its name without 'bytes' seems much more appropriate.
Like (2)
Version 3.8.17.2526
jagrutisharma937
15 May 2019
Well, its good to know that I am not the only one and I hide my login also. I think it is very easy to use and I am happy with it so far. Thanks! <a href="https://www.filehippoz.com/filehippo-malwarebytes-free-download/">Malwarebytes</a>

Like
Version 3.8.16.2524
Malwarebytes deserves a better review. You can still use it for free; you just have to launch it manually. The paid version can be scheduled to work, if you need that much protection.
Like
Version 3.8.16.2524
keyurkakadiya21
22 April 2019
Thanks for sharing this article. I really found it very helpful and interesting while reading. Nice post. <a href="https://www.filehorsee.com/filehippo-malwarebytes-free-download/">Malwarebytes</a>
Like
Version 3.7.34.2263
kiwinacol
07 December 2018
drives my powerbook fans crazy
Like (3)
Version 3.6.20.2054
ecaniaux
29 September 2018
Too many different applications claim basic protections and overlapping options I prefer having a complete software rather than several software packages.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.29.1587
michael-hayhurst
09 September 2018
It kept deleting my other spy, & adware
Like
Version 3.4.12.1530
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
19 September 2018
And why do you give three stars?
Like (3)
Biox
07 September 2018
This *was* the #1 paid utility in the Mac App store until Apple yanked it today. Malwarebytes has been exposed as harvesting browser history (Chrome, Firefox and Safari) and sending it to a server in China. The company has apparently been changing its name and the name of the software to circumvent detection.
Like (3)
Version 3.4.12.1530
4 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
19 September 2018
You've got it wrong: The app you're talking about is "Adware Doctor" (see https://9to5mac.com/2018/09/07/adware-doctor/).

Since then, apps by Trend Micro have been found to do the same (see https://9to5mac.com/2018/09/09/additional-mac-app-store-apps-caught-stealing-and-uploading-browser-history/).

I have yet to hear this reported for Malwarebytes.
Like (6)
Noraa
Noraa
20 September 2018
Malwarebytes was never sold on the App Store, so no idea what you're talking about. Perhaps you're referring to Adware Doctor (as Robby-is-on pointed out). Maybe do a little bit of research before spreading FUD?
Like (2)
Biox
Biox
20 September 2018
You're right, I was wrong, and I apologize. I did do research the day the news broke of Apple pulling the spyware app, but somehow I got mixed up about the name similarities and changes. Again, I apologize to Malwarebytes and thank you for pointing out my error.
Like (5)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
09 May 2019
I use Little Snitch, and it has not noticed any phoning home by Malwarebytes. If you are concerned about app doing so, I recommend Little Snitch.
Like
Noraa
25 August 2018
Surprised by all the negative reviews! Been using Malwarebytes since it was Adware Medic, and have had zero issues with it. Malwarebytes does install some daemons that hook into the system in order to run in the background as well as being able to remove certain pieces of malware that have their hooks in the system as well. I've run this on other people's systems that have been acting up (or have obvious signs of malware like Genieo and MacKeeper), and Malwarebytes had done a great job in detecting and removing the threats. The installation process is pretty seamless, but you are asked during the process to approve the installation of a system extension via going to System Preferences -> Security -> General. But this is a total normal thing when an application needs to install a system extension (such as Little Snitch). In addition, if you are unhappy with Malwarebytes, removing it is also quite easy. Going into the application, click on the "Help" menu and choose "Uninstall Malwarebytes." It's as simple as that. And finally, if you are having issues, the Malwarebytes developers are very responsive. Instead of posting negative reviews here, I suggest actually contacting them to see if they can help.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.12.1530
Jimw
21 July 2018
Once installed this product is next to impossible to uninstall or quit. Even if you force quit it in Activity Monitor it restarts itself. During installation it inserts files in places normally hidden from users. In order to remove it I had to set up a special search routine with Finder including System Files and Invisibles or use File Buddy to get to all its elements for complete removal. It actually seems to behave like malware. For these reasons I can not advise even trying it in its trial or free mode. It is also subscription based for the full version. Does it do its job? Not sure since, given the amount of resources it uses, I took it off before I was ever attacked by malware. I know this because of similar products I use. I can't say for sure if it was the root cause but while it was on my system I upgraded my MacOS to 10.13.5. After that my machine refused to go to sleep. In order to fix it I had to do a complete backup of everything; reformat my primary drive; and do a complete reinstall and restore to fix the issue. Currently I cannot conceive of a time that this product will ever be installed on any of my Macs again.
Like (4)
Version 3.3.32.1398
2 answer(s)
iMacWare
iMacWare
25 August 2018
I recommend that you open the application and directly click on the help file menu. From here, you would need to click on uninstall.
Like (1)
Jimw
Jimw
25 August 2018
Actually I used FileBuddy to find all the associated files and deleted all of them. I suspect the uninstaller is not that complete and may leave some stuff behind. The other option would be to create an advanced custom find for anything containing the word 'malware' and include system and invisible files in the search. However this is somewhat more challenging to do than using FileBuddy but is an option if you do not have or want to purchase FileBuddy which I consider to be an essential App to have in my Mac toolchest.
Like (2)
mikomeryl
17 June 2018
Impossible to Activate license for Malwarebytes Premiun. If you are running Mac OS X High Sierra, don't buy this. Unfortunately I did and I can't do anything with it. Not even with the latest version 3.3.32. I purchased Malwarebytes Premium on 8aug17. At the time I was using Mac OS X El Capitan. It worked fine on that machine. On May 25, I had to replace my old Mac with a new iMac running Mac OS X High Sierra 10.13.5. I had the latest version of Malwarebytes, 3.3.26, installed but it won't open at all. I've run Onyx on the machine and rebooted but Malwaresbytes still won't open. I sent a message to support about this problem and asking if it runs on High Sierra and got back an invitation to register and set up an account. I did that. Still no response. I decided to give it a few days. On June 17, I downloaded the update (3.3.32) hoping the problem was fixed. But it still won't open. I went to the Malwarebytes page and logged on to my account. That worked, at least. They have very specific instructions for installing on a Mac, which I had already done but did it again following the steps in the instructions after trashing the one that failed. I got to the step where you have to allow the Mac System Preferences to allow some extensions from Malwarebytes. I tried to do that and Mac System Preferences Security/General .told me it blocked Malwarebytes and that I need to click Allow to let them in. I opened the padlock to make the change but still cannot click the Allow button. I moved to the Security/Privacy tab and added Malwarebytes into the Accessibility authorization box to allow it to control my Mac. That didn't help anything after going through all the steps as before. Still can't Allow Malwarebytes to complete the install. So back in the installation, I tried Do It Later for the Mac System Prefs and the installation said it was installed. . I open Malwarebytes and discover I am way back to the Trial Version 3.3 I try not activate the license again but it tells me I have to go through everything above all over again. But still Mac System Prefs won't allow it. I go back to the installer / open Trial version and get a new notice that it is already activated on another machine. Ah, the old Mac. There is a button to Deactivate on all devices. I did that and was told it was now deactivated. Tried all the above all over again--still no go. Tried to go to the Malwarebytes support page and they want me to log on. It won't recognize my account even though I'm logged on in another tab. I try to use Chat--they are only there on the weekends. Tried their email link--Apparently their email system doesn't run on weekends either. I went to the Forum and tried to log on. It said my email address wasn't associated with any Malwarebytes account. What?? So I checked the Use Anonymously box but it wouldn't accept that--it refreshed the login box and filled in my email address and password that had worked but, of course, now it isn't a recognized account. I checked the list of accepted browsers and my Safari browser is on the list of browsers they accept. I am throughly disgusted with the complete waste of time and energy I put into this. I quit. Tomorrow I will uninstall (although from comments below that is also impossible--but I will try. Then contact Billing to stop automatic renewals and request a full refund. Don't buy it if you are running Mac OS X High Sierra.
Like (3)
Version 3.3.32.1398
ShotBlocker
11 June 2018
"Malwarebytes" is a glorified, over-hyped adware scanner, and little else, based on "Adware Medic," a free program written around 2014 by Thomas Reed. Note that the software's name ("Malwarebytes") used on MacUpdate, curiously, is not the one used on the company's website. That name is "Malwarebytes for Mac." Also, it is described here (under the name) accurately as an "Adware removal tool." That description is not on the website, and the company strongly suggests that the software does much more, e.g., "Removes malware, including Trojans." According to the Release History on the Malwarebytes website, "Malwarebytes for Mac" was launched on July 31, 2017, starting, oddly enough, at version 3. This was done evidently for marketing purposes, to align it with products for their other platforms. Malwarebytes was already offering a product called "Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Mac" (call it MBAM), originally launched on July 15, 2015. MBAM was essentially a renamed version of Mr. Reed's "Adware Medic," issued when he went to work at Malwarebytes. According to the company's website, the last update to MBAM, version 1.3.1, was issued on October 17, 2017. According to the company's website, MBAM was on sale until February 15, 2018. It's "End of Life" is scheduled for August 15, 2018. (Who knew?) The nomenclature used by Malwarebytes is confusing enough on these overlapping products. But more confusing, and more likely deliberately deceiving, is the notion that they remove all "malware," a term the company never bothers to precisely define. What MBAM (and before it, "Adware Medic") does (or did) was to remove "active" infections of a small subset of what most Mac security people refer to as "Mac malware." I have no reason to believe that "Malwarebytes for Mac" expands on that subset. Nor do I believe that Malwarebytes even publishes what is included in that subset, though you do see the names whizzing by as MBAM runs. They certainly do not inform customers that it is only a fraction of all Mac malware. On the contrary, they strongly suggest that "Malwarebytes For Mac" all you need to protect your Mac. You can download a "sample" of 108 instances of actual Mac malware from Patrick Wardle's objective-see.com. Unpack them and you have 108 pieces of live "malware" (by any definition) which are just waiting for you to click on them so they can infect your Mac. I ran ClamXAV against this sample and it found just about all of them. How many did MBAM v 1.3.1 find? None. When "Malwarebytes for Mac" (which, again, is known, incorrectly, on MU as simply "Malwarebytes") first came out I loaded it up and ran it. But after trying to use it, and after reading the reviews here, I unloaded it and went back to MBAM. I do not know if "Malwarebytes For Mac" would find any of those 108 instances of malware, but I seriously doubt that it would. Someone else can test that. However, I did upload a half-dozen or so of the malware samples to virustotal.com. On Virustotal, "Malwarebytes" (presumably the latest version of "Malwarebytes for Mac," though the site didn't specify) found the same number as MBAM did: None. I urge you to read this review of "Malwarebytes for Mac Premium" from August, 2017, a month after it launched: <https://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2487706,00.asp> This article confirms that "Malwarebytes for Mac" only scans for "active" malware. It refers to an independent testing outfit that does not certify "Malwarebytes": <https://www.av-test.org/en/it-security-product-overview/> I conclude that "Malwarebytes for Mac" is still little more than a scanner for active adware infections, and perhaps a few other bits of malware, already running on your Mac, with a paid option to do real-time checks for a small (and again undefined) subset of Mac malware. It might do a decent job with this, but the point is that, in boasting to Mac users that it "crushes the growing threat of Mac malware," it pretends to be a comprehensive solution to protecting a Mac. This is deceptive nonsense. If you believe Malwarebytes' marketing, that all you need to protect your Mac from "malware" is their product, you have been badly, and deliberately misled. As much as I have respected Thomas Reed up to this point, this is a huge hit to his reputation. Frankly, I hope he goes back out on his own, because his contributions, buried deep in the company's website, are being wasted there. As to Mac users, we're stuck trying to protect ourselves with a myriad of products whose functions overlap, price points differ, and many of them saying they're the best and/or all you need. It's a mess with no end in sight.
Like (11)
Version 3.3.32.1398
3 answer(s)
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
11 June 2018
Oops -- the two urls I referred to about 11 paragraphs down (this was a long slog for sure) were:

1. https://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2487706,00.asp
A review by PC mag's Neil Rubenking

2. https://www.av-test.org/en/it-security-product-overview/
Independent appraisal by av-test.org

Sorry about that. This, by the way, is my first review. I hope it helps somebody, as reviews here have helped me so much. Frankly I hope it saves somebody the time it takes to see through Malwarebytes' unfortunate marketing claims. Thanks for reading.
Like (2)
Hanspoot
Hanspoot
09 August 2019
and how much is ClamXAV paying you for this typing?
Like
Hanspoot
Hanspoot
09 August 2019
Oh so sorry, it's your 1st review, you just learned typing? Poor soul...
Like
Claude-Demierre
17 May 2018
I downloaded and installed version 3.3.22. No problem with ClamXAV. Works well, it did fine som Malware occasionally I use macOS High Sierra on a Mac Pro Mid 2012 I did a scan and nothing bad was found.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.22.1387
Nealnt
14 May 2018
This latest version, 3.3.22.1387 failed to install. Mac os 10.11.6
Like
Version 3.3.22.1387
Tomq
06 April 2018
$40 for each Mac I own???!!!
Like (2)
Version 3.2.36.1163
2 answer(s)
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
15 May 2018
I know! The price of this app is really steep.
Like
Ward
Ward
09 June 2018
According to the Malwarelbytes Pricing page, the "Premium For You" (single Mac) version is $39.99 per year. "Premium for Home" (3 to 10 Mac, Windows or Android devices) is $20 per device per year.

https://www.malwarebytes.com/pricing/v5/
Like (1)
hmfwic47
08 March 2018
Just installed 3.2.36, even tho the app shows 3.2 on a Get Info.
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
hmfwic47
07 March 2018
If you single click on the app in your Applications folder it shows version 3.2. But if you do "About Malwarebytes" it shows version 3.2.35. You would think they would put this as the version seen from the Applications Folder.
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
hmfwic47
01 March 2018
I tried to install the new version. I got a warning that the installation failed and to contact the software manufacturer for assistance. Anyone have an help?
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
iMacWare
26 February 2018
Malwarebytes for Mac is the only Malware program you'll need, as long as you are running pro. It's so easy to install and boot a virus on Mac... It's sad!
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
kaydentaylornew
25 February 2018
I've been using it fro a while. It seem to really protect my mac from malware.
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
DragonMaster
24 February 2018
Excellent! Only problem is that it claims one of my favorite anti-virus apps is malware...and that app returns the favor. What can I say? Neither is malware so I ignore both of their claims for one and another and continue using both.
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
hmfwic47
24 February 2018
I downloaded and installed version 3.2. ClamXAV did not put it in the trash automatically as it did before. I did a scan and nothing bad was found.
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
Thinking-Differently
22 February 2018
When I download Malwarebytes from either MacUpdate, or directly from www.malwarebytes.com/mac/, I get a warning from ClamXav saying, "Infection Found! Malwarebytes-Mac-3.2.35.1162.pkg infected with Trojan.OSX.BitcoinMinor" Should I worry?
Like
Version 3.2.35.1162
5 answer(s)
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
22 February 2018
I just download it from MacUpdate.com (https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/52105/malwarebytes) and ClamXAV gave me the same warning and it moved the " .pkg" file right to the trash.
Like
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
22 February 2018
I submitted a screenshot of your comments and my comments to the author (Malwarebytes support). They replied with: "This is an automated email just to let you know we received your request and created ticket 2239506 for you".

I'll keep everyone informed.
Like
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
22 February 2018
I tried alerting MacUpdate via their support form. But I'm not sure if anything really happens after you click the button.
Like
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
22 February 2018
Thomas Reed (Malwarebytes Support)
Feb 22, 11:54 PST
Bruce,
I can confirm that here. This appears to be a false positive in ClamXav. We're communicating with the developer of ClamXav on that now.
Thanks for alerting us to this problem!
Thomas
Like
damien-white
damien-white
27 April 2018
You should not download any software from Macupdate... It has been hacked several times and the the site itself puts adware into its downloads... this has been well known and reported since back to 2016. https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/shouldnt-download-mac-apps-macupdate/
Like
yungparkloo88
21 February 2018
Works good on PC. Gonna test it on my Mac also
Like (1)
Version 3.2.35.1162
grinberg89
21 February 2018
Adware Medic in the new wrap does what it claims to do. For those who has doubts about this product check Apple Support Communities and users' feedbacks there.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.35.1162
MichaelHaeusler
10 February 2018
This software is a total mess. It installs a global LaunchAgent, two LaunchDaemons, a kernel extension, lots of stuff in global Application Support. And even if you just want to use it as a freeware, the RTProtectionEngine is still working in the background, and it's taking up a lot of CPU power at times. Maybe it's just updating the AV rules, but for the freeware it would be completely sufficient for the RTProtectionEngine to be unloaded, lie dormant, and the rules are only updated when the user launches the main application. This thing is so bloated, I almost got a heart attack when looking at the pkg contents before first install.

I seriously suggest that those users, who just need a freeware manual scanning tool, uninstall version 3 and re-install the old version available here: https://data-cdn.mbamupdates.com/web/mbam-mac-1.3.1.dmg

This version (v1.3.1) is 64-bit, i.e. ready for 64bit-only macOS, currently updated for HighSierra support, it still receives the latest malware rules & definitions, albeit in a different format than version 3, and according to the developer, it will continue to be supported in the foreseeable future. Oh yeah, and it only installs one little helper tool. :)

@MacUpdate: you should add download links to the old version 1.x.x to the software description, not because of what I wrote, but because it might be useful for users running older operating systems.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1.505
2 answer(s)
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
23 February 2018
Might you know what the minimum OS version is for it?
Like
Bruce-y
Bruce-y
28 February 2018
answer to Thinking-Differently, et al,
The Minimum OS for MBAM 1.3.1 is OS X 10.9 (Mavericks).
(as per its internal 'Info.plist' file,
(<key>LSMinimumSystemVersion</key>
<string>10.9</string>)
Like (1)
Eveningclouds
06 February 2018
MalWare Bytes reports that Macupdate website itself may be infecting computers: "The malware was spread via hack of the MacUpdate site, which was distributing maliciously-modified copies of the Firefox, OnyX, and Deeper applications." From Feb 3, 2018 Macintouch report. What does Macupdate say. I'm a longtime MU subscriber and now worry that my Mac is at risk. I'm hoping the site monitors don't just delete this post without a response.
Like (3)
Version 3.1.1.505
1 answer(s)
damien-white
damien-white
27 April 2018
It does... it has been infecting mac users since back to 2016. A simple google search will inform you. YOu should stop using Macupdate... they are purposefully injecting adware into downloads.
Like
frans-3
19 January 2018
You can not Whitelist items! It keeps removing a valid Safari extension because its name looks like a known malware! That is bad...
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1.505
Jgrove
25 December 2017
They did a good job of commercialising a perfectly good product, the original product worked really well and i would have happily paid for it. Alas this is a monster just like the PC programs of a similar nature, Malwarebytes installs files in all sorts of areas of your system, and while it might uninstall itself via the program, it still leaves files in the protected areas of the drive, making removal an almost impossible task. A great shame IMHO as it will end up just like all the other subscription based anti-whatever programs.
Like (3)
Version 3.1.1.505
gamezr01
22 November 2017
Terrible! Acts like a malware to your mac, by hogging your boot time. I tried to remove it from the login items list, but isn't present! It's embedded itself deep into the system and there's no setting to disable it. I'm also unable to remove the ugly logo from the menu bar (the settings to do so has no effect!). This app was great in the past, but not anymore! In the trash it goes!
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1.505
geno
07 November 2017
Tallyho
Like
Version 3.1.1.505
RogerKatz
04 November 2017
The current version is 3.1.1.505
Like
Version 3.0.3.433
A1D
14 September 2017
It is a monster memory eater. I have noticed some slowdowns on my iMac with 24gb of memory, opened Activity Monitor and found this http://d.pr/i/1S0Ygx After some period of time MalwareBytes running mad on memory. Uninstalled
Like (7)
Version 3.0.2.422
1 answer(s)
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
25 September 2017
This is fixed now, with version 3.0.3.
Like (4)
Jimw
25 August 2017
This is another subscription based product which hides its actual cost until you reach the purchase page. This product now costs $40 a year for continuous protection, which means the product is running all the time like anti-virus software. Its product line seems to be primary focused on Windows. I did not see viruses mentioned on the website which leads me to believe that it does not replace such a product. Given that what it offers to protect you against is constantly changing it is a product that requires regular updates. While a subscription model makes more sense of a product like this than for a standard app, it still is like purchasing term life insurance If the company fails, or exits the Mac market your entire investment is lost.
Like (6)
Version 3.0.2.422
2 answer(s)
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
25 September 2017
This is not true. Malwarebytes for Mac still offers the same protection it always has - manual scanning and removal of detected threats - for free. The only thing that costs money is the real-time protection feature, which proactively protects against threats.

Further, Malwarebytes for Mac does detect malware, as it always has.
Like (3)
Jimw
Jimw
25 September 2017
To Developer: What I said is true as I indicated that the subscription was for Continuous Protection. Continuous Protection is NOT manual scanning. that has to be enabled by the user for it to occur. The only place that I found mention of manual scanning available in the free version was in the pricing list that compares the different levels of the products. The reference on the home page only indicates the free version is capable "cleaning an infected Mac" which is quite vague in my opinion.

The other day I received a phone call from a person, a college professor of mathematics, I support who was quite upset because he did an update to the product and suddenly found it indicating it was now subscription based. In order to relieve his concerns, I made available a the version he had been using which had no such dialog. It took me close to ½ hour to calm him down as he was quite upset with me as I had initially recommended it to him and had no idea the operational paradigm had be switched.

If it was that confusing to him, I can only imagine how confusing it might be to others as not everyone is savvy enough to click on the pricing button to get to the detailed comparison where it indicates manual operation.

Additionally it states that it removes malware. However it does not define what malware is as 'malware' is a vague term. While it does mention adware, it fails to mention viruses, ransomware, key recorders, etc. So it leaves open the question will this product fully protect my machine or do I also need a virus checker and ransomware detector as well.

As such I stand by my comments.
Like (3)
wickedsp1d3r
25 August 2017
It was great. But now, goodbye.
Like (9)
Version 3.0.2.422
MichaelFrankel
25 August 2017
Count me among those disappointed with the functionality of this version and missing the prior version. This version seems to use a lot of resources, has a background process that runs all the time (and can't be turned off), and seems to increase the overall memory footprint of my system.

It's been uninstalled.
Like (9)
Version 3.0.2.422
3 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
25 August 2017
of COURSE it has background processes running 'all the time' - the new version is an active scanner - it doesn't only run when the user does a manual scan - it's now like VirusBarrier or NAV for Mac
Like
MichaelFrankel
MichaelFrankel
25 August 2017
to Scion777 - yes, I know it's supposed to run in the background, however I noticed that it seemed to use a lot of memory and resources - more than I thought it should. When I uninstalled it, then restarted, the CPU usage when WAY down. That's why I suspect this program is using memory in a manner that's very inefficient.
Like (5)
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
25 September 2017
The memory issues with the real-time protection engine have been fixed in version 3.0.3.
Like (3)
Fsckthemembership!
25 August 2017
Unable to disable the trial version. Unable to totally remove all remnants. Unable to justify "renting" software. Refusing to be tethered to a live internet connection, especially after all the issues with Drive Genius v5.x! Suggestions: Use Pacifist or others to determine where every piece of this invasive software has been placed. Consider an easily erasable partition or volume for the experiment. Too bad the original developer after selling his company now has a new master that seems a little too Micro$oftian.
Like (7)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Ashkenaz
Ashkenaz
14 September 2017
Was that MacroSatan?
Like
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
25 September 2017
Malwarebytes for Mac still offers the same protection it always has - manual scanning and removal of detected threats - for free. The only thing that costs money is the real-time protection feature, which proactively protects against threats.
Like (2)
Igreg
21 August 2017
Alas, all good things come to an end. Making money is OK. But why don't they offer their traditional non-automated version for a small $10 or $15 fee?
Like (8)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
25 September 2017
Malwarebytes for Mac still offers the same protection it always has - manual scanning and removal of detected threats - for free. The only thing that costs money is the real-time protection feature, which proactively protects against threats.
Like (2)
Lvdoc
19 August 2017
Wish I'd read these comments before trying this out. I used EasyFind to locate any instance of the term "malware" on my computer. I then manually deleted anything related to MalwareBytes. EasyFind seemed to find a lot. It's annoying, but I think the search was thorough. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/11076/easyfind
Like (4)
Version 3.0
Sixbillships
10 August 2017
The instructions on how to disable the trial version of MWB and have it run in free mode do not work on the Mac. This needs to be addressed ASAP.
Like (5)
Version 3.0
5 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
10 August 2017
I agree. I could not find anyway to disable the trial version.
Like (4)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
11 August 2017
The application itself will not run without the hidden daemons also running. I'm not sure I trust them at all to make connections to their mothership or wherever else, without a full explanation. I also am not sure that they aren't creating new attack vectors with their constant scanning. I won't reinstall this product until they offer a version without the "trial" features.
Like (4)
beastie
beastie
12 August 2017
Yes, disappointed to discover that there's no deactivate trial button...just wording on what'll happen if I do....
Like (3)
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
25 September 2017
I'm not sure that I understand the desire to disable the trial. Can you explain?

Malwarebytes for Mac still offers the same protection it always has - manual scanning and removal of detected threats - for free. The only thing that costs money is the real-time protection feature, which proactively protects against threats.

If you wish to turn off the real-time protection feature - the only difference between trial and free modes - during the trial, it's very easy to do so.
Like
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
02 October 2017
If you, as the developer, don't understand our concerns, then this product is possibly even worse than we thought. We don't want constantly running "protection" that has not been vetted and may present its own attack vectors. We don't know what it is phoning home. We trusted the old Malwarebytes, but you prevented us from stopping the daemon(s?) from running, so we couldn't run this program safely. We understand that you are now being paid to add this "functionality" to the program, but did you ever think that on Macs, what the old Malwarebytes provided was what we really wanted (and needed)? At this time, for Macs, running a real-time malware interception program is not necessarily better.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
10 August 2017
Well, it had to happen. Malwarebytes is, after all, a commercial undertaking. They purchased and rebranded AdwareMedic to get a toehold in the Mac market. Now they have a "full featured" version, not unlike other commercial security programs. And, like most of the others, it runs on an annual license costing around $50. On a PC that cost is justifiable. On the Mac, not so much. For one thing, Sophos Home is still free. So when the 30 day trial ends I'll continue using the free version of Malwarebytes, thank you very much. FYI: A friend of mine was once again infected with that persistent Xfinity popup window. Malwarebytes didn't touch it. The freeware app Maintenance killed it. So stick with Maintenance or Onyx by the same developer.
Like (5)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
11 August 2017
And they have problems with their scripts in the installer. It's 24 hours into the disaster caused by the install / removal, and I'm still finding files that were damaged. I've NEVER seen Apple's installer corrupt files in 25 years. They not only went commercial, they lost their quality control.
Like (4)
Aeschylus
10 August 2017
DANGEROUS - DO NOT INSTALL! This software completely ruined a healthy Mac running Sierra. I installed it, but didn't like that it had hidden daemons running. So I uninstalled, but it never completed. Now I can't even shut down my Mac because "Other installations aren't complete" and I can't install or uninstall this software. This is the worst problem I've had in 25 years of using Macs. BE CAREFUL.

With the exception of MacKeeper, this is the worst review I've ever written for Mac software. I used to use this before the crazy installer. It ruined all of my Little Snitch rules, and I still haven't figured out what else.
Like (20)
Version 3.0
7 answer(s)
r2-cwb
r2-cwb
11 August 2017
I fully agree!
RiP Malwarebytes 1.2.6!
Like (5)
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
25 September 2017
From the sounds of it, your system must have had some issues, and Malwarebytes must have tripped over them. This is not a normal experience. We've had no reports of such behavior. Further, there is absolutely nothing Malwarebytes would have done to ruin your Little Snitch rules. Malwarebytes does not conflict with or falsely detect any components of Little Snitch.

Please keep in mind that our product support is always there and ready to help, and we would want to hear about this kind of thing.
Like (7)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
02 October 2017
Nice of you to say "Your system must have had some issues." WTF? I had a perfectly running system without any hit of troubles. I run Etre Check regularly, and had run the OLD Malwarebytes regularly too. I had no signs of slowness, no programs quitting or freezing, and all my apps worked nominally. UNTIL I tried to UNINSTALL MalwareBytes. Then I had this difficulty. So your idea is to blame my system.- which you never inspected or had any information about? Are you really a legit developer to say this to a (former) user?

How about you design a program that doesn't give us troubles and then we'll talk, ok Mr. Developer?
Like
GreggL7369
GreggL7369
03 March 2018
Very difficult to uninstall. I don't know why the developer would release something that just pisses off customers. Why would I buy this?
Like (1)
Fox6
Fox6
24 September 2018
I uninhibited this application because I use Clean My Mac X which does very well this job and even more. Thanks
Alain
Like
Gambitz
Gambitz
01 December 2018
Runs fine for me I run this on High Sierra, Mojave and on 3 Windows 10 machines, and honestly I love the app, no issues. Not sure what the cause is here... I know I've had similarly frustrating situations with the likes of Sophos for Mac, never being able to purge a keychain instance without a very very lengthy and frustrating effort, which required enabling Root... Sorry to see it take such a bad turn for you here! One thing I've learned over the years is to have a second "clean" user account on your machine that you can back out into when something like this happens and you can then do some trouble shooting from a "Clean User" instance.
Like
iMacWare
iMacWare
27 March 2019
Like
Derekcurrie
09 August 2017
The current version is 3.0.1.389. It provides a 30 day trial of the Premium version. After the trial, it reverts to the 'Free' version which provides malware removal with no frills. The Premium version goes for $40 and provides a one year subscription with these features: • Prevents Mac virus, spyware, and malware infections • Proactively blocks adware and unwanted programs [aka 'PUPs'] • Updates to the latest Malwarebytes protection automatically • 10 licenses. Business (99 licenses) and Enterprise (unlimited licenses) versions are available as well.
Like
Version 3.0
romad
09 August 2017
I'm confused. First, they say that the version number jumped from 1.2.6 to 3.0, then they say the software was previously called "AdwareMedic". Well, I HAVE AdwareMedic installed on my iMac and it is version 2.2.7. What is the true story here?
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Robby-C
Robby-C
09 August 2017
2.2.7 must be last release of AdwareMedic. Softpedia shows the last release was v2.2.6 in Jun 2015. Malewarebytes Anti-Malware version 1.0.1 was released in Jul 2016 . The last release of version 1 was 1.2.6 in Dec 2016 and now they skipped v2.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 August 2017
Thomas Reed, who created AdwareMedic, was hired by Malwarebytes to help them create a Mac version of their software. The result was the v1.x series of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, essentially a continuation and upgrade from AdwareMedic. Note that AdwareMedic development ended in 2015.

The version number '3' of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Mac was chosen in order to provide numbering parity between the longer running Windows version and the more recent Mac version. Therefore, there is no version '2' for Mac.

Thomas Reed continues to develop Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and contributes to the company's blog at:

https://blog.malwarebytes.com
Like (3)
PeterHarte
09 August 2017
Nice! Pity the app crashes on High Sierra beta 5. Deamon seems to continue working...
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes
09 August 2017
We'll be releasing an update that works on HIgh Sierra in September. Apple caught us by surprise by taking away an API we were using. :(
Like (3)
Macmuser
09 August 2017
I'm not sure whether I need this as I run Sophos which also claims to find Trojans, AdWare and the like. Advice anyone?
Like (1)
Version 3.0